Allgemeines

F: Was ist Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight ist ein sehr schneller, benutzerfreundlicher Geschäftsanalytik-Service auf Cloud-Basis, mithilfe dessen alle Mitarbeiter in einer Organisation Visualisierungen erstellen, Ad-hoc-Analysen ausführen und schnell Geschäftserkenntnisse aus ihren Daten gewinnen können – jederzeit und auf jedem Gerät. Laden Sie CSV- und Excel-Dateien hoch, binden Sie SaaS-Anwendungen wie Salesforce ein, greifen Sie auf lokale Datenbanken wie SQL Server, MySQL und PostgreSQL zu und erkennen Sie AWS-Datenquellen wie Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Athena und Amazon S3. Mit QuickSight können Organisationen ihre Geschäftsanalytik-Funktionen für Hunderttausende von Benutzern skalieren und dank der robusten In-Memory-Engine (SPICE) schnell und reibungslos Antworten auf Abfragen erhalten.

F: Wie unterscheidet sich Amazon QuickSight von herkömmlichen Business-Intelligence-Lösungen (BI)?

Herkömmliche BI-Lösungen erfordern häufig ein Team von IT-Profis, die viele Monate benötigen, um komplexe Datenmodelle zu erstellen, bevor der erste Bericht gedruckt werden kann. In der Regel fehlen ihnen die Möglichkeiten, Daten im Einzelfall zu durchsuchen und darzustellen. So müssen sich die Benutzer mit vorgefertigten Berichten und vorausgewählten Abfragen zufriedengeben. Herkömmliche BI-Lösungen erfordern im Vorfeld auch beträchtliche Investitionen in komplexe Hard- und Software und die Kunden müssen noch mehr Infrastruktur schaffen, um bei wachsender Datenbankgröße eine hohe Abfrageleistung sicherstellen zu können. Die Kosten und die Komplexität machen es den Unternehmen nicht leichter, Analyselösungen in allen ihren Organisationen einzusetzen. Amazon QuickSight wurde konzipiert, um diese Probleme zu lösen, indem die Lösung die Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität der AWS Cloud für die Geschäftsanalytik nutzt. Anders als bei herkömmlichen BI- oder Data-Discovery-Lösungen sind die ersten Schritte mit Amazon QuickSight schnell und einfach. Wenn Sie sich anmelden, erkennt Amazon QuickSight Ihre Datenquellen in AWS-Services wie Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Athena und Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). Sie können eine Verbindung zu jeder der von Amazon QuickSight erkannten Datenquellen herstellen, um in Minutenschnelle Erkenntnisse aus diesen Daten zu ziehen. Sie können angeben, dass Amazon QuickSight die Daten in SPICE immer aktuell halten soll, wenn sich Änderungen in den zugrunde liegenden Datenquellen ergeben. SPICE unterstützt umfangreiche Data-Discovery- und Geschäftsanalytik-Funktionen, mit deren Hilfe Kunden wertvolle Erkenntnisse aus Daten gewinnen können, ohne sich über die Bereitstellung oder Verwaltung der Infrastruktur Gedanken machen zu müssen. Organisationen führen eine geringe monatliche Gebühr für jeden Amazon QuickSight-Benutzer ab, dadurch werden die Kosten einer langfristigen Lizenzierung eingespart. Dank Amazon QuickSight können Organisationen umfangreiche Geschäftsanalytik-Funktionen für alle Mitarbeiter bereitstellen, ohne in Vorleistung gehen zu müssen.

F: Was ist SPICE?

Amazon QuickSight beruht auf "SPICE", einer superschnellen, parallelen, In-Memory-Berechnungs-Engine. SPICE wurde von Grund auf für die Cloud konzipiert und verwendet eine Kombination aus spaltenbasierter Speicherung, auf aktuellen Hardwareinnovationen basierenden In-Memory-Technologien und Maschinencode-Generierung, um interaktive Abfragen in großen Datenbeständen auszuführen und schnelle Antworten zu erhalten. SPICE unterstützt umfangreiche Berechnungen, die Ihnen helfen, wertvolle Erkenntnisse aus den Analysen zu gewinnen, ohne sich je Gedanken über die Bereitstellung oder Verwaltung der Infrastruktur machen zu müssen. Daten werde persistent in SPICE gespeichert, bis sie explizit vom Benutzer gelöscht werden. Außerdem repliziert SPICE automatisch Daten für eine hohe Verfügbarkeit und bietet QuickSight die Möglichkeit, für Hunderttausende von Benutzern zu skalieren, die alle gleichzeitig schnelle, interaktive Analysen mit einer Vielzahl von AWS-Datenquellen ausführen können.

F: Was sind die ersten Schritte zum Start mit Amazon QuickSight?

Registrieren Sie sich zunächst bei Amazon QuickSight. Ein Benutzer und 1 GB SPICE-Kapazität sind kostenlos. Wenn Sie bereits registriert sind, können Sie unter https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com auf QuickSight zugreifen.

Zugriff über Mobilgeräte und das Internet

F: Kann ich Amazon QuickSight auf meinem Mobilgerät verwenden?

Mit der iPhone-App für Amazon QuickSight können Sie überall auf Ihre Daten zugreifen und mit Analysen, Storys und Dashboards arbeiten. Für künftige Versionen ist auch Android- und Tablet-Unterstützung sowie die Anzeige und Erstellung von Kommentaren im Offline-Modus geplant. Mit einem modernen Browser, der auf Laptops oder Desktops ausgeführt wird, können Sie ebenfalls auf Amazon QuickSight zugreifen. Der Zugriff ist auch über einen Webbrowser auf einem beliebigen Mobilgerät möglich.

F: Welche Browser unterstützen Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight unterstützt die neuesten Versionen von Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Internet Explorer Version 10 und höher sowie Edge.

Datenverwaltung

F: Welche Datenquellen werden von Amazon QuickSight unterstützt?

Sie können eine Verbindung zu AWS-Datenquellen herstellen, darunter Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena und Amazon S3. Außerdem können Sie Excel-Tabellen oder Flatfiles (CSV, TSV, CLF und ELF) hochladen, eine Verbindung zu lokalen Datenbanken wie SQL Server, MySQL und PostgreSQL herstellen und Daten aus SaaS-Anwendungen wie Salesforce importieren.

F: Kann ich Amazon QuickSight mit einer Amazon EC2- oder lokalen Datenbank verbinden?

Ja. Um Amazon QuickSight mit einer Amazon EC2- oder einer lokalen Datenbank zu verknüpfen, müssen Sie den Amazon QuickSight-IP-Bereich zur autorisierten Liste (Whitelist) in der gehosteten Datenbank hinzufügen.

F: Wie lade ich meine Datendateien in Amazon QuickSight hoch?

Sie können XLSX, CSV, TSV, CLF und XLF-Datendateien direkt von der Amazon QuickSight-Webseite hochladen. Sie können diese Dateien auch in ein Amazon S3-Bucket hochladen und Amazon QuickSight auf das Amazon S3-Objekt verweisen.

F: Wie greife ich auf Daten in AWS-Datenquellen zu?

Amazon QuickSight erkennt automatisch AWS-Datenquellen in Ihrem Konto, wenn Sie eine entsprechende Genehmigung erteilt haben. Sie können sofort die Daten durchsuchen und Visualisierungen erstellen. Sie können außerdem eine explizite Verbindung zu anderen AWS-Datenquellen herstellen, die nicht in Ihrem Konto enthalten sind oder sich in einer anderen Region befinden, indem Sie Verbindungsdetails für diese Quellen angeben.

F: Meine Datenquelle hat nicht das richtige Format. Wie formatiere und transformiere ich die Daten vor der Visualisierung?

Mit Amazon QuickSight können Sie Daten vorbereiten, die noch nicht für die Visualisierung bereit sind. Wählen Sie im Verbindungsdialogfeld die Option "Edit/Preview Data". Amazon QuickSight unterstützt zahlreiche Funktionen zum Formatieren und Transformieren von Daten. Sie können Datenfelder benennen und Datentypen ändern. Sie können mithilfe von integrierten Filtern Untergruppen zu Ihren Daten einrichten und Datenbanken per Drag & Drop zusammenführen. Sie können auch mithilfe von mathematischen Operationen und integrierten Funktionen wie Bedingungs-, Zeichenfolge- und Datumsfunktionen sowie numerischen Funktionen berechnete Felder erstellen.

F: Wie viele Daten kann ich mit Amazon QuickSight analysieren?

Machen Sie sich darüber bei Amazon QuickSight keine Sorgen. Sie können die Datenmenge flexibel von einigen Hundert MB auf viele TB anwachsen lassen, ohne die Infrastruktur anpassen zu müssen.

Benutzerverwaltung

F: Wie kann ich den Benutzerzugriff auf Amazon QuickSight verwalten?

Wenn Sie ein neues Amazon QuickSight-Konto anlegen, erhalten Sie standardmäßig Administratorberechtigungen. Wenn Sie zu Amazon QuickSight eingeladen werden, weist Ihnen der Einladende entweder eine ADMIN- oder eine USER-Rolle zu. Wenn Sie eine ADMIN-Rolle haben, können Sie nicht nur den Service nutzen, sondern auch Benutzerkonten erstellen oder löschen, Jahresabonnements abschließen und SPICE-Kapazität kaufen.

Wenn Sie ein Benutzerkonto erstellen möchten, senden Sie dem Benutzer über eine anwendungsinterne Schnittstelle eine E-Mail. Der Benutzer schließt die Kontoerstellung ab, indem er ein Passwort festlegt und sich anmeldet.

Visualisierung und Analyse

F: Wie erstelle ich eine Analyse mit Amazon QuickSight?

Das Erstellen einer Analyse ist einfach. Amazon QuickSight erkennt Daten in den gängigen AWS-Daten-Repositorys in Ihrem AWS-Konto. Verweisen Sie Amazon QuickSight einfach auf eine der erkannten Datenquellen. Sie können sich mit einer anderen AWS-Datenquelle verbinden, die nicht im AWS-Konto enthalten ist oder sich in einer anderen Region befindet. Geben Sie die Verbindungsdetails dieser Quelle ein. Wählen Sie dann eine Tabelle aus, und beginnen Sie mit der Analyse der Daten. Sie können auch Tabellenkalkulationen und CSV-Dateien hochladen und die Dateien mit Amazon QuickSight analysieren. Für eine Visualisierung wählen Sie zunächst die zu analysierenden Datenfelder, oder Sie ziehen die Felder direkt in den Anzeigebereich, oder Sie verwenden beide Methoden. Amazon QuickSight wählt automatisch die geeignete Visualisierung, um die von Ihnen gewünschten Daten anzuzeigen.

F: Wie wählt Amazon QuickSight die richtige Visualisierung für meine Daten?

Amazon QuickSight setzt die innovative AutoGraph-Technologie ein, mit der die am besten geeignete Visualisierung, basierend auf den Dateneigenschaften wie Kardinalität und Datentyp, ausgewählt werden kann. Die gewählten Visualisierungstypen sollen die Daten und ihre Beziehungen untereinander möglichst effektiv anzeigen.

F: Wie erstelle ich ein Dashboard?

Dashboards sind eine Sammlung von Visualisierungen, Tabellen und anderen optischen Anzeigen, die angeordnet und gemeinsam dargestellt werden. Mit Amazon QuickSight können Sie innerhalb einer Analyse ein Dashboard zusammenstellen, indem Sie Layout und Größe der Visualisierungen anordnen und dann das Dashboard dem Zielpublikum in der Organisation bereitstellen.

F: Welche Visualisierungstypen werden in Amazon QuickSight unterstützt?

Amazon QuickSight unterstützt ausgewählte Visualisierungen, die unterschiedliche Analyseansätze ermöglichen:

  • Vergleich und Verteilung
    • Balkendiagramme (mehrere ausgewählte Varianten)
  • Zeitliche Veränderung
    • Liniendiagramme
    • Flächendigramme
  • Korrelation
    • Streudiagramme
    • Heat Maps
  • Aggregation
    • Tortendiagramme
    • Baumdiagramme
  • Tabellarische Visualisierung
    • Pivot-Tabellen

F: Was ist eine vorgeschlagene Visualisierung? Wie generiert Amazon QuickSight Vorschläge?

Zum Lieferumfang von Amazon QuickSight gehört eine integrierte Vorschlags-Engine, die Ihnen aufgrund der Eigenschaften der zugrunde liegenden Datensätze vorgeschlagene Visualisierungen bereitstellt. Die Vorschläge dienen als mögliche erste oder nächste Schritte bei einer Analyse und vermeiden die zeitraubende Aufgabe, das Schema Ihrer Daten abzufragen und zu verstehen. Wenn Sie mit spezifischeren Daten arbeiten, passen sich die Vorschläge an, um die nächsten Schritte passend zu Ihrer aktuellen Analyse vorzugeben.

F: Was sind Storys?

Storys sind geführte Touren durch spezifische Ansichten einer Analyse. Sie dienen dazu, die wichtigsten Punkte, einen Denkprozess oder die Entwicklung einer Analyse für die Zusammenarbeit zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Sie erstellen sie in Amazon QuickSight, indem Sie spezifische Stadien der Analyse erfassen und kommentieren. Klickt der Leser der Story auf ein Bild in der Story, wird er in der Analyse zu dem Punkt geführt, an dem er auf eigene Faust weitersuchen kann.

F: Welche Berechnungsarten lässt Amazon QuickSight zu?

Sie können die üblichen arithmetischen Funktionen und Vergleichsfunktionen, Bedingungsfunktionen wie IF/THEN-Funktionen und Datums- und Zeichenfolgenberechnungen sowie numerische Berechnungen durchführen.

F: Wo erhalte ich Beispieldaten, die ich in QuickSight untersuchen kann?

Wenn Sie ein Konto in Amazon QuickSight erstellen, werden automatisch Beispielanalysen für Sie erstellt. Die Rohdaten können Sie unter den folgenden Links ebenfalls herunterladen:

Diese Datensätze wurden von 47Lining, einem AWS Advanced Consulting Partner mit Big Data-Kompetenz, erstellt.

Sicherheit und Zugriff

F: Wie werden Daten zu Amazon QuickSight übertragen?

Sie haben mehrere Möglichkeiten, die Daten in Amazon QuickSight zu übertragen: Dateiupload, Verbinden mit AWS-Datenquellen, Verbinden mit externen Datenspeichern über JDBC/ODBC oder über andere API-basierte Datenspeicher-Konnektoren.

F: Kann ich die AWS-Region auswählen, die über JDBC/ODBC mit gehosteten oder lokalen Datenbanken verknüpft werden soll?

Ja. Kunden sollten für mehr Leistung und bessere Interaktivität die Region auswählen, in der Ihre Daten gespeichert sind. Die automatische Ermittlungsfunktion in Amazon QuickSight erkennt Datenquellen nur in der AWS-Region des Amazon QuickSight-Endpunkts, mit dem Sie verbunden sind. Eine Liste der unterstützten Amazon QuickSight AWS-Regionen finden Sie auf der Seite Produkte und Services nach Region für die gesamte globale AWS-Infrastruktur.

F: Unterstützt Amazon QuickSight Multifaktor-Authentifizierung?

Ja. Sie können die Multifaktor-Authentifizierung (MFA) für Ihr AWS-Konto über die AWS Management Console aktivieren.

F: Wie verbinde ich die eigene VPC mit Amazon QuickSight?

Falls Ihr VPC mit öffentlicher Anbindung eingerichtet wurde, können Sie den IP-Adressbereich von Amazon QuickSight zu den Sicherheitsgruppenregeln Ihrer Datenbank-Instance hinzufügen, damit der Datenverkehr in Ihre VPC- und Datenbank-Instances fließt.

F: Was ist Sicherheit auf Zeilenebene?

Mit Sicherheit auf Zeilenebene (RLS) können Inhaber von QuickSight-Datensätzen den Zugriff auf Daten auf Grundlage von Berechtigungen in Bezug auf den mit den Daten agierenden Benutzer mit Zeilen-Granularität steuern. Dank RLS müssen Amazon QuickSight-Benutzer nur einen Datensatz verwalten und die geeigneten Datensatzregeln für Zeilenebene darauf anwenden. Alle zugehörigen Dashboards und Analysen erzwingen diese Regeln. Dadurch wird die Datensatzverwaltung vereinfacht und das Pflegen mehrerer Datensätze für Benutzer mit Zugriffsprivilegien für unterschiedliche Daten entfällt.

F: Was bedeutet "privater VPC-Zugriff" im Zusammenhang mit Amazon QuickSight?

Diese Funktion ist für Sie geeignet, wenn Sie Daten in AWS (z. B. in Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) oder auf EC2) oder lokal in Teradata oder SQL Server auf Servern ohne öffentliche Anbindung gespeichert haben. Der private VPC-Zugriff (Virtual Private Cloud) für QuickSight verwendet eine Elastic Network-Schnittstelle (ENI) für die sichere, private Kommunikation mit Datenquellen in einer VPC. Mit ihrer Hilfe können Sie auch AWS Direct Connect verwenden, um eine sichere, private Verknüpfung mit Ihren lokalen Ressourcen herzustellen.

Freigabe

F: Wie kann ich Analysen, Dashboards oder Storys in Amazon QuickSight freigeben?

Sie können Analysen, Dashboards oder Storys mithilfe des Freigabesymbols der QuickSight-Service-Oberfläche freigeben. Sie können die Empfänger (E-Mail-Adresse, Benutzername oder Gruppenname), Berechtigungsstufen und andere Optionen vor Freigabe der Inhalte an andere Personen auswählen.

Upgrade von der Standard auf die Enterprise Edition

F: Kann ich nach der Registrierung noch zwischen der Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition und der Standard Edition wechseln?

Ja, Sie können jederzeit zwischen der Standard und der Enterprise Edition wechseln. Dazu müssen Sie Ihr Abonnement für die Standard Edition beenden und dann das Verfahren zum Abschluss eines Abonnements für die Enterprise Edition befolgen (oder umgekehrt).

F: Werden meine Daten und Benutzer bei einem Wechsel zwischen Standard und Enterprise migriert?

Derzeit wird die Migration von Daten und Benutzern zwischen den verschiedenen Versionen nicht unterstützt. Nachdem Sie den Wechsel auf eine der Versionen vollzogen haben, müssen Sie die Benutzer erneut zu Ihrem Konto einladen und die benötigten Datensätze erneut bereitstellen.

Immer bestens informiert

Melden Sie sich an, um E-Mails mit aktuellen Informationen über QuickSight zu erhalten. So sind Sie immer bestens über die neuen, innovativen QuickSight-Funktionen der kommenden Monate informiert.

General

Q: What is Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight is a very fast, easy-to-use, cloud-powered business analytics service that makes it easy for all employees within an organization to build visualizations, perform ad-hoc analysis, and quickly get business insights from their data, anytime, on any device. Upload CSV and Excel files; connect to SaaS applications like Salesforce; access on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL, and PostgreSQL; and seamlessly discover your AWS data sources such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Athena, and Amazon S3. QuickSight enables organizations to scale their business analytics capabilities to hundreds of thousands of users, and delivers fast and responsive query performance by using a robust in-memory engine (SPICE).

Q: How is Amazon QuickSight different from traditional Business Intelligence (BI) solutions?

Traditional BI solutions often require teams of data engineers to spend months building complex data models before generating a report. They typically lack interactive ad-hoc data exploration and visualization, limiting users to canned reports and pre-selected queries. Traditional BI solutions also require significant up-front investment in complex and costly hardware and software, and then customers to invest in even more infrastructure to maintain fast query performance as database sizes grow. This cost and complexity makes it difficult for companies to enable analytics solutions across their organizations. Amazon QuickSight has been designed to solve these problems by bringing the scale and flexibility of the AWS Cloud to business analytics. Unlike traditional BI or data discovery solutions, getting started with Amazon QuickSight is simple and fast. When you log in, Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your data sources in AWS services such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Athena, and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). You can connect to any of the data sources discovered by Amazon QuickSight and get insights from this data in minutes. You can choose for Amazon QuickSight to keep the data in SPICE up-to-date as the data in the underlying sources change. SPICE supports rich data discovery and business analytics capabilities to help customers derive valuable insights from their data without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Organizations pay a low monthly fee for each Amazon QuickSight user, eliminating the cost of long-term licenses. With Amazon QuickSight, organizations can deliver rich business analytics functionality to all employees without incurring a huge cost upfront.

Q: What is SPICE?

Amazon QuickSight is built with "SPICE" – a Super-fast, Parallel, In-memory Calculation Engine. Built from the ground up for the cloud, SPICE uses a combination of columnar storage, in-memory technologies enabled through the latest hardware innovations and machine code generation to run interactive queries on large datasets and get rapid responses. SPICE supports rich calculations to help you derive valuable insights from your analysis without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Data in SPICE is persisted until it is explicitly deleted by the user. SPICE also automatically replicates data for high availability and enables QuickSight to scale to hundreds of thousands of users who can all simultaneously perform fast interactive analysis across a wide variety of AWS data sources.

Q: How can I get started with Amazon QuickSight?

To get started, sign up to Amazon Quicksight and get 1 user and 1GB of SPICE capacity for free. If you’re already signed up, you can access QuickSight at https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com.

Authors and Readers

Who is a QuickSight “Author”?
A QuickSight Author is a user who can connect to data sources (within AWS or outside), create visuals and analyze data. Authors can create interactive dashboards using advanced QuickSight capabilities such as parameters and calculated fields, and publish dashboards with other users in the account.

Who is a QuickSight “Reader”?
A QuickSight Reader is a user who consumes interactive dashboards. Readers can log in via their organization’s preferred authentication mechanism (QuickSight username/password, SAML portal or AD auth), view shared dashboards, filter data, drill down to details or export data as a CSV file, using a web browser or mobile app. Readers do not have any allocated SPICE capacity.

Individual end-users can be provisioned to access QuickSight as Readers. Reader pricing applies to manual session interactions only. We reserve the right charge for the reader at the higher monthly author rate if, in our discretion, we determine that you are using reader sessions for other types of use (e.g., programmatic or automated queries).

Can I upgrade a Reader to an Author?
Yes, readers can be easily upgraded to authors via the QuickSight user management options.

I have a Standard Edition account. Can I add readers?
No, Readers with pay-per-session pricing only exist in Enterprise Edition. If you have a Standard Edition account, you can upgrade to Enterprise Edition via the QuickSight management page.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for programmatic access to QuickSight?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by individual users. A fair use policy applies, and any abuse of the system will result in the reader being metered as an author. To avoid such situations, we recommend that programmatic refresh of dashboards, if needed, be performed from an Author account.

Who is a QuickSight “Admin”?
A QuickSight Admin is a user who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I upgrade a Reader or Author to Admin?
Amazon QuickSight Authors and Readers can be upgraded to Admins at any time.

How long is a Reader session?
Amazon QuickSight Reader sessions are of 30-minute duration each. Each session is charged at $0.30 with maximum charges of $5 per Reader in a month.

When does a Reader session start and end?
A Reader session starts with a user-initiated action (e.g., login, dashboard load, page refresh, drill-down or filtering) and runs for next 30-minutes. Keeping Amazon QuickSight open in a background browser window/tab does not result in active sessions until the Reader initiates action on page.

Will a Reader be logged out after a 30-minute session?
No, Reader sessions are transparent to the QuickSight Reader. Reader sessions will be automatically renewed in 30-minute intervals, and time out 30 minutes after start upon inactivity. Readers will only be logged out of QuickSight when their authentication expires, which is dependent on the authentication scheme in place (can be one of QuickSight-only users, SAML/Open ID Connect or Active Directory).

Will a Reader be charged if QuickSight is open in a browser in a background tab?
No, having Amazon QuickSight open in a background tab will not result in usage charges. A session is only initiated when there is explicit Reader activity on the QuickSight web application. If the QuickSight page is moved to the background or minimized, there will be no additional sessions charged (beyond any sessions initiated when the Reader was active on the window/tab) until the Reader interacts with QuickSight again.

What does up to $5/mo. on reader charges mean?

A reader will be charged $0.30 a session up to a maximum of $5/month, after which the reader can access QuickSight at no charge for additional sessions.

Can Qucksight “Authors” or “Readers” invite more users?
No, QuickSight Authors and Readers are user types that cannot change account permissions or invite more users. QuickSight offers an Admin user, who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for display and scripted refresh of QuickSight dashboards on monitors or large screens?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by end-users in an organization. For programmatic access and scripted refresh, we recommend use of an Author account to comply with fair use policies associated with the QuickSight Reader.

Mobile and web access

Q: Can I use Amazon QuickSight on my mobile device?

The iPhone app for Amazon QuickSight lets you access your data anywhere, and explore analyses, stories, and dashboards. Look for Android and tablet support, as well as viewing and creating annotations in offline mode in the future. You can also use any of the modern browsers running on laptops or desktops or access Amazon QuickSight or using a web browser on any mobile device.

Q: On which browsers is Amazon QuickSight supported?

Amazon QuickSight supports the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Internet Explorer version 10 and above and Edge.

Data management

Q: Which data sources does Amazon QuickSight support?

You can connect to AWS data sources including Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena and Amazon S3. You can also upload Excel spreadsheets or flat files (CSV, TSV, CLF, and ELF), connect to on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL and PostgreSQL and import data from SaaS applications like Salesforce.

Q: Can I connect Amazon QuickSight to my Amazon EC2 or on-premises database?

Yes. In order to connect Amazon QuickSight to an Amazon EC2 or on-premises database, you need to add the Amazon QuickSight IP range to the authorized list (whitelist) in your hosted database.

Q: How do I upload my data files into Amazon QuickSight?

You can upload XLSX, CSV, TSV, CLF, XLF data files directly from Amazon QuickSight website. You can also upload them to an Amazon S3 bucket and point Amazon QuickSight to the Amazon S3 object.

Q: How do I access my data in AWS data sources?

Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your AWS data sources that are available in your account with your approval. You can immediately start browsing the data and building visualizations. You can also explicitly connect to other AWS data sources that are not in your account or in a different region by providing connection details for those sources.

Q: My source data is not in a clean format. How do I format and transform the data before visualizing?

Amazon QuickSight lets you prepare data that is not ready for visualization. Select the “Edit/Preview Data” button in the connection dialog. Amazon QuickSight supports various functions to format and transform your data. You can alias data fields and change data types. You can subset your data using built in filters and perform database join operations using drag and drop. You can also create calculated fields using mathematical operations and built-in functions such conditional statements, string, numerical and date functions.

Q: How much data can I analyze with Amazon QuickSight?

With Amazon QuickSight you don’t need to worry about scale. You can seamlessly grow your data from a few hundred megabytes to many terabytes of data without managing any infrastructure.

User management

Q: How do I manage user access for Amazon QuickSight?

When you create a new Amazon QuickSight account, you have administrative privileges by default. If you are invited to become an Amazon QuickSight user, whoever invites you assigns you either an ADMIN or a USER role. If you have an ADMIN role, you can create and delete user accounts, purchase annual subscriptions and SPICE capacity in addition to using the service.

To create a user account, you send an email invitation to the user via an in-application interface, and then the user completes the account creation by specifying a password and signing in.

Visualization and analysis

Q: How do I create an analysis with Amazon QuickSight?

Creating an analysis is simple. Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers data in popular AWS data repositories within your AWS account. Simply point Amazon QuickSight to one of the discovered data sources. To connect to another AWS data source that is not in your AWS account or in a different region, you can provide the connection details of the source. Then, select a table and start analyzing your data. You can also upload spreadsheets and CSV files and use Amazon QuickSight to analyze your files. To create a visualization, start by selecting the data fields you want to analyze, or drag the fields directly on to the visual canvas, or a combination of both actions. Amazon QuickSight will automatically select the appropriate visualization to display based on the data you’ve selected.

Q: How does Amazon QuickSight select the right visualization to use for my data?

Amazon QuickSight has an innovative technology called AutoGraph that allows it to select the most appropriate visualizations based on the properties of the data, such as cardinality and data type. The visualization types are chosen to best reveal the data and relationships in an effective way.

Q: How do I create a dashboard?

Dashboards are a collection of visualizations, tables, and other visual displays arranged and visible together. With Amazon QuickSight, you can compose a dashboard within an analysis by arranging the layouts and size of visualizations and then publish the dashboard to an audience within your organization.

Q: What types of visualizations are supported in Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight supports assorted visualizations that facilitate different analytical approaches:

  • Comparison and distribution
    • Bar charts (several assorted variants)
  • Changes over time
    • Line graphs
    • Area line charts
  • Correlation
    • Scatter plots
    • Heat maps
  • Aggregation
    • Pie graphs
    • Tree maps
  • Tabular
    • Pivot tables

Q: What is a suggested visualization? How does Amazon QuickSight generate suggestions?

Amazon QuickSight comes with a built-in suggestion engine that provides you with suggested visualizations based on the properties of the underlying datasets. Suggestions serve as possible first or next-steps of an analysis and removes the time-consuming task of interrogating and understanding the schema of your data. As you work with more specific data, the suggestions will update to reflect the next steps appropriate to your current analysis.

Q: What are Stories?

Stories are guided tours through specific views of an analysis. They are used to convey key points, a thought process, or the evolution of an analysis for collaboration. You can construct them in Amazon QuickSight by capturing and annotating specific states of the analysis. When readers of the story click on an image in the story, they are then taken into the analysis at that point, where they can explore on their own.

Q: What type of calculations does Amazon QuickSight enable?

You can perform typical arithmetic and comparison functions; conditional functions such as if,then; and date, numeric, and string calculations.

Q: How can I get sample data to explore in QuickSight?

For your convenience, sample analyses are automatically generated when you create an account in Amazon QuickSight. The raw data can also be downloaded from the links below:

These datasets were created by 47Lining, an AWS Advanced Consulting Partner with Big Data Competency designation.

Security and access

Q: How is data transmitted to Amazon QuickSight?

You have several options to get your data into Amazon QuickSight: file upload, connect to AWS data sources, connect to external data stores over JDBC/ODBC, or through other API-based data store connectors.

Q: Can I choose the AWS region to connect to hosted or on-premises databases over JDBC/ODBC?

Yes. For better performance and user interactivity, customers are advised to use the region where your data is stored. The Amazon QuickSight auto discovery feature detects data sources only within the AWS region of the Amazon QuickSight endpoint to which you are connected. For a list of the supported Amazon QuickSight AWS regions, please visit the Regional Products and Services page for all AWS global infrastructure.

Q: Does Amazon QuickSight support multi-factor authentication?

Yes. You can enable multi-factor authentication (MFA) for your AWS account via the AWS Management console.

Q: How do I connect my VPC to Amazon QuickSight?

If your VPC has been set up with public connectivity, you can add Amazon QuickSight’s IP address range to your database instances’ security group rules to enable traffic flow into your VPC and database instances.

Q: What is row-level security?

Row-level security (RLS) enables QuickSight dataset owners to control access to data at row granularity based on permissions associated with the user interacting with the data. With RLS, Amazon QuickSight users only need to manage a single set of data and apply appropriate row-level dataset rules to it. All associated dashboards and analyses will enforce these rules, simplifying dataset management and removing the need to maintain multiple datasets for users with different data access privileges.

Q: What does private VPC access in the context of Amazon QuickSight mean?

If you have data in AWS (perhaps in Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), or on EC2) or on-premises in Teradata or SQL Server on servers without public connectivity, this feature is for you. Private VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) Access for QuickSight uses an Elastic Network Interface (ENI) for secure, private communication with data sources in a VPC. It also allows you to use AWS Direct Connect to create a secure, private link with your on-premises resources.

Sharing

Q: How do I share an analysis, dashboard, or story in Amazon QuickSight?

You can share an analysis, dashboard, or story using the share icon from the QuickSight service interface. You will be able to select the recipients (email address, username or group name), permission levels, and other options before sharing the content with others.

Upgrades and Downgrades

Can I upgrade from Standard Edition to Enterprise Edition?
Yes, Standard Edition account accounts can be upgraded to Enterprise Edition through the QuickSight management page. Existing authentication details and user data will be seamlessly migrated to Enterprise Edition. Enterprise Edition rates for user and SPICE capacity will apply.

Can I downgrade from Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition?
No, you will not be able to downgrade from Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition. Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition offers enhanced functionality such as QuickSight Readers, connectivity to data sources in Private VPC, row-level security, hourly refresh of SPICE data as well as AD connectivity and group-based management of assets for AD accounts. Due to the differences in feature set, a downgrade might result in loss of data connectivity and security, and as a result, this option is not supported.

Keep in touch

To stay in touch with all of the new and innovative QuickSight features in the coming months, sign up for the QuickSight update email.