一般性问题

问:什么是 Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight 是一项快速且易于使用的云支持业务分析服务,它使组织内的所有员工能够在任何设备上随时轻松构建可视化内容、执行临时分析并快速从数据中获得业务见解。上传 CSV 和 Excel 文件;连接到 SaaS 应用程序(如 Salesforce);访问本地数据库(如 SQL Server、MySQL 和 PostgreSQL);无缝地发现 AWS 数据源(如 Amazon Redshift、Amazon RDS、Amazon Aurora、Amazon Athena 和 Amazon S3)。借助 QuickSight,组织能够将其业务分析功能扩展到成千上万用户,并通过使用强大的内存中引擎 (SPICE) 交付快速而敏捷的查询性能。

问:Amazon QuickSight 与传统的商业智能 (BI) 解决方案有何不同?

在生成报告之前,传统 BI 解决方案往往需要大量数据工程师花几个月的时间来构建复杂的数据模型。这些解决方案通常缺乏互动的临时数据探索和可视化,将用户局限在现成报告和预先选定的查询。传统 BI 解决方案还需要对复杂而昂贵的硬件和软件进行大量前期投资,然后随着数据库规模的增长,客户需要投资更多的基础设施来维持快速的查询性能。这种高成本和复杂性使得公司难以在整个组织内部署分析解决方案。Amazon QuickSight 能够通过将 AWS 云的规模和灵活性引入业务分析,来解决这些问题。不同于传统的 BI 或数据发现解决方案,Amazon QuickSight 入门非常简单、快捷。登录后,Amazon QuickSight 会无缝地发现您的 AWS 产品数据源,如 Amazon Redshift、Amazon RDS、Amazon Athena 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)。您可以连接到 Amazon QuickSight 发现的任何数据源,并在几分钟内从该数据中获得见解。底层源中的数据更改时,您可以选择 Amazon QuickSight 来维持 SPICE 中的数据的最新状态。SPICE 支持丰富的数据发现和业务分析功能,可帮助客户从数据中获取有价值的见解,而且不必为预置或管理基础设施而担心。组织为每个 Amazon QuickSight 用户支付较低的月租费,免去了购买长期许可证的成本。借助 Amazon QuickSight,组织无需承担巨大的前期成本即可向所有员工提供丰富的业务分析功能。

问:什么是 SPICE?

Amazon QuickSight 构建在“SPICE”之上,后者是一种运行超快的并行内存中计算引擎。SPICE 专门针对云进行全新构建,它通过最新的硬件创新和机器代码生成实现列式存储与内存技术的结合,让您能够在大型数据集上运行交互式查询并快速获得响应。SPICE 支持大量计算,可帮助您从分析中获得有价值的见解,而且不必为预置或管理基础设施而担心。SPICE 内的数据将长期保存,直到被用户明确地删除。SPICE 还会自动复制数据以获得高可用性,并且使 QuickSight 能够扩展到成千上万用户,使他们可以同时在各种 AWS 数据源中执行快速的交互式分析。

问:如何开始使用 Amazon QuickSight?

首先,注册 Amazon Quicksight,免费获得 1 名用户和 1GB SPICE 容量。如果您已注册,则可以通过 https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com 访问 QuickSight。

作者和读者

QuickSight 的“作者”是谁?
答:QuickSight 作者是指可以连接到 AWS 内外部数据源、创建视觉内容和分析数据的用户。作者可以使用 QuickSight 的高级功能(如参数和计算字段)创建交互式控制面板,并以账户中其他用户的身份发布这些控制面板。

QuickSight 的“读者”是谁?
问:QuickSight 读者是指使用交互式控制面板的用户。读者可以使用 Web 浏览器或移动应用程序通过所在组织的首选身份验证机制(QuickSight 用户名/密码、SAML 门户或 AD 身份验证)登录、查看共享的控制面板、筛选数据、查看详细信息或将数据导出为 CSV 文件。系统不会为读者分配任何 SPICE 容量。

可将最终用户预置为以读者身份访问 QuickSight。读者定价仅适用于手动会话交互。我们保留在以下情况下按较高的月度作者费率向读者收费的权利:根据我们的判断,您正在将读者会话用于其他类型的用途(例如,编程查询或自动化查询)。

能否将读者升级为作者?
可以,读者可以通过 QuickSight 用户管理选项轻松升级为作者。

我有一个 Standard Edition 账户,我能添加读者吗?
不能,只有 Enterprise Edition 中才有采用“按会话付费”定价模式的读者。如果您拥有 Standard Edition 账户,可以通过 QuickSight 管理页面升级为 Enterprise Edition 账户。

能否使用 QuickSight 读者账户通过编程方式访问 QuickSight?
Amazon QuickSight 的读者定价适用于各用户以交互方式使用数据。我们采用公平使用策略,如果滥用系统,会导致在计费时将读者视为作者。为了避免这种情况,我们建议在需要时使用作者账户通过编程方式来刷新控制面板。

QuickSight 的“管理员”是谁?
问:QuickSight 管理员是指可以管理 QuickSight 用户和账户级首选项,以及为账户购买 SPICE 容量和年度订阅服务的用户。管理员还能使用所有 QuickSight 创作功能。此外,管理员还可以在需要时将 Standard Edition 账户升级为 Enterprise Edition 账户。

能否将读者或作者升级为管理员?
随时可以将 Amazon QuickSight 作者和读者升级为管理员。

每个读者会话持续多长时间?
每个 Amazon QuickSight 读者会话的持续时长为 30 分钟。每个会话的费用为 0.30 USD;每位读者每月的费用最高为 5 USD。

读者会话何时开始和结束?
读者会话在用户启动操作(如登录、控制面板加载、页面刷新、深入查看或筛选)时开始,之后持续运行 30 分钟。除非用户在页面上启动操作,否则,将 Amazon QuickSight 在后台浏览器窗口/标签页中保持打开状态并不会启动会话。

时长 30 分钟的会话结束后,读者会注销吗?
不会,读者会话对 QuickSight 读者是透明的。读者会话将每隔 30 分钟自动更新一次;如果在启动后 30 分钟均处于不活动状态,则将超时。如果读者的身份验证到期(取决于现有的身份验证模式,可以是仅使用 QuickSight 的用户、SAML/Open ID Connect 或 Active Directory),读者仅会从 QuickSight 注销。

如果 QuickSight 在浏览器的后台标签页中打开,是否会向读者收费?
不会,在后台标签页中打开 Amazon QuickSight 不会产生使用费。仅当读者在 QuickSight Web 应用程序中有明确活动时,才会启动会话。如果 QuickSight 页面移动到后台或者最小化,那么,除非读者再次与 QuickSight 交互,否则,除了针对读者在窗口/标签页中处于活动状态时启动的会话收费以外,不会收取任何额外的会话费用。

读者每月的费用最多为 5 USD,这是什么意思?

每个会话向读者收取 0.30 USD,每月最多收取 5 USD,费用达到 5 USD 后,读者可以免费在 QuickSight 中访问更多会话。

Qucksight 的“作者”或“读者”能否邀请更多用户?
不能,QuickSight 作者和读者这两种类型的用户不能更改账户权限或邀请更多用户。QuickSight 提供管理员用户,管理员用户可以管理 QuickSight 用户和账户级首选项,以及为账户购买 SPICE 容量和年度订阅服务。管理员还能使用所有 QuickSight 创作功能。此外,管理员还可以在需要时将 Standard Edition 账户升级为 Enterprise Edition 账户。

能否在监视器或大屏幕上使用 QuickSight 读者账户显示或通过脚本来刷新 QuickSight 控制面板?
Amazon QuickSight 的读者定价适用于组织中的最终用户以交互方式使用数据。如需通过编程方式访问或通过脚本刷新,我们建议使用作者账户,确保遵循与 QuickSight 读者相关的公平使用政策。

移动和 Web 访问

问:我能否在移动设备上使用 Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight 的 iPhone 版应用程序让您可以从任何地方访问数据,并探索分析、情节和控制面板。寻找 Android 和平板电脑支持,并在未来在离线模式下查看和创建注释。也可使用在笔记本电脑或台式机上运行的任何现代浏览器或任何移动设备上的 Web 浏览器来访问 Amazon QuickSight。

问:哪些浏览器支持 Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight 支持最新版本的 Mozilla Firefox、Chrome、Safari、Internet Explorer(版本 10 及以上)和 Edge。

数据管理

问:Amazon QuickSight 支持哪些数据源?

您可以连接到 AWS 数据源,包括 Amazon RDS、Amazon Aurora、Amazon Redshift、Amazon Athena 和 Amazon S3。您还可以上传 Excel 电子表格或平面文件(CSV、TSV、CLF 和 ELF),连接到本地数据库(如 SQL Server、MySQL 和 PostgreSQL),并从 SaaS 应用程序(如 Salesforce)导入数据。

问:能否将 Amazon QuickSight 连接到我的 Amazon EC2 或本地数据库?

可以。为了将 Amazon QuickSight 连接到 Amazon EC2 或本地数据库,您需要将 Amazon QuickSight IP 范围添加到您的托管数据库中的授权列表(白名单)。

问:如何将数据文件上传到 Amazon QuickSight?

您可以直接从 Amazon QuickSight 网站上传 XLSX、CSV、TSV、CLF、XLF 数据文件。您也可以将它们上传到 Amazon S3 存储桶并将 Amazon QuickSight 指向 Amazon S3 对象。

问:如何访问我在 AWS 数据源中的数据?

获得您的批准后,Amazon QuickSight 会无缝地发现您的账户中可用的 AWS 数据源。您可以立即开始浏览数据并构建可视化内容。通过提供其他 AWS 数据源的连接详细信息,您还可以明确连接到这些不在您的账户中的数据源。

问:我的源数据没有使用干净一致的格式。在可视化之前将如何格式化并转换数据?

通过 Amazon QuickSight,您可以为尚未可视化就绪的数据做好准备。选择连接对话框中的“准备/预览数据”按钮。Amazon QuickSight 支持各种功能来格式化和转换数据。您可以给数据字段取别名并更改数据类型。您可以使用内置的筛选器创建一个数据子集,然后使用拖放功能执行数据库连接操作。您还可以使用数学运算创建计算字段,并创建各种内置函数,如条件语句、字符串、数字和日期函数。

问:我可以使用 Amazon QuickSight 分析多少数据?

凭借 Amazon QuickSight,您不必担心数据规模。您可以无缝地将数据从数百 GB 增长到数 TB,而且无需管理任何基础设施。

用户管理

问:如何管理对 Amazon QuickSight 的用户访问?

当您创建新的 Amazon QuickSight 账户时,将默认获得管理权限。如果您受邀成为 Amazon QuickSight 用户,邀请人将为您分配 ADMIN 或 USER 角色。若获得 ADMIN 角色,除了使用该服务外,您还可以创建和删除用户账户、购买年度订阅和 SPICE 容量。

创建用户账户时,您应通过应用程序内界面向该用户发送电子邮件邀请,然后该用户通过指定密码并登录服务来完成账户创建。

可视化与分析

问:如何使用 Amazon QuickSight 创建分析?

创建分析非常简单。Amazon QuickSight 会无缝地发现您的 AWS 账户中常用 AWS 数据存储库中的数据。只需将 Amazon QuickSight 指向发现的某个数据源即可。要连接到您的 AWS 账户之外或不同区域中的其他 AWS 数据源,您可以提供该源的连接详细信息。然后,选择一个表格并开始分析数据。您也可以上传电子表格和 CSV 文件,并使用 Amazon QuickSight 来分析您的文件。要创建可视化内容,请先选择要分析的数据字段,或将字段直接拖动到可视画布,或结合执行这两个操作。Amazon QuickSight 将根据您选择的数据自动选择要显示的相应可视化内容。

问:Amazon QuickSight 如何为我的数据选择合适的可视化?

Amazon QuickSight 具有称为 AutoGraph 的创新技术,该技术可使它根据数据的属性(如基数和数据类型)选择最适当的可视化。所选的可视化类型可以通过有效方式最佳地呈现数据和关系。

问:如何创建仪表板?

仪表板是经排列并共同可见的可视化内容、表格和其他可视显示的集合。借助 Amazon QuickSight,您可以通过排列可视化内容的布局和大小在分析中编制仪表板,然后将仪表板发布给组织内的受众。

问:Amazon QuickSight 支持哪些类型的可视化?

Amazon QuickSight 支持各种各样的可视化,以便于使用各种不同的分析方法:

  • 比较和分配
    • 条形图(多种变体)
  • 随时间变化
    • 线形图
    • 面积折线图
  • 相关性
    • 散点图
    • 热图
  • 聚合
    • 饼状图
    • 树形图
  • 表格式
    • 数据透视表

问:什么是建议的可视化内容?Amazon QuickSight 如何生成建议?

Amazon QuickSight 随附一个内置的建议引擎,能根据基本数据集的属性为您提供建议的可视化内容。建议作为分析的第一步或下一步可能执行的操作,可免去执行询问和了解数据架构的耗时任务。在您使用更具体的数据时,建议将进行更新以反映适合当前分析的下一个步骤。

问:什么是情节?

情节通过具体的分析视图为您提供指导。它们可用于传达关键点、思维过程或协作分析的发展。您可以通过捕获和注释特定分析状态,在 Amazon QuickSight 中构建情节。当情节的读者单击情节中的图像时,就会进入这一点所在的分析过程,他们可以在那里自行探索。

问:Amazon QuickSight 支持什么类型的计算?

您可以执行典型的算术和比较函数;条件函数(如“if, then”函数)和日期、数字和字符串计算。

问:如何从 QuickSight 中获取示例数据进行探索?

为了您的方便,当您在 Amazon QuickSight 中创建账户时会自动生成示例分析。您还可以使用下列链接下载原始数据:

这些数据集由 47Lining 创建,后者是一个 AWS 高级咨询合作伙伴,拥有大数据能力认证。

安全与访问

问:数据如何传输到 Amazon QuickSight?

可以使用多种方式让数据进入 Amazon QuickSight:文件上传,连接到 AWS 数据源,通过 JDBC/ODBC 连接到外部数据存储,或通过其他基于 API 的数据存储连接器。

问:能否选择要通过 JDBC/ODBC 连接到托管或本地数据库的 AWS 区域?

可以。为了获得更好的性能和用户交互性,建议客户使用存储数据的区域。Amazon QuickSight 的自动发现功能只能对您所连接的 Amazon QuickSight 端点所在的 AWS 区域中的数据源进行检测。要查看支持 Amazon QuickSight 的 AWS 区域表,请访问所有 AWS 全球基础设施的区域产品和服务页面

问:Amazon QuickSight 能否支持多重验证?

可以。您可以通过 AWS 管理控制台为您的 AWS 账户启用多重验证 (MFA)。

问:如何将 VPC 与 Amazon QuickSight 连接?

如果您的 VPC 已经设置为具有公共连接,则您可以将 Amazon QuickSight 的 IP 地址范围添加到数据库实例的安全组规则中,以便流量能够进入您的 VPC 和数据库实例。

问:什么是行级别安全性?

行级别安全性 (RLS) 使 QuickSight 数据集所有者能够基于和与数据交互的用户关联的权限以行粒度控制对数据的访问。借助 RLS,Amazon QuickSight 用户仅需要管理一组数据并将适当的行级别数据集规则应用到该组数据。所有关联的控制面板和分析将强制实施这些规则,从而简化数据集管理,且无需为具有不同数据访问权限的用户维护多个数据集。

问:在使用 Amazon QuickSight 时,私有 VPC 访问指什么?

如果您在 AWS(也许是在 Amazon Redshift、Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 中,或在 EC2 上)或本地的没有公共连接的服务器上的 Teradata 或 SQL Server 上存有数据,此功能就是为您准备的。对 QuickSight 的私有 VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) 访问使用一个弹性网络界面 (ENI),与 VPC 中数据源进行安全的私有通信。它还允许您使用 AWS Direct Connect 创建一个连接本地资源的安全、私有链接。

共享

问:如何在 Amazon QuickSight 中共享分析、控制面板或情节?

您可以使用 QuickSight 服务界面中的共享图标,共享分析、控制面板或情节。与他人共享内容之前,您将能够选择收件人(电子邮件地址、用户名或组名)、权限级别和其他选项。

升级和降级

能否从 Standard Edition 升级为 Enterprise Edition?
能,Standard Edition 账户可以通过 QuickSight 管理页面升级为 Enterprise Edition 账户。现有身份验证详细信息和用户数据将无缝迁移到 Enterprise Edition。系统将采用针对用户和 SPICE 容量的 Enterprise Edition 费率。

能否从 Enterprise Edition 降级为 Standard Edition?
不能,您不能从 Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition 降级为 Standard Edition。Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition 提供了一些增强功能,如 QuickSight 读者、与私有 VPC 中数据源的连接性、行级安全性、SPICE 数据刷新功能(每小时刷新一次),以及 AD 连接性和基于组的资产管理功能(针对 AD 账户)。由于功能集存在差异,降级可能会在数据连接和安全性方面带来损失,因此,不支持降级。

保持关注

要在未来几个月及时了解 QuickSight 的所有创新性新功能,请注册 QuickSight 更新信息电子邮件。

General

Q: What is Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight is a very fast, easy-to-use, cloud-powered business analytics service that makes it easy for all employees within an organization to build visualizations, perform ad-hoc analysis, and quickly get business insights from their data, anytime, on any device. Upload CSV and Excel files; connect to SaaS applications like Salesforce; access on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL, and PostgreSQL; and seamlessly discover your AWS data sources such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Athena, and Amazon S3. QuickSight enables organizations to scale their business analytics capabilities to hundreds of thousands of users, and delivers fast and responsive query performance by using a robust in-memory engine (SPICE).

Q: How is Amazon QuickSight different from traditional Business Intelligence (BI) solutions?

Traditional BI solutions often require teams of data engineers to spend months building complex data models before generating a report. They typically lack interactive ad-hoc data exploration and visualization, limiting users to canned reports and pre-selected queries. Traditional BI solutions also require significant up-front investment in complex and costly hardware and software, and then customers to invest in even more infrastructure to maintain fast query performance as database sizes grow. This cost and complexity makes it difficult for companies to enable analytics solutions across their organizations. Amazon QuickSight has been designed to solve these problems by bringing the scale and flexibility of the AWS Cloud to business analytics. Unlike traditional BI or data discovery solutions, getting started with Amazon QuickSight is simple and fast. When you log in, Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your data sources in AWS services such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Athena, and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). You can connect to any of the data sources discovered by Amazon QuickSight and get insights from this data in minutes. You can choose for Amazon QuickSight to keep the data in SPICE up-to-date as the data in the underlying sources change. SPICE supports rich data discovery and business analytics capabilities to help customers derive valuable insights from their data without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Organizations pay a low monthly fee for each Amazon QuickSight user, eliminating the cost of long-term licenses. With Amazon QuickSight, organizations can deliver rich business analytics functionality to all employees without incurring a huge cost upfront.

Q: What is SPICE?

Amazon QuickSight is built with "SPICE" – a Super-fast, Parallel, In-memory Calculation Engine. Built from the ground up for the cloud, SPICE uses a combination of columnar storage, in-memory technologies enabled through the latest hardware innovations and machine code generation to run interactive queries on large datasets and get rapid responses. SPICE supports rich calculations to help you derive valuable insights from your analysis without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Data in SPICE is persisted until it is explicitly deleted by the user. SPICE also automatically replicates data for high availability and enables QuickSight to scale to hundreds of thousands of users who can all simultaneously perform fast interactive analysis across a wide variety of AWS data sources.

Q: How can I get started with Amazon QuickSight?

To get started, sign up to Amazon Quicksight and get 1 user and 1GB of SPICE capacity for free. If you’re already signed up, you can access QuickSight at https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com.

Authors and Readers

Who is a QuickSight “Author”?
A QuickSight Author is a user who can connect to data sources (within AWS or outside), create visuals and analyze data. Authors can create interactive dashboards using advanced QuickSight capabilities such as parameters and calculated fields, and publish dashboards with other users in the account.

Who is a QuickSight “Reader”?
A QuickSight Reader is a user who consumes interactive dashboards. Readers can log in via their organization’s preferred authentication mechanism (QuickSight username/password, SAML portal or AD auth), view shared dashboards, filter data, drill down to details or export data as a CSV file, using a web browser or mobile app. Readers do not have any allocated SPICE capacity.

Individual end-users can be provisioned to access QuickSight as Readers. Reader pricing applies to manual session interactions only. We reserve the right charge for the reader at the higher monthly author rate if, in our discretion, we determine that you are using reader sessions for other types of use (e.g., programmatic or automated queries).

Can I upgrade a Reader to an Author?
Yes, readers can be easily upgraded to authors via the QuickSight user management options.

I have a Standard Edition account. Can I add readers?
No, Readers with pay-per-session pricing only exist in Enterprise Edition. If you have a Standard Edition account, you can upgrade to Enterprise Edition via the QuickSight management page.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for programmatic access to QuickSight?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by individual users. A fair use policy applies, and any abuse of the system will result in the reader being metered as an author. To avoid such situations, we recommend that programmatic refresh of dashboards, if needed, be performed from an Author account.

Who is a QuickSight “Admin”?
A QuickSight Admin is a user who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I upgrade a Reader or Author to Admin?
Amazon QuickSight Authors and Readers can be upgraded to Admins at any time.

How long is a Reader session?
Amazon QuickSight Reader sessions are of 30-minute duration each. Each session is charged at $0.30 with maximum charges of $5 per Reader in a month.

When does a Reader session start and end?
A Reader session starts with a user-initiated action (e.g., login, dashboard load, page refresh, drill-down or filtering) and runs for next 30-minutes. Keeping Amazon QuickSight open in a background browser window/tab does not result in active sessions until the Reader initiates action on page.

Will a Reader be logged out after a 30-minute session?
No, Reader sessions are transparent to the QuickSight Reader. Reader sessions will be automatically renewed in 30-minute intervals, and time out 30 minutes after start upon inactivity. Readers will only be logged out of QuickSight when their authentication expires, which is dependent on the authentication scheme in place (can be one of QuickSight-only users, SAML/Open ID Connect or Active Directory).

Will a Reader be charged if QuickSight is open in a browser in a background tab?
No, having Amazon QuickSight open in a background tab will not result in usage charges. A session is only initiated when there is explicit Reader activity on the QuickSight web application. If the QuickSight page is moved to the background or minimized, there will be no additional sessions charged (beyond any sessions initiated when the Reader was active on the window/tab) until the Reader interacts with QuickSight again.

What does up to $5/mo. on reader charges mean?

A reader will be charged $0.30 a session up to a maximum of $5/month, after which the reader can access QuickSight at no charge for additional sessions.

Can Qucksight “Authors” or “Readers” invite more users?
No, QuickSight Authors and Readers are user types that cannot change account permissions or invite more users. QuickSight offers an Admin user, who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for display and scripted refresh of QuickSight dashboards on monitors or large screens?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by end-users in an organization. For programmatic access and scripted refresh, we recommend use of an Author account to comply with fair use policies associated with the QuickSight Reader.

Mobile and web access

Q: Can I use Amazon QuickSight on my mobile device?

The iPhone app for Amazon QuickSight lets you access your data anywhere, and explore analyses, stories, and dashboards. Look for Android and tablet support, as well as viewing and creating annotations in offline mode in the future. You can also use any of the modern browsers running on laptops or desktops or access Amazon QuickSight or using a web browser on any mobile device.

Q: On which browsers is Amazon QuickSight supported?

Amazon QuickSight supports the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Internet Explorer version 10 and above and Edge.

Data management

Q: Which data sources does Amazon QuickSight support?

You can connect to AWS data sources including Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena and Amazon S3. You can also upload Excel spreadsheets or flat files (CSV, TSV, CLF, and ELF), connect to on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL and PostgreSQL and import data from SaaS applications like Salesforce.

Q: Can I connect Amazon QuickSight to my Amazon EC2 or on-premises database?

Yes. In order to connect Amazon QuickSight to an Amazon EC2 or on-premises database, you need to add the Amazon QuickSight IP range to the authorized list (whitelist) in your hosted database.

Q: How do I upload my data files into Amazon QuickSight?

You can upload XLSX, CSV, TSV, CLF, XLF data files directly from Amazon QuickSight website. You can also upload them to an Amazon S3 bucket and point Amazon QuickSight to the Amazon S3 object.

Q: How do I access my data in AWS data sources?

Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your AWS data sources that are available in your account with your approval. You can immediately start browsing the data and building visualizations. You can also explicitly connect to other AWS data sources that are not in your account or in a different region by providing connection details for those sources.

Q: My source data is not in a clean format. How do I format and transform the data before visualizing?

Amazon QuickSight lets you prepare data that is not ready for visualization. Select the “Edit/Preview Data” button in the connection dialog. Amazon QuickSight supports various functions to format and transform your data. You can alias data fields and change data types. You can subset your data using built in filters and perform database join operations using drag and drop. You can also create calculated fields using mathematical operations and built-in functions such conditional statements, string, numerical and date functions.

Q: How much data can I analyze with Amazon QuickSight?

With Amazon QuickSight you don’t need to worry about scale. You can seamlessly grow your data from a few hundred megabytes to many terabytes of data without managing any infrastructure.

User management

Q: How do I manage user access for Amazon QuickSight?

When you create a new Amazon QuickSight account, you have administrative privileges by default. If you are invited to become an Amazon QuickSight user, whoever invites you assigns you either an ADMIN or a USER role. If you have an ADMIN role, you can create and delete user accounts, purchase annual subscriptions and SPICE capacity in addition to using the service.

To create a user account, you send an email invitation to the user via an in-application interface, and then the user completes the account creation by specifying a password and signing in.

Visualization and analysis

Q: How do I create an analysis with Amazon QuickSight?

Creating an analysis is simple. Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers data in popular AWS data repositories within your AWS account. Simply point Amazon QuickSight to one of the discovered data sources. To connect to another AWS data source that is not in your AWS account or in a different region, you can provide the connection details of the source. Then, select a table and start analyzing your data. You can also upload spreadsheets and CSV files and use Amazon QuickSight to analyze your files. To create a visualization, start by selecting the data fields you want to analyze, or drag the fields directly on to the visual canvas, or a combination of both actions. Amazon QuickSight will automatically select the appropriate visualization to display based on the data you’ve selected.

Q: How does Amazon QuickSight select the right visualization to use for my data?

Amazon QuickSight has an innovative technology called AutoGraph that allows it to select the most appropriate visualizations based on the properties of the data, such as cardinality and data type. The visualization types are chosen to best reveal the data and relationships in an effective way.

Q: How do I create a dashboard?

Dashboards are a collection of visualizations, tables, and other visual displays arranged and visible together. With Amazon QuickSight, you can compose a dashboard within an analysis by arranging the layouts and size of visualizations and then publish the dashboard to an audience within your organization.

Q: What types of visualizations are supported in Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight supports assorted visualizations that facilitate different analytical approaches:

  • Comparison and distribution
    • Bar charts (several assorted variants)
  • Changes over time
    • Line graphs
    • Area line charts
  • Correlation
    • Scatter plots
    • Heat maps
  • Aggregation
    • Pie graphs
    • Tree maps
  • Tabular
    • Pivot tables

Q: What is a suggested visualization? How does Amazon QuickSight generate suggestions?

Amazon QuickSight comes with a built-in suggestion engine that provides you with suggested visualizations based on the properties of the underlying datasets. Suggestions serve as possible first or next-steps of an analysis and removes the time-consuming task of interrogating and understanding the schema of your data. As you work with more specific data, the suggestions will update to reflect the next steps appropriate to your current analysis.

Q: What are Stories?

Stories are guided tours through specific views of an analysis. They are used to convey key points, a thought process, or the evolution of an analysis for collaboration. You can construct them in Amazon QuickSight by capturing and annotating specific states of the analysis. When readers of the story click on an image in the story, they are then taken into the analysis at that point, where they can explore on their own.

Q: What type of calculations does Amazon QuickSight enable?

You can perform typical arithmetic and comparison functions; conditional functions such as if,then; and date, numeric, and string calculations.

Q: How can I get sample data to explore in QuickSight?

For your convenience, sample analyses are automatically generated when you create an account in Amazon QuickSight. The raw data can also be downloaded from the links below:

These datasets were created by 47Lining, an AWS Advanced Consulting Partner with Big Data Competency designation.

Security and access

Q: How is data transmitted to Amazon QuickSight?

You have several options to get your data into Amazon QuickSight: file upload, connect to AWS data sources, connect to external data stores over JDBC/ODBC, or through other API-based data store connectors.

Q: Can I choose the AWS region to connect to hosted or on-premises databases over JDBC/ODBC?

Yes. For better performance and user interactivity, customers are advised to use the region where your data is stored. The Amazon QuickSight auto discovery feature detects data sources only within the AWS region of the Amazon QuickSight endpoint to which you are connected. For a list of the supported Amazon QuickSight AWS regions, please visit the Regional Products and Services page for all AWS global infrastructure.

Q: Does Amazon QuickSight support multi-factor authentication?

Yes. You can enable multi-factor authentication (MFA) for your AWS account via the AWS Management console.

Q: How do I connect my VPC to Amazon QuickSight?

If your VPC has been set up with public connectivity, you can add Amazon QuickSight’s IP address range to your database instances’ security group rules to enable traffic flow into your VPC and database instances.

Q: What is row-level security?

Row-level security (RLS) enables QuickSight dataset owners to control access to data at row granularity based on permissions associated with the user interacting with the data. With RLS, Amazon QuickSight users only need to manage a single set of data and apply appropriate row-level dataset rules to it. All associated dashboards and analyses will enforce these rules, simplifying dataset management and removing the need to maintain multiple datasets for users with different data access privileges.

Q: What does private VPC access in the context of Amazon QuickSight mean?

If you have data in AWS (perhaps in Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), or on EC2) or on-premises in Teradata or SQL Server on servers without public connectivity, this feature is for you. Private VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) Access for QuickSight uses an Elastic Network Interface (ENI) for secure, private communication with data sources in a VPC. It also allows you to use AWS Direct Connect to create a secure, private link with your on-premises resources.

Sharing

Q: How do I share an analysis, dashboard, or story in Amazon QuickSight?

You can share an analysis, dashboard, or story using the share icon from the QuickSight service interface. You will be able to select the recipients (email address, username or group name), permission levels, and other options before sharing the content with others.

Upgrades and Downgrades

Can I upgrade from Standard Edition to Enterprise Edition?
Yes, Standard Edition account accounts can be upgraded to Enterprise Edition through the QuickSight management page. Existing authentication details and user data will be seamlessly migrated to Enterprise Edition. Enterprise Edition rates for user and SPICE capacity will apply.

Can I downgrade from Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition?
No, you will not be able to downgrade from Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition. Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition offers enhanced functionality such as QuickSight Readers, connectivity to data sources in Private VPC, row-level security, hourly refresh of SPICE data as well as AD connectivity and group-based management of assets for AD accounts. Due to the differences in feature set, a downgrade might result in loss of data connectivity and security, and as a result, this option is not supported.

Keep in touch

To stay in touch with all of the new and innovative QuickSight features in the coming months, sign up for the QuickSight update email.