Questions d'ordre général

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'Amazon QuickSight ?

Amazon QuickSight est un service cloud d'analyse métier ultra-rapide et simple, qui permet à tous les employés d'une organisation de créer des visualisations, d'effectuer des analyses ad hoc et d'obtenir des informations sur le marché à partir de leurs données rapidement, n'importe où et sur n'importe quel appareil. Téléchargez des fichiers CSV et Excel, connectez à des applications SaaS comme Salesforce, accédez à bases de données sur site comme SQL Server, MySQL et PostgreSQL, et découvrez de façon fluide vos sources de données AWS telles qu'Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Athena et Amazon S3. QuickSight permet aux organisations de mettre à l'échelle leurs capacités d'analyse métier pour des centaines de milliers d'utilisateurs et d'offrir des performances d'interrogation rapides et réactives en utilisant un moteur en mémoire robuste (SPICE).

Q : En quoi Amazon QuickSight diffère-t-il des solutions d'informatique décisionnelle traditionnelles ?

Les solutions d'informatique décisionnelle traditionnelles obligent souvent les équipes d'analystes de données à travailler des mois sur la conception de modèles de données complexes avant de générer un rapport. En général, il leur manque des fonctionnalités interactives de visualisation et d'exploration des données ad hoc, ce qui limite les utilisateurs à des rapports définis et à des requêtes présélectionnées. Les solutions d'informatique décisionnelle traditionnelles nécessitent un investissement initial important dans des logiciels et du matériel complexes et coûteux. Ensuite, les clients doivent eux aussi investir dans une infrastructure encore plus développée pour conserver des performances de requête rapides au fur et à mesure que le volume de leur base de données augmente. En raison de ces coûts et de cette complexité, il est difficile pour les entreprises de réaliser des solutions d'analyse au sein de leurs organisations. Amazon QuickSight a été conçu pour résoudre ces problèmes en apportant la scalabilité et la flexibilité du cloud AWS à l'analyse métier. À la différence des solutions d'informatique décisionnelle ou de détection de données traditionnelles, la mise en route d'Amazon QuickSight est simple et rapide. Lorsque vous vous connectez, Amazon QuickSight découvre en toute fluidité vos sources de données dans les services AWS comme Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Athena et Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). Vous pouvez vous connecter à n'importe quelle source de données détectée par Amazon QuickSight et obtenir en quelques minutes des informations la concernant. Vous pouvez configurer Amazon QuickSight pour qu'il garde à jour les données contenues dans SPICE à mesure que les données contenues dans les sources sous-jacentes changent. SPICE prend en charge une détection des données et des capacités d'analyse métier complexes afin d'aider les clients à obtenir des informations utiles à partir de leurs données, sans s'inquiéter du provisionnement ou de la gestion de l'infrastructure. Les organisations paient de faibles coûts mensuels pour chaque utilisateur Amazon QuickSight, ce qui leur permet de ne pas payer de licences à long terme. Avec Amazon QuickSight, les organisations peuvent fournir une fonctionnalité d'analyse métier complexe à tous leurs employés, sans pour autant avoir à régler des frais initiaux exorbitants.

Q : Qu'est-ce que SPICE ?

Amazon QuickSight est développé avec « SPICE », un moteur de calcul en mémoire parallèle ultra-rapide. Entièrement créé pour le cloud, SPICE associe des fonctions de stockage vertical, de technologies en mémoire activées à l'aide des dernières innovations matérielles et de génération de code automatique pour permettre aux utilisateurs d'exécuter des requêtes interactives sur de vastes ensembles de données et d'obtenir des réponses rapides. SPICE prend en charge des calculs complexes pour vous permettre d'extraire des informations pertinentes de votre analyse, sans jamais devoir vous soucier de la mise en service ou de la gestion d'une infrastructure. Les données dans le SPICE persistent jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient explicitement supprimées par l'utilisateur. SPICE réplique automatiquement les données à des fins de haute disponibilité. Il permet également de mettre à l'échelle QuickSight pour des milliers d'utilisateurs, qui peuvent effectuer simultanément des analyses interactives rapides sur une multitude de sources de données AWS différentes.

Q : Comment puis-je démarrer avec Amazon QuickSight ?

Pour démarrer, inscrivez-vous à Amazon QuickSight et obtenez 1 utilisateur et 1 Go de capacité SPICE gratuitement. Si vous êtes déjà inscrit, vous pouvez accéder à QuickSight par ce lien : https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com.

Accès Web et mobile

Q : Puis-je utiliser Amazon QuickSight sur mon appareil mobile ?

L'application iPhone pour Amazon QuickSight vous permet d'accéder à vos données n'importe où et de consulter les analyses, les historiques et les tableaux de bord. Obtenez une prise en charge Android et tablette, ainsi que la visualisation et la création d'annotations en mode hors ligne à l'avenir. Vous pouvez également y accéder depuis n'importe quel navigateur moderne fonctionnant sur les ordinateurs portables ou fixes, ou depuis un navigateur Web sur n'importe quel appareil mobile.

Q : Quels navigateurs prennent en charge Amazon QuickSight ?

Amazon QuickSight prend en charge les dernières versions de Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Edge et Internet Explorer version 10 et ultérieures.

Gestion de données

Q : Quelles sources de données Amazon QuickSight prend-il en charge ?

Vous pouvez vous connecter à des sources de données AWS, y compris Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena et Amazon S3. Vous pouvez également télécharger des fichiers Excel ou des fichiers plats (CSV, TSV, CLF et ELF), vous connecter à des bases de données sur site comme SQL Server, MySQL et PostgreSQL, et importer des données d'applications SaaS comme Salesforce.

Q : Puis-je associer Amazon QuickSight à ma base de données Amazon EC2 ou sur site ?

Oui. Afin d'associer Amazon QuickSight à une base de données Amazon EC2 ou sur site, vous devez ajouter la plage d'adresses IP Amazon QuickSight à la liste autorisée (liste blanche) dans votre base de données hébergée.

Q : Comment puis-je charger mes fichiers de données dans Amazon QuickSight ?

Vous pouvez charger des fichiers de données XLSX, CSV, TSV, CLF et XLF directement depuis le site Web Amazon QuickSight. Vous pouvez aussi les charger sur un compartiment Amazon S3 et faire pointer Amazon QuickSight vers l'objet Amazon S3.

Q : Comment puis-je accéder à mes données dans les sources de données AWS ?

Amazon QuickSight détecte en continu vos sources de données AWS qui sont disponibles dans votre compte, avec votre approbation. Vous pouvez immédiatement commencer à parcourir les données et créer des visualisations. Vous pouvez également vous connecter explicitement à d'autres sources de données AWS qui ne se trouvent pas dans votre compte ou sont situées dans une autre région en fournissant les informations de connexion relatives à ces sources.

Q : Le format de ma base de données n'est pas correct. Comment puis-je formater et convertir les données avant de les visualiser ?

Amazon QuickSight vous permet de préparer les données qui ne sont pas prêtes à être visualisées. Cliquez sur le bouton « Edit/Preview Data » dans la boîte de dialogue de connexion. Amazon QuickSight prend en charge plusieurs fonctions vous permettant de formater et convertir vos données. Vous pouvez créer des alias de champs de données et changer les types de données. Vous pouvez réaliser des sous-ensembles avec vos données en utilisant des filtres intégrés et réaliser des opérations de fusion de bases de données par glisser-déposer. Vous pouvez également créer des champs calculés en utilisant des opérations mathématiques et des fonctions intégrées, telles que des déclarations conditionnelles et des fonctions de chaîne, numériques et de date.

Q : Quel volume de données puis-je analyser avec Amazon QuickSight ?

Amazon QuickSight vous permet de ne pas vous soucier de votre volume de données. Vous pouvez augmenter vos données en continu de quelques centaines de mégaoctets à plusieurs téraoctets sans gérer aucune infrastructure.

Gestion des utilisateurs

Q : Comment gérer l'accès des utilisateurs à Amazon QuickSight ?

Lorsque vous créez un nouveau compte Amazon QuickSight, vous disposez des privilèges d'administrateur par défaut. Si vous êtes invité à devenir un utilisateur Amazon QuickSight, la personne qui vous invite vous attribue le rôle ADMIN ou le rôle USER. Si vous avez un rôle ADMIN, vous pouvez créer et supprimer des comptes utilisateurs, acheter des abonnements annuels et de la capacité SPICE en plus d'utiliser le service.

Pour créer un compte utilisateur, vous envoyez une invitation par e-mail à l'utilisateur grâce à l'interface dans l'application. L'utilisateur complète la création de comptes en indiquant un mot de passe et en se connectant.

Visualisation et analyse

Q : Comment puis-je créer une analyse avec Amazon QuickSight ?

La création d'une analyse est un jeu d'enfant. Amazon QuickSight détecte en continu les données contenues dans des répertoires de données AWS au sein de votre compte AWS. Il vous suffit de faire pointer Amazon QuickSight vers l'une des sources de données détectées. Pour vous connecter à une source de données AWS qui ne se trouve pas dans votre compte AWS ou sont situées dans une autre région, vous pouvez fournir les informations de connexion de la source en question. Ensuite, sélectionnez une table et commencez à analyser vos données. Vous pouvez également charger des feuilles de calcul et des fichiers CSV, puis utiliser Amazon QuickSight afin d'analyser vos fichiers. Pour créer une visualisation, commencez par sélectionner les champs de données que vous souhaitez analyser, ou faites glisser les champs directement dans le canevas visuel, ou combinez ces deux méthodes. Amazon QuickSight sélectionnera automatiquement la visualisation appropriée à afficher en fonction des données que vous avez sélectionnées.

Q : Comment Amazon QuickSight sélectionne-t-il la visualisation adéquate pour mes données ?

Amazon QuickSight intègre une technologie innovante appelée AutoGraph, qui lui permet de sélectionner les visualisations les plus appropriées en fonction des propriétés des données, comme leur cardinalité et leur type. Amazon QuickSight sélectionne les types de visualisation de manière à afficher les données et leurs relations de manière efficace.

Q : Comment créer un tableau de bord ?

Les tableaux de bord constituent un ensemble de visualisations, de tables et d'autres affichages visuels organisés, qui peuvent être visualisés ensemble. Avec Amazon QuickSight, vous pouvez créer un tableau de bord au sein d'une analyse en organisant les dispositions et la taille des visualisations, puis le publier auprès des personnes de votre choix au sein de votre organisation.

Q : Quels types de visualisation sont pris en charge dans Amazon QuickSight ?

Amazon QuickSight prend en charge les visualisations assorties qui facilitent les différentes approches d'analyse :

  • Comparaison et distribution
    • Diagrammes en barres (plusieurs variantes assorties)
  • Changements au fil du temps
    • Graphiques linéaires
    • Graphiques à courbe et à aire
  • Corrélation
    • Nuages de points
    • Cartes thermiques
  • Agrégation
    • Graphiques à secteurs
    • Diagrammes de compartimentage
  • Tabulaire
    • Tableaux croisés dynamiques

Q : Qu'est-ce qu'une visualisation suggérée ? Comment Amazon QuickSight génère-t-il des suggestions ?

Amazon QuickSight inclut un moteur de suggestions intégré qui vous propose les visualisations suggérées en fonction des propriétés des ensembles de données sous-jacents. Les suggestions peuvent être utilisées comme première étape ou étape secondaire d'une analyse, ce qui permet de réduire le temps consacré à l'interrogation et à la compréhension du schéma de vos données. A mesure que vous travaillez avec des données plus spécifiques, les suggestions seront mises à jour pour refléter les étapes suivantes appropriées à votre analyse actuelle.

Q : Qu'est-ce que les historiques ?

Les historiques constituent des visites guidées des vues spécifiques d'une analyse. Ils sont utilisés pour communiquer des points clés, un processus réfléchi, ou encore l'évolution d'une analyse en vue d'une collaboration. Vous pouvez les créer dans Amazon QuickSight en capturant et en annotant des états spécifiques de l'analyse. Lorsque les lecteurs de l'historique cliquent sur une image contenue dans ce dernier, ils sont renvoyés à ce point de l'analyse, où ils peuvent ensuite explorer et annoter par eux-mêmes.

Q : Quels types de calculs Amazon QuickSight autorise-t-il ?

Vous pouvez réaliser des fonctions arithmétiques et de comparaison typiques, des fonctions conditionnelles comme SI et ALORS, ainsi que des calculs de chaînes numériques, de chaîne ou de date.

Q : Comment puis-je obtenir un exemple de données à exploiter dans QuickSight ?

Pour votre confort, les analyses des exemples sont automatiquement générées lorsque vous créez un compte dans Amazon QuickSight. Les données brutes peuvent également être téléchargées depuis le lien ci-dessous :

Ces ensembles de données ont été créés par 47Lining, un partenaire consultant Avancé AWS avec la compétence Big Data.

Sécurité et accès

Q : Comment les données sont-elles transmises à Amazon QuickSight ?

Plusieurs options sont mises à votre disposition pour transférer vos données dans Amazon QuickSight : le téléchargement de fichiers, la connexion aux sources de données AWS, la connexion à des magasins de données externes via les normes JDBC/ODBC, ou à l'aide d'autres connecteurs de magasins de données basés sur une API.

Q : Puis-je choisir la région AWS à connecter pour des bases de données hébergées ou sur site par JDBC/ODBC ?

Oui. Pour obtenir de meilleures performances et une meilleure interactivité utilisateur, nous vous recommandons d'utiliser la région dans laquelle vos données sont stockées. La fonction de détection automatique intégrée à Amazon QuickSight détecte les sources de données uniquement au sein de la région AWS du point de terminaison Amazon QuickSight auquel vous êtes connecté. Pour une liste des régions AWS Amazon QuickSight prises en charge, veuillez consulter la page concernant les produits et les services régionaux pour toutes les infrastructures mondiales AWS.

Q : Amazon QuickSight prend-il en charge l'authentification multi-facteurs ?

Oui. Vous pouvez activer l'authentification multi-facteurs pour votre compte AWS à l'aide d'AWS Management Console.

Q : Comment connecter mon VPC à Amazon QuickSight ?

Si votre VPC a été configuré à l'aide d'une connexion publique, vous pouvez ajouter la plage d'adresses IP Amazon QuickSight aux règles du groupe de sécurité associé à vos instances de bases de données, pour autoriser le trafic de votre VPC et de vos instances de bases de données.

Q : Qu'est-ce que la sécurité au niveau des lignes ?

La sécurité au niveau des lignes permet aux propriétaires d'ensembles de données QuickSight de contrôler l'accès aux données au niveau des lignes en fonction d'autorisations associées à l'utilisateur qui interagit avec les données. Avec cette fonction, les utilisateurs Amazon QuickSight ont uniquement besoin de gérer un seul ensemble de données et d'y appliquer des règles d'ensembles de données au niveau des lignes. Tous les tableaux de bord et analyses associés appliqueront ces règles. Cela permettra de simplifier la gestion des ensembles de données et évitera de devoir gérer plusieurs ensembles de données pour les utilisateurs ayant différents privilèges d'accès aux données.

Q : Que signifie un accès VPC privé dans le contexte d'Amazon QuickSight ?

Si vous avez des données dans AWS (peut-être dans Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service [RDS] ou EC2) ou sur site dans Teradata ou SQL Server sur des serveurs sans connexion publique, cette fonction est pour vous. L'accès VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) privé pour QuickSight utilise une ENI (interface réseau Elastic) pour une communication sécurisée et privée avec les sources de données dans un VPC. Il vous permet également d'utiliser AWS Direct Connect pour créer un lien privé et sécurisé avec vos ressources sur site.

Partage

Q : Comment partager une analyse, un tableau de bord ou un historique dans Amazon QuickSight ?

Vous pouvez partager une analyse, un tableau de bord ou un historique en utilisant l'icône de partage sur l'interface de service QuickSight. Vous pourrez alors sélectionner les destinataires (adresse e-mail, nom d'utilisateur ou nom de groupe), les niveaux d'autorisation et d'autres options avant de partager le contenu avec d'autres utilisateurs.

Mise à niveau de l'édition Standard en édition Enterprise

Q : Puis-je basculer entre l'édition Enterprise et l'édition Standard d'Amazon QuickSight après l'inscription ?

Oui. Vous pouvez basculer entre les éditions Enterprise et Standard à tout moment. Pour ce faire, vous devez vous désinscrire de l'édition Standard, puis suivre le processus d'inscription pour vous inscrire à l'édition Enterprise (ou inversement).

Q : Est-ce que mes données et utilisateurs seront migrés lorsque je basculerai entre les éditions Standard et Enterprise ?

Pour le moment, nous ne prenons pas en charge la migration des données et des utilisateurs entre les versions. Une fois que vous avez réalisé le basculement entre les différentes versions, vous aurez besoin de réinviter les utilisateurs sur votre compte et d'allouer de nouveau les ensembles de données dont vous pourriez avoir besoin.

Restez à la page

Inscrivez-vous aux e-mails de mise à jour QuickSight pour connaître toutes les nouvelles fonctions innovantes QuickSight à paraître dans les mois prochains.

General

Q: What is Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight is a very fast, easy-to-use, cloud-powered business analytics service that makes it easy for all employees within an organization to build visualizations, perform ad-hoc analysis, and quickly get business insights from their data, anytime, on any device. Upload CSV and Excel files; connect to SaaS applications like Salesforce; access on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL, and PostgreSQL; and seamlessly discover your AWS data sources such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Athena, and Amazon S3. QuickSight enables organizations to scale their business analytics capabilities to hundreds of thousands of users, and delivers fast and responsive query performance by using a robust in-memory engine (SPICE).

Q: How is Amazon QuickSight different from traditional Business Intelligence (BI) solutions?

Traditional BI solutions often require teams of data engineers to spend months building complex data models before generating a report. They typically lack interactive ad-hoc data exploration and visualization, limiting users to canned reports and pre-selected queries. Traditional BI solutions also require significant up-front investment in complex and costly hardware and software, and then customers to invest in even more infrastructure to maintain fast query performance as database sizes grow. This cost and complexity makes it difficult for companies to enable analytics solutions across their organizations. Amazon QuickSight has been designed to solve these problems by bringing the scale and flexibility of the AWS Cloud to business analytics. Unlike traditional BI or data discovery solutions, getting started with Amazon QuickSight is simple and fast. When you log in, Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your data sources in AWS services such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS, Amazon Athena, and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). You can connect to any of the data sources discovered by Amazon QuickSight and get insights from this data in minutes. You can choose for Amazon QuickSight to keep the data in SPICE up-to-date as the data in the underlying sources change. SPICE supports rich data discovery and business analytics capabilities to help customers derive valuable insights from their data without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Organizations pay a low monthly fee for each Amazon QuickSight user, eliminating the cost of long-term licenses. With Amazon QuickSight, organizations can deliver rich business analytics functionality to all employees without incurring a huge cost upfront.

Q: What is SPICE?

Amazon QuickSight is built with "SPICE" – a Super-fast, Parallel, In-memory Calculation Engine. Built from the ground up for the cloud, SPICE uses a combination of columnar storage, in-memory technologies enabled through the latest hardware innovations and machine code generation to run interactive queries on large datasets and get rapid responses. SPICE supports rich calculations to help you derive valuable insights from your analysis without worrying about provisioning or managing infrastructure. Data in SPICE is persisted until it is explicitly deleted by the user. SPICE also automatically replicates data for high availability and enables QuickSight to scale to hundreds of thousands of users who can all simultaneously perform fast interactive analysis across a wide variety of AWS data sources.

Q: How can I get started with Amazon QuickSight?

To get started, sign up to Amazon Quicksight and get 1 user and 1GB of SPICE capacity for free. If you’re already signed up, you can access QuickSight at https://quicksight.aws.amazon.com.

Authors and Readers

Who is a QuickSight “Author”?
A QuickSight Author is a user who can connect to data sources (within AWS or outside), create visuals and analyze data. Authors can create interactive dashboards using advanced QuickSight capabilities such as parameters and calculated fields, and publish dashboards with other users in the account.

Who is a QuickSight “Reader”?
A QuickSight Reader is a user who consumes interactive dashboards. Readers can log in via their organization’s preferred authentication mechanism (QuickSight username/password, SAML portal or AD auth), view shared dashboards, filter data, drill down to details or export data as a CSV file, using a web browser or mobile app. Readers do not have any allocated SPICE capacity.

Individual end-users can be provisioned to access QuickSight as Readers. Reader pricing applies to manual session interactions only. We reserve the right charge for the reader at the higher monthly author rate if, in our discretion, we determine that you are using reader sessions for other types of use (e.g., programmatic or automated queries).

Can I upgrade a Reader to an Author?
Yes, readers can be easily upgraded to authors via the QuickSight user management options.

I have a Standard Edition account. Can I add readers?
No, Readers with pay-per-session pricing only exist in Enterprise Edition. If you have a Standard Edition account, you can upgrade to Enterprise Edition via the QuickSight management page.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for programmatic access to QuickSight?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by individual users. A fair use policy applies, and any abuse of the system will result in the reader being metered as an author. To avoid such situations, we recommend that programmatic refresh of dashboards, if needed, be performed from an Author account.

Who is a QuickSight “Admin”?
A QuickSight Admin is a user who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I upgrade a Reader or Author to Admin?
Amazon QuickSight Authors and Readers can be upgraded to Admins at any time.

How long is a Reader session?
Amazon QuickSight Reader sessions are of 30-minute duration each. Each session is charged at $0.30 with maximum charges of $5 per Reader in a month.

When does a Reader session start and end?
A Reader session starts with a user-initiated action (e.g., login, dashboard load, page refresh, drill-down or filtering) and runs for next 30-minutes. Keeping Amazon QuickSight open in a background browser window/tab does not result in active sessions until the Reader initiates action on page.

Will a Reader be logged out after a 30-minute session?
No, Reader sessions are transparent to the QuickSight Reader. Reader sessions will be automatically renewed in 30-minute intervals, and time out 30 minutes after start upon inactivity. Readers will only be logged out of QuickSight when their authentication expires, which is dependent on the authentication scheme in place (can be one of QuickSight-only users, SAML/Open ID Connect or Active Directory).

Will a Reader be charged if QuickSight is open in a browser in a background tab?
No, having Amazon QuickSight open in a background tab will not result in usage charges. A session is only initiated when there is explicit Reader activity on the QuickSight web application. If the QuickSight page is moved to the background or minimized, there will be no additional sessions charged (beyond any sessions initiated when the Reader was active on the window/tab) until the Reader interacts with QuickSight again.

What does up to $5/mo. on reader charges mean?

A reader will be charged $0.30 a session up to a maximum of $5/month, after which the reader can access QuickSight at no charge for additional sessions.

Can Qucksight “Authors” or “Readers” invite more users?
No, QuickSight Authors and Readers are user types that cannot change account permissions or invite more users. QuickSight offers an Admin user, who can manage QuickSight users and account-level preferences, as well as purchase SPICE capacity and annual subscriptions for the account. Admins also have all QuickSight authoring capabilities. Admins can also upgrade Standard Edition accounts to Enterprise Edition if needed.

Can I use the QuickSight Reader account for display and scripted refresh of QuickSight dashboards on monitors or large screens?
Amazon QuickSight’s reader pricing applies to interactive consumption of data by end-users in an organization. For programmatic access and scripted refresh, we recommend use of an Author account to comply with fair use policies associated with the QuickSight Reader.

Mobile and web access

Q: Can I use Amazon QuickSight on my mobile device?

The iPhone app for Amazon QuickSight lets you access your data anywhere, and explore analyses, stories, and dashboards. Look for Android and tablet support, as well as viewing and creating annotations in offline mode in the future. You can also use any of the modern browsers running on laptops or desktops or access Amazon QuickSight or using a web browser on any mobile device.

Q: On which browsers is Amazon QuickSight supported?

Amazon QuickSight supports the latest versions of Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Internet Explorer version 10 and above and Edge.

Data management

Q: Which data sources does Amazon QuickSight support?

You can connect to AWS data sources including Amazon RDS, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena and Amazon S3. You can also upload Excel spreadsheets or flat files (CSV, TSV, CLF, and ELF), connect to on-premises databases like SQL Server, MySQL and PostgreSQL and import data from SaaS applications like Salesforce.

Q: Can I connect Amazon QuickSight to my Amazon EC2 or on-premises database?

Yes. In order to connect Amazon QuickSight to an Amazon EC2 or on-premises database, you need to add the Amazon QuickSight IP range to the authorized list (whitelist) in your hosted database.

Q: How do I upload my data files into Amazon QuickSight?

You can upload XLSX, CSV, TSV, CLF, XLF data files directly from Amazon QuickSight website. You can also upload them to an Amazon S3 bucket and point Amazon QuickSight to the Amazon S3 object.

Q: How do I access my data in AWS data sources?

Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers your AWS data sources that are available in your account with your approval. You can immediately start browsing the data and building visualizations. You can also explicitly connect to other AWS data sources that are not in your account or in a different region by providing connection details for those sources.

Q: My source data is not in a clean format. How do I format and transform the data before visualizing?

Amazon QuickSight lets you prepare data that is not ready for visualization. Select the “Edit/Preview Data” button in the connection dialog. Amazon QuickSight supports various functions to format and transform your data. You can alias data fields and change data types. You can subset your data using built in filters and perform database join operations using drag and drop. You can also create calculated fields using mathematical operations and built-in functions such conditional statements, string, numerical and date functions.

Q: How much data can I analyze with Amazon QuickSight?

With Amazon QuickSight you don’t need to worry about scale. You can seamlessly grow your data from a few hundred megabytes to many terabytes of data without managing any infrastructure.

User management

Q: How do I manage user access for Amazon QuickSight?

When you create a new Amazon QuickSight account, you have administrative privileges by default. If you are invited to become an Amazon QuickSight user, whoever invites you assigns you either an ADMIN or a USER role. If you have an ADMIN role, you can create and delete user accounts, purchase annual subscriptions and SPICE capacity in addition to using the service.

To create a user account, you send an email invitation to the user via an in-application interface, and then the user completes the account creation by specifying a password and signing in.

Visualization and analysis

Q: How do I create an analysis with Amazon QuickSight?

Creating an analysis is simple. Amazon QuickSight seamlessly discovers data in popular AWS data repositories within your AWS account. Simply point Amazon QuickSight to one of the discovered data sources. To connect to another AWS data source that is not in your AWS account or in a different region, you can provide the connection details of the source. Then, select a table and start analyzing your data. You can also upload spreadsheets and CSV files and use Amazon QuickSight to analyze your files. To create a visualization, start by selecting the data fields you want to analyze, or drag the fields directly on to the visual canvas, or a combination of both actions. Amazon QuickSight will automatically select the appropriate visualization to display based on the data you’ve selected.

Q: How does Amazon QuickSight select the right visualization to use for my data?

Amazon QuickSight has an innovative technology called AutoGraph that allows it to select the most appropriate visualizations based on the properties of the data, such as cardinality and data type. The visualization types are chosen to best reveal the data and relationships in an effective way.

Q: How do I create a dashboard?

Dashboards are a collection of visualizations, tables, and other visual displays arranged and visible together. With Amazon QuickSight, you can compose a dashboard within an analysis by arranging the layouts and size of visualizations and then publish the dashboard to an audience within your organization.

Q: What types of visualizations are supported in Amazon QuickSight?

Amazon QuickSight supports assorted visualizations that facilitate different analytical approaches:

  • Comparison and distribution
    • Bar charts (several assorted variants)
  • Changes over time
    • Line graphs
    • Area line charts
  • Correlation
    • Scatter plots
    • Heat maps
  • Aggregation
    • Pie graphs
    • Tree maps
  • Tabular
    • Pivot tables

Q: What is a suggested visualization? How does Amazon QuickSight generate suggestions?

Amazon QuickSight comes with a built-in suggestion engine that provides you with suggested visualizations based on the properties of the underlying datasets. Suggestions serve as possible first or next-steps of an analysis and removes the time-consuming task of interrogating and understanding the schema of your data. As you work with more specific data, the suggestions will update to reflect the next steps appropriate to your current analysis.

Q: What are Stories?

Stories are guided tours through specific views of an analysis. They are used to convey key points, a thought process, or the evolution of an analysis for collaboration. You can construct them in Amazon QuickSight by capturing and annotating specific states of the analysis. When readers of the story click on an image in the story, they are then taken into the analysis at that point, where they can explore on their own.

Q: What type of calculations does Amazon QuickSight enable?

You can perform typical arithmetic and comparison functions; conditional functions such as if,then; and date, numeric, and string calculations.

Q: How can I get sample data to explore in QuickSight?

For your convenience, sample analyses are automatically generated when you create an account in Amazon QuickSight. The raw data can also be downloaded from the links below:

These datasets were created by 47Lining, an AWS Advanced Consulting Partner with Big Data Competency designation.

Security and access

Q: How is data transmitted to Amazon QuickSight?

You have several options to get your data into Amazon QuickSight: file upload, connect to AWS data sources, connect to external data stores over JDBC/ODBC, or through other API-based data store connectors.

Q: Can I choose the AWS region to connect to hosted or on-premises databases over JDBC/ODBC?

Yes. For better performance and user interactivity, customers are advised to use the region where your data is stored. The Amazon QuickSight auto discovery feature detects data sources only within the AWS region of the Amazon QuickSight endpoint to which you are connected. For a list of the supported Amazon QuickSight AWS regions, please visit the Regional Products and Services page for all AWS global infrastructure.

Q: Does Amazon QuickSight support multi-factor authentication?

Yes. You can enable multi-factor authentication (MFA) for your AWS account via the AWS Management console.

Q: How do I connect my VPC to Amazon QuickSight?

If your VPC has been set up with public connectivity, you can add Amazon QuickSight’s IP address range to your database instances’ security group rules to enable traffic flow into your VPC and database instances.

Q: What is row-level security?

Row-level security (RLS) enables QuickSight dataset owners to control access to data at row granularity based on permissions associated with the user interacting with the data. With RLS, Amazon QuickSight users only need to manage a single set of data and apply appropriate row-level dataset rules to it. All associated dashboards and analyses will enforce these rules, simplifying dataset management and removing the need to maintain multiple datasets for users with different data access privileges.

Q: What does private VPC access in the context of Amazon QuickSight mean?

If you have data in AWS (perhaps in Amazon Redshift, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), or on EC2) or on-premises in Teradata or SQL Server on servers without public connectivity, this feature is for you. Private VPC (Virtual Private Cloud) Access for QuickSight uses an Elastic Network Interface (ENI) for secure, private communication with data sources in a VPC. It also allows you to use AWS Direct Connect to create a secure, private link with your on-premises resources.

Sharing

Q: How do I share an analysis, dashboard, or story in Amazon QuickSight?

You can share an analysis, dashboard, or story using the share icon from the QuickSight service interface. You will be able to select the recipients (email address, username or group name), permission levels, and other options before sharing the content with others.

Upgrades and Downgrades

Can I upgrade from Standard Edition to Enterprise Edition?
Yes, Standard Edition account accounts can be upgraded to Enterprise Edition through the QuickSight management page. Existing authentication details and user data will be seamlessly migrated to Enterprise Edition. Enterprise Edition rates for user and SPICE capacity will apply.

Can I downgrade from Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition?
No, you will not be able to downgrade from Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition to Standard Edition. Amazon QuickSight Enterprise Edition offers enhanced functionality such as QuickSight Readers, connectivity to data sources in Private VPC, row-level security, hourly refresh of SPICE data as well as AD connectivity and group-based management of assets for AD accounts. Due to the differences in feature set, a downgrade might result in loss of data connectivity and security, and as a result, this option is not supported.

Keep in touch

To stay in touch with all of the new and innovative QuickSight features in the coming months, sign up for the QuickSight update email.