aidoc_Logo_@2x

Aidoc 基于 AWS 平台,将挽救生命的先进人工智能技术,应用到医学成像领域

2019 年

对于急诊科 (ED) 医生而言,一些最危险的伤害往往是肉眼看不到的。有开放性伤口和其他明显创伤的患者可能会立即获得救治,而存在脑出血、脊柱损伤或血栓等不明显损伤的患者,有时却要等待就医,即使这些损伤会造成重大甚至致命伤害。

检测此类内伤只能通过使用计算机断层扫描 (CT)、X 射线和 MRI 扫描等医学成像程序,并由训练有素的放射科医生对成像结果进行分析和解读。由于此类技术的进步,每个患者接受此类扫描的次数日益增多。这是一个好消息,因为这让医生更有可能发现之前未注意到的潜在致命性异常。但由于放射科医生要承担由此而来的更加沉重的工作负担,他们中的许多人只能勉强使用不符合任务要求的工具。

Aidoc 为解决该问题应运而生,Aidoc 成立了,旨在为放射科医生提供先进的解决方案,在现有条件下提高其工作效率,并加快病患救治。更具体地说,Aidoc 认识到可以使用人工智能 (AI) 和图像识别工具来增强放射科医生的专业能力。该公司的始终开机、基于人工智能 (AI) 的决策支持软件,可以分析 CT 扫描结果,查出急性异常情况,让医生优先处理危重病例,并加速患者救治。这些工作都是在 Amazon Web Service (AWS) 上完成的。

Aidoc 解决方案使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) P3 实例来训练机器学习 (ML) 模型并执行推理过程;Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 用于存储匿名医学图像进行分析;Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 用于存储图像元数据。

Aidoc 营销副总裁 Ariella Shoham 说:“自 2018 年 9 月发布首个获 FDA 批准的解决方案以来,Aidoc 另有两种算法获得了 FDA 批准,且还有 12 种正在使用的算法获得了 FDA 器械调查豁免。我们之所以能迅速取得如此巨大的成功,我们的 AWS 基础设施所实现的敏捷性和开发速度是主要因素。”

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

借助 AWS 提供的极其快速的开发速度,我们正在让新算法更快地投入生产,更快地把产品推向市场,更快地帮助治疗患者,更快地为医院增加价值。”

Guy Reiner,
Aidoc 研发副总裁

 

实现宏伟发展的平台

Aidoc 诞生于云端,由三位以色列国防军退伍军人于 2015 年创立,他们拥有为军事情报应用构建 AI 解决方案的经验。“云计算对我们的工作至关重要,”该公司创始人之一、研发副总裁 Guy Reiner 表示。“如果没有云的灵活性和可扩展性,我们的产品根本不可行。”

在比较了云提供商之后,Aidoc 决定在 AWS 上构建自己的解决方案。Reiner 表示:“我们之所以选择 AWS,是因为其市场领先地位、服务的范围和成熟度、合作伙伴生态系统,以及用于安全性、扩展性和容器管理的强大而灵活的工具。因为我们与医院合作,数据隐私是最重要的,所以我们的决定也是基于 AWS 明确的承诺,即其服务符合 HIPAA 要求,以及在云环境中支持 GDPR 的广泛功能和服务。”

Aidoc 选择 AWS 的另一个关键决策因素是 Amazon EC2 P3 实例的可用性。这些实例提供了强大的、高度可扩展的并行处理功能,非常适合对于公司核心产品至关重要的机器学习应用程序。Reiner 表示:“在 AWS 上运行的一个最大好处就是始终能够使用最新的处理器技术,例如新的 NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU,帮助我们尽可能有效地进行模型训练。综合考虑所有这些因素,我们发现 AWS 为落实我们雄心勃勃的增长计划提供了最佳平台。”

“闻所未闻”的开发速度

在 AWS 上,Aidoc 的增长轻松达到了最初的预期。Reiner 表示,“借助 AWS 提供的极其快速的开发速度,我们正在让新算法更快地投入生产,更快地把产品推向市场,更快地帮助治疗患者,更快地为医院增加价值。通过使用 AWS,我们能够每三个月发布针对新病理的算法。这种速度在我们的行业是闻所未闻的,这让我们获得绝对的差异化优势。”

如果公司不能进入医院,那么开发速度就不会有多大意义。Shoham 表示,在 AWS 上运行已经帮助 Aidoc 通过两种方式赢得了 300 多位客户。“首先,我们经常遇到已经在 AWS 上运行关键解决方案的医院,因此当我们说 Aidoc 也在 AWS 上运行时,我们进一步加强了可信度和信任感。其次,由于我们在 AWS 上构建解决方案的方式,我们可以向医院确保我们传到云中的数据的匿名性、高度安全性,并符合最严格的数据隐私规则。”

最重要的是,Aidoc 的解决方案迄今已在全球 300 多家医疗机构中分析了 320 万例以上的病例,这不仅有益于患者治疗,也减轻了放射科医生的负担。在美国一家主要的医疗中心,Aidoc 解决方案将患者的急诊时间平均减少了 59 分钟,总住院时间减少了 18 小时。在另一家类似的医疗机构中,Aidoc 解决方案帮助放射科医生将颅内出血的 CT 扫描的平均分析时间从 53 分钟减少到 46 分钟,即减少 13%。

Shoham 表示:“在 AWS 上,Aidoc 的解决方案将预约病例的等待时间从几天缩短到数小时,在急诊科则从数小时缩短到数分钟。使用我们的解决方案的医生表示‘今天你的解决方案帮助我们拯救了一条生命’,这是非常令人欣慰的。 夫复何求!”

Aidoc 后续将发布一套算法来支持肿瘤放射科医生的工作。Reiner 表示,“我们的肿瘤学解决方案有助于放射科医生对肾脏、肝脏以及肺和淋巴结的病变,进行标示、比较和体积测量,从而减少此项艰巨而耗时的工作所需的带宽。借助基于 AWS 的解决方案,我们知道我们最终能够为放射科医生参与的几乎所有活动增加价值。”

要了解更多信息,请访问 aws.amazon.com/health


关于 Aidoc

Aidoc 提供经过临床验证、基于人工智能的技术,该技术可以分析医学影像,检测全身的急性异常情况,从而帮助放射科医生优先处理危重病例,并加速患者救治。

AWS 的优势

  • 实现每三个月发布新的诊断算法
  • 优先救治危重患者
  • 急诊平均就诊时间减少 59 分钟
  • 头部损伤 CT 扫描分析时间缩短 13%
  • 平均住院时间缩短 18 个小时

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。这意味着各种规模和行业的客户,都可以使用 Amazon S3 来存储和保护各种用例(如网站、移动应用程序、备份和还原、存档、企业应用程序、IoT 设备和大数据分析)的数据,容量不受限。

了解更多。»

Amazon Relational Database Service

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。Amazon RDS 在自动执行耗时的管理任务 (如硬件调配、数据库设置、修补和备份) 的同时,可提供经济实用的可调容量。

了解更多。»

Amazon EC2 P3 实例

Amazon EC2 P3 实例可在云中提供高性能计算,可支持高达 8 个 NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPU,并可为机器学习和 HPC 应用提供高达 100Gbps 的网络吞吐量。这些实例可以实现最高 1 petaflop 的混合精度性能,显著加快机器学习和高性能计算应用程序的速度。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

aidoc_Logo_@2x

Aidoc Brings Lifesaving AI Advancements to Medical Imaging on AWS

2019

Some of the most dangerous injuries encountered by emergency-department (ED) doctors are invisible to the naked eye. While patients with open wounds and other obvious traumas may receive immediate care, patients with less apparent injuries like brain bleeds, spinal damage, or blood clots are sometimes left waiting—even while those injuries cause extensive and sometimes fatal damage.

The only way to detect internal injuries like these is by using medical imaging procedures such as computed tomography (CT), X-rays, and MRI scans, the results of which are analyzed by radiologists, medical doctors with advanced training in interpreting these images. Because of advances in these technologies, there are more and more of these scans per patient. This is good news, because it increases the likelihood of catching potentially deadly abnormalities that might previously have gone undetected. But as radiologists shoulder the resulting heavier workloads, many of them must make do with tools that aren’t up to the task.

Aidoc was founded to solve this problem by providing radiologists with advanced solutions that increase their efficiency and expedite patient care within their existing work environments. More specifically, Aidoc recognized that artificial intelligence (AI) and image-recognition tools could be used to augment radiologists’ expertise. The company’s always-on, AI-based, decision-support software analyzes CT scans to flag acute abnormalities, prioritize life-threatening cases, and expedite patient care. And it does all this on Amazon Web Services (AWS).

The Aidoc solution uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) P3 instances to train machine learning (ML) models and execute inference processes; Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store anonymized medical imagery for analysis; and Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) to store image metadata.

"Since releasing our first FDA-cleared solution in September 2018, Aidoc has received FDA clearance for two more algorithms and has 12 more being used under FDA investigational device exemptions,” says Ariella Shoham, vice president of marketing for Aidoc. "The agility and development velocity that our AWS infrastructure enables have been major factors in helping us achieve so much success so quickly.”

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

With the extremely fast development velocity AWS enables, we are getting new algorithms into production faster, bringing products to market faster, and helping treat patients and increase value for hospitals faster."

Guy Reiner,
Vice President of Research and Development, Aidoc 

 

Platform for Ambitious Growth

Founded in 2015 by three Israel Defense Forces veterans with experience building AI solutions for military intelligence applications, Aidoc was born in the cloud. "Cloud computing is crucial for our work," says Guy Reiner, one of the company’s founders and its vice president of research and development. "Without the flexibility and scalability of the cloud, our offerings simply wouldn't be viable."

After comparing cloud providers, Aidoc decided to build its solution on AWS. "We selected AWS for its market leadership, range and maturity of services, partner ecosystem, and strong, flexible tools for security, scaling, and container management," says Reiner. "Because we work with hospitals, where data privacy is of the utmost importance, we also based our decision on the clear commitment AWS has to making its services HIPAA-eligible, as well as its extensive features and services supporting GDPR enablement in cloud environments."

Another key decision factor for Aidoc in selecting AWS was the availability of Amazon EC2 P3 instances. These instances provide powerful, highly scalable, parallel-processing capabilities well suited for the machine learning applications that are central to the company's core offerings. “One of the best things about running on AWS is always having access to the latest processor technologies, such as the new NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPUs, to help us make our model training as effective as possible,” says Reiner. "Considering all these factors together, we saw that AWS offered the best platform for the ambitious growth we were projecting."

“Unheard of” Development Velocity

On AWS, Aidoc's growth has easily kept pace with those initial expectations. "With the extremely fast development velocity AWS enables, we are getting new algorithms into production faster, bringing products to market faster, and helping treat patients and increase value for hospitals faster," says Reiner. "By using AWS, we are able to release algorithms targeting new pathologies every three months. That speed is unheard of in our industry, and it absolutely differentiates us."

Development velocity wouldn't mean much if the company couldn't get in the door at hospitals. According to Shoham, running on AWS has helped Aidoc win more than 300 customers in two ways. "First, we often encounter hospitals that are already running critical solutions on AWS, so we further strengthen credibility and trust when we say Aidoc runs on AWS, too. Second, because of the way we're able to architect our solution on AWS, we can assure hospitals that the data we bring to the cloud is anonymized, highly secure, and able to comply with even the strictest data-privacy rules."

Most important of all, Aidoc's solution, which to date has analyzed more than 3.2 million cases at more than 300 medical facilities around the world, is benefiting both patient care and radiologist well-being. At one major U.S. medical center, the Aidoc solution reduced patient ED visits by 59 minutes and overall hospitalization time by 18 hours, on average. At another similar medical facility, the Aidoc solution helped radiologists reduce the average turnaround time for CT scans of intracranial hemorrhages from 53 minutes to 46 minutes, or 13 percent.

“On AWS, Aidoc’s solutions are shortening patient wait times from days to hours for scheduled cases and from hours to minutes in the emergency department,” says Shoham. “It is very gratifying to have doctors who use our solution say things like ‘Today your solution helped us save a life.’ You can’t ask for more than that!”

Aidoc’s next steps include releasing a package of algorithms to support the work of oncology radiologists. “Our oncology package helps radiologists flag, compare, and perform volumetric measurement of kidney and liver lesions as well as lung and lymph nodules, reducing the bandwidth required for this demanding, time-consuming work,” says Reiner. “With a solution based on AWS, we know we will eventually be able to add value to almost every activity radiologists engage in."

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/health.


About Aidoc

Aidoc offers clinically proven, AI-based technology that analyzes medical imaging to detect acute abnormalities across the body, helping radiologists prioritize life-threatening cases and expedite patient care.

Benefits of AWS

  • Enables the release of new diagnostic algorithms every 3 months
  • Prioritizes the treatment of patients with life-threatening conditions
  • Reduced the average length of emergency-room visits by 59 minutes
  • Cut analysis time for head-injury CT scans by 13%
  • Shortened average hospital stay by 18 hours

AWS Services Used

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. This means customers of all sizes and industries can use it to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics.

Learn more »

Amazon Relational Database Service

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale a relational database in the cloud. It provides cost-efficient and resizable capacity while automating time-consuming administration tasks such as hardware provisioning, database setup, patching and backups.

Learn more »

Amazon EC2 P3 Instances

Amazon EC2 P3 instances deliver high performance compute in the cloud with up to 8 NVIDIA® V100 Tensor Core GPUs and up to 100 Gbps of networking throughput for machine learning and HPC applications. These instances deliver up to one petaflop of mixed-precision performance per instance to significantly accelerate machine learning and high performance computing applications.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.