我们的 lncRNA 分析需要大量计算处理和集成。借助 AWS,我们可以快速计算 1000 个或更多个节点,这将我们的基因组测序分析所需的时间从数周缩短为数天。 
Mitch Guttman 博士 生物学和生物工程部门副教授

加州理工学院 (Caltech) lncRNA 生物学格特曼实验室是一间研究实验室,由杰出的科学家 Mitch Guttman 博士负责。他正在带领研究人员团队研究一种称为 lncRNA (大型非编码 RNA 的简称) 的新型基因。借助基因组方法和生物化学、分子生物学、细胞生物学以及计算生物学,Guttman 和他的团队正在探索 lncRNA 是如何编组细胞中的蛋白质和 DNA 分子来控制精确的基因表达程序的。

2013 年,当 Guttman 博士来到 Caltech 时,他希望确保他的研究团队能拥有一个具有弹性且灵活的高性能计算 (HPC) 群集。“当我们考虑采用适用于我们实验室的群集时,我们深知它必须能支持我们不断变化的计算需求。”Guttman 说道,“我们有时需要 1000 个计算节点,而有时仅需要 10 个,具体取决于数据可用性和我们的研究项目所处的阶段。同时整合多个项目可能需要更多的节点。”

但是,该实验室并不想构建其自己的本地群集来支持其需求。“在加州,我们是国内房产和电力成本最高的组织,因此我们非常关注创建自己的群集所需的成本。”加州理工学院信息管理系统和服务主管 John Lilley 说道,“我们也不想在管理和维护群集上花费时间。”

此外,Guttman 和他的团队希望确保他们能够轻松管理群集访问凭证。Lilley 说:“我们希望能从一个中央位置激活和取消激活群集用户账户,而无需担心任何机器上的凭证会缺失”。

Caltech 已将其全部的 Web 业务迁移到了 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云平台,并且格特曼实验室也选择使用 AWS 来支持其 HPC 群集。Lilley 说:“我们一直在寻找一种方式以便我们将云用于计算资源,而 AWS 是最佳选择,因为它可以提供我们所需的弹性和灵活性,还能够节约成本”。

格特曼实验室使用一个 HPC 群集,该群集包含连接到 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 的计算机,通过这一群集,该实验室能够预置 AWS 云的逻辑隔离部分,以在定义的虚拟网络中启动 AWS 资源。干湿实验室中的研究人员可以获取基因组测序数据并将其保存到 Amazon VPC 内的 GlusterFS 文件系统中,然后研究人员可以通过基于 AWS 的共享 Linux 工作站来访问这些数据,该工作站已通过 Simple AD (一种 Active Directory,即 AWS Directory Service 中的兼容目录) 进行身份验证。

对于非 Linux 用户,该实验室还使用了 Amazon WorkSpaces 托管桌面计算服务。“我们希望 Windows 用户能够从他们的干实验室 PC 连接到 Amazon WorkSpaces,并与 Linux 用户拥有相同级别的数据访问权限。”Lilley 说道,“并且我们可以使用 Simple AD 轻松管理这些访问。”该实验室将 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例用于其 GlusterFS 节点,并且在 AWS 上使用 CfnCluster 框架来部署并维护其 HPC 群集。借助该群集,研究团队开发了计算工具和统计方法来分析实验数据。

借助 AWS,格特曼实验室现在可以灵活地管理其不断变化的计算需求。Lilley 说:“我们无需构建自己的物理群集来管理周期性计算使用量,因为 AWS 会根据我们的情况自动扩展。”Guttman 补充道:“现在,我们无需提前花时间来确定项目的优先级,并且我们有足够的计算能力,无需每隔几年更新一次硬件。我们还能够积极地开发并测试新的研究方法。AWS 无疑是我们实验室的一大助力。”

此外,该实验室还拥有必要的敏捷性,可以在需要时轻松添加更多的计算资源。“最近,我们需要将 GlusterFS 系统从 5TB 扩展到 24TB,但我们无需购买新硬件就能实现此扩展。”Lilley 说道,“我们只需添加更多的 Amazon EC2 节点并增加云存储即可,这只需要一小时就能完成。之前,因为需要商议硬件购买价格,然后再采购、安装和测试,因此需要花费数周时间才能完成。”

此外,借助 AWS 云,该实验室的研究人员可以更快地分析 lncRNA 数据。“我们的 lncRNA 分析需要大量计算处理和集成。”Guttman 说道,“借助 AWS,我们可以快速计算 1000 个或更多个节点,这将我们的基因组测序分析所需的时间从数周缩短为数天。如果使用之前的有限容量,我们无法实现这一点。”

此外,通过使用 Amazon EC2 竞价实例对剩余的 Amazon EC2 计算容量进行竞价,该实验室还降低了成本。Guttman 说:“我们不仅通过使用 AWS 获得了具有弹性的计算容量,而且还可以享受 EC2 竞价实例的经济高效性,此外,该群集非常实惠,比我们自行构建群集所需的成本要低得多。”

借助 Amazon WorkSpaces 和 Simple AD,格特曼实验室可以轻松管理对其 HPC 群集的访问。Lilley 说:“刚开始使用群集时,从 Linux 桌面将凭证同步到管理主机和 CfnCluster 绝非易事。”“借助集成到群集中的 Simple AD,我们节约了大量时间,因为我们可以从一个中央位置激活和取消激活用户账户。借助 Simple AD,我们可以使整个环境内的资源保持一致。”

最后,Caltech 计划在 AWS 上运行更多的实验室和部门。“我们会使用自己在 AWS 上创建的内容并将其展示给学院的其他基因组研究人员。”Lilley 说道,“我们会将这种解决方案视为 Caltech 实现 HPC 的模板。”

要了解有关云中基因组学的更多信息,请访问我们的 AWS 基因组学详细信息页面

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您管理 HPC 群集,请访问我们的 AWS 高性能计算详细信息页面

Our lncRNA analysis requires a lot of computational processing and integration. Using AWS, we can quickly compute across 1,000 or more nodes, which changes our time frame for genomic sequencing analysis from weeks to days. 
Dr. Mitch Guttman Assistant Professor, Division of Biology and Biological Engineering

The Guttman Lab for lncRNA Biology at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) is a research laboratory led by prominent scientist Dr. Mitch Guttman. He leads a team of researchers studying a new class of genes called lncRNAs, short for large noncoding RNA. Using genomic approaches along with biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, and computational biology, Guttman and his team are exploring how lncRNAs organize protein and DNA molecules in the cell to control precise gene expression programs.

When Dr. Guttman came to Caltech in 2013, he wanted to be sure his research team had a high-performance computing (HPC) cluster that was elastic and flexible. “When we thought about a cluster for our lab, we knew it had to support our fluctuating compute demands,” says Guttman. “Sometimes we need 1,000 compute nodes, and sometimes only 10. It depends on data availability and what stage of a research project we’re at. And the convergence of multiple projects simultaneously can push that number even higher.”

However, the lab did not want to have to build its own on-premises cluster to support its needs. “In California, we have some of the nation’s highest real estate and electricity costs, so we were concerned with the cost of creating our own cluster here,” says John Lilley, lead administrator, information management systems and services, Caltech. “We also didn’t want to spend our time managing and maintaining the cluster.”

Furthermore, Guttman and his team wanted to ensure they could easily manage cluster access credentials. “We wanted to be able to activate and deactivate cluster user accounts from one central location, without worrying that we missed credentials on any of the machines,” says Lilley.

Caltech had already moved its entire web presence to the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud platform, and the Guttman Lab also chose to use AWS to support its HPC cluster. “We had been looking for a way to use the cloud for our compute resources, and AWS was the best choice because it offered the elasticity, flexibility, and cost savings we were looking for,” says Lilley.

The Guttman Lab uses an HPC cluster that includes computers connected to an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), through which the lab can provision a logically isolated section of the AWS cloud to launch AWS resources in a defined virtual network. Researchers in dry and wet labs acquire genomic sequencing data and save it to a GlusterFS file system inside the Amazon VPC, and the researchers access the data using a shared AWS-based Linux workstation, which is authenticated via Simple AD, an Active Directory–compatible directory from AWS Directory Service.

The lab also uses the Amazon WorkSpaces managed desktop computing service for non-Linux users. “We wanted to give our Windows users the ability to connect from their dry lab PCs to Amazon WorkSpaces and have the same level of data access as Linux users,” says Lilley. “And we can use Simple AD to manage that access easily.” The lab uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances for its GlusterFS nodes, and it uses a CfnCluster framework to deploy and maintain its HPC cluster on AWS. Using that cluster, the research team develops computational tools and statistical methods to analyze experimental data.

With AWS, the Guttman Lab now has the elasticity to manage its fluctuating compute demands. “We didn’t have to build our own physical cluster to manage our cyclical compute usage, because AWS scales automatically for us,” says Lilley. Guttman adds, “Now, we don’t need to spend time prioritizing projects in advance, and we know we’ll have enough compute power without having to refresh hardware every few years. We’re also able to actively develop and test new research methods. AWS is definitely an enabler for our lab.”

The lab also has the agility necessary to easily add more compute resources when required. “We recently needed to expand our GlusterFS system from 5 terabytes to 24 terabytes, and we were able to do it without buying new hardware,” says Lilley. “We simply added more Amazon EC2 nodes and increased cloud storage, and it only took one hour. Previously, it would have taken weeks to do that, because there would be discussions about the hardware purchase prices, and then we would have had to do the procurement, installation, and testing.”

Additionally, researchers at the lab can analyze lncRNA data faster using the AWS cloud. “Our lncRNA analysis requires a lot of computational processing and integration,” says Guttman. “Using AWS, we can quickly compute across 1,000 or more nodes, which changes our time frame for genomic sequencing analysis from weeks to days. We couldn’t do that with the limited capacity we had before.”

The lab has also been able to reduce costs by using Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to bid on spare Amazon EC2 compute capacity. “When you consider the elastic compute capabilities we get using AWS, as well as the cost-effectiveness of EC2 Spot instances, this cluster is far cheaper than anything we could have built ourselves,” says Guttman.

Using Amazon WorkSpaces and Simple AD, the Guttman Lab can easily manage access to its HPC cluster. “When we first started with the cluster, it was quite a task to get credentials synced from the Linux desktop to the management hosts and the CfnCluster,” says Lilley. “With Simple AD integrated into the cluster, we have saved a lot of time because we can activate and deactivate user accounts from a central location. Simple AD helps us keep things consistent within the entire environment.”

Eventually, Caltech plans to have more labs and departments running on AWS. “We are taking what we’ve created on AWS and bringing it to other genomic researchers across campus,” says Lilley. “We see this as the template going forward for HPC at Caltech.”

To learn more about genomics in the cloud, visit our AWS Genomics details page.

To learn more about how AWS can help you manage your HPC cluster, visit our AWS High Performance Computing details page.