Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_Top
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_top
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_top
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_Top

Foursquare – это технологическая компания, предоставляющая информацию для бизнес-решений на основе глубокой аналитической информации о местоположении. Мобильные приложения компании, Foursquare и Swarm, ежемесячно используют более 50 миллионов человек, которые оставили уже более 87 миллионов советов и отметили свое местонахождение более 10 миллиардов раз. Бизнес-решения Foursquare включают целевую рекламу (Pinpoint), мониторинг социальных сетей (Attribution), анализ данных (Place Insights) и инструменты для разработчиков, включая базу данных Places, которую используют 100 000 компаний и приложений. Штат Foursquare составляют 200 сотрудников, которые работают в штаб-квартире компании в Нью-Йорке и в офисах, расположенных в Сан-Франциско, Чикаго, Атланте, Лос-Анджелесе, Детройте, Лондоне и Шанхае.

Foursquare каждый день передает поток из сотен миллионов событий приложения. Отчеты о ежедневном использовании, оценка новых предложений и долгосрочный анализ тенденций выполняются на основе аналитики собранных данных. А поскольку пользователи каждый день добавляют несколько миллионов новых отметок, рабочие нагрузки постоянно возрастают. Foursquare использовала для аналитики систему баз данных, однако это требовало больших расходов на ежегодное продление лицензии, а поддержание системы в рабочем состоянии отнимало у сотрудников компании довольно много времени. «Мы искали решение, которое освободило бы нас от расходов на лицензирование и позволило бы продуктивнее использовать рабочее время сотрудников», – рассказывает Джон Хоффман, инженер-программист.

Foursquare уже имела опыт использования Amazon Web Services (AWS) для хранения данных и тестирования и убедилась в том, что облако AWS может помочь сократить расходы. «Amazon Redshift обеспечивает необходимую производительность и при этом освобождает нас от расходов на лицензирование прежнего решения», – заявляет Хоффман.

Теперь для проведения аналитики Foursquare использует сервис Amazon Redshift и инструмент Tableau, который облегчает выполнение запросов по базе данных. «С помощью Amazon Redshift и Tableau любой сотрудник компании может создавать самые разные запросы, например, чтобы выяснить, как пользователи восприняли ту или иную возможность программы, как меняется наша аудитория с демографической или географической точки зрения и даже к каким результатам привели меры по стимулированию продаж в различных регионах. Решение получилось очень гибким», – рассказывает Хоффман.

Для хранения изображений и других данных компания использует Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). «Мы также используем AWS Direct Connect, что позволило сохранить некоторые элементы устаревшей инфраструктуры. При запуске на базе нашего собственного центра обработки данных они все еще работают с небольшой задержкой, а в Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) – просто оптимально», – продолжает Хоффман.

С помощью Amazon EC2 компания запускает и тестовые кластеры. Foursquare получила возможность подбирать размер и аппаратное обеспечение для кластеров аналитики в соответствии со своими текущими потребностями. Специалисты по аналитике теперь могут добавлять произвольное количество кластеров для срочных аналитических заданий, а разработчики – запускать свои выделенные кластеры для тестирования новых приложений. Инстансы Amazon EC2 работают под управлением CentOS Linux и используют прокси-сервер NGINX для маршрутизации запросов к внутренним сервисам. Для балансировки нагрузки также используется HAProxy.

По оценке Хоффмана, теперь Foursquare ежегодно экономит десятки тысяч долларов только на лицензировании Компания получила возможность использовать своих технических и ИТ-специалистов в стратегически важных и прибыльных проектах, вместо того чтобы тратить их силы на настройку серверов, резервное копирование и обслуживание систем.

Платформа AWS обеспечивает компании достаточную гибкость для увеличения размера кластера по мере необходимости. «Мы можем добавлять ресурсы с помощью нескольких щелчков мышью, – поясняет Хоффман. – AWS помогает нам масштабироваться при увеличении объема данных и сложности запросов. В случае необходимости мы можем динамически добавлять узлы, например, если запускается новая возможность или увеличивается потребность в ресурсах».

В заключение Хоффман сказал, что использование Amazon Redshift обеспечило компании гибкие аналитические возможности, позволив одновременно сократить расходы. «Redshift дает нам именно то, что нужно», – подытожил он.

Подробнее о том, как AWS может помочь вам запустить мобильное приложение, см. в разделе о мобильных приложениях: http://aws.amazon.com/mobile-apps/.


Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_v5
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_v4

Foursquare_Customer-Reference_Logo

Foursquare Case Study

2014

Foursquare is a technology company that informs business decisions through a deep understanding of location intelligence. The company’s mobile apps, Foursquare and Swarm, are used monthly by more than 50 million people who have left more than 87 million tips and checked in more than 10 billion times. Foursquare's business solutions include targeted advertising (Pinpoint), media measurement (Attribution), data analytics (Place Insights), and developer tools including the Places database used by 100,000 companies and apps. Foursquare has 200 employees in headquarters in New York and offices in San Francisco, Chicago, Atlanta, Los Angeles, Detroit, London, and Shanghai. 

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Using AWS helps us scale up as our data grows, and as the complexity of our queries increases. And we can spin up nodes dynamically whenever we need them, whether we’re launching a new feature or increasing capacity.”

Jon Hoffman
Software Engineer, Fourquare

The Challenge

Foursquare streams hundreds of millions of application logs each day. The company relies on analytics to report on its daily usage, evaluate new offerings, and perform long-term trend analysis—and with millions of new check-ins each day, the workload is only growing. But the database system Foursquare used for analytics comes with high annual licensing costs, and required the company to spend staff time keeping the system running. “We needed a solution that freed us from licensing fees and let us use our staff time more strategically,” says Jon Hoffman, Software Engineer. 

Why Amazon Web Services

Foursquare was already using Amazon Web Services (AWS) for storage and testing, so the company knew the AWS Cloud could help them cut costs. “We found that Amazon Redshift offers the performance we needed while freeing us from the licensing costs of our previous solution,” Hoffman says.

For its analytics, Foursquare is now using Amazon Redshift and a tool called Tableau, which facilitates running queries on its database. “With Amazon Redshift and Tableau, anyone in the company can set up any queries they like—from how users are reacting to a feature, to growth by demographic or geography, to the impact sales efforts have had in different areas. It’s very flexible,” Hoffman says.

The company uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store images and other data. “We are also using AWS Direct Connect, which has allowed us to keep some pieces of our legacy infrastructure that run best on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) but still have very low latency running on our own data center,” Hoffman says.

The company also runs test clusters using Amazon EC2. Foursquare can match the size and hardware used for their analytics clusters to their changing requirements. Data scientists can spin up ad hoc clusters for urgent analysis, and engineers can run their own dedicated clusters to test new applications. Amazon EC2 instances run CentOS Linux and use NGINX to route requests to internal services. HAProxy is also used to load-balance.

The Benefits

Hoffman estimates that Foursquare is saving tens of thousands of dollars each year in licensing costs alone. The company is also able to deploy its engineering and IT staff on more strategic, revenue-producing projects, instead of configuring servers and running backup and maintenance.

AWS is flexible enough to enable the company to increase the size of the cluster as necessary. “We can add capacity with a few clicks of a button,” Hoffman says. “Using AWS helps us scale up as our data grows, and as the complexity of our queries increases. And we can spin up nodes dynamically whenever we need them, whether we’re launching a new feature or increasing capacity.”

Using Amazon Redshift has enabled the company to perform more agile analytics while saving costs, Hoffman concludes. “Redshift gives us just want we need.”


About Foursquare

Foursquare is a technology company that informs business decisions through a deep understanding of location intelligence.

Benefits of AWS

  • Saves tens of thousands of dollars in licensing costs annually
  • Able to perform more agile analytics while saving costs
  • Engineering and IT staff can now focus on more strategic, revenue-producing projects

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift powers mission critical analytical workloads for Fortune 500 companies, startups, and everything in between.

Learn more »

AWS Direct Connect

AWS Direct Connect is a cloud service solution that makes it easy to establish a dedicated network connection from your premises to AWS.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.