hypertrack-logo@2x

HyperTrack 使用 AWS 进行实时数据处理,以实现大规模实时位置跟踪

2020 年

HyperTrack 是一个自助式云平台,用于通过应用程序进行实时位置跟踪。来自不同行业和地区的数万名开发人员使用该托管服务来跟踪其资产的实时移动,而无需构建和管理自己的基础设施。“我们使所有开发人员都可以尽可能轻松地向其应用程序添加实时位置跟踪”,HyperTrack 的软件架构师 Thomas Raffetseder 说。“开发人员将我们的软件开发工具包添加到其应用程序中,而我们则通过 API 在云中向它们返回准确、实时的位置数据。例如,领先的石油和天然气公司使用利用 HyperTrack 构建的油泵应用程序。它使用跟踪数据来了解油泵是如何花费时间的,并做出实时路径决策,以提高生产效率。”

在 2015 年末推出时,HyperTrack 需要构建一个可自动扩展的平台。“作为一家初创公司,我们深知我们会快速且持续发展,并且我们希望我们的基础设施能够支持我们运营更大的规模,而无需我们自己进行管理和维护”,Raffetseder 说。HyperTrack 还需要能够可视化现场数百万台设备中的数据,并通知客户其业务资产何时抵达目的地。“我们必须提供实时位置更新,这也是我们的客户所需要的”,Raffetseder 说。“这是我们向客户真正推出服务之前必须解决的问题。”

HyperTrack 团队
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

通过使用 AWS AppSync,我们非常有信心该服务会大有用处,并且无需额外的运营开销。我们在几天而不是几周内就启动并运行了我们的解决方案。”

Thomas Raffetseder
HyperTrack 软件架构师

使用 AWS AppSync 和 AWS Amplify 简化开发

为了实现这些目标,HyperTrack 在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云上开发了一个无服务器平台。它充分利用了 AWS Lambda 的无服务器计算以及 Amazon Kinesis 从公司的软件开发工具包提取数据流、准确处理数据流并为实时功能提供位置的优势。“开始时,我们碰到的问题不是我们是否应该使用云,而是应该使用哪个云”,Raffetseder 说。“AWS 一直以来都是云计算领导者,它提供了我们梦寐以求的成熟度和云服务。”

HyperTrack 还选择了 AWS AppSync 来可视化数百万台设备中的实时数据。AWS AppSync 使开发人员能够创建可访问和组合来自不同源的数据的 API,从而简化了开发。该服务使用适合于应用程序数据流的 GraphQL API 查询语言。“我们需要在管道中支持 GraphQL,以供前线和移动团队使用”,Raffetseder 说。“我们喜欢 GraphQL 提供的标准格式,而不是必须使用我们自己的专有格式,而 AWS AppSync 是满足此需求的完美之选。” 通过使用 AppSync 以及 AWS Amplify 移动开发框架,HyperTrack 能够向其客户提供数百万个数据点。

只需几天而不是几周即可交付数据

如果没有使用 AWS AppSync 和 Amplify,HyperTrack 可能需要花费更多的时间来尝试实现实时数据处理。“我们没有现成的专门运营团队,因此我们必须先从头开始组建团队,然后再尝试预测负载,以确保它在特定条件下仍可工作”,Raffetseder 说。“通过使用 AWS AppSync,我们非常有信心该服务会大有用处,并且无需额外的运营开销。我们在几天而不是几周内就启动并运行了我们的解决方案。”

HyperTrack 依靠 AWS 无服务器架构,可自动扩展和缩减,而无需工程人员干预。“通过在 AWS 上使用无服务器方法,我们的解决方案可以按照设计自动扩展,因此,我们只需将重点放在架构以及数据如何实际流向客户端上”,Raffetseder 说。“我们不必担心实际管理 GraphQL 服务器的性能,因此,我们可以快速扩展,以满足需求。我们从一款没有用户的新产品开始入手,如今,我们的平台上已有数亿个事件。没有 AWS,我们不可能实现。”

提高准确性和处理速度

由于 HyperTrack 没有在管理基础设施上花费时间,因此,它可以将注意力全部投入到为客户增加更多价值上。“没有人会使用 HyperTrack,因为我们已有一个出色的 GraphQL 服务器。他们之所以使用我们是因为我们可以为其企业提供巨大的价值”,Raffetseder 说。“通过使用 AWS AppSync 和 AWS 无服务器架构,我们就有了完全托管的服务,并且不必为如何让基础设施更加坚固而犯愁。这样一来,我们就可以更加集中精力研究客户真正关心的事情。这意味着我们能够专注于为我们的产品构建出色的实时位置体验,从而帮助我们的客户为其客户创造更好的业务和产品体验。” 

此外,HyperTrack 无需过度预置工作负载容量,从而节省了成本。“与转为使用无服务器方法之前使用的架构相比,我们实现了 30% 的成本节省”,HyperTrack 工程设计副总裁 Alexander Kishinevsky 说。“大部分成本节省来自于无需运营资源来专门管理服务器。这使得我们每周节省了 40 个工时。这对于像我们一样的初创公司来说非常重要,它意味着我们可以将资金投入到提升我们的产品上。通过使用 AWS,我们可以将精力放在为我们的客户提供最佳解决方案上。”

要了解更多信息,请访问 aws.amazon.com/appsync


关于 HyperTrack

HyperTrack 提供用于构建实时位置应用程序的托管服务。该公司的托管服务可以为劳动力自动化、物流、按需送货、零工经济、拼车和许多其他业务提供实时位置跟踪。HyperTrack 的总部位于加利福尼亚州旧金山,在乌克兰和印度均有团队。

AWS 的优势

  • 只需几天而不是几周即可实现实时数据处理
  • 每周节省 40 个小时,从而可以将更多时间花在开发新功能上
  • 帮助小型团队管理数百万个事件
  • 依赖完全托管的服务,从而将运营成本降低 30%

使用的 AWS 服务

AWS AppSync

AWS AppSync 使您可以创建一个灵活的 API 来安全地访问、操作和组合来自一个或多个数据源的数据,从而简化应用程序开发。AppSync 是一项使用 GraphQL 的托管服务,可让应用程序轻松获得所需数据。

了解更多 »

Amazon Kinesis

Amazon Kinesis 可让您轻松收集、处理和分析实时流数据,以便您及时获得见解并对新信息快速做出响应。Amazon Kinesis 提供多种核心功能,可以经济高效地处理任意规模的流数据,同时具有很高的灵活性,让您可以选择最符合应用程序需求的工具。

了解更多 »

AWS Lambda

通过 AWS Lambda,无需预置或管理服务器即可运行代码。您只需按使用的计算时间付费。

了解更多 »

AWS Amplify

AWS Amplify 是用于构建安全可扩展的移动和 web 应用程序的开发平台。它使您能够轻松验证用户身份、安全地存储数据和用户元数据、有选择地授予数据访问权限、集成机器学习、分析应用程序指标,并执行服务器端代码。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

hypertrack-logo@2x

HyperTrack Uses AWS for Real-Time Data Processing for Live Location Tracking at Scale

2020

HyperTrack is a self-serve cloud platform for live location tracking through apps. Tens of thousands of developers from various industries and regions use the managed service to track the real-time movement of their assets without building or managing their own infrastructure. “We make it as easy as possible for any developer to add live location tracking to their apps,” says Thomas Raffetseder, software architect at HyperTrack. “Developers add our SDK to their apps, and we provide accurate and real-time location data back to them in the cloud through their APIs. For instance, a leading oil and gas company uses an oil pumper app built with HyperTrack. It uses tracking data to understand how pumpers spend their time, and to make real-time routing decisions so they can be more productive.”

When it launched in late 2015, HyperTrack needed to build a platform that could scale automatically. “As a startup, we knew we would grow quickly and continue to grow, and we wanted to have infrastructure available to support us on a larger scale without us having to manage and maintain it ourselves,” says Raffetseder. HyperTrack also needed the ability to visualize data for millions of devices in the field and to notify customers when their business assets have arrived at a destination. “We had to provide that real-time location update, which is what our customers need,” Raffetseder says. “That was a use case we had to solve before we really rolled out our service to customers.”

The HyperTrack team
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Using AWS AppSync, we had high confidence the service would work without an extreme level of additional operational overhead. We got our solution up and running in days instead of weeks."

Thomas Raffetseder
Software Architect, HyperTrack

Using AWS AppSync and AWS Amplify to Streamline Development

To achieve these goals, HyperTrack developed a serverless platform on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud. It took advantage of AWS Lambda for serverless compute and Amazon Kinesis for ingesting the data streams from the company’s SDKs, processing them for accuracy, and making locations available for real-time features. “When we started, the question wasn’t if we should do cloud—it was which cloud,” says Raffetseder. “AWS had been the cloud computing leader for a long time, and it provides the maturity and cloud services we were looking for.”

HyperTrack also chose AWS AppSync to visualize real-time data for millions of devices. AWS AppSync simplifies development by enabling developers to create APIs that access and combine data from different sources. The service uses the GraphQL API query language for data flow to applications. “We needed the ability to support GraphQL in our pipeline for both front-end and mobile teams to consume,” says Raffetseder. “Instead of having to use our own proprietary format, we like what GraphQL provided as a standard, and AWS AppSync was the perfect choice to enable that.” Using AppSync, along with the AWS Amplify mobile development framework, HyperTrack is able to deliver millions of data points to its customers.

Delivering Data in Days Instead of Weeks

Without using AWS AppSync and Amplify, HyperTrack would have spent much more time trying to achieve real-time data processing. “We don’t have a dedicated operations team here, and we would have had to set this up from scratch and then try to forecast the load to make sure it all works under certain conditions,” says Raffetseder. “Using AWS AppSync, we had high confidence the service would work without an extreme level of additional operational overhead. We got our solution up and running in days instead of weeks.”

Relying on AWS serverless architecture, HyperTrack can scale up and down automatically without engineering intervention. “Using a serverless approach on AWS, our solution auto-scales by design, so we can just focus on the schema and how data is actually flowing through the clients,” says Raffetseder. “We don’t have to worry about actually managing the performance of a GraphQL server, so we were able to quickly scale to meet demand. We started with a new product with no users and we now have hundreds of millions of events on our platform. We could not have done that without AWS.”

Improving Accuracy and Processing Time

Because HyperTrack does not spend time managing infrastructure, it can pay full attention to adding more value for customers. “No one is going to use HyperTrack because we have a great GraphQL server. They use us because we provide great value to their business,” says Raffetseder. “Using AWS AppSync and AWS serverless architecture, we have a fully managed service and we don’t have to worry about making the infrastructure more solid. As a result, we can do research on what our customers really care about. That means we have been able to focus on building awesome live location experiences for our product, which helps our customers build better businesses and product experiences for their customers.” 

In addition, HyperTrack is saving money by not needing to overprovision capacity for workloads. “We are seeing a 30 percent cost savings compared to the architecture we were using before we switched to serverless,” says Alexander Kishinevsky, vice president of engineering for HyperTrack. “A big part of that savings comes from not needing operational resources to focus on server management. That’s 40 hours of work we save, every single week. That’s significant for a startup like us, and it represents money we can put back into enhancing our product. By using AWS, we can put our efforts into giving our customers the best possible solution.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/appsync.


About HyperTrack

HyperTrack offers a managed service for building live location apps. The company’s managed service powers live location tracking for workforce automation, logistics, on-demand delivery, the gig economy, ridesharing, and many more businesses. HyperTrack is headquartered in San Francisco, California, with teams in Ukraine and India.

Benefits of AWS

  • Enables real-time data processing in days instead of weeks
  • Saves 40 hours a week, so it can spend more time creating new features
  • Helps a small team manage millions of events
  • Reduces operational costs by 30% by relying on a fully managed service

AWS Services Used

AWS AppSync

AWS AppSync simplifies application development by letting you create a flexible API to securely access, manipulate, and combine data from one or more data sources. AppSync is a managed service that uses GraphQL to make it easy for applications to get exactly the data they need.

Learn more »

Amazon Kinesis

Amazon Kinesis makes it easy to collect, process, and analyze real-time, streaming data so you can get timely insights and react quickly to new information. Amazon Kinesis offers key capabilities to cost-effectively process streaming data at any scale, along with the flexibility to choose the tools that best suit the requirements of your application.

Learn more »

AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda lets you run code without provisioning or managing servers. You pay only for the compute time you consume.

Learn more »

AWS Amplify

AWS Amplify is a development platform for building secure, scalable mobile and web applications. It makes it easy for you to authenticate users, securely store data and user metadata, authorize selective access to data, integrate machine learning, analyze application metrics, and execute server-side code.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.