AWS 提供强大的工具和集成功能,使我们能够使用无服务器架构,从而为我们消除了学习扩展的麻烦。
Ben Kehoe iRobot 的云机器人研究科学家
  • 关于 iRobot

    iRobot 是一家领先的全球消费性机器人公司,它设计和制造的机器人可以让人们在家内外做更多的事情。iRobot 在 2002 年推出了 Roomba 吸尘机器人,创造了家用清扫机器人这一产品类别。如今,iRobot 是一家全球企业,在全球范围内销售了 2000 多万台机器人。iRobot 的产品线,包括 Roomba 和 Braava 系列拖地机器人,采用了专有技术和先进的清洁、地图构建和导航概念。iRobot 的工程师们正在构建一个由机器人和数据组成的生态系统,以实现智能家居。

  • AWS 的优势

    • 用不到 10 位员工管理大型无服务器应用程序
    • 帮助实现下一代智能家居
    • 从一家主要作为硬件供应商运营的公司转变为一家依靠云来支持其 IoT 后端平台和面向客户的应用程序的公司
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

iRobot 在 Amazon Prime Day 第一天的销售业绩非常好。在 2015 年 7 月的那一天,该公司售出了 14000个 Roomba 机器人吸尘器。单在这一天的销量突显出 iRobot 在客户中建立的创新和价值声誉。这也凸显出 iRobot 几个月后将面临的挑战。那年 9 月份,该公司会发布其首款联网 Roomba 吸尘器。

“Roomba 吸尘器是 Prime Day 的热门商品和节日礼品,人们希望尽快试用它们,”iRobot 的云机器人研究科学家 Ben Kehoe 说。“因此,在某几天,尤其是在像 Prime Day 这样的大型销售活动之后,会有大量客户使用他们新购买的 Roomba 吸尘器来完成第一项清洁任务。”

2015 年 7 月,Roomba 新用户的激增并未对该公司的日常运营产生直接影响。但从那年 9 月份开始,大量试用新型互联 Roomba 吸尘器的人将通过 iRobot HOME 应用程序产生大量流量。客户使用该移动应用程序来设置和控制他们的互联机器人。换句话说,到目前为止主要作为硬件供应商运营的 iRobot 打算将其业务主线押在运行高可用性、面向客户的云应用程序和物联网 (IoT) 后端平台的能力上。

这是一场赌博,但它赌赢了。现在,据 iRobot 报告,互联 Roomba 吸尘器已经在 60 多个国家/地区运行,到 2017 年底,互联机器人的总销量预计将超过 200 万。

iRobot 并未就此止步。该公司不仅提供了互联 Roomba 吸尘器,让我们不用再做吸尘这种苦差事;它还认为,这些机器人有朝一日可以帮助解决迄今为止阻止 IoT 行业实现智能家居技术真正承诺的问题:一个知道该做什么并做出相应反应的房子。

但是,iRobot 一如既往地专注于它的核心价值主张:开发先进的机器人,将客户从琐碎的家务中解放出来,让他们有时间做更重要的事情。正是因为秉承着以客户为中心的理念,iRobot 开始提供互联 Roomba 吸尘器。“客户希望以更轻松的方式与家庭中使用的越来越多的产品和技术进行互动,”Kehoe 说。“云连接为 Roomba 客户提供了更大的便利和控制权,他们可以随时随地使用手机来管理 Roomba,非常方便。”

2013 年,在计划构建一个平台作为这种新产品的基础时,iRobot 决定在公有云中构建该平台。在最初发布产品时,iRobot 与一家供应商合作,这家供应商为他们在 2015 年 9 月推出首个连接云的 Roomba 提供了一个一站式解决方案。然而,随着 iRobot 开始制造互联 Roomba 吸尘器系列以及互联客户和服务数量快速增加,iRobot 认识到,它需要一个能够更快地扩展并支持更直接控制的解决方案。

“在推出第一个互联产品后,我们逐渐发现,无法通过所用的一站式解决方案实现所需的规模和可扩展性,”Kehoe 说。 

iRobot 决定将其关键任务型平台迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云上。“AWS 提供了可扩展性、全球可用性和广泛服务的基本组合,”Kehoe 说。“真正引起我们注意的是,AWS 提供强大的工具和集成功能,使我们能够使用无服务器架构,从而为我们消除了学习扩展的麻烦。”

为了运行连接到新型可连接 Wi-Fi 的 Roomba 吸尘器的 Web 应用程序,iRobot 使用了大约 25 项 AWS 服务。iRobot 平台的核心是 AWS LambdaAWS IoT 平台。AWS IoT 可以处理数十亿台设备与 AWS 或其他终端节点之间的数万亿条消息,提供了机器人与 iRobot 云平台之间的连接层。AWS Lambda 运行代码以响应事件,为给 iRobot 云应用程序提供支持的无服务器后端提供基于函数的计算服务。该解决方案还使用了 Amazon KinesisAmazon API Gateway,前者可以提取来自机器人的实时数据流,后者可以发布 API 并在任何规模下保护它们。

通过使用基于 AWS IoT 和 AWS Lambda 的无服务器架构,iRobot 能够降低云平台的成本,消除对订阅服务的需求,并用不到 10 个人来管理解决方案。“在 AWS 无服务器架构上运行让我们能够专注于代码和客户,而不是操作,”Kehoe 说。“AWS 无服务器架构及其内部的 AWS 服务的易用性让开发人员有更多时间来创造业务价值。”

Robot registration

iRobot 机器人注册架构图

Gartner, Inc. 预测,到 2020 年,全球将有 204 亿个“互联物”投入使用。换句话说,装有互联冰箱、灯具、空调系统和安全警报的家庭数量只会继续增长。但 iRobot 认为,如果没有一个关键的数据类别 – 关于设备所在房屋的最新地图信息,那么所有这些关联的价值都将难以实现。

“为了实现无缝的智能家居体验,以让家及其中的智能设备能够自主地满足我们的日常需求,必须做两件事,”Kehoe 说。“首先,必须消除消费者为设备编程的负担。其次,了解家中的情况:家中的布局、每个房间的位置和用途以及家中各种智能设备的位置。”

Kehoe 认为,像 Roomba 这样的互联机器人是关键所在。例如,iRobot 的 Roomba 900 系列吸尘器使用视觉同步定位与地图构建 (vSLAM) 技术在整个家中导航。就像 Roomba 吸尘器,它构建了一张家居地图,正是这张地图可以提供帮助智能家居了解自身并实现真正无缝、自主的家居自动化所需的基本信息。虽然当前的 Roomba 是通过创建地图来更有效地清洁,但未来几代的 Roomba 吸尘器可能会将这些地图与额外的传感器和支持的云服务结合起来,以管理家中无数的智能设备。

尽管这个愿景简单明确,实施起来却非常具有挑战性,但 Kehoe 认为可以在 AWS 云中实现这一目标。“这种任务的信息路径非常复杂,客户信息的安全性至关重要,如果没有强大的人工智能和数据分析工具,最终将无法执行。这就是我们在 AWS 云中构建所有这些内容的原因。Amazon Web Services 是实现这一愿景的关键。”

了解有关使用 AWS IoT 将设备连接到云的更多信息

详细了解如何使用 AWS Lambda 为 Web、移动、IoT 使用案例等运行无服务器后端。

观看 iRobot 的创始人兼首席执行官 Colin Angle 在 2016 年 AWS 圣克拉拉峰会上的讲话。

AWS offers powerful tools and integration capabilities that enable us to use a serverless architecture that saves us the headaches of learning to scale.
Ben Kehoe Cloud Robotics Research Scientist, iRobot
  • About iRobot

    iRobot, a leading global consumer robot company, designs and builds robots that empower people to do more both inside and outside the home. iRobot created the home-cleaning robot category with the introduction of its Roomba Vacuuming Robot in 2002. Today, iRobot is a global enterprise that has sold more than 20 million robots worldwide. iRobot's product line, including the Roomba and the Braava family of mopping robots, features proprietary technologies and advanced concepts in cleaning, mapping, and navigation. iRobot engineers are building an ecosystem of robots and data to enable the smart home.

  • Benefits of AWS

    • Manages high-scale serverless application with fewer than 10 employees
    • Helps enable the next generation of smart homes
    • Transformed from being primarily a hardware vendor to a company that relies on the cloud to support its IoT backend platform and customer-facing application
  • AWS Services Used

The first Amazon Prime Day was a good one for iRobot. On that July day in 2015, the company sold 14,000 of its Roomba robotic vacuums. This one-day sales number underlined the reputation for innovation and value iRobot had built among its customers. It also underlined a challenge iRobot would face just a few months later, in September, when the company would release its first internet-connected Roomba vacuums.

“Roomba vacuums are popular Prime Day purchases and holiday gifts, and people want to try them out as soon as possible,” says Ben Kehoe, a cloud robotics research scientist at iRobot. “So there are certain days, particularly after big sales events like Prime Day, when a large number of customers send their newly purchased Roomba vacuums on their first cleaning missions.”

In July 2015, spikes in new Roomba use did not directly impact the company’s day-to-day operations. But starting that September, large numbers of people trying out the new connected Roomba vacuums would result in large volumes of traffic through the iRobot HOME App, the mobile app customers would be using to set up and control their connected robots. In other words, iRobot, which had so far operated primarily as a hardware vendor, was about to bet its central line of business on its ability to run a high-availability, customer-facing cloud application and an Internet of Things (IoT) backend platform.

It was a gamble that paid off. Today, iRobot reports that connected Roomba vacuums operate in more than 60 countries, with total sales of connected robots projected to reach more than 2 million by the end of 2017.

iRobot isn’t stopping there. Not only is the company sending its connected Roomba vacuums to save us from the drudgery of vacuuming; the company believes these robots can one day help solve a problem that has so far prevented the IoT industry from delivering on the true promise of smart-home technologies: a house that simply knows what to do and reacts accordingly.

As always, however, iRobot remains focused on its central value proposition: leading-edge robots that relieve customers from menial chores and give them time for what’s more important. That customer focus is why iRobot started offering connected Roomba vacuums. “Customers are demanding easier ways to interact with a growing number of products and technologies throughout the home,” says Kehoe. “Cloud connectivity provides Roomba customers with even more convenience and control, so they can use their phones to manage their Roomba, wherever and whenever it’s convenient.”

In 2013, as it planned the platform that would be the foundation of this new offering, iRobot decided to build it in the public cloud. For the initial launch, iRobot worked with a vendor that provided a turnkey solution for launching the first cloud-connected Roomba in September 2015. However, as iRobot began to build out its family of connected Roomba vacuums—and as the sheer number of connected customers and services quickly multiplied—iRobot recognized it needed a solution that could scale more quickly and allowed for more direct control.

“Following the launch of our first connected product, it became increasingly clear that we couldn’t achieve the scale and extensibility we needed with the turnkey solution we were using,” says Kehoe. 

iRobot decided to move its mission-critical platform to the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud. “The AWS Cloud offered an essential combination of scalability, global availability, and breadth of services,” says Kehoe. “What really grabbed our attention is that AWS offers powerful tools and integration capabilities that enable us to use a serverless architecture that saves us the headaches of learning to scale.”

To run the web applications that connect to the new Wi-Fi-connected Roomba vacuums, iRobot is using about 25 AWS services. At the core of the iRobot platform are AWS Lambda and the AWS IoT platform. AWS IoT, which can process trillions of messages between billions of devices and AWS or other endpoints, provides the connectivity layer between the robots and the iRobot cloud platform. AWS Lambda runs code in response to events to provide function-based compute services for the serverless backend that powers the iRobot cloud application. The solution also uses Amazon Kinesis, which ingests real-time data streams from robots, and the Amazon API Gateway, which can publish APIs and secure them at any scale.

By using a serverless architecture based on AWS IoT and AWS Lambda, iRobot is able to keep the cost of the cloud platform low, avoid the need for subscription services, and manage the solution with fewer than 10 people. “Running on an AWS serverless architecture lets us focus on code and customers rather than operations,” says Kehoe. “The AWS serverless architecture and the ease of use of the AWS services inside it free up developer time to produce business value.”

Robot registration

iRobot robot registration architecture diagram

Gartner, Inc., forecasts that there will be 20.4 billion “connected things” in use worldwide by 2020. In other words, the number of homes containing connected refrigerators, lights, HVAC systems, and security alarms is only going to grow. But iRobot argues that the value of all this connectedness will remain out of reach without a crucial category of data: up-to-date mapping information about the houses where the devices reside.

“To achieve a seamless smart-home experience in which the home, and the smart devices within it, responds to our daily needs autonomously, two things must happen,” says Kehoe. “First, the burden of programming devices must be removed from the consumer. And second, the home needs to understand itself: what the layout of the home is, the location and purposes of each room, and where the home’s various smart devices are located.”

According to Kehoe, connected robots like the Roomba hold the key. iRobot’s Roomba 900 Series vacuums, for example, use visual simultaneous localization and mapping (vSLAM) technology to navigate an entire level of a home. As the Roomba vacuums, it builds a map of the home, and it is this map that could provide the foundational information needed to help a smart home understand itself and enable truly seamless, autonomous home automation. While today’s Roomba is creating maps to clean more effectively, future generations of Roomba vacuums could combine these maps with additional sensors and supportive cloud services to manage the myriad smart devices within a home.

As straightforward as this vision is to state, it’s quite challenging to achieve, but Kehoe says it’s possible in the AWS Cloud. “The information pathways for something like this are incredibly complicated, security for customer information is crucial, and execution won’t ultimately be possible without powerful artificial-intelligence and data-analysis tools. That’s why we’re building all this in the AWS Cloud. Amazon Web Services is the key to making this vision a reality.”

Learn more about connecting devices to the cloud using AWS IoT.

Watch Colin Angle, founder and CEO of iRobot, speak at the AWS Santa Clara Summit 2016.