T-Mobile 使用 AWS 改进客户体验,降低 Kubernetes 存储的成本

2019

T-Mobile US 需要对其基础设施进行现代化,以支持公司范围内的客户体验改进计划,该计划旨在通过社交媒体提高客户需求。

作为该计划的一部分,T-Mobile 将一些应用程序迁移到需要持久的网络文件系统 (NFS) 存储的基于容器的环境。该公司将应用程序从本地设施迁移到云中的容器中,以根据应用程序团队的要求提高性能并加快应用程序部署。此过程还可以帮助满足 T-Mobile 在可靠性、安全性和成本优化方面的首要目标。

该公司为其业务关键型应用程序的基于 NFS 的工作负载选择完全托管式云原生 Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS)。“T-Mobile 之所以向 Amazon EFS 迁移,是因为我们的应用程序开发团队需要更高的灵活度”,T-Mobile 的高级企业架构师 Amreth Chandrasehar 说。“通过使用 Amazon EFS,我们可以根据需要解决存储需求。在这种灵活度之下,我们还可以控制成本,甚至是将存储请求转变为由应用程序团队自助管理。” Amazon EFS 为基于 Linux 的工作负载提供简单、可扩展的文件系统,该服务可在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云中或本地使用。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

Amazon EFS 减少了我们解决存储所花费的成本和时间。无论它应用到多少应用程序,都可以无缝扩展。”

Amreth Chandrasehar
,T-Mobile US 高级企业架构师

支持团队证明了 NFS 解决方案对旧式应用程序的可行性

该公司使用 Amazon EFS 部署在专用的本地服务器上运行的旧式应用程序的新的现代化版本。应用程序的架构使其难以扩展,需要购买额外的硬件来支持它,并且推高了成本。它还需要内部团队花费大量时间来进行设置和配置,从更关键的项目中抽出时间。现在,更新的版本基于微服务架构,该架构克服了本地应用程序的限制。“我们与 AWS 支持团队及其内部专家合作确保这些解决方案对我们有效”,Chandrasehar 说。“在短短几个月里,我们已将多个本地工作负载迁移到云中的生产环境。”

“在 AWS 上进行构建时,我们在云之旅的每一步都能够利用其专业知识”,T-Mobile 产品与技术、卓越云中心副总裁 Darron Webb 说。

按需预置的存储

该公司的迁移过程需要将应用程序转移到基于容器的环境中。很多容器工作负载共享配置文件和依赖项,并且具有持久性存储要求。“Amazon EFS 已成为我们基于容器的工作负载的解决方案的一部分,例如 API、Web 服务器、监控工具和 CI/CD 解决方案。AWS 在创建与 Kubernetes 合作的解决方案方面做得很好”,Chandrasehar 说。在 Amazon EFS 之前,预置存储需要数周时间,但现在,该公司可以在 Kubernetes 中轻松扩展数百个节点。T-Mobile 从 Kubernetes 内将 Amazon EFS 与 AWS CloudFormation 模板结合使用,利用 Amazon EFS 按需提供更多弹性存储容量,从而无需进行预置。

当需要 NFS 的新应用程序发布时,运营团队指示它们使用 Amazon EFS。不需要配置存储的自助应用程序部署使应用程序开发团队可以将时间花在更关键的问题上。“这使我们的生活更轻松,因为我们不需要不断地预置 Amazon EFS。“这样一来,我们很容易在需要时动态地将 Amazon EFS 添加到工作负载中,这意味着可通过自助服务按需预置存储”,Chandrasehar 说。

通过利用按需存储预置的可扩展性,T-Mobile 已将其执行时间大致减少 10–15%。Amazon EFS 可按需扩展到数 PB,而不是导致应用程序中断。当文件被添加和删除时,它会自动扩展和缩减,因此应用程序在需要时就会有所需的存储空间。因此,T-Mobile 现在拥有更持久的长期存储容量,且不再需要过量预置存储来满足其需求。这帮助该公司节省了 40% 至 70% 的存储成本。

托管文件存储解决方案可实现无缝迁移

Amazon EFS 不需要更改现有的应用程序或工具,但允许通过标准文件系统接口进行访问,从而使集成变得容易。“Amazon EFS 减少了我们解决存储所花费的成本和时间。无论它应用到多少应用程序,都可以无缝扩展。这使我们能够专注于关键项目,而不是启动和管理存储解决方案”,Chandrasehar 说。

与本地开源存储方案相比,转而采用 Amazon EFS 使 T-Mobile 提高了敏捷性、可扩展性和可靠性,并降低了成本、减少了预置时间。“之前的那些选项需要大量的操作工作和技术支持,而改用 Amazon EFS 使我们避免了很多这样的任务”,Chandrasehar 说。基于容器的工作负载和旧式应用程序的迁移是无缝的且能够快速完成,只需要几个月的时间。

由于改用 Amazon EFS,T-Mobile 已经能够改善客户体验。Chandrasehar 说,“最初,我们希望通过社交媒体提高客户需求,但我们也看到了客户的 Web、零售和服务体验得到了改善。” T-Mobile 计划扩展其对 AWS 服务的使用。“AWS 持续改进其解决方案,不断添加新功能,努力让客户的生活更美好”,Webb 说。“我们在架构模式中尽可能多地使用 AWS 解决方案,以利用云提供的工具和敏捷性。”

如需了解详情,请访问 aws.amazon.com/efs

T-Mobile 使用 AWS 改进客户体验,降低 Kubernetes 存储的成本

T-Mobile 使用 AWS 改进客户体验,降低 Kubernetes 存储的成本

关于 T-Mobile

T-Mobile US 是一家通过全国 4G LTE 网络向 8310 万名客户提供无线服务的电信公司。该公司位于华盛顿州贝尔维尤,它的旗舰品牌是 T-Mobile 和 Metro by T-Mobile。


AWS 的优势

  • 自助存储预置使应用程序团队可以将时间花在更关键的业务问题上
  • 通过按需预置减少存储预置时间
  • 自动存储扩展在需要的时间和地点提供文件存储
  • 基于容器的工作负载和旧式应用程序的无缝迁移只需几个月即可完成
  • 将存储成本降低 40–70%

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Elastic File System

Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) 可提供简单、可扩展、完全托管的弹性 NFS 文件系统,以与 AWS 云服务和本地资源配合使用。它可在不中断应用程序的情况下按需扩展到 PB 级,在您添加或删除文件时自动扩展或缩减,无需预置和管理容量,可自适应增长。

了解详情 »

Amazon CloudFormation

AWS CloudFormation 为您提供了一种通用语言,用于对您的云环境中的 AWS 和第三方应用程序资源进行建模和预置。AWS CloudFormation 使您可以跨所有区域和账户,使用编程语言或简单的文本文件以自动化的安全方式,为您的应用程序需要的所有资源建模并进行预置。这为您提供了 AWS 和第三方资源的单一数据源。

了解详情 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

TMobile_Logo_@2x

T-Mobile Improves Customer Experience, Lowers Costs of Kubernetes Storage Using AWS

2019

T-Mobile US needed to modernize its infrastructure to support a company-wide initiative for customer experience improvement that sought to enhance customer requests via social media.

As part of the initiative, T-Mobile moved some applications to a container-based environment that required persistent Network File System (NFS) storage. The company migrated applications from on-premises facilities to containers in the cloud in order to improve performance and accelerate application deployment as required by application teams. This process also helped meet T-Mobile’s top goals around reliability, security, and cost optimization.

The company chose the fully managed, cloud-native Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) for the NFS-based workloads of its business-critical applications. “The move by T-Mobile to Amazon EFS was prompted by a need for more flexibility for our application development teams,” says Amreth Chandrasehar, senior enterprise architect at T-Mobile. “By using Amazon EFS, we can address storage needs on demand. This flexibility also allows us to control costs and even shift storage requests to be managed as self-service by our application teams.” Amazon EFS provides a simple, scalable file system for Linux-based workloads and can be used in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud or on premises.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Amazon EFS reduces the costs and time we spend addressing storage. It scales seamlessly no matter how many applications it’s applied to."

Amreth Chandrasehar
Senior Enterprise Architect, T-Mobile US

Support Teams Show Viability of NFS Solution for Legacy Application

The company used Amazon EFS to deploy a new, modern version of a legacy application that ran on dedicated on-premises servers. The application’s architecture made it difficult to scale, requiring the purchase of additional hardware to support it and driving up costs. It also required significant time spent by internal teams to set up and configure, taking time away from more critical projects. Now, the updated version is based on a microservices architecture, which overcomes the limitations of the on-premises application. “We worked with AWS support teams and their internal experts to ensure these solutions worked for us,” says Chandrasehar. “In just months, we migrated several on-premises workloads into production in the cloud.”

“In building on AWS, we’ve been able to leverage its expertise at every step of our cloud journey,” says Darron Webb, vice president of product & technology, cloud center of excellence, T-Mobile.

Storage Provisioned on Demand

The company’s migration process required transitioning applications to container-based environments. Many of these container workloads share configuration files and dependencies and have persistent storage requirements. “Amazon EFS has become part of our solution for container-based workloads, such as APIs, web servers, monitoring tools, and CI/CD solutions. AWS has done a great job creating solutions that work with Kubernetes,” says Chandrasehar. Before Amazon EFS, it took weeks to provision storage, but now the company easily scales hundreds of nodes in Kubernetes. T-Mobile uses Amazon EFS with AWS CloudFormation templates from within Kubernetes, with Amazon EFS providing more elastic storage capacity on demand, removing the need for provisioning.

When new applications that require NFS are launched, the operations team directs them to use Amazon EFS. Self-service application deployment without the need to configure storage frees application development teams to spend time on more critical issues. “This makes our life easier because we don’t have to constantly provision Amazon EFS. It’s easy for us to add Amazon EFS on the fly to workloads when needed, which means storage is provisioned on demand and through self-service,” says Chandrasehar.

By leveraging the scalability of on-demand storage provisioning, T-Mobile has reduced its execution time by roughly 10–15 percent. Amazon EFS scales on demand to petabytes without causing disruption to applications. It automatically expands and contracts as files are added and removed, so applications have the storage they need, when they need it. As a result, T-Mobile now has more durable storage capacity for the long term and no longer needs to overprovision storage to meet its needs. This has helped the company save between 40 percent and 70 percent on storage costs.

Managed File Storage Solution Makes Migration Seamless

Amazon EFS does not require changing existing applications or tools but allows access through a standard file system interface, making integration easy. “Amazon EFS reduces the costs and time we spend addressing storage. It scales seamlessly no matter how many applications it’s applied to. That frees us to focus on critical projects rather than on launching and managing storage solutions,” says Chandrasehar.

Switching to Amazon EFS has allowed T-Mobile to increase its agility, scalability, and reliability and to lower costs and provisioning time compared to its on-premises, open source storage options. “Those previous options required a lot of operational work and technical support, and moving to Amazon EFS saved us from a lot of these tasks,” says Chandrasehar. The migration of container-based workloads and legacy applications was seamless and accomplished quickly, taking place over the course of just a few months.

T-Mobile has been able to improve the customer experience as a result of the move to Amazon EFS. Chandrasehar says, “Initially, we wanted to enhance customer requests through social media, but we have also seen improved web, retail, and care experience for our customers.” T-Mobile plans to expand its use of AWS services. “AWS continues to evolve its solutions, always adding features and trying to make its customers’ lives better,” says Webb. “We use AWS solutions as often as possible in our architecture patterns to take advantage of the tools and agility that the cloud offers.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/efs.

T-Mobile Improves Customer Experience, Lowers Costs of Kubernetes Storage Using AWS

T-Mobile Improves Customer Experience, Lowers Costs of Kubernetes Storage Using AWS

About T-Mobile

T-Mobile US is a telecommunications company that delivers wireless service to 83.1 million customers over its nationwide 4G LTE network. The company, whose flagship brands are T-Mobile and Metro by T-Mobile, is based in Bellevue, Washington.


Benefits of AWS

  • Self-service storage provisioning gives application teams time for more critical business issues
  • Storage provisioning time reduced through on-demand provisioning
  • Automated storage scaling delivers file storage when and where needed
  • Seamless migration of container-based workloads and legacy applications occurred in just a few months
  • Reduced storage costs by 40–70%

AWS Services Used

Amazon Elastic File System

Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) provides a simple, scalable, fully managed elastic NFS file system for use with AWS Cloud services and on-premises resources. It is built to scale on demand to petabytes without disrupting applications, growing and shrinking automatically as you add and remove files, eliminating the need to provision and manage capacity to accommodate growth.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudFormation

AWS CloudFormation provides a common language for you to model and provision AWS and third party application resources in your cloud environment. AWS CloudFormation allows you to use programming languages or a simple text file to model and provision, in an automated and secure manner, all the resources needed for your applications across all regions and accounts. This gives you a single source of truth for your AWS and third party resources.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.