客户案例 / 汽车行业

2020 年
Toyota Research Institute - Advanced Development, Inc.徽标

Toyota Research Institute - Advanced Development, Inc.

为紧跟自动驾驶快速发展的步伐,仅用了两个月便构建了一个使用 AWS 无服务器架构的“自动地图生成平台”。 

概述

TRI-AD 于 2018 年 3 月由丰田汽车公司、电装公司和爱信精机共同投资成立。该公司通过开发先进的自动驾驶软件,将研发与量产相结合,成为自动驾驶领域的先锋。

得益于控制系统和人工智能技术的发展,管理“决策”和“运营”的流程迅速发展。另一方面,由于道路时常发生变化,维护地图信息并确保其保持最新并非易事。根据自动驾驶部门副总裁 Mandali Khalesi 的说法,“这些困难意味着地图目前仅限于特定的国家和地区,或者仅限于收集最新信息相对容易的高速道路。”

Tri-ad 案例研究
然而,对高精度公路地图进行持续更新,已被证明是单个企业集团所无法承受之重。为此,TRI-AD 于 2019 年 1 月宣布打造一个“自动地图平台(AMP)”,这是一个任何公司都可以参与创建和使用的高清地图。

AMP 使用从卫星图像以及丰田汽车公司等汽车制造商、出租车公司和快递公司的传感器数据收集的信息。这些信息可用于高效地创建和更新高精度地图。AMP 使汽车制造商和供应商的开发人员能够使用这些地图,从而加速丰田汽车公司自动驾驶应用程序的开发。

Khalesi 继续说道:“目前,丰田汽车集团内外部的汽车公司的许多拥有卫星图像和车载摄像头技术的供应商都表示有意参与概念验证(PoC),我们期待未来有更多的合作伙伴加入我们。”

机遇 | AWS 管理服务的质量是决定采用该平台的关键

在宣布其新的 AMP 架构后,TRI-AD 推出了一个原型,用于与合作伙伴公司进行 PoC。为了实现快速开发,AWS 很早就得到采用,目的是探索云服务的使用。TRI-AD 已将 AWS 用于多个项目,包括机器学习和深度学习项目。AWS 已成为该公司 IT 基础架构的标准元素之一。位于硅谷的 AI 技术研究机构 Toyota Research Institute(TRI)也频繁使用 AWS,两家公司在此过程中都体会到了其开发效率的优势。不仅如此,相关人员表示,AWS 提供的管理服务是采用 AWS 的另一个决定性因素。AMP 负责云运营开发的工程师 Ryo Igarashi 表示:“鉴于开发团队人手有限,AWS 提供的丰富管理资源对于完成短期开发至关重要。此外,我们预计参与 PoC 的合作伙伴公司的数量将会越来越多,并且将会陆续开发新功能,能够轻松扩展资源和服务的可扩展性也得到了高度评价。 ”

根据 TRI-AD 的设计,AMP 包含三个要素:数据的收集和积累、高精度地图的开发,以及这些高精度地图的传播。数据采集和积累的核心包括两个部分,一是运行中的汽车探测器数据的实时上传,二是出租车公司和其他车队合作伙伴的编译数据的批量上传。在地图开发方面,参与 AMP 的公司的开发人员可以访问开发人员门户,并通过在云中开发和部署独特的算法来创建适合其应用程序的地图信息。生成的数据将被注册并存储在专门的地图市场中,并在必要时作为 API 广播给他们的自动驾驶车队。

“我们的 AMP 原型基于先制作产品然后进行试用的策略,这意味着敏捷开发,即在使用的过程中进行改进。通过重视构建能够与合作伙伴轻松进行 PoC 的环境,以及未来所需的可扩展性,”Igarashi 说道。

kr_quotemark

在创建开放式自动地图生成平台的过程中,AWS 服务的可快速开发且可轻松扩展的特点发挥了根本作用。我们计划让丰田汽车和第三方合作伙伴都使用该平台。”

Mandali Khalesi
Toyota Research Institute - Advanced Development, Inc. | 自动驾驶副总裁

解决方案 | 通过无服务器架构实现可扩展的开发和更短的开发周期

原型的开发于 2019 年 4 月开始,在两个月后的 6 月便得以发布。通过与 AWS 解决方案架构师和专业服务顾问的合作,TRI-AD 的开发人员能够实现更短的开发周期。

该原型在积极利用无服务器架构的基础上创建。使用 AWS IoT 颁发的客户端证书是实时将数据上传到收集和积累工具的基础。令牌从 AWS STS 接收并由 Amazon API Gateway 认证,从而确保数据的安全上传。批量上传基于 Amazon Cognito 的用户认证,而行驶车辆数据和元数据分别通过 Amazon S3 和 AWS AppSync 收集,然后再在 Amazon DynamoDB 中存放。

整体 AMP 架构

aws_system_zu3-1121_4

成果 | 加速自动驾驶领域创新,携手合作伙伴解决社会问题

“下一步,我们将开始研究适应未来使用环境的架构,目标是实现服务,”Khalesi 说。“为了追求未来在美洲、欧洲和亚洲的全球扩张,我们计划建立海外业务,并加强与国际合作伙伴的合作。AMP 将推动自动驾驶领域的快速创新,并与我们的合作伙伴一起,为解决社会问题做出贡献。”

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Cognito

简单安全的用户注册、登录和访问控制

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

专为从任意位置检索任意数量的数据而构建的对象存储

了解更多 »

AWS AppSync

使用无服务器 GraphQL 和 Pub/Sub API 加快应用程序开发速度

了解更多 »

Amazon DynamoDB

快速、灵活的 NoSQL 数据库服务,可在任何规模下实现个位数毫秒级的性能

了解更多 »

更多 Toyota 案例

1

未找到任何项目 

开始使用

不同行业和规模的企业都在使用 AWS 对其业务进行转型,以实现自身愿景。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 之旅。

tri-ad_logo2

Toyota Research Institute - Advanced Development, Inc.

To keep pace with the accelerating development of automated driving, an ”automatic map generation platform” using AWS serverless architecture was constructed in just two months. 

2020

TRI-AD was founded in March 2018 via a joint investment between Toyota Motor Corporation, Denso, and Aisin Seiki. Through the advanced development of software for automated driving, the company has combined research and mass production to pioneer the field of automated driving.

Thanks to the development of control systems and AI technology, the processes that govern “decisions” and “operations” have evolved rapidly. On the other hand, when considering the daily changes to roads, it is no easy task to maintain mapping information and ensure that it remains up to date. According to Mandali Khalesi, VP of the Automated Driving division, “these difficulties have meant that maps are presently limited to specific nations and regions, or to high-speed roadways where the collection of up-to-date information is comparatively easy.”

However, carrying out continual updates to maps of public highways with high precision has proved a major burden when carried out by a single corporate group. In response, TRI-AD announced the construction of an “Automated Mapping Platform (AMP)” in January 2019, one in which any company could participate in the creation and use of high definition maps.

AMP uses information gathered from satellite images and sensor data from automobile makers such as Toyota Motor Corporation, taxi companies, and delivery companies. Such information allows for the efficient creation and update of high-precision maps. AMP enables developers at automobile makers and suppliers to use the maps, which has accelerated development of Toyota Motor Corporation’s automated driving applications.

Khalesi continued by stating “At present, a number of vendors who possess satellite imagery and onboard camera technology, from automotive companies within the Toyota Motor Group to those outside, have expressed their intention to participate in proof of concepts (or “PoCs”) and we expect more partners to join us in the future.”

1000×550_TRI-AD
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

The ease with which AWS services could be speedily developed and expanded with scalability plays a fundamental role in the creation of an open automatic map generation platform. We plan for the platform to be used by both Toyota vehicles and 3rd party partners."

Mandali Khalesi
Toyota Research Institute - Advanced Development, Inc. | Automated Driving VP

The quality of AWS’s management services was key in the decision to adopt the platform

After the announcement of its new AMP architecture, TRI-AD launched a prototype to carry out PoCs with partner companies. In order to prioritize speedy development, AWS was adopted early with the intention of exploring the use of cloud services. AWS is already being used for a number of projects at TRI-AD, including machine learning and deep learning. It has become one of the standard elements of the company’s IT infrastructure. AWS is also used frequently by Toyota Research Institute (TRI), an AI technology research organization in Silicon Valley, and both companies have experienced the merits of its development efficiency. Not only that, but use of the management services offered by AWS was said to be another deciding factor in its adoption. Ryo Igarashi, the engineer in charge of AMP’s cloud operations development, stated that “given the limited staffing resources that confront developers, the rich management resources AWS offers have been essential for achieving short-term development. In addition, we expect the number of partner companies participating in PoCs to increase and even if new features are developed, the scalability that enables easy expansion of resources and services has been highly rated. ”

According to TRI-AD’s design, AMP consists of three elements: collection and accumulation of data, highly precise map development, and the broadcasting of these highly precise maps. The core of data collection and accumulation consists of two segments, the real-time upload of data from running automobile probes and the batch upload of compiled data from taxi companies and other fleet partners. In terms of map development, developers from companies participating in AMP can access the Developer Portal and create map information tailored to their application by developing and deploying unique algorithms in the cloud. The resulting data will be registered and stored in a specialized Map Marketplace and broadcasted as an API, as necessary, to their autonomous fleet.

“Our AMP prototype is based on the policy of first making the product and then trying it out, meaning agile development where improvements are made as it is used. By prioritizing an environment where PoCs with partners can proceed easily, we focused on scalability that would be necessary for its future usage," says Igarashi.

Achieving scalable and shortened development cycle via serverless architecture

Development of the prototype began in April 2019, and it was released two months later in June. By coordinating with the architects of AWS solutions and professional service consultants, TRI-AD’S developers were able to achieve a shorter development period.

The prototype was created via active utilization of serverless architecture. Use of client certificates issued by AWS IoT formed the basis for real-time upload of data collection and accumulation tools. Tokens were received from AWS STS and certified by the Amazon API Gateway, ensuring the secure upload of data. Batch uploads were based on user certification by Amazon Cognito, while the running vehicle data and metadata were collected via Amazon S3 and AWS AppSync, respectively, before being accumulated on Amazon DynamoDB.

Overall AMP Architecture

aws_system_zu3-1121_4

Accelerating innovation in the field of automated driving and working with partners to address social issues

"As a next step, we will begin work on the architecture of the future usage environment with the goal of implementing services," Khalesi said. "In pursuit of future global expansion within America, Europe, and Asia, we are planning to build in overseas compatibility and strengthen coordination with our international partners. AMP will enable rapid innovation in the field of automated driving and, together with our partners, will contribute to solving social issues.”

TRI-AD_image2
partners-toyota-reserach-institute

Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.