USG Boral 在 AWS 云端推出了开创性的人工智能安全系统

USG Boral

从检测到预防

USG Boral 是亚太和中东地区的一家领先的制造商和供应商,生产石膏墙面和天花板系统。公司总部位于马来西亚,在 13 个国家/地区开展业务,公司秉承的使命是提供创新技术帮助客户更好、更多、更智能地完成工作。2018 年,一辆叉车在 USG Boral 的仓库中与行人相撞,公司因这件事在亚太地区大刀阔斧地实施了一次突破性安全创新。安全性是组织的核心价值,因此在事故发生后,企业立即采取措施防止事故再次发生。

事故发生时,公司依靠闭路电视摄像机 (CCTV) 录像记录下了所在仓库楼层的活动,事故发生后,员工需要手动查看存储在本地数据库的录像。USG Boral 希望采用更主动更直观的解决方案,以期能够从问题的源头预防事故发生。

“我们利用 AWS 所提供的分析功能来处理大量数据,而无需聘用数据科学家,也无需将时间…花费在手动任务上。”

USG Boral 基础设施和 ANZ 的 IT 总监 Calvin Ng

  • USG Boral 简介
  • 优势
  • 所使用的 AWS 服务
  • USG Boral 简介
  • USG Boral 是一家领先的制造商和供应商,生产石膏墙面和天花板系统,在亚太和中东地区的 13 个市场中都设有办事处。公司提供创新技术帮助客户更好、更多、更智能地完成工作。安全是组织的核心价值。

  • 优势
    • 每秒处理 12 个画面以进行近乎实时的分析
    • 对记录进行视觉分析的延迟不到 300 毫秒
    • 为管理层提供可视化控制面板以及量身定制的报告
    • 改进安全功能,以助于防止事故发生
    • 提供灵活的框架来扩展和集成新的机器学习服务
  • 所使用的 AWS 服务

利基仓库解决方案

该公司联系了 Bigmate,来开发智能仓库安全系统,可以在有物体或人员进入到叉车的 3 米安全范围内时发出声音作为告警。Bigmate 是 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 中的一家特色级技术合作伙伴。AWS 获选作为该项目的平台,入选原因主要有两个。首先,该平台不受硬件的限制,因此,随着新技术的推成出新,团队可以继续发展其视觉处理功能。其次,该平台为扩展提供了灵活的框架,这意味着用户可以快速修改架构来调整安全性、日志记录或联网。

这将是 USG Boral 首次在人工智能方面的尝试,这可算是制造行业中的创新之举,至少在亚太地区是这样。“我们知道这是一个利基解决方案,市场中还没有类似产品。为了开发这个框架,我们花了很多时间咨询 AWS 和 Bigmate,从业务和安全的角度出发,来了解如何达成我们需要的成效,”USG Boral 的首席信息官 Yeow Kok Weng 这样说道。这包括与现场员工紧密合作,以确保该方法在不妨碍工作活动的情况下,可以取得更好的成果。

透过可行的洞见来开展重复培训

除了预防事故发生以外,该项目的一个主要绩效目标就是,由各工作现场以统一格式提供数据,包括事故和告警数量以及差点出事的次数。在管理层面,这将实现传统 CCTV 系统无法实现的快速监测和监控。“我们知道,经过一段时间之后,人们会因自满而变得疏忽大意,这就需要以持续的安全再培训来作为巩固,”USG Boral 基础设施和 ANZ 的 IT 总监 Calvin Ng 这样解释。由人工智能支持的解决方案,可以通过可行的洞察来促使再培训计划的实施。新解决方案称为 Warny™,九个月内开发而成。

根据 Bigmate 的说法,Warny 可算是市场中最先进的视觉应用程序之一。AWS 的物联网技术是 Warny 的基础,尤其是 AWS IoT GreengrassAWS IoT Core。AWS IoT Greengrass 将云功能无缝扩展到仓库中,使得解决方案即使没有连接到互联网,也可以基于经过训练的机器学习模型,进行预测并执行操作。检测到潜在事故时,当地的灯光和警报器警报会开启。

通过 AWS Lambda,Warny 可以运行 Lambda@Edge 函数,这样就能自动执行代码,实现工业传感器控制,最终将控制延伸到叉车本身。“USG Boral 能够在 AWS IoT Greengrass 中配置 Lambda@Edge 函数,因此我们就能够根据需要进行就地处理以及远程管理对网关的更新。这种精细而灵活的方法,意味着它们可以不断进化,甚至能够加速进化,”Bigmate 总经理 Brett Orr 这样说。此外,该公司使用 Amazon CloudWatch 来监控网关和云端资源。

实时控制面板分析

机器学习模型仍在不断完善中,但 Warny 已经可以执行近乎实时的分析,每秒至少处理 12 个画面。该系统必须持续检测、跟踪和计算各物体之间的距离及速度,这需要非常高超的视觉分析以及低于 300 毫秒的延迟,才能针对潜在事故快速发出警报。如果某个物体进入 3 米的安全半径,警报就会响起。

Warny 带来的一个主要优点就是,USG Boral 可以评估差点出现事故的原因,通过汇总其多个站点的数据,并在云端进行分析,改进工作场所的安全性。Calvin 说:“我们可以根据指定的输出参数,使用报告和控制面板分析,来了解我们的员工在安全方面所取得的进展。我们利用 AWS 所提供的分析功能来处理大量数据,无需聘用数据科学家,也无需将时间花费在提取数据或完成手动任务上。” 遇到差点出现事故的情况时,系统会立即向经理发送短信和电子邮件。而到高管那边呢,就会是单独向高管发送报告,报告内容会汇集有关事故和差点出现事故的数据。

物联网激发创新

迄今为止,Warny 已在澳大利亚的一处建筑工地进行了测试,并会在接下来的数月中逐步推广到澳大利亚的另外 10 个工地使用。接下来还计划在 USG Boral 运营的全部 13 个国家/地区推广,并由 Bigmate 的扩展合作伙伴网络提供协助。USG Boral 不仅信任 Bigmate 来选择最适合的技术堆栈,同时还依靠 Bigmate,在开展运营的国家/地区针对不断演变的安全标准提供建议。

该团队借助 AWS,已经制定了未来依托于 Warny 的人工智能和机器学习创新路线图。例如,USG Boral 将使用 Amazon SageMakerAmazon SageMaker Neo 来检测并确保工人穿戴了安全设备,例如保护头盔、护目镜和荧光服等。Calvin 说:“我们借助 AWS 产品组合中的所有解决方案,有很多机会采用技术,来帮助提高工作场所安全,还可以用于其它的业务计划。 IoT 是数字化旅程的关键,我们在 AWS 的支持下不断前进,今后将能够收获更多成果。”


了解详情

欲了解详情,敬请查阅 AWS 上的机器学习

USG Boral Launches a Trailblazing AI Safety System on AWS

USG Boral

From Detection to Prevention

USG Boral is a leading manufacturer and supplier of gypsum-based wall and ceiling systems in the Asia Pacific and Middle East regions. With its headquarters in Malaysia, the company operates across 13 countries and has a mission to deliver innovation that helps customers work smarter, do more, and build better. In 2018, a forklift collided with a pedestrian in a warehouse at USG Boral and this triggered a breakthrough safety innovation in the Asia Pacific region. Safety is a core organizational value, so when the incident occurred, the business immediately took measures to prevent a recurrence.

At the time of the incident, the company relied on CCTV footage to record activities on the floor of warehouses, and employees would manually review the footage stored locally following any incident. USG Boral wanted a more proactive and intuitive solution that would help prevent accidents in the first place.

“We make use of the analytics behind AWS to churn out the data without having to hire data scientists or spend time … [on] manual tasks.”

Calvin Ng, IT Director, Infrastructure and ANZ, USG Boral

  • About USG Boral
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About USG Boral
  • USG Boral is a leading manufacturer and supplier of gypsum-based wall and ceiling systems, with offices in 13 markets in Asia Pacific and the Middle East. It delivers innovation to help people work smarter, do more, and build better. Safety is a core value of the organization. 

  • Benefits
    • Processes 12 images per second for near-real-time analytics
    • Records less than 300 milliseconds of latency for vision analytics
    • Offers dashboard visibility and customized reports for management
    • Improves safety capabilities to help prevent accidents
    • Provides a flexible framework for expansion and integration of new ML services
  • AWS Services Used

Niche Warehouse Solution

The company approached, Bigmate, a Select Technology Partner in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Partner Network (APN), to develop an intelligent warehouse safety system that would sound an alarm when objects or people came within the 3-meter safety range of forklifts. AWS was the platform of choice for the project for two main reasons. First, it is hardware-agnostic, so teams can continue to evolve vision processing as new technology becomes available. Second, it offers a flexible framework for expansion, which means that architecture can be modified quickly to tweak security, logging, or networking.

This would be USG Boral’s first artificial-intelligence (AI) venture—and likely a first for the manufacturing industry, at least in the Asia Pacific region. “We knew this would be a niche solution, and there was nothing existing in the market yet. We spent a lot of time consulting with AWS and Bigmate to develop the framework and looked at how it could achieve what we wanted from a business and safety perspective,” says Yeow Kok Weng, CIO at USG Boral. This included working closely with staff on the ground to ensure the approach would support better safety outcomes without obstructing work activities.

Actionable Insights Lead to Re-education

In addition to preventing accidents, a key performance objective for the project was the provision of data in a unified format on the number of accidents and alarms, as well as the number of “near misses” per work site. This would allow for quick managerial oversight and monitoring that were impossible with traditional CCTV systems. “We know that people can get complacent over time and need support through continuous safety education,” explains Calvin Ng, IT director of Infrastructure and ANZ at USG Boral. The AI-powered solution would facilitate the implementation of re-education programs based on actionable insights. The new solution, dubbed Warny™, was nine months in development.

According to Bigmate, Warny is one of the most advanced vision applications on the market. AWS’s Internet of Things (IoT) technology is the foundation of Warny, particularly AWS IoT Greengrass and AWS IoT Core. AWS IoT Greengrass seamlessly extends cloud capacity to the warehouses so that they can execute predictions and actions based on trained machine-learning (ML) models, even when not connected to the internet. Local light and siren alerts go off when potential incidents are detected.

With AWS Lambda, Warny can run Lambda@Edge functions so that code is automatically executed, enabling industrial sensor control that can eventually extend to the forklift itself. “The ability to configure Lambda@Edge functions in AWS IoT Greengrass allows USG Boral to carry out local processing and remotely manage updates to gateways as needed. This granular and flexible approach means that they can continually evolve even at an accelerated pace,” says Brett Orr, general manager at Bigmate. In addition, the company uses Amazon CloudWatch to monitor gateway and cloud resources.

Real-Time Dashboard Analytics

The ML model is still being honed, but Warny can already perform near-real-time analytics, processing at least 12 images per second. It must continually detect, track, and calculate distance and velocity between objects, which require superior vision analytics with a latency of less than 300 milliseconds to enable rapid alerts for potential incidents. If an object enters the 3-meter safety radius, an alarm sounds.

A major benefit of Warny is that USG Boral can assess why near misses are happening and improve safety on the ground through aggregation of data from its many sites for analysis on the cloud. “We can use reporting and dashboard analytics according to specified output parameters to look at how we are progressing with safety for our employees,” Calvin says. “We make use of the analytics behind AWS to churn out the data without having to hire data scientists or spend time extracting data or doing manual tasks.” When a near miss occurs, text messages and emails are immediately sent to managers. Separate reports go to C-level executives, compiling regional data on accidents and near misses.

IoT Inspires Innovation

To date, Warny has been tested at one building site in Australia and will be rolled out to 10 more sites in the country over the next few months. An extended rollout across all 13 countries where USG Boral operates has also been planned and will be facilitated by Bigmate’s extended partner network. USG Boral has relied on Bigmate not only for selecting the best-fit technology stack, but also for updated advice on evolving safety standards in countries in which it operates.

With AWS, teams have developed a roadmap for future AI and ML innovations built on Warny. In one example, USG Boral will use Amazon SageMaker and Amazon SageMaker Neo to detect and ensure that workers are wearing safety equipment such as protective helmets, safety glasses, and high-visibility clothing. “With all the solutions in the AWS portfolio, there’s a lot of opportunity for us to use technology to help improve safety in our workplace and other business initiatives,” says Calvin. “IoT is key to that digital journey, and we can achieve much more moving forward with AWS.”


Learn More

To learn more, visit Machine Learning on AWS