什么是灾难恢复?

灾难恢复是组织预测和解决技术相关灾难的过程。由于停电、自然事件或安全问题等不可预见的状况,任何公司的 IT 系统都可能出现意外停机。灾难恢复涵盖公司从此类事件中快速恢复正常运转的程序和政策。

灾难恢复(DR)计划中的风险缓解策略

灾难恢复为何如此重要?

灾难是指导致 IT 系统速度变慢、中断或网络中断的意外问题。中断有多种形式,包括以下示例:

  • 地震或火灾
  • 技术故障
  • 系统不兼容
  • 简单的人为失误
  • 第三方故意未经授权的访问

这些灾难会中断业务运营,造成客户服务问题,并导致收入损失。灾难恢复计划有助于组织对破坏性事件做出快速响应,并提供关键优势:

确保业务连续性

当灾难发生时,它会对业务的各个方面造成损害,并且通常代价高昂。它还会中断正常的业务运营,因为团队的工作效率会因为对工作所需工具的访问受限而降低。灾难恢复计划会促使备份系统和数据快速重启,以便运营可以按计划继续进行。

增强系统安全性

将数据保护、备份和恢复流程集成到灾难恢复计划中,可以限制勒索软件、恶意软件或其他安全风险对业务的影响。例如,备份到云的数据具有许多内置的安全功能,可以在可疑活动影响业务之前对其进行限制。

提高客户留存率

如果发生灾难,客户会质疑组织的安全实践和服务的可靠性。灾难影响业务的时间越长,客户的挫折感就越大。良好的灾难恢复计划可以通过培训员工处理客户查询来降低这种风险。当客户观察到企业已做好应对任何灾难的充分准备时,他们就会获得信心。

降低恢复成本

根据其严重程度,灾难会导致收入和工作效率的损失。强大的灾难恢复计划可以避免不必要的损失,因为系统会在事故发生后很快恢复正常。例如,云存储解决方案是一种经济高效的数据备份方法。您可以在业务照常运行的同时管理、监控和维护数据。

灾难恢复是如何工作的?

灾难恢复侧重于在中断后几分钟内让应用程序启动并运行。组织处理以下三部分:

预防

为了降低技术相关灾难的可能性,企业需要一个计划来确保所有关键系统尽可能可靠和安全。因为人类无法控制自然灾害,所以预防只适用于网络问题、安全风险和人为失误。您必须设置正确的工具和技术来防止灾难。例如,在应用所有新的配置文件之前自动检查它们的系统测试软件可以防止配置错误和故障。

预测

预测包括预测未来可能发生的灾难、了解后果以及规划适当的灾难恢复程序。预测会发生什么是一项挑战,但是您可以根据以前的情况和分析得出灾难恢复解决方案。例如,将所有关键业务数据备份到云中,以应对未来本地设备的硬件故障,这是一种实用的数据管理方法。

缓解

缓解是企业在灾难发生后的应对方式。缓解策略旨在减少对正常业务流程的负面影响。所有关键利益相关者都知道在发生灾难时应该做什么,包括以下步骤:

  • 更新文档
  • 定期进行灾难恢复测试
  • 确定发生中断时的手动操作程序
  • 与相应人员协调灾难恢复策略

灾难恢复计划的关键要素是什么?

有效的灾难恢复计划包括以下关键要素:

内部和外部沟通

负责创建、实施和管理灾难恢复计划的团队必须就各自的角色和职责进行沟通。如果发生灾难,团队应该知道谁负责什么,以及如何与员工、客户以及彼此沟通。

恢复时间表

灾难恢复团队必须确定灾难发生后系统恢复正常运行的目标和时间范围。一些行业的时间表可能比其他行业更长,而有些行业需要在几分钟内恢复正常。

时间表应针对以下两个目标:

恢复时间表目标

恢复时间目标(RTO)是确定完成灾难恢复之前所经过的最长时间的指标。您的 RTO 可能因受影响的 IT 基础设施和系统而异。

恢复点目标

恢复点目标(RPO)是灾难发生后可接受的最长数据丢失时间。例如,如果您的 RPO 是几分钟或几小时,您就必须不断地将数据备份到镜像站点,而不是每天只备份一次。

数据备份

灾难恢复计划决定了如何备份数据。选项包括云存储、供应商支持的备份和内部异地数据备份。为了应对自然灾害事件,不应在现场备份。团队应该确定谁来备份数据,备份什么信息,以及如何实施系统。

测试和优化

您必须每年至少对灾难恢复计划进行一次或两次测试。您可以记录并修复在这些测试中发现的任何差距。同样,您应该经常更新所有安全和数据保护策略,以防止意外的未经授权访问。

如何组建灾难恢复团队?

灾难恢复团队包括一个专家协作团队,如担任领导角色的 IT 专家和个人,他们对团队至关重要。团队中应该有人负责以下关键方面:

危机管理

负责危机管理的个人立即实施灾难恢复计划。他们与其他团队成员和客户沟通,并协调灾难恢复过程。

业务连续性

业务连续性经理确保灾难恢复计划与业务影响分析的结果保持一致。他们在灾难恢复策略中包括业务连续性规划。

影响恢复和评估

影响评估经理是 IT 基础设施和业务应用方面的专家。他们评估并修复网络基础设施、服务器和数据库。他们还管理其他灾难恢复任务,例如以下示例:

  • 应用程序集成
  • 数据一致性维护
  • 应用程序设置和配置

最好的灾难恢复方法是什么?

当进行灾难恢复规划时,企业实施以下一种或多种方法:

备份

备份数据是所有企业实施的最简单的灾难恢复方法之一。备份重要数据需要将数据存储在异地、云中或移动硬盘上。您应该经常备份数据以保持最新。例如,通过备份到 AWS,企业可以获得保护所有数据类型的灵活且可扩展的基础设施。

数据中心灾难恢复

在发生某些类型的自然灾害时,适当的设备可以保护您的数据中心,并有助于快速灾难恢复。例如,灭火工具可以帮助设备和数据在火灾中幸存下来,备用电源可以在停电时支持业务的连续性。同样,AWS 数据中心拥有创新系统,可以保护数据免受人为和自然风险的影响。

虚拟化

企业使用不受物理灾难影响的异地虚拟机备份其数据和运营。通过将虚拟化作为灾难恢复计划的一部分,企业可以自动执行一些流程,从而更快地从自然灾难中恢复。向 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)等虚拟机持续传输数据和工作负载对于高效虚拟化至关重要。

灾难恢复即服务

像 AWS 弹性灾难恢复这样的灾难恢复服务,可以在发生灾难时将公司的计算机处理和关键业务运营转移到自己的云服务。因此,即使本地服务器出现故障,正常运营也可以在提供商的位置继续进行。弹性灾难恢复还可以防止云中的某些区域发生故障。

冷站

在发生自然灾害时,一家公司将其运营转移到另一个很少使用的物理位置,称为冷站。这样,员工就有了工作的地方,业务功能也可以正常进行。这种类型的灾难恢复不能保护或恢复重要数据,因此必须在使用这种方法的同时使用另一种灾难恢复方法。

AWS 如何帮助灾难恢复?

弹性灾难恢复是一种 AWS 灾难恢复服务,通过快速可靠地恢复本地和基于云的应用程序,最大限度地减少停机时间和数据丢失。它可以将您的 RPO 减少到几秒钟,将 RTO 减少到几分钟。在出现软件问题或数据中心硬件故障等意外事件时,您可以快速恢复运营。它也是一个灵活的解决方案,因此您可以添加或删除复制服务器,测试各种应用程序,而无需专业技能。弹性灾难恢复包括以下优势:

  • 删除闲置的恢复站点资源,从而降低成本,并且仅在需要时才为您的全部灾难恢复站点付费
  • 将基于云的应用程序转换为在 AWS 上原生运行
  • 在发生安全事故时,使用最新的状态或从之前的时间点,在短短几分钟内恢复应用程序

立即创建 AWS 账户,开始在 AWS 上进行灾难恢复。

AWS 灾难恢复后续步骤

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
查看其他与产品相关的资源
详细了解灾难恢复服务 
Sign up for a free account
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 管理控制台中,使用 AWS VPN 开始构建。

登录

What is disaster recovery?

Disaster recovery is the process by which an organization anticipates and addresses technology-related disasters. IT systems in any company can go down unexpectedly due to unforeseen circumstances, such as power outages, natural events, or security issues. Disaster recovery includes a company's procedures and policies to recover quickly from such events.

Risk Mitigation Strategies in Disaster Recovery (DR) Planning

Why is disaster recovery important?

A disaster is an unexpected problem resulting in a slowdown, interruption, or network outage in an IT system. Outages come in many forms, including the following examples:

  • An earthquake or fire
  • Technology failures
  • System incompatibilities
  • Simple human error
  • Intentional unauthorized access by third parties

These disasters disrupt business operations, cause customer service problems, and result in revenue loss. A disaster recovery plan helps organizations respond promptly to disruptive events and provides key benefits:

Ensures business continuity

When a disaster strikes, it can be detrimental to all aspects of the business and is often costly. It also interrupts normal business operations, as the team’s productivity is reduced due to limited access to tools they require to work. A disaster recovery plan prompts the quick restart of backup systems and data so that operations can continue as scheduled.

Enhances system security

Integrating data protection, backup, and restoring processes into a disaster recovery plan limits the impact of ransomware, malware, or other security risks for business. For example, data backups to the cloud have numerous built-in security features to limit suspicious activity before it impacts the business.

Improves customer retention

If a disaster occurs, customers question the reliability of an organization’s security practices and services. The longer a disaster impacts a business, the greater the customer frustration. A good disaster recovery plan mitigates this risk by training employees to handle customer inquiries. Customers gain confidence when they observe that the business is well-prepared to handle any disaster.

Reduces recovery costs

Depending on its severity, a disaster causes both loss of income and productivity. A robust disaster recovery plan avoids unnecessary losses as systems return to normal soon after the incident. For example, cloud storage solutions are a cost-effective data backup method. You can manage, monitor, and maintain data while the business operates as usual.

How does disaster recovery work?

Disaster recovery focuses on getting applications up and running within minutes of an outage. Organizations address the following three components:

Prevention

To reduce the likelihood of a technology-related disaster, businesses need a plan to ensure that all key systems are as reliable and secure as possible. Because humans cannot control a natural disaster, prevention only applies to network problems, security risks, and human errors. You must set up the right tools and techniques to prevent disaster. For example, system-testing software that auto-checks all new configuration files before applying them can prevent configuration mistakes and failures.

Anticipation

Anticipation includes predicting possible future disasters, knowing the consequences, and planning appropriate disaster recovery procedures. It is challenging to predict what can happen, but you can come up with a disaster recovery solution with knowledge from previous situations and analysis. For example, backing up all critical business data to the cloud in anticipation of future hardware failure of on-premises devices is a pragmatic approach to data management.

Mitigation

Mitigation is how a business responds after a disaster scenario. A mitigation strategy aims to reduce the negative impact on normal business procedures. All key stakeholders know what to do in the event of a disaster, including the following steps:

  • Updating documentation
  • Conducting regular disaster recovery testing
  • Identifying manual operating procedures in the event of an outage
  • Coordinating a disaster recovery strategy with corresponding personnel

What are the key elements of a disaster recovery plan?

An effective disaster recovery plan includes the following key elements:

Internal and external communication

The team responsible for creating, implementing, and managing the disaster recovery plan must communicate with each other about their roles and responsibilities. If a disaster happens, the team should know who is responsible for what and how to communicate with employees, customers, and each other.

Recovery timeline

The disaster recovery team must decide on goals and time frames for when systems should be back to normal operations after a disaster. Some industries’ timelines may be longer than others, while others need to be back to normal in a matter of minutes.

The timeline should address the following two objectives:

Recovery timeline objective

The recovery time objective (RTO) is a metric that determines the maximum amount of time that passes before you complete disaster recovery. Your RTOs may vary depending on impacted IT infrastructure and systems.

Recovery point objective

A recovery point objective (RPO) is the maximum amount of time acceptable for data loss after a disaster. For example, if your RPO is minutes or hours, you will have to back up your data constantly to mirror sites instead of just once at the end of the day.

Data backups

The disaster recovery plan determines how you back up your data. Options include cloud storage, vendor-supported backups, and internal offsite data backups. To account for natural disaster events, backups should not be onsite. The team should determine who will back up the data, what information will be backed up, and how to implement the system.

Testing and optimization

You must test your disaster recovery plan at least once or twice per year. You can document and fix any gaps that you identify in these tests. Similarly, you should update all security and data protection strategies frequently to prevent inadvertent unauthorized access.

How can you create a disaster recovery team?

A disaster recovery team includes a collaborative team of experts, such as IT specialists and individuals in leadership roles, who will be crucial to the team. You should have somebody on the team who takes care of the following key areas:

Crisis management

The individual in charge of crisis management implements the disaster recovery plan right away. They communicate with other team members and customers, and they coordinate the disaster recovery process.

Business continuity

The business continuity manager ensures that the disaster recovery plan aligns with results from business impact analysis. They include business continuity planning in the disaster recovery strategy.

Impact recovery and assessment

Impact assessment managers are experts in IT infrastructure and business applications. They assess and fix network infrastructure, servers, and databases. They also manage other disaster recovery tasks, such as the following examples:

  • Application integrations
  • Data consistency maintenance
  • Application settings and configuration

What are the best disaster recovery methods?

When disaster recovery planning, businesses implement one or several of the following methods:

Backup

Backing up data is one of the easiest methods of disaster recovery that all businesses implement. Backing up important data entails storing data offsite, in the cloud, or on a removable drive. You should back up data frequently to keep it up to date. For example, by backing up to AWS, businesses get a flexible and scalable infrastructure that protects all data types.

Data center disaster recovery

In the event of certain types of natural disasters, appropriate equipment can protect your data center and contribute to rapid disaster recovery. For example, fire suppression tools help equipment and data survive through a blaze, and backup power sources support businesses’ continuity in case of power failure. Similarly, AWS data centers have innovative systems that protect them from human-made and natural risks.

Virtualization

Businesses back up their data and operations using offsite virtual machines (VMs) not affected by physical disasters. With virtualization as part of the disaster recovery plan, businesses automate some processes, recovering faster from a natural disaster. The continuous transfer of data and workloads to VMs like Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is essential for effective virtualization.

Disaster recovery as a service

Disaster recovery services like AWS Elastic Disaster Recovery can move a company’s computer processing and critical business operations to its own cloud services in the event of a disaster. Therefore, normal operations can continue from the provider’s location, even if on-premises servers are down. Elastic Disaster Recovery also protects from Regions in the cloud going down.

Cold site

In the event of a natural disaster, a company moves its operations to another rarely used physical location, called a cold site. This way, employees have a place to work, and business functions can continue as normal. This type of disaster recovery does not protect or recover important data, so another disaster recovery method must be used alongside this one.

How can AWS help with disaster recovery?

Elastic Disaster Recovery is an AWS disaster recovery service that reduces downtime and data loss with the fast, reliable recovery of on-premises and cloud-based applications. It can decrease your RPO to seconds and RTO to just a few minutes. You can quickly recover operations after unexpected events, such as software issues or data center hardware failures. It is also a flexible solution, so you can add or remove replicating servers and test various applications without specialized skill sets. Elastic Disaster Recovery includes the following benefits:

  • Reduces costs by removing idle recovery site resources, so you pay for the full disaster recovery site only when needed
  • Converts cloud-based applications to run natively on AWS
  • Restores applications within minutes, at their most up-to-date state, or from a previous point in time in case of security incidents

Get started with disaster recovery on AWS by creating an AWS account today.

AWS disaster recovery next steps

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
Check out additional product-related resources
Learn more about Disaster Recovery Services 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS free tier. 

Sign up 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
Start building in the console

Get started building with AWS VPN in the AWS Management Console.

Sign in