什么是 Java?

Java 是一种广泛使用的编程语言,可用于编码 Web 应用程序。它已成为开发人员近二十几年来的热门选择,现如今已有数百万计的 Java 应用程序正在使用。Java 是一种多平台、面向对象且以网络为中心的语言,其本身即可作为一个平台来使用。它是一种快速、安全和可靠的编程语言,可用于编码从移动应用程序和企业软件到大数据应用程序和服务器端技术的任何内容。

Java 编程语言的用途有哪些?

由于 Java 是一种免费使用且功能多样的语言,因此它可以用来构建本地化和分布式软件。Java 的一些常见用途包括: 

  1. 游戏开发:许多流行的手游、计算机游戏以及视频游戏都使用 Java 构建。甚至集成机器学习或虚拟现实等高级技术的现代游戏,也使用 Java 技术构建。
  2. 云计算:Java 通常指的是 WORA – 一次编写,到处运行,这使其成为分散的基于云的应用程序的理想选择。云提供商选择 Java 语言在各种基础平台上运行程序。
  3. 大数据:Java 可用于能够处理复杂数据集以及海量实时数据的数据处理引擎。
  4. 人工智能:Java 是机器学习库的动力来源。凭借其稳定和高速的性能,Java 也是自然语言处理和深度学习等人工智能应用程序开发的理想选择。
  5. 物联网:Java 已应用于边缘设备的程序传感器和硬件中,这些设备能够独立连接到互联网。

Java 的设计目的就是易于使用,因此它十分热门。下面是开发人员继续选择 Java 而不是其他编程语言的一些原因:

高质量学习资源

Java 已经存在很长一段时间了,因此许多学习资源可供新程序员使用。详细的文档、全面的书籍以及相关的课程可支持开发人员完成学习曲线。此外,在转向高级 Java 之前,新手可以开始在核心 Java 中编写代码。

内置函数和库

当使用 Java 时,开发人员无需从头开始编写每一个新函数。相反,Java 提供了内置函数和库的丰富生态系统,便于开发各种应用程序。

活跃的社区支持

Java 拥有大量活跃的用户和社区,在开发人员遇到编码困难时能为其提供支持。Java 平台软件也会定期维护且定期更新。

高质量开发工具

Java 提供了各种支持自动化编辑、调试、测试、部署以及更改管理的工具。这些工具可以提高 Java 编程的时间和成本效益。

平台独立

无需重写,Java 代码即可在 Windows、Linux、iOS 或 Android 等基础平台上运行。这使得它在当今我们希望在多台设备中运行应用程序的环境中显得尤为强大。

安全性

用户可以通过网络下载受信任的 Java 代码,并在不会引起任何损害的安全环境中运行它。不受信任的代码无法利用病毒影响主机系统,也无法从硬盘上读取或写入文件。Java 中的安全级别和限制高度可配置。

Java 的工作原理是什么?

所有编程语言都是与机器通信的一种手段。机器硬件仅可以响应电子通信。Java 等高级编程语言充当了人类语言与硬件语言之间的桥梁。要使用 Java,开发人员需要了解以下两点:

  1. Java 语言和 API:这是开发人员和 Java 平台之间的前端通信。
  2. Java 虚拟机:这是 Java 平台和基础硬件之间的后端通信。下面我们来详细了解下这两点:

什么是 Java API?

Java 定义了 Java 编程语言的语法和语义。其中包括用于编写不可改变数据类型、if/else 代码块、循环等算法的基本词汇表和规则。API 是与 Java 平台捆绑的重要软件组件。这些 API 是预先编写的 Java 程序,可将现有功能即插即用至您的代码中。例如,您可以使用 Java API 来获取日期和时间、执行数学操作或操作文本。 任何由开发人员编写的 Java 应用程序代码通常会结合来自 Java API 和 Java 库中的新代码和现有代码。

什么是 Java 虚拟机?

Java 虚拟机可充当 Java 平台和基础机器硬件之间的额外抽象层。Java 源代码仅可在已安装 JVM 的机器上运行。为什么需要 Java 虚拟机的答案就藏在编程的历史中。

编程的历史

当自然编程语言得到首次开发时,根据它们与基础硬件的通信方式,将其分为两大类。

  1. 编译器:完整的程序通过编译器使用类似英语的自然语法编写,然后,使用该语言将整个代码编译(或翻译)到机器代码中。然后,编译后的代码可以在硬件中运行。
  2. 解释器:使用解释器可以实时将每个高级代码语句解释为机器代码。  在查看下一个语句前,硬件可以迅速运行编写的语句。

Java 运行时环境

Java 程序是首个使用 Java 虚拟机(JVM)结合以上两种方法的语言。Java 代码编译器称为 Java 虚拟机。任何 Java 文件都将首先编译成字节代码。Java 字节代码仅可在 JVM 中运行。然后,JVM 将解释字节代码,然后在基础硬件平台中运行它。因此,如果应用程序在 Windows 机器中运行,则 JVM 会将其解释为可在 Windows 上运行。但是,如果应用程序在 Linux 等开源平台中运行,则 JVM 会将其解释为可在 Linux 上运行。 

如何使用 Java 编程?

要开始使用 Java 编程,您需要在系统中安装 Java 版本。下面是四个主要 Java 版本: 

  1. Java 标准版(Java SE)
  2. Java 企业版(Java EE)
  3. Java 微型版(Java ME)

什么是 Java SE?

Java 标准版是核心 Java 编程平台。它包括任意程序员开发 Java 所需的所有库和 API。开放 Java 开发工具包(OpenJDK)是 Java SE 的免费开源实施。

Amazon Corretto 是 OpenJDK 的免费、多平台生产就绪级发行版。它可用作许多 Java SE 发行版的替代品,随附 Amazon 提供的免费、长期支持。它还允许您在云中、本地和本地计算机上运行相同的环境。

什么是 Java EE?

Java 企业版包括所有 Java SE 的功能,以及部署具有容错性的分布式多层 Java 软件所需的额外功能。需要大规模分布式系统、数据库访问和 Web 服务的应用程序通常在 Java EE 中进行开发。

什么是 Java ME?

Java 微型版是用于为移动设备和嵌入式系统(如机顶盒)开发应用程序的平台。Java ME 既提供 Java SE 功能的子集,也推出了专门针对移动设备的库。 

什么是适用于 Java 的 AWS SDK?

适用于 Java 的 AWS SDK 通过提供一组一致且为 Java 开发人员所熟悉的库,简化了 AWS 服务的使用。它还支持用于简化开发的更高级别的抽象。以 AWS 为中心的开源 Java 库现在随代码示例和 Java API 参考指南一起提供。 

SDK 代码示例包含 Java 代码示例和 AWS 服务的实际使用案例,可帮助加速您的应用程序开发。此外,Java API 参考指南说明了适用于 Java 的 AWS SDK 最新版的 API 操作。该参考指南还为受支持的 Web 服务协议提供请求、响应和错误的示例。

参阅开发人员指南或访问 AWS Java 开发人员中心开始使用适用于 Java 的 AWS SDK。

Java 后续步骤

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
查看其他与产品相关的资源
了解有关 Amazon Coretto 的更多信息 
Sign up for a free account
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。

注册 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 管理控制台中,使用 Java 开始构建。

登录

What is Java?

Java is a widely-used programming language for coding web applications. It has been a popular choice among developers for over two decades, with millions of Java applications in use today. Java is a multi-platform, object-oriented, and network-centric language that can be used as a platform in itself. It is a fast, secure, reliable programming language for coding everything from mobile apps and enterprise software to big data applications and server-side technologies.

What is Java programming language used for?

Because Java is a free-to-use and a versatile language, it builds localized and distributed software. Some common uses of Java include: 

  1. Game development: Many popular mobile, computer, and video games are built in Java. Even modern games that integrate advanced technology like machine learning or virtual reality are built with Java technology.
  2. Cloud computing: Java is often referred to as WORA – Write Once and Run Anywhere, making it perfect for decentralized cloud-based applications. Cloud providers choose Java language to run programs on a wide range of underlying platforms.
  3. Big data: Java is used for data processing engines that can work with complex data sets and massive amounts of real-time data.
  4. Artificial intelligence: Java is a powerhouse of machine learning libraries. Its stability and speed make it perfect for artificial intelligence application development like natural language processing and deep learning.
  5. Internet of things: Java has been used to program sensors and hardware in edge devices that can connect independently to the internet.

Java is popular because it has been designed for ease of use. Some reasons developers continue to choose Java over other programming languages include:

High quality learning resources

Java has been around for a long time, so many learning resources are available for new programmers. Detailed documentation, comprehensive books, and courses support developers through the learning curve. In addition, beginners can start writing code in Core Java before moving to Advanced Java.

Inbuilt functions and libraries

When using Java, developers don’t need to write every new function from scratch. Instead, Java provides a rich ecosystem of in-built functions and libraries to develop a range of applications.

Active community support

Java has many active users and a community that can support developers when they face coding challenges. The Java platform software is also maintained and updated regularly.

High-quality development tools

Java offers various tools to support automated editing, debugging, testing, deployment, and change management. These tools make Java programming time and cost-efficient.

Platform independent

Java code can run on any underlying platform like Windows, Linux, iOS, or Android without rewriting. This makes it especially powerful in today’s environment, where we want to run applications on multiple devices.

Security

Users can download untrusted Java code over a network and run it in a secure environment in which it cannot do any harm. Untrusted code cannot infect the host system with a virus nor can it read or write files from the hard drive. The security levels and restrictions in Java are also highly configurable.

How does Java work?

All programming languages are a means to communicate with machines. Machine hardware only responds to electronic communication. High-level programming languages like Java act as a bridge between human language and hardware language. To use Java, a developer needs to understand two things:

  1. Java language and APIs: This is the front-end communication between the developer and the Java platform.
  2. Java virtual machine: This is the back-end communication between the Java platform and the underlying hardware. Let’s look at each of these in detail below:

What is Java API?

Java defines the syntax and semantics of the Java programming language. This includes the basic vocabulary and rules used to write algorithms such as primitive data types, if/else blocks, loops, etc.APIs are important software components bundled with the Java Platform. These are pre-written Java programs that can plug and play existing functionality into your own code. For example, you could use Java APIs to get the date and time, perform mathematical operations, or manipulate text. Any Java application code written by a developer will typically combine new and pre-existing code from Java APIs and Java libraries.

What is Java virtual machine?

The Java virtual machine acts as an additional abstraction layer between the Java platform and the underlying machine hardware. Java source code can run only on those machines that have JVM installed on them. The answer to why the Java Virtual Machine is needed lies in the history of programming.

The history of programming

When natural programming languages were first developed, they fell into two broad categories, depending on how they communicated with the underlying hardware.

  1. Compilers: The complete program is written in natural English-like syntax with compilers, and the language then compiles (or translates) the entire code into machine code. The compiled code is then run on the hardware.
  2. Interpreters: With interpreters, every high-level code statement is interpreted into machine code on the fly.  Written statements are run immediately by the hardware before looking at the next statement.

The Java runtime environment

The Java program was the first language to combine both methods above using a Java Virtual Machine (JVM). The Java code compiler is called the Java Virtual Machine. Any Java file is first compiled into bytecode. Java bytecode can only run in the JVM. The JVM then interprets the bytecode to run it on the underlying hardware platform. So if the application is running on a Windows machine, the JVM will interpret it for Windows. But if it is running on an open-source platform like Linux, the JVM will interpret it for Linux. 

How to program in Java?

To begin programming in Java, you need to install a Java Edition on your system. There are four main Java editions: 

  1. Java standard edition (Java SE)
  2. Java enterprise edition (Java EE)
  3. Java micro edition (Java ME)

What is Java SE?

Java standard edition is the core Java programming platform. It contains all of the libraries and APIs that any programmer needs for java development. Open Java Development Kit(OpenJDK) is the free and open source implementation of Java SE.

Amazon Corretto is a no cost, multiplatform, production-ready distribution of OpenJDK. It can be used as a drop-in replacement for many Java SE distributions and comes with no-cost, long term support from Amazon. It lets you run the same environment in the cloud, on premises, and on your local machine.

What is Java EE?

Java enterprise edition includes all features from Java SE and additional functionality to deploy fault-tolerant, distributed, multi-tier Java software. Applications that demand an immense scale, distributed system, database access, and web services are typically developed on Java EE.

What is Java ME?

Java micro edition is the platform for developing applications for mobile devices and embedded systems such as set-top boxes. Java ME provides a subset of the functionality of Java SE but also introduces libraries specific to mobile devices. 

What is AWS SDK for Java?

AWS SDK for Java simplifies uses of AWS Services by providing a set of libraries that are consistent and familiar for Java developers. It supports higher-level abstractions for simplified development. AWS-focused open-source Java libraries are available along with code examples and a Java API reference guide. 

The SDK code examples contain Java code examples and real-world use cases for AWS services to help accelerate the development of your applications. In addition, the Java API reference guide describes the API operations for the latest version of the AWS SDK for Java. The reference guide also provides sample requests, responses, and errors for the supported web services protocols.

Get started with AWS SDK for Java at the developer guide or visit the AWS Java Developer Center.

Java next steps

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
Check out additional product-related resources
Learn more about Amazon Coretto 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free account

Instant get access to the AWS Free Tier.

Sign up 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
Start building in the console

Get started building with Java in the AWS management console.

Sign in