适用于 Windows Server 的终止支持迁移计划

确保 AWS 上的旧版 Windows Server 应用程序不会过时

AWS 帮助客户将其旧版 Windows Server 应用程序迁移到 AWS 上受支持的最新版本的 Windows Server,而无需更改任何代码。由于对不受支持的旧版操作系统 (OS) 依赖性强、内部专业知识有限和/或无法访问安装媒体或源代码,很多组织在迁移旧版应用程序时都会遇到困难。此外,扩展对这些应用程序的支持并不能解决不可避免的终止支持问题,只能推迟这种问题。为了缓解这些挑战,AWS 提供了适用于 Windows Server 的终止支持迁移计划 (EMP)。

EMP for Windows Server 包括各种工具,可帮助您将旧版应用程序从 Windows Server 2003、2008 和 2008 R2 迁移到 AWS 上受支持的更新版本,而无需进行任何重构。EMP 工具将应用程序与底层操作系统解耦,使您能够将重要应用程序迁移到 AWS 上受支持的较高版本的 Windows Server。 客户可以自由地使用 EMP 工具作为自助选项,也可借助 AWS 合作伙伴或 AWS 专业服务。对于希望自行使用该工具的客户,还可提供用户指南。 

EMP 工具可识别应用程序对过时操作系统的依赖性,并创建包含应用程序在更高版本的 Windows Server 上运行所需的资源的程序包。此程序包包含所有应用程序文件、运行时、组件和部署工具,以及将 API 调用从应用程序重定向到程序包中文件的引擎。这样可以解决依赖性,并将应用程序与底层操作系统解耦。您现在可以在未来版本的 Windows Server 上运行打包的应用程序,这意味着在下一次 Windows Server 终止支持事件来临时,您无需担心升级这些应用程序。在 AWS 上,您可以继续优化这些应用程序的操作和成本,并进一步探索 Windows 工作负载的现代化

优势

确保旧版应用程序不会过时

将这些应用程序与底层不受支持的 Windows Server 操作系统解耦,保护应用程序不受定期终止支持事件的影响。这意味着发生下一个终止支持事件时,只需移动应用程序并在受支持的最新版本 Windows Server 上运行此应用程序,而无需更改任何代码。

降低风险

在受支持的 Windows Server 版本上运行打包的应用程序时,您将主动接收较低版本中不提供的最新修补包和操作系统范围的安全性改进。这样可以保护您的应用程序不受旧版操作系统的漏洞的影响。

降低成本和复杂性

将旧版应用程序迁移到受支持的较高版本的 Windows Server 通常需要重构,由于此类应用程序的内部专业知识有限,因此重构成本高昂且较为复杂。通过 EMP for Windows Server,您无需重构应用程序以确保与较高版本 Windows Server 兼容。  现在,您可以选择将该工具用作免费的自助选项,也可以付费邀请专家参以促进使用 EMP 工具将应用程序迁移到 AWS。 

适用于各种应用程序

EMP for Windows Server 甚至支持最复杂的应用程序,包括密切依赖于较低版本的操作系统的应用程序,例如注册表、库和其他文件。EMP for Windows Server 可帮助升级应用程序,无论安装媒体或代码是否可用。

工作原理

工作原理

IHS Markit 是一家总部设在英国、领先的财富 500 强信息服务公司。

在更广泛迁移中,IHS Markit 与 AWS 合作,了解如何解决其旧版 Windows 服务器的问题。当时,IHS Markit 正努力将在 Windows 2003 上运行的旧版 Microsoft Dynamics Great Plains ERP 更换平台到更现代的 Windows Server 版本。AWS 建议使用终止支持迁移计划 (EMP) 来解决此问题。使用 EMP 工具,AWS 合作伙伴 Cloudhouse 能与客户合作打包应用程序,而不会更改应用程序源代码或影响最终用户体验。打包过程完成后,客户收到 Amazon Machine Image (AMI),包含在在 Windows 2019 服务器上运行的 Great Plains ERP。凭借在 AWS 中部署功能齐全的应用程序,IHS Markit 还发现了额外的益处,包括通过运行更新版本的 Microsoft Office 提高性能和恢复导出功能。

V/Line 是一家总部位于澳大利亚的公共交通提供商,30 多年来一直为维多利亚州提供服务。

在减少其旧版 Microsoft 技术债务,并提高其终止支持应用程序的安保状况的举措中,V/Line 与 AWS 合作迁移旧版 Microsoft Dynamics AX。该应用程序在 Windows Server 2003 上运行,客户希望在 AWS 云中更改平台为现代、受支持的 Windows Server。使用终止支持迁移计划 (EMP) 工具,整个应用程序得到打包,而没有更改应用程序源代码或影响最终用户体验。使用 EMP 后,打包的应用程序成功部署到 AWS 中的 Windows Server 2019 平台,V\Line 得以停用其旧版服务器。

Boral 徽标
Origin 徽标
Inmarsat
Korean Reinsurance
eWay Australia 徽标

其他资源

新的 AWS 计划可帮助您确保终止支持 Windows Server 应用程序不会过时

2019 年 12 月 2 日
作者:Martin Beeby

如果您开展业务已有一段时间,可能会遇到以下情况:您正在使用的旧版 Windows Server 应用程序对您的业务至关重要,但无法移动到受支持的较高版本的 Windows Server。

了解更多 »

AWS EMP 技术白皮书

与适用于 Windows Server 的 AWS 终止支持迁移计划 (EMP) 相关的概念和功能技术概述
 
通过安装媒体将旧版 Windows 应用程序迁移到较新版本的 Windows (8:11)

观看本视频,了解 EMP 如何在媒体可用时打包和迁移旧版应用程序。

Check out more details
查看更多详细信息

访问常见问题页面,了解有关 EMP for Windows Server 的更多信息

了解更多 
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

注册 
Contact us to join the program
联系我们加入此计划

开始将旧版 Windows Server 应用程序迁移到 AWS。

联系我们

End-of-Support Migration Program for Windows Server

Future-proof your legacy Windows Server applications on AWS

AWS helps customers with migration of their legacy Windows Server applications to the latest, supported versions of Windows Server on AWS, without any code changes. Many organizations struggle with migrating their legacy applications due to tight dependencies on older, unsupported operating systems (OS), limited in-house expertise, and/or missing access to installation media or source code. Moreover, getting extended support for these applications does not resolve the inevitable end of support problem, it just delays the inevitable. To mitigate these challenges, AWS offers the End-of-Support Migration Program (EMP) for Windows Server.

EMP for Windows Server includes tooling to migrate your legacy applications from Windows Server 2003, 2008, and 2008 R2 to newer, supported versions on AWS, without any refactoring. The EMP tool decouples the applications from the underlying OS, enabling the migration of your critical applications to newer, supported versions of Windows Server on AWS. Customers can use the EMP tool freely as a self-service option or with the help of AWS Partners or AWS Professional Services. A user guide is also available for customers who want to use the tool themselves. 

The EMP tool identifies the dependencies that your application has on the outdated OS, and creates a package that includes the resources necessary for the application to run on the newer version of Windows Server. The package includes all the application files, runtimes, components, and deployment tools, as well as an engine that redirects the API calls from your application to files within the package. This resolves the dependencies, and decouples the application from the underlying OS. You can now run the packaged application on future versions of Windows Server, which means you don’t have to worry about upgrading these applications when the next end of support event for Windows Server arrives. Once on AWS, you can continue to optimize the operations and costs for these applications and explore further modernizing Windows workloads.

Benefits

Future-proof your legacy applications

Safeguard your applications from periodic end of support events by decoupling these applications from the underlying unsupported Windows Server operating system. This means when the next end of support event occurs, you can simply move and then run your applications on the latest supported version of Windows Server without any code changes.

Reduce risk

When you run your packaged applications on supported versions of Windows Server, you proactively receive the latest patches and operating system-wide security improvements that are not available for the older versions. This protects your applications from vulnerabilities of the older operating systems.

Reduce cost and complexity

Migrating legacy applications to newer, supported versions of Windows Server often requires refactoring, which is expensive and complex because of limited in-house expertise for such applications. With EMP for Windows Server, you no longer need to refactor your applications to ensure compatibility with newer versions of Windows Server.  You now have the choice of using the tool as a self-service option at no cost or you can pay for the expert engagement to drive migration of your applications to AWS using the EMP tool. 

Works for a wide range of applications

EMP for Windows Server supports even your most complicated applications, including the ones with tight dependencies on older versions of the operating system, including registry, libraries, and other files. EMP for Windows Server helps upgrade applications regardless of the availability of installation media or code.

How it works

How it works

IHS Markit is a leading Fortune 500 Information Services company based out of the UK.

As part of a broader migration, IHS Markit engaged with AWS to understand how to address their legacy Windows servers. At the time IHS Markit was struggling to replatform a legacy version of Microsoft Dynamics Great Plains ERP running on Windows 2003 to a more modern version of Windows Server. AWS recommended the End-of-Support Migration Program (EMP) to solve this problem. Using the EMP tool, an AWS partner, Cloudhouse, worked with the customer to package the application without changing the application source code or impacting end-user experience. After the packaging process was complete, the customer received an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) with the Great Plains ERP running on a Windows 2019 server. With a fully functioning application deployed in AWS, IHS Markit also found additional benefits including, increased performance and restoration of export functionality with the ability to run a newer version of Microsoft Office.

V/Line is an Australia-based public transport provider that has provided services to the Victoria region for over 30 years.

As part of an initiative to reduce their legacy Microsoft technical debt and increase the security posture of their end-of-support applications, V/Line engaged with AWS to migrate a legacy version of Microsoft Dynamics AX. The application ran on Windows Server 2003 and the customer wanted to replatform to a modern, supported Windows Server in the AWS Cloud. Using the End-of-Support Migration Program (EMP) tool, the entire application was packaged without changing the application source code or impacting the end-user experience. Following the EMP engagement, the packaged application was successfully deployed to a Windows Server 2019 platform in AWS, allowing V\Line to decommission their legacy server.

Boral Logo
Origin Logo
Inmarsat
Korean Reinsurance
eWay Australia Logo

Additional resources

New AWS Program to Help Future-proof Your End-of-Support Windows Server Applications

December 02, 2019
By Martin Beeby

If you have been in business a while, you might find yourself in a situation where you have legacy Windows Server applications, critical to your business, that you can’t move to a newer, supported version of Windows Server.

Learn more »

AWS EMP Technical Whitepaper

A technical overview of concepts and features associated with the AWS End-of-Support Migration Program (EMP) for Windows Server
 
Migrating Legacy Windows Applications to Newer Versions of Windows With Install Media (8:11)

Watch this video to learn understand how EMP can package and migrate your legacy application when the media is available.

Check out more details
Check out more details

Learn more about EMP for Windows Server through our FAQ page

Learn more 
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

Sign up 
Contact us to join the program
Contact us to join the program

Get started with migrating your legacy Windows Server applications to AWS.

Contact us