组织现在需要管理越来越多的数据中心之外的基础设施,比如工厂中或现场的连接设备,或医院和病人家中的医疗设备。这种“外部”基础设施 (包括所有类型的 IoT 设备) 为混合环境带来了新的挑战。尽管客户可以使用 AWS IoT 连接万亿设备,并对它们生成的数据进行处理、分析和操作,但在一些情况下,由于延迟或间歇性连接,仅仅依赖于云并不是最佳选择。

AWS Snowball Edge 入门

创建免费账户

获得 12 个月 AWS 免费套餐,同时享受 AWS 的基本支持功能,包括全年全天候无休客户服务、支持论坛及更多。


AWS Snowball Edge 是一台 100TB 的数据传输设备,具有板载存储和计算功能,可通过您在现有工作流中使用的熟悉接口进行访问。您可以使用它实现以下目的:将大量数据移入和移出 AWS、作为大型本地数据集的临时存储层或支持远程位置中的独立本地工作负载。

100x100_benefit_increase-upward1

应用程序可以使用 Snowball Edge 作为与 S3 兼容的终端节点,并可通过 S3 SDK 或 CLI 进行访问。与 S3 兼容的终端节点支持 PUT、Multipart PUT、GET、DELETE、LIST 和 HEAD 操作。

100x100_benefit_compatible

应用程序可以使用 Snowball Edge 作为 NFS 安装点。支持 NFS v3 和 v4.1,因此您可以轻松地将 Snowball Edge 与您现有的本地服务器和基于文件的应用程序相结合使用。

100x100_benefit_collaboration

您可以将多台 Snowball Edge 设备组成一个群集,以创建本地存储层,从而提高本地应用程序的耐用性。当您订购 Snowball Edge 时,管理控制台会为您提供以下选项:将其添加到现有群集,或当其加入您的网络时创建一个新群集。随着存储需求的提高或降低,您可以轻松地在群集中添加或删除设备,并可将其运回 AWS。

100x100_benefit_gears

当您下达 Snowball Edge 订单时,可以使用 AWS Lambda 代码对其进行配置。这使您能够在 Snowball Edge 上处理数据,因此您可以收集和分析传感器数据流、对多媒体内容进行转码或实时压缩图像,然后再将这些数据集传输到 AWS。

100x100_benefit_performance

Snowball Edge 包括 10G Base-T 网络连接、10/25Gb SFP28 和 40Gb QSFP+ 铜缆和光纤网络,从而快速地将数据传输到设备。所有加密都在设备本身上执行,有助于实现更高的数据吞吐率和更短的数据传输时间。

100x100_benefit_data-encryption

Snowball Edge 使用 256 位加密算法加密所有数据。您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 管理加密密钥。您的密钥永远不会存储在设备上,并且 Snowball 上的所有内存将在其断开连接并运回 AWS 时均被擦除。

100x100_benefit_durable

Snowball Edge 采用坚固耐用的外壳,耐用、便于携带且采用的是可安装机架。Snowball Edge 设备的重量不到 50 磅,一个人便可以拎起并移动。

100x100_benefit_ecryption-lock

Snowball Edge 设备配有防篡改封条,且包含内置的可信平台模块 (TPM),该模块使用专用处理器来检测任何对硬件、固件或软件进行的未经授权的修改。AWS 将检查每台设备是否有任何篡改痕迹,并确认 TPM 未检测到任何更改。

100x100_benefit_pay-as-you-go

Snowball Edge 使用创新性的 E Ink 运输标签,旨在确保设备将自动发送到正确的 AWS 设施。当您完成数据传输任务后,可以通过 Amazon SNS 生成的文本或电子邮件消息以及控制台对其进行跟踪。

100x100_benefit_secure

处理并验证完数据传输任务后,AWS 将遵循美国国家标准技术局 (NIST) 的介质清理准则对 Snowball Edge 设备执行软件擦除。 


reinvent_snowball_video_thumb_450x250

本次 re:Invent 2017 (STG204) 技术讲座涵盖如何将大量数据从现场迁移到云。讲座花费 10 分钟简要介绍了 Snow 系列传输服务和迁移到云的许多其他选项。

re:Invent 2017 技术讲座“Migrating Large Data Sets to the Cloud (STG204) – For Snowball, Snowball Edge and Snowmobile”的视频记录

Organzations are increasingly managing infrastructure that is not located in a data center, such as connected equipment in a factory or on a field, or medical devices in a hospital or a patient’s home. This “off-premises” infrastructure, including all types of IoT devices, brings new challenges to hybrid environments. While customers can use AWS IoT to connect billions of devices and process, analyze, and act on the data they generate, there are some circumstances when relying exclusively on the cloud isn’t optimal due to latency or intermittent connectivity.

Get started with AWS Snowball Edge

Create a Free Account

Receive twelve months of access to the AWS Free Tier and enjoy AWS Basic Support features including, 24x7x365 customer service, support forums, and more.

AWS Snowball Edge is a 100TB data transfer device with on-board storage and compute capabilities, accessible through the familar interfaces you use with existing workflows. You can use it to move large amounts of data into and out of AWS, as a temporary storage tier for large local datasets, or to support independent local workloads in remote locations.

100x100_benefit_increase-upward1

Applications can work with Snowball Edge as an S3-compatible endpoint accessed through the S3 SDK or CLI. The S3-compatible endpoint supports the PUT, Multipart PUT, GET, DELETE, LIST, and HEAD operations.

100x100_benefit_compatible

Applications can work with Snowball Edge as an NFS mount point. NFS v3 and v4.1 are supported so you can easily use Snowball Edge with your existing on-premises servers and file-based applications.

100x100_benefit_collaboration

You can cluster multiple Snowball Edge devices to create a local storage tier with increased durability for your on-premises applications. When you order a Snowball Edge, the management console gives you the option to add it to an existing cluster or to create a new cluster when it joins your network. As storage requirements scale up and down, devices can be easily added or removed from your cluster(s) and returned to AWS.

100x100_benefit_gears

When you place your Snowball Edge order you can configure it with your AWS Lambda code. That lets you process data on the Snowball Edge, so you can collect and analyze sensor data streams, transcode multi-media content, or compress images in real-time or before transferring those data sets to AWS.

100x100_benefit_performance

Snowball Edge includes a 10GBase-T network connection, 10/25Gb SFP28 and 40Gb QSFP+ copper and optical networking for fast data transfer to the device. All encryption is performed on the device itself, helping enable a higher data throughput rate and shorter data transfer times.

100x100_benefit_data-encryption

Snowball Edge encrypts all data with 256-bit encryption. You manage your encryption keys by using the AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS). Your keys are never stored on the device and all memory on a Snowball is erased when it is disconnected and to be returned to AWS.

100x100_benefit_durable

Snowball Edge includes a ruggedized case designed to be durable, portable and rack-mountable. The Snowball Edge device weighs less than 50 pounds and can be lifted and moved by a single person.

100x100_benefit_ecryption-lock

The Snowball Edge device is equipped with tamper-resistant seals and includes built-in Trusted Platform Modules (TPM) with dedicated processors designed to detect any unauthorized modifications to the hardware, firmware, or software. AWS inspects every device for any signs of tampering and to verify that no changes were detected by the TPM.

100x100_benefit_pay-as-you-go

Snowball Edge uses an innovative E Ink shipping label designed to ensure that the device is automatically sent to the correct AWS facility. Once you have completed your data transfer job, it can be tracked via Amazon SNS generated text or email messages, and the Console.

100x100_benefit_secure

Once the data transfer job has been processed and verified, AWS performs a software erasure of the Snowball Edge device that follows the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) guidelines for media sanitization.