开始使用 AWS Snowball

创建免费账户

获得 12 个月 AWS 免费套餐,同时享受 AWS 的基本支持功能,包括全年全天候无休客户服务、支持论坛及更多。

问:什么是 AWS Snowball?

AWS Snowball 是一种数据传输解决方案,其使用能够以物理方式安全运输的存储设备,可以加快 TB 到 PB 级数据进出 AWS 的速度。使用 Snowball 有助于解决进行大规模数据传输时会遇到的难题,包括网络费用高、传输时间长和安全问题。

问:Snowball 的工作原理是什么?

AWS Snowball 使用安全设备和 Snowball 客户端来加快 PB 级数据进出 AWS 的速度。首先,您要使用 AWS 管理控制台创建一项或多项作业,申请一台或多台 Snowball 设备 (具体取决于您需要传输的数据量),然后下载并安装 Snowball 客户端。当设备抵达后,将其连接到您的本地网络,手动或使用 DHCP 设置 IP 地址,然后使用客户端确定需要复制的目录。客户端会自动加密数据并将其复制到设备,然后在传输作业完成时通知您。传输完成后即可返还该设备,E Ink 运送标签会自动更新,以指示要运送到的正确 AWS 机构,您可以通过 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)、短信或直接在控制台中跟踪作业状态。

问:谁应使用 Snowball?

如果您需要安全快速地将从 TB 到多个 PB 的数据传输至 AWS,Snowball 则是数据传输的一个正确选择。如果您不希望对网络基础设施进行昂贵的升级,频繁经历大量数据积压,处于物理上隔绝的环境,或者所在区域不提供高带宽 Internet 连接或成本高昂,Snowball 同样是正确的选择。

问:使用 Snowball 可传输多少数据?

使用 Snowball 几乎可以传输任意数量的数据 (从几 TB 到数 PB)。通常情况下,每台 Snowball 设备可传输数 TB 的数据。您可以使用多台 Snowball 以并行方式或一个接一个地传输大型数据集。例如,您可以使用两台 Snowball 并行传输 100TB 的数据,也可以使用两台 Snowball 逐一传输这些数据。

问:什么是 Snowball 客户端?

Snowball 客户端是您安装在本地主计算机上的软件,用于高效识别、压缩、加密您指定目录中的数据并将其传输到 Snowball。

问:传输数据需要多长时间?

您可以使用 Snowball 客户端估算传输数据所需的时间 (有关更多信息,请参阅用户指南)。数据传输速度受很多因素影响,其中包括本地网络速度、文件大小以及可从本地服务器读取数据的速度。

Snowball 客户端将以条件允许的最快速度将数据复制到 Snowball (只需一天就可复制 48TB 的数据,具体取决于您的本地环境)。将数据传输到 AWS 的端到端时间约为一周,包含常规运输耗时和在 AWS 数据中心的处理时间。您可以通过并行使用两个 48TB 的 Snowball,在同样的时间量里复制两倍的数据,也可以使用一个 80TB 的 Snowball,在两天半的时间里复制 80TB 的数据,而通过后面这种方式,端到端时间会增加为约一周半。

问:Snowball 设备的相关规范有哪些?

请参阅此 Snowball 文档页面,查看硬件规范的完整列表,其中包括接口、性能、散热和电源要求、输出分贝和尺寸。

问:我在进行特定作业时可以持有 Snowball 多长时间?

为安全起见,您必须在 Snowball 准备的 90 天内完成数据传输。

问:Snowball 支持哪些网络接口?

Snowball 拥有 10Gbps 的网络接口,配有 RJ45、SFP+ 铜缆和 SFP+ 光学网络接口。

问:Snowball 的默认送货选项是什么?我可以选择加急送货吗?

默认情况下,Snowball 使用 UPS 的“两日送达”。如果您的作业对时间要求严格,可以选择加急送货。

问:Snowball 在哪些区域提供?

请查看区域服务可用性页面,了解最新信息。

Snowball 在美国各州均可用。

请注意,50TB 型号仅在美国提供。

问:能否将 Snowball 传输到其他 AWS 地区?

不能。您只能在一个 AWS 区域中请求和使用 Snowball。不能从一个地区提出请求,然后返回到另一个地区。用于从欧盟 AWS 区域进行导入或导出的 Snowball 设备可在所有 28 个欧盟国家/地区使用。


问:何时应考虑使用 Snowball 而不是 Internet?

如果您需要安全快速地将从 TB 到多个 PB 的数据传输至 AWS,Snowball 则是数据传输的一个强有力的选择。如果您不希望对网络基础设施进行昂贵的升级,频繁经历大量数据积压,处于物理上隔绝的环境,或者所在区域不提供高速 Internet 连接或成本高昂,Snowball 同样是正确的选择。

根据以往的经验,如果使用现有 Internet 连接的空闲容量将数据上传到 AWS 需时超过一周,则您应考虑使用 Snowball。例如,根据下表中的指南,如果您有 100Mb 的连接可完全用于传输数据,并且有 100TB 的数据需要传输,那么使用该连接完成数据传输所需的时间会超过 100 天。而使用多台 Snowball 进行同样的传输,仅需一周左右。

可用的 Internet 连接 在 80% 网络使用率时 (在 80% 网络使用率时传输 100TB 数据) 何时考虑使用 AWS Snowball?
T3 (44.736Mbps) 269 天 2TB 或以上
100Mbps 120 天
5TB 或以上
1000Mbps 12 天
60TB 或以上

问:何时应考虑使用 Snowball 而不是 AWS Direct Connect?

AWS Direct Connect 提供从您的内网到 AWS 网络的专用高速连接。如果您需要持续向 AWS 传输大量的数据,AWS Direct Connect 也许是正确的选择。

如果您需要大批量地传输数据或进行一次性传输 (有可能从多个分散位置传输),则用 Snowball 来替代 Direct Connect 会是比较好的选择。对于此类工作负载,相比设置新的 Direct Connect 连接来传输数据并在完成后终止连接,Snowball 可能是更简单、更经济高效的选择。

问:何时应考虑使用 Snowball 而不是 AWS Import/Export Disk?

AWS Import/Export Disk 相比,Snowball 可在大多数使用案例中提供更快速、更简单、更经济高效的体验。

借助 Snowball,您无需购买任何硬件或编写任何代码即可传输您的数据。每台 Snowball 设备可以传输多达 80TB 的数据,对于更大的工作负载,您可以并行使用多台设备进行传输。Snowball 采用了防篡改外壳、256 位加密和行业标准的可信平台模块 (TPM),形成一条完整的“监管链”,旨在确保您数据的安全性,并可减少数据传入/传出 AWS 产生的管理开销。

您可以直接从 AWS 管理控制台创建传输作业。传输完成后即可返还该设备,E Ink 运送标签会自动更新,以指示要运送到的正确 AWS 机构,您可以通过 Amazon SNS、短信或直接在控制台中跟踪作业状态。

问:是否可以使用 Snowball 将数据从一个 AWS 地区迁移到另一个 AWS 地区?

不可以。Snowball 的用途是充当将大量数据传入和传出指定 AWS 地区的数据传输解决方案。对于需要在多个 AWS 地区之间进行数据传输的使用案例,我们建议您使用 S3 跨地区复制作为替代解决方案。


问:Snowball 会加密我的数据吗?

Snowball 使用 256 位加密算法加密所有数据。您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 管理加密密钥。您的密钥绝不会发送给设备或存储在设备上。

问:AWS 有没有办法判断设备在途中是否遭到篡改?

Snowball 使用了防篡改外壳,并采用了行业标准的可信平台模块 (TPM),后者使用了专用处理器,旨在检测对硬件、固件或软件进行的任何未经授权的修改。AWS 将检查每台设备是否有任何篡改痕迹,并确认 TPM 未检测到任何更改。

问:设备上的数据成功传输到 AWS 后会如何?

处理并验证完数据传输作业后,AWS 将遵循美国国家标准技术局 (NIST) 的介质清理准则对 Snowball 设备执行软件擦除。

问:有没有什么办法能轻松地跟踪我的数据传输作业?

Snowball 使用创新性的 E Ink 运送标签,用于确保设备已自动发送至正确的 AWS 机构,并且还会在跟踪过程中提供帮助。当您完成数据传输作业后,可以通过 Amazon SNS、短信或控制台对其进行跟踪。

问:能否用 AWS Snowball 传输带有受保护健康信息 (PHI) 的数据?

可以。AWS Snowball 这项服务符合 HIPAA 的要求。如果您目前已与 AWS 签订了商业伙伴协议 (BAA),则可以立即开始使用 Snowball 向您的 HIPAA 账户传输数据。


问:如何开始使用 Snowball?

要开始使用 Snowball,请访问入门页面。

问:如何将我的数据传输到 Snowball 设备?

将 Snowball 设备连接到网络并使用 E Ink 显示屏设置 IP 地址后,您需要从 AWS 管理控制台下载三个文件:

1. Snowball 客户端:用于将数据从您的内部存储传输到 Snowball 设备的软件工具。有关 Snowball 客户端的更多信息,请参阅工具页面。

2. 作业清单文件:一个加密的元数据文件,用于唯一地标识您的数据传输作业。

3. 作业清单解锁代码:由 25 个字符组成的代码,用于解锁作业清单文件。

下载完这些文件后,启动 Snowball 客户端,提供 Snowball 设备的 IP 地址、清单文件路径和解锁代码。启动命令示例如下:

snowball start -i {Snowball IP} -m {作业清单路径} -u {解锁代码}

启动客户端并提供该信息后,客户端即可连接至 Snowball 设备,并可投入使用。接下来,您需要指定要传输到设备的文件目录,并等待传输完成。复制命令示例如下:

snowball cp {源存储设备目录上的数据路径} {Snowball 存储桶名称}

问:数据传输到 Snowball 设备后,我该做些什么?

数据传输作业完成后,Snowball 设备的 E Ink 显示屏将自动更新回邮标签,以指示要运送到的正确 AWS 机构。您只需将 Snowball 设备交给离您最近的 UPS 运输机构就行了。您可以通过 Amazon SNS、短信或直接在 AWS 管理控制台中跟踪传输作业的状态。

问:是否可以将数据从 Hadoop 分布式文件系统导入 Snowball?

可以。您可以使用 Snowball CLI 将数据从 HDFS 群集复制到 Snowball。要了解更多信息,请参阅 Snowball 文档


问:什么是 Snowball 的导出功能?

导出是 Snowball 的一项功能,它支持客户将从 TB 到 PB 的数据从 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 导出到内部存储。 

问:如何使用导出功能从 AWS 导出数据?

要使用 Snowball 的导出功能,只需登录 AWS 管理控制台,选择 Snowball,然后创建导出作业即可。与导入作业一样,您需要指定要使用的区域和存储桶。如果您不希望从特定存储桶中导出所有数据,您可以指定一个按照 UTF-8 二进制顺序排序的 S3 密钥开始和结束范围,用以标明应该导出的数据。您所选择的密钥范围以及位于其中的所有密钥都将被导出。在此处可查看有关使用控制台的详细信息。

问:我最快多久能够访问导出的数据?

我们通常会在收到申请之后的 24 小时内开始导出数据,导出数据可能需时一周。作业完成且设备就绪后,我们将使用您在创建作业时所选的发货选项将其发送给您。

问:我能否直接从您的数据中心提取 Snowball,以免去等待送货的过程?

不能。尽管您可以选择一日送达的方式,但我们仍然需要将 Snowball 配送到您所提供的地址。我们不提供直接从数据中心提取 Snowball 这种方式。

问:在您为我准备 Snowball 的同时,我是否可以跟踪导出数据写入的进展情况?

可以。您可以看到我们何时开始预置 Snowball,并在向设备写入数据时获得实时更新。与导入作业一样,您会在预置完成时和设备发货时收到通知。

问:AWS 是否先加密数据在将其复制到 Snowball?

是的。所有写入数据均会经过加密,且这些数据的加密密钥绝不会显示在 Snowball 上。

问:收到 Snowball 后如何从该设备上读取数据?

您可以使用 Snowball 客户端将数据从 Snowball 复制到本地存储。客户端从 Snowball 读取数据时会将其解密,并以数据存储到 Amazon S3 的相同格式将其写入您的本地存储。

问:我可以导出多少数据?

该设备对于您能导出的数据量几乎没有任何限制。如果您要导出的数据量超出一台设备的容纳量,则系统将自动创建额外的导出作业,以便能够导出您选择的所有数据。

问:是否可以从多个存储桶检索数据?

可以。您可以根据需要选择用于导出的存储桶数目。

问:将 Amazon S3 对象复制到本地存储时,如何将其映射到文件中?

每个密钥都会复制到设备中以存储桶名称开头的一个目录树中。例如,如果密钥是“images/orange.jpg”且存储桶是“fruit”,则对象将保存至 /fruit/images/orange.jpg。与各个对象关联的元数据不会复制到您的存储设备中。

问:能否导出 Amazon Glacier 存储类数据?

不能。需要先使用 S3 生命周期还原功能将 Amazon Glacier 数据重新存储到 Amazon S3 中,才能将其导出。

问:是否有记录导出内容的日志?

有。对于每项导入或导出作业,Snowball 控制台都会针对被复制和未被复制的文件生成并提供一份日志。

问:导出数据的费用是多少?

除了定价页面上详述的 Snowball 导出费用之外,您还需要支付从 Amazon S3 和 Amazon Glacier 服务中检索数据所产生的所有费用。


问:使用 Snowball 传输数据的费用是多少?

每项 Snowball 数据传输作业均需要针对设备处理和在 AWS 数据中心进行的导入/导出操作支付固定费用。您可以在自己的场所免费使用 Snowball 10 天。这 10 天不包括收到设备和寄送设备的日子。如果超过 10 天,Snowball 设备将按每超一天 15 USD 的价格收费。将数据传入到 AWS 不收取任何费用。将数据传出 AWS 的费用因地区而异,请参阅我们的定价页面了解定价详情。

以下示例说明了型号为 80TB 的 Snowball 的定价。

示例:

假定您使用一台 Snowball 将 60TB 的数据传入到了 AWS,您使用 Snowball 14 天 (在第 1 天收到承运商送到的 Snowball,在第 14 天将 Snowball 返回给承运商)。

该项作业的服务费如下:

该项作业的服务费为 250 USD。

超出后每天的费用:

您可以在自己的场所免费使用 Snowball 10 天。这 10 天不包括收到设备和寄送设备的日子,也就是说,本例中,第 1 天和第 14 天不收费。在第 1 天和第 14 天之间共有 12 天,其中有 10 天不收费。其余两天是用于传输数据所超出的两天。超出天数的总费用为:

2 天 x 15 USD/天 = 30 USD

数据传输费:

在本示例中,您是将数据传入 AWS,因此数据传输费用为零。

运费:

运费是基于您的配送目的地和所选的发货选项 (例如,隔夜送达、两天送达) 来计算的。

问:Amazon S3 是如何收费的?

Snowball 代您将数据从 Snowball 设备传输到 AWS 服务 (如 Amazon S3)。按标准的 AWS 服务收费条款计费。传 AWS 的数据不产生任何数据传输费用,S3 中存储的数据按照标准 Amazon S3 定价计费。

问:我可以购买 Snowball 设备吗?

Snowball 只针对作业按实际使用量收费,不能进行购买。


问:Snowball 服务是否支持 API 访问?

是的。Snowball 任务管理 API 提供对 Snowball 任务创建和管理功能的编程式访问。这是一种基于标准的简单 REST Web 服务接口,旨在与任何 Internet 开发环境配合使用。

问:Snowball 任务管理 API 有何用途?

借助 API,合作伙伴和客户可以构建自定义集成,用以管理请求 Snowball 和传递任务状态的流程。API 提供了一种简单的 Web 服务接口,可用于从 Web 上的任意位置创建、列出、更新和取消任务。使用此 Web 服务,开发人员可以轻松构建管理 Snowball 任务工作流的应用程序。要了解更多信息,请参阅 Snowball 文档

问:什么是 S3 适配器?

S3 适配器为 Snowball 客户端提供兼容 S3 的接口,以便在 Snowball 上读取和写入数据。

问:S3 适配器有何用途?

S3 适配器提供可与 Snowball 进行通信的功能,从而允许客户构建用于从文件以及非文件源复制数据的工具。它包括将数据复制到 Snowball 的接口,所采用的加密方法与通过我们的 Snowball 命令行工具所使用的加密方法相同。要了解更多信息,请参阅 Snowball 文档

问:为什么要使用 S3 适配器而不是 Snowball 客户端?

Snowball 客户端是一种一站式工具,能够将基于文件的数据轻松复制到 Snowball。钟爱紧密集成的客户可以使用 S3 适配器轻松扩展其现有应用程序和工作流以与 Snowball 无缝集成。

问:使用 S3 适配器时,如何保障数据安全?

S3 适配器写入数据时所用的加密机制与 Snowball 客户端提供的高级加密机制相同。

问:Snowball S3 适配器支持哪些编程语言?

S3 适配器通过与语言无关的 REST 进行通信。

General

Q: What is AWS Snowball?

AWS Snowball is a data transport solution that accelerates moving terabytes to petabytes of data into and out of AWS using storage devices designed to be secure for physical transport. Using Snowball helps to eliminate challenges that can be encountered with large-scale data transfers including high network costs, long transfer times, and security concerns.

Q: How does Snowball work?

AWS Snowball uses devices designed to be secure and the Snowball Client to accelerate petabyte-scale data transfers into and out of AWS. You start by using the AWS Management Console to create one or more jobs to request one or multiple Snowball devices (depending on how much data you need to transfer), and download and install the Snowball Client ("Client"). Once the device arrives, connect it to your local network, set the IP address either manually or with DHCP, and use the Client to identify the directories you want to copy. The Client will automatically encrypt and copy the data to the device and notify you when the transfer job is complete. When the transfer is complete and the device is ready to be returned, the E Ink shipping label will automatically update to indicate the correct AWS facility to ship to, and you can track the job status by using Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), text messages, or directly in the console.

Q: Who should use Snowball?

Snowball is the right data transfer choice if you need to more securely and quickly transfer terabytes to many petabytes of data to AWS. Snowball can also be the right choice if you don’t want to make expensive upgrades to your network infrastructure, if you frequently experience large backlogs of data, if you're located in a physically isolated environment, or if you're in an area where high-bandwidth Internet connections are not available or cost-prohibitive

Q: How much data can I transfer using Snowball?

You can transfer virtually any amount of data with Snowball using multiple devices in parallel or serially one after another. For example, move 150 TB at one time with two 80TB devices, or order a single device to move 80TB and then order a second device for the remaining 70TB. 

Q: What is the Snowball Client?

The AWS Snowball Client is software that you install on a local host computer and that helps you to efficiently identify, compress, encrypt, and transfer data from the directories you specify to a Snowball. You can download the Snowball Client here.

Q: How long does it take to transfer my data?

You can use the AWS Snowball Client to estimate the time it takes to transfer your data (AWS Snowball transfer details). Data transfer speed is affected by a number of factors including local network speed, file size, and the speed at which data can be read from your local servers.

The Snowball Client will copy data to the Snowball as fast as conditions allow (for example, less than a day to copy 48TB of data, depending on your local environment). End-to-end time to transfer the data into AWS is approximately a week, including the usual shipping and handling time in AWS data centers. You can copy twice that much data in the same amount of time by using two Snowball devices in parallel, or copy up to 80TB of data in two and a half days on a larger Snowball device, which would increase your end-to-end time to about a week and a half.

Q: What are the specifications on the Snowball device?

Check this AWS Snowball documentation page for the complete list of hardware specs, including interfaces, thermal and power requirements, decibel output, and dimensions.

Q: How long can I have a Snowball for a specific job?

For security purposes, data transfers must be completed within 90 days of a Snowball's preparation. This should be enough time to transfer up to 80TBs of data using one Snowball device.

Q: What network interfaces does Snowball support?

Snowball has 10Gbps network interfaces with RJ45, SFP+ copper, and SFP+ optical network ports. Check the AWS Snowball specifications page for more details.

Q: What is Snowball's default shipping option? Can I choose expedited shipping?

As a default, Snowball uses two-day shipping by UPS. You can choose expedited shipping if your jobs are time-sensitive.

Regional Availability

Q: In what regions is Snowball available?

Check the Regional Service Availability pages for the latest information.

Snowball is available for use in all states in the USA.

Please note that 50TB models are only available in the USA.

Q: Can a Snowball be shipped to an alternate AWS region?

No. Snowballs are designed to be requested and used within a single AWS region. It may not be requested from one region and returned to another. Snowball devices used for imports or exports from an AWS region in the EU may be used with any of the 28 EU countries. Check the Regional Service Availability pages for the latest information.

When to use Snowball

Q: When should I consider using Snowball instead of the Internet?

Snowball is a strong choice for data transfer if you need to more securely and quickly transfer terabytes to many petabytes of data to AWS. Snowball can also be the right choice if you don’t want to make expensive upgrades to your network infrastructure, if you frequently experience large backlogs of data, if you're located in a physically isolated environment, or if you're in an area where high-speed Internet connections are not available or cost prohibitive.

As a rule of thumb, if it takes more than one week to upload your data to AWS using the spare capacity of your existing Internet connection, then you should consider using Snowball. For example, following the guidelines in the table below, if you have a 100 Mb connection that you can solely dedicate to transferring your data and need to transfer 100 TB of data, it takes more than 100 days to complete data transfer over that connection. You can make the same transfer by using multiple Snowballs in about a week.

Available Internet Connection Theoretical Min. Number of Days to Transfer 100TB at 80% Network Utilization When to Consider AWS Snowball?
T3 (44.736Mbps) 269 days 2TB or more
100Mbps 120 days
5TB or more
1000Mbps 12 days
60TB or more

Q: When should I consider using Snowball instead of AWS Direct Connect?

AWS Direct Connect provides you with dedicated, fast connections from your premises to the AWS network. If you need to transfer large quantities of data to AWS on an ongoing basis, AWS Direct Connect might be the right choice.

Q: Can I use Snowball to migrate data from one AWS region to another AWS region?

No. Snowball is intended to serve as a data transport solution for moving high volumes of data into and out of a designated AWS region. For use cases that require data transfer between AWS regions, we recommend using S3 Cross-Region Replication as an alternative.

Security

Q: Does Snowball encrypt my data?

Snowball encrypts all data with 256-bit encryption. You manage your encryption keys by using the AWS Key Management Service (KMS). Your keys are never sent to or stored on the device.

Q: Does AWS have a way to tell if the device was tampered with during transit?

In addition to using a tamper-resistant enclosure, Snowball uses an industry-standard Trusted Platform Module (TPM) with a dedicated processor designed to detect any unauthorized modifications to the hardware, firmware, or software. AWS inspects every device for any signs of tampering and to verify that no changes were detected by the TPM.

Q: What happens to the data on the device when it has been successfully transferred to AWS?

When the data transfer job has been processed and verified, AWS performs a software erasure of the Snowball device that follows the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) guidelines for media sanitization.

Q: Is there a way to easily track my data transfer jobs?

Snowball uses an innovative, E Ink shipping label designed to ensure the device is automatically sent to the correct AWS facility and which also helps in tracking. When you have completed your data transfer job, you can track it by using Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), text messages, and the console.

Q: Can I use AWS Snowball for data with Protected Health Information (PHI)?

Yes. AWS Snowball is a HIPAA-eligible service. If you currently have a Business Associate Agreement (BAA) with AWS, you can begin using Snowball immediately to transfer data into your HIPAA accounts.

Using Snowball to Import Data

Q: How do I get started with Snowball?

To get started with Snowball, visit the AWS Snowball Getting Started page.

Q: How do I transfer my data to the Snowball device?

When you connect the Snowball device to your network and set the IP address using the E Ink display, you'll need to download three things from the AWS Management Console:

1. Snowball Client: The software tool that is used to transfer data from your on-premises storage to the Snowball device. For more information on the Snowball Client, see the AWS Snowball Resources page.

2. Job manifest file: An encrypted metadata file that is used to uniquely identify your data transfer job.

3. Job manifest unlock code: A 25-character code to unlock the job manifest file.

When you have downloaded these files, you launch the Snowball Client and provide the Snowball device's IP address, the manifest file path, and the unlock code. A sample Start command is below:

  snowball start -i {Snowball IP} -m path/to/the/job/manifest} -u {unlock code}

After you launch the Client and provide this information, the Client is now connected to the Snowball device and is ready for use. Next you'll need to identify the file directories you want to transfer to the device and then wait for the transfer to complete. A sample Copy command is below:

  snowball cp /path/to/data/on/source/storage/device/directories Snowball/bucketname

Q: What are some recommended best practices to transfer data into AWS Snowball?

To speed up the copy performance, we recommend using a powerful workstation to run simultaneous instances of the Snowball Client in multiple terminals, and transferring small files as batches. The Snowball Client improves the transfer performance for small files by batching them into larger .snowballarchives files automatically. When the compressed batches are imported into Amazon S3, they are automatically expanded, so there’s no need for you to expand the files yourself. Check the Snowball documentation page for the complete list of best practices for AWS Snowball.

Q: What do I do when the data has been transferred to the Snowball device?

When the data transfer job is complete, the Snowball device's E Ink display automatically updates the return shipping label to indicate the correct AWS facility to ship to. Just drop off the Snowball device at the nearest Carrier shipping facility and you're all set. You can track the status of your transfer job by using Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), or text messages, or directly in the AWS Management Console.

Q: Can I import data from a Hadoop Distributed File System to Snowball?

Yes. You can copy data from a HDFS cluster to Snowball using the Snowball CLI. To learn more, please refer to the AWS Snowball documentation.

Using Snowball to Export Data

Q: What is the Snowball export feature?

Export is a feature of Snowball that enables customers to export terabytes to petabytes of data from Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) to on-premises storage.

Q: How do I get my data from AWS with export?

To use Snowball Export simply sign in to the AWS Management Console, choose Snowball, and create an export job. As with an import job, you specify the region and buckets that you want to use. If you don't want to export all of the data from a particular bucket, you can specify a beginning and ending S3 key range sorted in UTF-8 binary order to indicate what data should be exported. The key range that you choose, and all keys between them, are exported. Here are more details on using the AWS Management Console.

Q: How quickly can I access my exported data?

We typically start exporting your data within 24 hours of receiving your request, and exporting data can take as long as a week. Once the job is complete and the device is ready, we ship it to you using the shipping options you selected when you created the job.

Q: Can I pick up the Snowball from your data center so I don't have to wait for shipping?

No. Although you can select one-day shipping, we do have to ship the Snowball to an address that you provide. We don't have a way for you to pick up a Snowball device from our data center.

Q: Can I track the export data-writing progress while you prepare my Snowball?

Yes. You can see when we start provisioning a Snowball and get real-time updates as data is written to the device. As with import jobs, you can get notification when the provisioning is complete and when the device has been shipped.

Q: Will AWS encrypt my data before copying it to the Snowball?

Yes. All data that is written is encrypted and the encryption keys for that data are never present on the Snowball.

Q: How do I read my data from the Snowball when I receive the device?

Using the AWS Snowball Client, you can copy your data from the Snowball to local storage. The Client decrypts your data when it reads it from the Snowball and writes the data to your local storage in the same format as the data was stored in Amazon S3.

Q: How much data can I export?

There is almost no limit to the amount of data you can export. If you want to export more data than can fit on one device, you can create additional export jobs so that all of the data you select can be exported. Standard Export fees will apply.

Q: Can I retrieve data from more than one bucket?

Yes. You can select as many buckets as you want for export.

Q: How are my Amazon S3 objects mapped to files when I copy them to my local storage?

Each key is copied to your device in a directory tree that starts with the bucket’s name. For example, if the key is “images/orange.jpg” and the bucket is "fruit” then the object is saved to /fruit/images/orange.jpg. Meta data associated with each object is not copied to your storage device.

Q: Can I export data that is in the Amazon Glacier storage class?

No. Before Amazon Glacier data can be exported it needs to be restored to Amazon S3 using the S3 Lifecycle Restore feature.

Q: Do I get a log of what was exported?

Yes. For each job, import or export, a log of the files that were copied and those that could not be copied is generated and available from the Snowball console.

Q: What does it cost to export my data?

In addition to the Snowball Export fees detailed on our AWS Snowball pricing page, you will also be charged all Amazon S3 fees and Amazon Glacier fees incurred to retrieve your data from those services.

Billing

Q: How much does it cost to transfer data using Snowball?

Each Snowball data transfer job costs a flat fee for device handling and import and export operations at AWS data centers. Snowball is free for use for 10 days at your site. The day that the device is received and the day that the device is shipped are not counted towards these 10 days. Beyond that, a Snowball device costs $15/day for each extra day that it is at your site. There is no cost for transferring data into AWS. Transferring data out of AWS costs are region specific, please see our AWS Snowball pricing page for pricing details.

The following example illustrates Snowball pricing for an 80 TB model.

Example:
Assume you transfer 60 TB of data into AWS using one Snowball and you keep the Snowball for 14 days (receiving the Snowball from the shipper on day 1 and returning the Snowball to the shipper on day 14).

Service charge for this job:
The service charge for this job is $250.

Extra day charge:
Snowball is free for use for 10 days at your site. The day that the device is received and the day that the device is shipped are not counted toward these 10 days, meaning day 1 and day 14 are free in this case. There are 12 days between day 1 and day 14, and 10 out of 12 days are free. The remaining 2 days are 2 extra days used to transfer your data. The total extra day charge is:
2 days x $15/day = $30

Data transfer:
In this example, you transferred data into AWS, so the data transfer cost is free.

Shipping:
Shipping charges are based on your shipment destination and the shipping option you choose (for example, overnight, or two-day).

Q: How am I charged for Amazon S3 usage?

Snowball will transfer data on your behalf from Snowball devices to AWS services, such as Amazon S3. Standard AWS service charges apply. Data transferred IN to AWS does not incur any data transfer fees, and Standard Amazon S3 pricing fees apply for data stored in S3.

Q: Can I purchase a Snowball device?

Snowballs are only available on a per-job pay-as-you-go basis, and are not available for purchase.

Workflow Integration Tools

Q: Does the Snowball service support API access?

Yes. The Snowball Job Management API provides programmatic access to the job creation and management features of a Snowball. It is a simple, standards-based REST web service interface, designed to work with any Internet development environment.

Q: What can I do with the Snowball Job Management API?

The AWS Snowball Job Management API allows partners and customers to build custom integrations to manage the process of requesting Snowballs and communicating job status. The API provides a simple web service interface that you can use to create, list, update, and cancel jobs from anywhere on the web. Using this web service, developers can easily build applications that manage Snowball jobs. To learn more, please refer to AWS Snowball documentation.

Q: What is the S3 Adapter?

The S3 SDK Adapter for Snowball provides a S3-compatible interface to the Snowball Client for reading and writing data on a Snowball.

Q: What can I do with the S3 Adapter?

The S3 Adapter provides functions to communicate with Snowball, allowing customers to build tools to copy data from file and non-file sources. It includes interfaces to copy data to Snowball with the same encryption that is available through our Snowball command line tool. To learn more, please refer to the AWS Snowball documentation.

Q: Why would I use the S3 Adapter rather than the Snowball Client?

The Snowball Client is a turnkey tool that makes it easier to copy file-based data to Snowball. Customers who prefer a tighter integration can use the S3 Adapter to easily extend their existing applications and workflows to seamlessly integrate with Snowball.

Q: How is my data secured when I use the S3 Adapter?

The S3 Adapter writes data using the same advanced encryption mechanism that the Snowball Client provides.

Q: Which programming languages does the Snowball S3 Adapter support?

The S3 Adapter communicates over REST which is language-agnostic.

Ready to build?
Get started with AWS Snowball
Have more questions?
Contact us