“在 Falcon 9 的帮助下,我们充分利用了 AWS 上提供的服务。我们能够快速测试技术并在数秒内将想法付诸行动。”

- Saed Ghorani,Alpha Apps 的创始人兼首席技术官

Alpha Apps 于 2011 年在阿拉伯联合酋长国推出。从那时起,它已经帮助各种规模的企业(从像客户忠诚度应用程序 SnappCard 这样的初创企业到像企业集团 Abdul Latif Jameel 这样的大型企业)推出并运行阿拉伯语内容应用程序。Alpha Apps 还开发了自己的应用程序,Almwajaha 就是其中之一,这是一款可在 iOS 和 Android 设备上使用的问答游戏,在游戏中两名参与者竞争回答一系列问题。在最快的时间内正确回答问题最多的玩家获胜。经证明这款游戏很受欢迎,2016 年下载量超过了 150 万次。 

在移动应用市场中,您必须处在 IT采用曲线的前沿毋庸置疑。Alpha Apps 的创始人兼首席技术官 Saed Ghorani 表示,这是获得竞争优势和交付成功项目的关键。“我们总是在问自己,我们在哪些方面可以做得更好以及怎么做”,他说。“开发最先进的应用程序需要不断创新,以及采用在灵活环境中支持快速测试的技术。”

与传统托管服务提供商合作限制了该公司提供可靠、高质量应用的能力。随着 Almwajaha 游戏开始越来越受欢迎,这种情况越来越突出。“该应用可生成一些要求低延迟和高可扩展性的密集型活动”,Ghorani说。“但随着越来越多玩家的参与,基础设施将无法承担过重的负载。” 当该应用程序的用户达到 20000 个时,速度和响应方面出现了重大问题。“我们将失去新用户,因为他们无法访问该应用程序,而预配置额外的服务器太昂贵且耗时”,Ghorani 说。
Alpha Apps 寻找应对这种紧急的可扩展性问题的解决方案。 

Alpha Apps 不再独自管理自己的基础设施。他们认识到云的灵活性将是支持业务的理想方式,因此他们开始转向 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 和 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 标准合作伙伴 Falcon 9。 “我们之所以登场,是因为 Alpha Apps 遇到了支持其 Almwajaha 问答游戏的基础设施方面的问题”,Falcon 9 的首席云架构师兼创始人 Mouteih Chaghlil 说。“该公司希望对中东的应用市场产生真正的影响,为此,它需要更具响应性的 IT 技术。我们很快便着手在 AWS 云中构建 Alpha Apps 基础架构。”

该团队使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)Elastic Load Balancing 等服务开始此项流程,以运行其 Almwajaha 应用及其客户端应用。“从一开始,Alpha Apps 的团队就钟爱 AWS,因此我们开始添加更多高级服务”,Chaghlil 说。例如,通过使用 AWS Lambda,Alpha Apps 将受益于自动化基础设施的成本效益和速度。Falcon 9 引入了 Amazon Cognito,为开发人员节省了管理用户身份验证的时间和精力。“我们后来发现 Alpha Apps 需要更复杂的 Lambda 功能”,Chaghlil 说,因此 Falcon 9 引入了 AWS Step Functions。正如 re:Invent 2016 中的展示,AWS Step Functions 使用可视化工作流协调微服务组件。

“Falcon 9 针对要采用哪种 AWS 技术所提出的每一个建议都让企业受益匪浅”,Ghorani 说。通过从其现有的 NoSQL 数据库解决方案迁移到 Amazon DynamoDB,Alpha Apps 现在可以更轻松、更经济高效的方式对数百万条记录运行实时查询。此外,内容交付已通过 Amazon CloudFront 得到了改善,从而确保即使用户数量增加,交付的成本和速度也不会受到影响。

“非常棒的是,Falcon 9 可识别所有可以节省我们时间并减轻团队压力的功能”,Ghorani 说。“安全性就是一个很好的示例。AWS 提供丰富的安全功能,并拥有 ISO 和 PCI DSS 认证。“ 他强调了 Alpha Apps 使用 AWS WAF(一种 Web 应用程序防火墙)以及 Amazon EC2 实例中的安全组所获得的保护。 

Ghorani 表示,Amazon CloudFront 和 Amazon DynamoDB 等服务的有竞争力的按使用量付费的定价模式已帮助 Alpha Apps 使其业务更加简化且更具经济效益。这也使得公司能够将这些节省的成本回报给客户。“从我们之前的 NoSQL 数据库转换到 Amazon DynamoDB 后,我们的数据库成本降低了 97%,并且通过引入 Amazon CloudFront,已将内容交付成本降低了 80%。我们将这些节省的成本回报给客户,这对我们的初创公司客户来说尤为重要。当初创公司试图将其想法推向市场时,IT 成本是一大障碍。我们可帮助他们克服此障碍。”

此外,该公司发现它开发的应用,无论是对于客户还是其自己的应用(如 Almwajaha),都不受容量限制。“AWS 上微服务架构的绝妙之处在于,我们可以将其配置为自动扩展”,Ghorani 说。“只能处理 20000 名用户的想法现在看来很好笑。我们可以扩展到数百万用户,而性能不会受到丝毫影响。我们不再担心因用户无法访问该应用而丢失用户。”


保持 Alpha Apps 及其客户所需的高安全性的同时,不会耗费团队的资源。“如果我们不使用 AWS,至少需要两个人才能保证合规性。我们有一些高度监管的客户,但我们仍能不遗余力地满足其监管要求。” 这些节省的成本使 Alpha Apps 团队能够专注于开发成功应用的核心业务。
现在创建应用的过程也更快,因为配置和测试之间的时间要短得多。“在 Falcon 9 的帮助下,我们充分利用了 AWS 上提供的服务”,Ghorani 说。“整个过程我们都在尝试不同的内容,直至找到合适的那一个,而现在我们能够快速测试技术并在数秒内将想法付诸行动。我们因而可以保持领先地位,这对于快速发展的应用市场至关重要。” 

Falcon 9

  • AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 的标准合作伙伴。总部位于迪拜的 Falcon 9 通过提供创新的云应用程序开发和托管服务可帮助客户迁移到云。
  • 有关 Falcon 9 如何帮助您在云中实现基础设施转型的更多信息,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 Falcon 9 清单。

“With the help of Falcon 9, we’ve made the most of the services available on AWS.… We’re able to test technologies quickly and put ideas into action in a matter of seconds.”

- Saed Ghorani, Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Alpha Apps

Alpha Apps launched in the United Arab Emirates in 2011. Since then, it has helped businesses of all sizes—from startups like customer loyalty app SnappCard to enterprises like conglomerate Abdul Latif Jameel—launch and run Arabic content applications. Alpha Apps also develops its own applications, one of which is Almwajaha, a trivia game available on iOS and Android devices in which two participants compete to answer a series of questions. The gamer who answers the most questions correctly in the quickest time wins. It’s a game that has proved popular, with more than 1.5 million downloads in 2016. 

In the mobile app market, there’s no question as to where on the IT adoption curve you need to be: right at the front. According to Saed Ghorani, founder and chief technology officer of Alpha Apps, it’s the key to gaining competitive advantage and delivering successful projects. “We’re always asking ourselves what we can do better and how,” he says. “Developing state-of-the-art applications requires constant innovation and access to technologies that allow fast testing in a flexible environment.”

Working with a traditional hosting provider was hampering the company’s ability to deliver reliable, high-quality apps. The situation was highlighted as its Almwajaha game started to gain traction. “The app generates intensive activity that requires low latency and high scalability,” says Ghorani. “But as it attracted more players, the infrastructure couldn’t take the load.” By the time the application had reached 20,000 users, there were major problems in speed and response. “We were losing new users because they couldn’t access the app, and provisioning additional servers was too expensive and time-consuming,” says Ghorani.
Alpha Apps looked for a solution to this urgent scalability issue.  

Alpha Apps ruled out managing its own infrastructure. It recognized that the flexibility of the cloud would be the ideal way to support the business, so it turned to Amazon Web Services (AWS) and AWS Partner Network (APN) Standard Partner Falcon 9. “We came on the scene as Alpha Apps was experiencing issues with the infrastructure supporting its Almwajaha trivia game,” says Mouteih Chaghlil, lead cloud architect and founder of Falcon 9. “The company wanted to make a real impact on the app market in the Middle East, and, to do this, it needed more responsive IT. We quickly got to work on building an architecture for Alpha Apps in the AWS Cloud.”

The team began this process using services such as Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) and Elastic Load Balancing to run its Almwajaha app as well as its clients’ apps. “From the start, the team at Alpha Apps loved AWS, so we started adding more advanced services,” says Chaghlil. For example, by using AWS Lambda, Alpha Apps would benefit from the cost-efficiency and speed of an automated infrastructure. Falcon 9 introduced Amazon Cognito, saving developers time and effort in managing user authentication. “We then found Alpha Apps needed more complicated Lambda functions,” says Chaghlil, so Falcon 9 introduced AWS Step Functions. Showcased at re:Invent 2016, AWS Step Functions coordinates the components of microservices using visual workflows.

“Each suggestion Falcon 9 has made about which AWS technologies to adopt has benefited the business,” says Ghorani. By moving from its existing NoSQL database solution to Amazon DynamoDB, Alpha Apps now has an easier, more cost-effective way to run real-time queries on millions of records. In addition, content delivery has improved through Amazon CloudFront, ensuring that even as user numbers increase, cost and speed of delivery aren’t affected.

“What’s great is that Falcon 9 identifies all these features that save us time and take the pressure from the team,” says Ghorani. “Security is a good example. AWS provides rich security features and has certification for ISO and PCI DSS.” He highlights the protection Alpha Apps gets from using AWS WAF, a web application firewall, as well as security groups within Amazon EC2 instances.  

Ghorani says that the competitive, pay-as-you-go pricing of services such as Amazon CloudFront and Amazon DynamoDB has helped Alpha Apps make its business more streamlined and cost-efficient. It has also enabled the firm to pass these savings on to its customers. “The switch from our previous NoSQL database to Amazon DynamoDB reduced our database costs by 97 percent, and introducing Amazon CloudFront has cut content delivery costs by 80 percent. We pass on these savings to our clients—something that’s particularly important to our startup customers. Cost of IT is a big barrier to startups when they’re trying to get their ideas to market. We help them overcome this hurdle.”

In addition, the company finds that the apps it develops—whether for clients or its own apps such as Almwajaha—aren’t subject to capacity limits. “The brilliant thing about the microservices architecture on AWS is that we can configure it to scale automatically,” says Ghorani. “The thought that we could only handle 20,000 users seems funny to us now. We can scale to millions with no impact on performance. We no longer worry about losing users because they can’t access the app.”


Maintaining the high levels of security Alpha Apps and its customers require doesn’t drain the team’s resources. “It would take at least two people to ensure compliance if we weren’t using AWS. We have some highly regulated customers, but we tick all their boxes with no effort on our part.” These sorts of savings allow the Alpha Apps team to focus on the core business of developing successful apps.
The process of creating apps is now faster too, because the time between provisioning and testing is much shorter. “With the help of Falcon 9, we’ve made the most of the services available on AWS,” says Ghorani. “It’s all about trying different things until you find the one that fits, and now we’re able to test technologies quickly and put ideas into action in a matter of seconds. We can stay ahead of the curve, which is essential in the fast-moving app market.” 

Falcon 9

  • A Standard Partner of the AWS Partner Network (APN). Dubai-based Falcon 9 helps customers transition to the cloud by offering innovative cloud application development and managed services.
  • For more information about how Falcon 9 can help transform your infrastructure in the cloud, see Falcon 9’s listing in the AWS Partner Directory.