BandaiNamcoStudios_Customer-Reference_Logo

Bandai Namco Studios 案例研究

2016 年

Bandai Namco Studios Inc. 最初是 Bandai Namco Games Inc. 在日本设立的一个独立分支机构。该公司开发街机游戏、特定于平台的软件以及社交和手机游戏。Bandai Namco 的工程师对游戏满怀热情。

开始 python 教程
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

我们能够在浏览器中轻松创建服务器,还能使用多种自动化机制。因此,构建和操作我们的系统现在变得更加简单。”

Shigeo Nakano
Bandai Namco Studios 网络娱乐开发总监

挑战

Drift Spirits 是一款智能手机游戏,于 2013 年 11 月在 iOS 平台上发布,2014 年 5 月在 Android 平台上发布。该游戏可以免费下载畅玩。Bandai Namco Studios 负责游戏的开发,Bandai Namco Games 则负责游戏的发行。

由于 Drift Spirits 融入了社交游戏元素,Bandai Namco Studios 在开发过程中预计,用户量和服务器访问量会在短时间内出现巨大的波动。在本地添加和修改服务器资源会非常耗时,Bandai Namco Studios 团队担心这种方式可能无法满足游戏玩家的服务需求。还存在着管理问题和运行几十个在线服务器的问题。

鉴于这些问题,Bandai Namco Studios 开始考虑使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

该公司认为,AWS 不仅能够让他们快速添加和修改服务器,还能够带来其他优势,包括提高性能、降低成本、提高安全性以及提高可用性。Bandai Namco 特别关注到了 AWS 在降低开销方面的潜在优势,尤其是在添加、修改和移除服务器资源方面。

构建其系统时使用到的服务似乎特别适合解决这些问题,其中包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Relational DatabaseAmazon ElastiCacheAmazon Simple Storage ServiceAmazon CloudFront。而在配置管理和运营方面,AWS OpsWorks 可以完全覆盖从开发环境到生产环境的整个过程。

将 Chef 说明书和自定义 JSON 属性与 OpsWorks 配合使用,可以定义配置 Bandai Namco 的服务器所需的设置。只要调整自定义 JSON 就可以添加新环境,这让该公司能够以极快的速度部署各种环境。

Bandai Namco 配置了许多开发环境,让开发人员能够并行开发和测试多个版本。此外,在生产环境中运行的所有 Amazon EC2 实例都使用 OpsWorks 来启动。

优势

Bandai Namco Studios 的网络娱乐开发总监 Shigeo Nakano 表示:“使用 OpsWorks 来自动配置和运行服务器让我们得以降低成本,尤其是人员和服务器方面的开支。这让我们受益匪浅。”

Bandai Namco 的工程师可以根据游戏活动快速添加、修改和删除服务器资源,因此他们能够加快发布速度,并支持活动期间每月活跃用户数量的百倍增长。

该公司还可以尽可能减少与服务器响应速度相关的服务器延迟问题。Nakano 表示:“当我们预计随着 Android 版本的发布可能会出现负载增加时,我们能够使用 OpsWorks 来迅速建立一个负载测试环境,执行预测试,然后引入必要的资源并进行修改。我们还能触发服务器程序响应。这对我们很有帮助。”

他继续说道:“我们能够临时创建大量服务器进行测试,并在测试完成后立刻停止使用不再需要的服务器,因此成本优势也十分明显。”

该公司还能通过使用 OpsWorks 来节省服务器成本。因为 AWS 服务的费用结构基于使用情况,所以 Bandai Namco 能够通过停止使用不再需要的服务器来降低运营成本。例如,当深夜的服务器访问量较低时,AWS 让该公司能够将服务器数量减少最多 50%。

Nakano 表示:“使用 AWS 让我们能够降低运营成本,并大幅减少管理和操作服务器配置的工作量。因此,我们能够在 Drift Spirits 项目中投入更多时间进行应用程序开发工作。”

利用 OpsWorks,Bandai Namco 能够轻松应流量突增。OpsWorks 提供了一项功能,让用户能够根据服务器负载状态监控信息,在需要时启动更多服务器。例如,当服务器 CPU 使用率达到 65% 并持续超过五分钟后,系统会认为服务器资源可能会耗尽。发生这种情况时,系统会自动启动更多服务器。这样可以避免出现延迟问题。

此外,利用 OpsWorks 中基于时间、基于负载并且不间断的操作功能,该公司能够在发布新功能和举办促销活动前调整服务器的数量。

“我们建议对 AWS 感兴趣的所有人人都可以试用一下,”Nakano 表示,“因为您可以在浏览器中轻松创建服务器,而且由于存在多种自动化机制,所以您既能在最简单的层面上使用 AWS,也能以更高级的方式使用这一服务。”

jp_diagram_bandainamco_studio_1024x760_3

关于 Bandai Namco Studios

Bandai Namco Studios Inc. 最初是 Bandai Namco Games Inc. 在日本设立的一个独立分支机构。

AWS 的优势

  • 节省超过 50,000 USD 的硬件成本
  • 新系统可以在几天(而不是几个月)内启动并运行
  • 存储容量增加

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。 

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 >>

Amazon ElastiCache

Amazon ElastiCache 提供完全托管 Redis 和 Memcached。无缝部署、操作和扩展热门开放源代码兼容的内存数据存储。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

We can create servers easily from within a browser; there are also several automated mechanisms available. As a result, building and operating our systems is now easier. 
Shigeo Nakano Director of Network Entertainment Development

Bandai Namco Studios Inc. began as an independent offshoot of Bandai Namco Games Inc. in Japan. The company develops arcade games, platform-specific software, and social and mobile games. The engineers at Bandai Namco are driven by an insatiable passion for play.

Drift Spirits is a smartphone game that was released for iOS in November of 2013 and for the Android platform in May of 2014. It is free to download and play. Bandai Namco Studios was responsible for its development, and Bandai Namco Games for its publication.

Because Drift Spirits incorporates social gaming elements, Bandai Namco Studios anticipated during development that the number of users and server access would fluctuate widely over short periods of time. Adding and modifying server resources in-house would be time consuming, and the Bandai Namco Studios team was concerned that it might fail to meet the service needs of game players. There was also the issue of administering and operating dozens of online servers.

Given these issues, the studio began discussing the use of Amazon Web Services (AWS).

The company decided that using AWS would not only enable it to rapidly add and modify servers, there would also be other benefits, including better performance, lower costs, better security, and greater availability. In particular, Bandai Namco saw the potential benefit in terms of reductions in overhead, especially when it came to adding, modifying, and removing server resources.

Building its systems involved a combination of services that seemed particularly well-suited to those challenges, including Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Relational Database, Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Simple Storage Service, and Amazon CloudFront. And when it came to configuration management and operations, AWS OpsWorks offered complete coverage from the development to the production environment.

The settings needed to configure Bandai Namco's servers are defined using Chef cookbooks and custom JSON attributes with OpsWorks. All it takes to add a new environment is to tweak the custom JSON, enabling the company to deploy environments incredibly quickly. 

Bandai Namco has configured many development environments to enable developers to develop and test multiple versions in parallel. Furthermore, all Amazon EC2 instances running in the production environment are launched using OpsWorks.

The following diagram illustrates the system structure for Bandai Namco Studios Inc.:

jp_diagram_bandainamco_studio_1024x760_3

Shigeo Nakano, director of network entertainment development at Bandai Namco Studios, says, "Using OpsWorks to automate the configuring and running of servers enabled us to cut costs, particularly in terms of personnel and server expenses. This is extremely beneficial."

And because Bandai Namco's engineers can rapidly add, modify, and remove server resources timed with game events, they have been able to speed up release dates and support an increase in the number of monthly active users 100-fold during events.

It was also possible for the company to minimize server latency issues specific to server-response speed. Nakano says, "When we anticipated the load increases that might occur with the release of the Android version, we were able to quickly put together a load test environment using OpsWorks, perform pre-testing, and then bring on the necessary resources and modify them. We were also able to trigger server program responses. That was of great assistance to us."

He continues, "The cost benefits are also impressive when you consider that we are now able to temporarily create a large number of servers for testing and then, once testing is complete, immediately halt the use of servers that are no longer needed."

The company is also realizing server-cost savings through the use of OpsWorks. Because the fee structure for AWS servers is based on usage, Bandai Namco can restrict operational costs by halting the use of servers that are no longer needed. For example, AWS enables the company to cut the number of servers by upwards of 50 percent late at night, when server access is low.

Nakano says, "Our use of AWS keeps our operational costs lower and dramatically reduces the effort involved in administering and operating server configuration. As a result, we were able to spend more time focusing on application development during the Drift Spirits project."

By using OpsWorks, Bandai Namco can now easily handle sudden increases in traffic. OpsWorks offers a feature that enables additional servers to be brought online when needed as a result of load-based sever state monitoring. A determination of potential server resource depletion will occur, for example, when server CPU use rates reach 65 percent for periods exceeding five minutes. When that happens, additional servers are automatically brought online. This prevents latency issues.

Additionally, use of the time-based, load-based, and non-stop operation features in OpsWorks allows the company to adjust the number of servers in advance of known launches and promotional events.

"We recommend that anyone with an interest in AWS try it out," says Nakano. "Because you can create servers easily from within a browser, and because several mechanisms can be automated, you can both take advantage of AWS at the simplest level and use it in more advanced ways."

'- Shigeo Nakano, Director of Network Entertainment Development Section 3, Network Entertainment Development Department, Network Entertainment Development Division, Network Entertainment Development Unit
'- Shigeo Nakano, Director of Network Entertainment Development Section 3, Network Entertainment Development Department, Network Entertainment Development Division, Network Entertainment Development Unit

To learn more about how AWS can help you with configuration management, please visit our AWS OpsWorks detail page.