Canva 是一个在线平面设计平台,它可以为网站、博客和印刷营销材料等设计图像。该公司提供拖放工具、图形、字体和超过一百万张照片,以便非设计师可以自己设计图像或与专业人士合作完成项目。盖伊•川崎是苹果公司上世纪 90 年代末的首席宣传官,他 2014 年加入 Canva,帮助这家设计创业公司在全球范围内拓展业务。Canva 成立于 2013 年 3 月,总部位于澳大利亚悉尼,拥有26名员工。

创建 Canva 的想法产生于 2007 年,当时联合创始人兼首席执行官梅勒妮•帕金斯正在大学教授软件设计应用程序。她意识到许多人觉得图形应用程序很难学习,并希望有一种简单的方法来进行设计。帕金斯表示:“我们创建 Canva 的理念是,通过使用基于互联网的、直观的设计平台,更多的人将能够快速、轻松地创建美观的内容。”

从一开始,Canva 就认为基于云的基础设施是最好的选择。帕金斯说:“我们认为我们的业务会迅速扩张,为了支持这一想法,我们希望基础设施能够随着用户数量的增长而扩展。”“采用按需方式,使我们能够在管理预期的用户增长数量的同时,控制运营成本。”

Canva 的网络平台包括专业设计师和摄影师的图片和作品集目录。开发主管戴维•赫恩登表示:“我们知道之后会处理许多占用大量存储空间的图像,因此我们需要具有可扩展存储解决方案的云提供商。”Canva 还需要支持图像处理 - 处理量将随着用户数量的增加而迅速增长。公司必须能够管理不断增长的需求,同时确保应用程序的可用性和性能是一致的。


在评估了许多云提供商之后,Canva 决定使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS),Canvas 看中了使用 g2.2xlarge 实例的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 所提供的图像处理功能。赫恩登说:“使用 G2 实例类型可以比传统虚拟机更快地进行图像处理。“

Canva 获得了主要位于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),来运行平面设计平台。公司使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来管理用户身份和访问。“这些安全工具功能强大,使用简单。”赫恩登说。“它允许我们构建一系列风险缓解措施,如果服务的一个组件受到损害,可以及时被控制。”

到 2014 年 11 月,与之前的 13 个月相比,Canva 增加了 100 万用户。使用 AWS 使 Canva 能够随着用户数量的增长而扩展容量,并且能够快速访问计算资源。赫恩登这样描述它:“使用 AWS 意味着我们拥有基础设施即服务 (IaaS),可以轻松运行自定义应用程序或启动环境。其他一些云提供商提供的平台即服务 (PaaS) 非常适合快速启动和运行,但这意味着您无法灵活地添加之后可能需要的定制功能。

Canva 团队在本地开发新功能,在 AWS 上的模拟环境中测试它们,然后将代码部署到生产环境中。根据 Canva,测试和部署之间的时间几乎为零。公司平均在 22 个 Amazon EC2 实例上运行该平台,在高峰使用时间可扩展到 33 个实例。“我们能够根据用户需求的变化调整我们的基础设施。”赫恩登说。“AWS 最大的优势就是能做到这一点。”

Canva 应用程序完全在 AWS 云上运行,使用 AWS 上的 Heroku 平台作为其前端。Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 储存 1500 多万张图像, Amazon Simple Workflow Service (Amazon SWF) 协调不同应用程序组件之间的工作流程。Canva 每天接收数百万图像请求。2015 年 1 月,超过 4 亿用户发出图像请求,达到每天 2200 万的峰值。Amazon CloudFront 用于内容交付。

Canva 于 2013 年年初推出。赫恩登说:“我们能在一天之内完成在 AWS 是完成部署并开始迭代。”自推出平面设计平台以来,公司已经吸引了一百多万用户,创作了超过 1200 万的设计。“使用 AWS 使我们能够在用户快速增长的同时,提高客户服务的能力。”

平面设计平台是一个 24/7 全时面向消费者的服务,可用性对 Canva 至关重要。“在过去的六个月里,该服务的正常运行时间达到了100%,而管理基础设施只需要一名团队成员每周花大约两个小时来完成,”赫恩登说。“我们需要一个全职岗位,花费大约8万美元来管理本地或宿主环境。”

“在 AWS 上,我们的基础设施成本比预算低了40%以上。”赫恩登说。“事实证明,AWS 云是公司的正确选择。”

了解更多有关 AWS 如何帮您满足对 Web 应用程序需求的信息,请访问我们的 Web、移动端和社交应用程序详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/

Canva is an online graphic design platform that makes it simple to create graphics for anything from websites and blogs to printed marketing materials. The company provides drag-and-drop tools, graphics, fonts, and more than a million photographs so that non-designers can create graphics on their own or collaborate with professionals on a project. Guy Kawasaki, chief evangelist at Apple during the late nineties, joined Canva in 2014 to help the design startup company expand globally. Launched in March 2013, Canva is based in Sydney, Australia and has 26 employees.

The idea for Canva came about in 2007 when co-founder and chief executive Melanie Perkins was teaching university students software design applications. She recognized that many people found graphic applications difficult to learn and wanted a simple way to create designs. “We founded Canva on the belief that by using an Internet-based, intuitive design platform, more people would be able to quickly and easily create good-looking content,” says Perkins.

From the outset, Canva decided that a cloud-based infrastructure was its best option. "To support what we believed would be a rapidly expanding business, we wanted an infrastructure that could scale along with the growth in our user numbers," says Perkins. “Adopting an on-demand approach would allow us to manage our forecasted rise in user numbers while also keeping operational costs under control.”

Canva’s web platform includes a catalog of images and portfolios by professional designers and photographers. "We knew we would be dealing with many images that would take up a lot of storage space, so we needed a cloud provider with a very scalable storage solution," says David Hearnden, Development Lead. Canva also needed to support image processing – as user numbers increased, the volume of processing would rise quickly. The company had to be able to manage increased demand while making sure that application availability and performance were consistent.


After reviewing a number of cloud providers, Canva decided to adopt Amazon Web Services (AWS) to take advantage of the graphics power available with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) using g2.2xlarge instances. “Using G2 instance types allows image processing to occur much faster than traditional virtual machines," says Hearnden.

Canva provisioned an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), mostly in the US East (Northern Virginia) Region, to run the graphics platform. The company uses AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to manage user identities and access. "The security tools are powerful and simple to use," Hearnden says. "It allows us to build layers of risk mitigation so that if one component of the service is compromised it can be contained."

By November 2014, Canva’s customer base increased by one million users over the previous 13 months. Using AWS gives Canva with the ability to scale capacity as user numbers grow with the agility to access compute resources quickly. Hearnden describes it this way: "Using AWS means that we have an Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) to run custom applications or spin up environments easily. The Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) offered by some other cloud providers is great for getting up and running quickly, but it means you don't have the flexibility to add any customization you might need afterwards."

The Canva team develops new features locally, tests them in a staging environment on AWS, and then deploys the code to the production environment. According to Canva, the time between testing and deployment is almost zero. The company runs the platform on 22 Amazon EC2 instances on average and scales up to 33 instances at peak usage times. "We’re able to scale our infrastructure to match changes in user demand," says Hearnden. "Being able to do this is the biggest benefit of AWS."

The Canva application runs completely on the AWS Cloud, using the Heroku platform on AWS as its front end. Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) stores more than 15 million images and Amazon Simple Workflow Service (Amazon SWF) coordinates workflows between different application components. Canva receives millions of requests daily for images. In January 2015, more than 400 million user requested images, peaking at over 22 million per day. Amazon CloudFront is used for content delivery.

Canva launched in early 2013. “We were able to deploy and start iterating on AWS within just one day," says Hearnden. Since launching the graphic design platform, the company has attracted more than one million users who have created more than 12 million designs. "Using AWS has allowed us increase the capability of our customer offerings in step with rapid user growth."

The graphics platform is a 24/7 consumer-facing service and availability is critical to Canva. “The service has had 100 percent uptime over the last six months, and managing the infrastructure only takes one team member about two hours each week to complete,” says Hearnden. “We would need a full-time position, costing around $80,000, to manage an on-premises or hosted environment.”

"On AWS, our infrastructure costs have been more than 40 percent under budget," says Hearnden. "The AWS Cloud has proven to be the right choice for the company."

To learn more about how AWS can help your web application needs, visit our Web, Mobile, and Social Apps details page: http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.