与 AWS 合作改变了我们的业务。它启发了新的技术和新的工作方式。
Richard Freedman Managing Director, Centratech Systems
  • CTS 需要一种 IoT 平台来管理 IoT 支持的监控设备,满足电力和水资源管理应用的需要
  • 该公司在 AWS IoT 平台上运行其监控和控制系统
  • 能够利用并向客户提供更简单、更低廉的设备
  • 在 IoT 环境中获得更高的安全性
  • 消除管理服务器以及各种代码编写所需的时间和精力
  • 现场技术人员的工作效率提高了 50%
  • 将培训时间从六小时缩短至一小时

Centratech Systems (CTS) 成立于 2009 年,在充满挑战的经济时期推出,用于应对澳大利亚当时面临的挑战:持续的水资源短缺和不断上涨的电力成本。最初,其业务集中在水资源管理上,主要是灌溉方面。此后,CTS 已经将其解决方案扩展至包括监控和控制泵水系统、现场照明和其他领域。CTS 最初是一个只有一名现场工程师和一台卡车的项目,现已发展成为近 20 人的团队,在全球拥有专业化的承包商。

CTS 开发直接响应客户请求的产品和服务。它的主要客户为澳大利亚地方政府(市政厅),这些客户希望找到能够节省现场时间、资金和能源的方式,因为技术人员需要开车数天时间,以对水泵和电表等设备进行物理维护。随着业务的增长,CTS 的愿景和客户的需求往往会远远领先于既有硬件和制造商合作伙伴的技术和能力组合。

直到最近,CTS 的服务几乎都没有遇到竞争,但更多 IT 类公司开始进入市场。用 CTS 董事总经理 Richard Freedman 的话说:“CTS 的竞争优势在于我们与 95% 的竞争对手不同,我们不是从试图颠覆现有市场的 IT 专家身份出发。我们来自本领域,理解事情的来龙去脉;我们全程与客户携手,而不是要迫使客户相信他们需要我们的服务。” 但公司任然面临压力,需要对其向当地市政厅提供的设备和系统进行现代化改造。一个经常提出的要求是为现场技术人员提供更方便的方式,以通过卡车监控整个地区的设备,无需亲自检查每个设备或使用专业设备。

既有设备的上线过程十分繁重,需要为每个技术人员提供六个小时的一对一培训,这些技术人员需要处理所负责区域安装的各种泵、计量表、传感器以及过滤器。此外,这些第一代智能设备设计为与市政厅办公室的中央系统通信,对较小的市政厅而言往往过于昂贵。这导致 CTS 的业务合作伙伴局限于墨尔本市等较大的实体,此外培训需求也限制了它的上市周期。公司进行创新和完善客户需要的设备和系统的能力,是它取得成功和市场地位的关键。设备和对应的控制面板之间会交换数以百万计的消息,需要广泛的代码编写和服务器管理,进一步限制了劳动力资源。CTS 需要找到一种方式,消除维护越来越复杂的设备网络所需的繁重工作。

CTS 最初建立了自己的物理服务器,但很快就超出了容量,并开始寻找云服务提供商。客户也表示他们需要一种能够使用智能手机或平板电脑等能够上网的设备,通过云网络控制灌溉系统的托管服务。在评估各种供应商后,他们在 2011 年开始通过 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 来满足其需求。CTS 最初使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 来托管它的监控和控制软件。它能够继续使用精益人员模式经营,将大部分后端代码编写和服务器管理外包到国外。

2016 年晚期,负责 CTS 的 AWS 客户经理注意到该公司的使用模式发生了变化,然后他重新与 CTS 管理层接触,以进一步了解他们的痛点和愿望。由于意识到到 CTS 的核心业务实质上是物联网 (IoT),这名客户经理向该公司介绍了 AWS IoT 平台,并安排一名拥有深厚 IoT 背景的 AWS 解决方案架构师参加讨论。在 AWS 的指导下,CTS 开始购买和安装用于电力和水资源管理应用的新型支持 IoT 的监控设备,这些设备比第一代设备更小巧、更轻盈。这些现代化的智能设备减少了现场处理需求,将更多处理工作带到云环境中进行,从而简化了操作。此外还减少了物理维护需求,发生故障时也更容易切换。另外,可以同时访问系统的用户没有限制,一直困扰既有设备的问题迎刃而解。

这名客户经理还介绍了 PolarSeven,这是一家AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 高级咨询合作伙伴,这家公司最近聘用了一名 IoT 专家帮助为 CTS 的工程师提供成本经济性更高、更节省时间的解决方案,用于对现场设备的远程控制。“PolarSeven 以及我们的 AWS 解决方案架构师非常善于理解我们的想法,解释事物,尽管我们没有他们那样的理解水平”,Freedman 说。“这让我们的团队更加有信心,使用他们现在具备的技术来提出新想法。”

借助更新的设备,Freedman 解释说“所有的思考都在云端进行,在现场的极少。” CTS 技术人员开车检查物理设备的时间大大减少,闲杂可以通过支持 IoT 的智能手机远程服务更多设备。这让他们可以在同一天服务更多的客户。与两年前还没有采用 IoT 相比,团队的效率提高了 50%。“这对我们这样的小企业可谓一个大红包,尤其是在澳大利亚,这里的工资在世界上处于较高的水平”,Freedman 说。

转向 IoT 无服务器环境和新型智能设备引发了 CTS 成本结构的关键变化,因为支持 IoT 的设备比以前的设备要便宜很多。通常情况下,硬件高昂的资本成本限制了客户使用 CTS 的能力,因此设备价格只有之前所用产品的三分之二,切实扩大了 CTS 的覆盖范围。由于成本更低、系统部署更简单,管理人员现在可以自信地与规模较小的委员会和农业客户接触。之前,因受时间和预算限制,这些客户不愿考虑 CTS 服务。

AWS IoT 是一种托管的服务,这意味着 CTS 可以专注于创新,无需管理服务器或基础设施。不到一年前,公司发布了将作为未来旗舰产品的产品 — Field Mouse。在第一次推出时,Field Mouse 的目的是让多个用户可以同时控制现场照明系统。此后该产品不断向水资源应用和安全门操作等领域扩展,现已用于支持对来自不同制造商的既有硬件的总体控制。

培训时间也从六小时缩短至一小时,因为设备及其控制“更为简单直观”,Freedman 说。效率和速度的提高最终让 Freedman 和他的团队有机会推广业务。目前,他们正在与有意将他们的技术用于大型房地产开发项目的商务伙伴洽谈。

在 IoT 环境下的增强安全功能,也是与新客户讨论是的一个重要卖点。与每台联网 IoT 设备有关的额外加密和相互身份验证功能,让 CTS 的公共部门客户能够对他们购买的解决方案放心。安全对于地方市政厅尤其重要,因为监控和控制系统会访问城市和州基础设施的多个方面,这些容易受到外部威胁的破坏。澳大利亚政府也对地方政府机构实施严格监督,以确保具备恰当的安全规程。

“与 AWS 合作改变了我们的业务”,Freedman 说。“它启发了新的技术和新的工作方式,我们也许最终能够自己发现这些,但我们会远远落后于我们一直在努力赶上的竞争。”

了解有关 AWS IoT 的更多信息。

Working with AWS has changed our business. It shines a light on new technology and ways of working.
Richard Freedman Managing Director, Centratech Systems
  • CTS needed an IoT platform to manage IoT-enabled monitoring devices for electricity and water management applications
  • The company is running its monitoring and control systems on the AWS IoT platform
  • Able to utilize and offer customers simpler, less costly devices
  • Enjoys enhanced security in the IoT environment
  • Eliminated time and effort of managing servers, as well as extensive coding
  • Increased productivity of field technicians by 50 percent
  • Reduced training time from six hours to one

Founded in 2009, Centratech Systems (CTS) launched in a challenging economic time to address some ongoing challenges in Australia: a persistent water shortage and rising electricity costs. Initially, its business centered on water management—primarily irrigation. CTS has since expanded its solutions to include monitoring and control of pumping systems, field lighting, and other areas. For CTS, what started as an operation with one field technician and one truck has since grown to a team of nearly 20, with specialized contractors from around the globe.

CTS develops products and services in direct response to customer requests. Its primary customer base comprises local governments (councils) throughout Australia seeking ways to save time, money, and energy in the field, where technicians spend their days driving around to physically maintain devices such as water pumps and electricity meters. As the business grew, CTS’s vision—as well as customer demands—were frequently several steps ahead of the technology and skill set available through its legacy hardware and manufacturer partner.

Until recently there were few to no competitors for CTS’s services, but more IT-oriented companies are now entering the market. According to CTS Managing Director Richard Freedman, “CTS’s competitive edge is that we didn’t start as IT experts trying to disrupt an existing market, like 95 percent of our competitors. We come from the field and understand how things happen out there; we are taking our customers on the journey with us rather than convincing them they need our services.” Still, the company was facing pressure to modernize the devices and systems it offered local councils. A recurring request was for a more convenient way for field technicians to monitor devices across a broad territory from their trucks, without physically visiting each device or having specialized equipment on hand.

The onboarding process for its legacy devices was grueling, requiring a six-hour, one-on-one training session for every technician who would interact with the pumps, meters, sensors, and filters installed in their areas. Furthermore, these first-generation smart devices, designed to communicate with centralized systems at council offices, were often too expensive for small local councils. This restricted CTS’s business partners to larger entities such as the City of Melbourne, and constrained its time to market due to training demands. The company’s ability to innovate and perfect the devices and systems customers need is key to its success and market proposition. The millions of messages being exchanged between devices and their corresponding control panels required extensive coding and management of servers, further limiting labor resources. CTS needed a way to remove the heavy lifting required to maintain an increasingly complex network of devices.

CTS started with its own physical servers, but quickly outgrew the setup and began searching for a cloud provider. Customers also expressed the need for a hosted service where they could control irrigation systems via cloud networking, using Internet-enabled devices such as smartphones or tablets. After evaluating other providers, the startup approached Amazon Web Services (AWS) in 2011 with its needs. CTS started by using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to host its monitoring and control software. It was able to continue operating with a lean staffing model, outsourcing much of the backend coding and server management abroad.

In late 2016, the AWS account manager assigned to CTS noticed a change in the company’s usage pattern and re-engaged with CTS management to learn more about their pain points and aspirations. Realizing that CTS’s core business is essentially the Internet of Things (IoT), the account manager introduced the company to the AWS IoT platform and brought an AWS solutions architect with a strong IoT background into conversations. With guidance from AWS, CTS began purchasing and installing new types of IoT-enabled monitoring devices for electricity and water management applications, which are smaller and lighter than their first-generation predecessors. These modernized smart devices do less in the field and more in the cloud environment, and are thus simpler to operate. They also require less physical maintenance and are easier to switch out if a fault occurs. What’s more, there is no limit to the number of users who can concurrently access the system, an issue in which the legacy device systems struggled with.

The account manager also introduced PolarSeven, an AWS Partner Network (APN) Advanced Consulting Partner that had recently hired an IoT specialist, to help provide CTS engineers with a more cost-effective and time-saving solution for remotely controlling in-field devices. “PolarSeven, as well as our AWS solutions architect, have been very good at speaking our language and explaining things, though we don’t quite have the level of technical understanding they do,” says Freedman. “This has given our team a lot more confidence to come up with new ideas using the technology they can now access.”

With the newer devices, Freedman explains that “all the thinking is done in the cloud, very little in the field.” CTS technicians spend far less time driving around visiting physical devices, and can now service more devices remotely from their IoT-enabled smartphones. This allows them to serve more customers in a given day. The team is 50 percent more productive than it was just two years ago, before IoT. “This is a huge bonus to a small business like ours, especially in Australia, where wages are high by world standards,” says Freedman.

Shifting to the IoT serverless environment and the new smart devices has triggered a critical change in CTS’s cost structure, as the IoT-enabled devices are much less expensive than their predecessors. Because the capital expense of hardware typically limits a customer’s ability to engage with CTS, using devices that are two-thirds as expensive as their predecessors has really expanded CTS’s reach. With the less costly, simpler systems in place, management can now confidently approach smaller councils and agricultural customers, who were previously hesitant to consider CTS’s services due to time and budget constraints.

AWS IoT is a managed service, which means CTS can focus on innovation instead of managing servers or infrastructure. Less than a year ago, the company released what it envisions as its future flagship product—Field Mouse. When it first launched, Field Mouse’s purpose was to allow multiple users to concurrently control field lighting systems. It has since been expanded to water-management applications and operation of security gates, and it is also being used to enable overarching control of legacy hardware from different manufacturers.

Training time has gone from six hours to one, because the devices and their controls are “simply more intuitive,” Freedman says. This improved efficiency and speed have finally given Freedman and his team the opportunity to promote their business. They are currently in talks with commercial parties interested in using their technology for large-scale property developments.

Enhanced security features in the IoT environment have been a major selling point in discussions with new clients. The extra encryption and mutual authentication associated with each connected IoT device give CTS’s public-sector customers confidence in the solutions they purchase. Security is particularly important to the local councils, as the monitoring and control systems access aspects of city and state infrastructure that could be vulnerable to outside threats. The Australian government also strictly oversees local agencies to ensure proper security protocols are in place.

“Working with AWS has changed our business,” Freedman says. “It shines a light on new technology and ways of working that we may have eventually discovered on our own, but we would have been so far behind the competition that we would be struggling to keep up.”

Learn more about AWS IoT.