利用我们基于 AWS IoT 的 Fuelsuite 解决方案,客户可以主动而不是被动管理加油站,从而大幅提高效率,并尽早发现燃油泄漏,以最大限度地减轻对环境的影响。
Russell Dupuy Founder and Managing Director, EMS

Environmental Monitoring Solutions (EMS) 总部位于澳大利亚维多利亚。该公司成立于 25 年前,专门从事帮助汽油零售商收集和分析加油站性能数据的解决方案。其解决方案提供远程监控和全天候支持服务,帮助客户提高销售额,降低维修费用以及减少事故风险。当今,EMS 拥有一个 30 人的团队。

Viva Energy (Shell)、PUMA Energy、BP 和 7-Eleven 等 EMS 客户通常在澳大利亚拥有并经营着数百家加油站。由于利润率很小,这些加油站必须保证高效运营。然而,与此同时,他们还必须提供良好的客户体验,确保员工安全,并尽量减少对环境的影响。然而,事故偶然还是会发生。一家普通的 EMS 客户每年花在清理地下石油罐泄漏物或车辆燃油罐污染物上的费用可达 1500 万澳元(1213 万 USD)。为了帮助客户最大程度地提高效率,同时满足对卓越服务、安全和环保的需求,EMS 开发了 Fuelsuite,帮助客户脱离主要为手动操作的传统技术,并统一加油站管理,从而大大降低了成本。利用 Fuelsuite,客户可以监控库存、交付和价格。当可能要发生环境事故时,例如地下油罐溢出,该解决方案还会发出警报。成功推出 Fuelsuite 之后,EMS 专注于产品开发。它希望将加油站地下油罐和泵中的传感器连接起来,而不管这些传感器的配置如何,每隔 30 秒收集一次所有数据。然后,将在云计算基础设施上汇总这些数据,然后通过 Fuelsuite 中支持 Web 的接口以近乎实时的方式显示出来。EMS 创始人兼常务董事 Russell Dupuy 说:“我们的工作是寻找一家 IT 合作伙伴和云计算提供商,帮助我们重新设计 Fuelsuite 技术,并交付一款用户友好、易于定制的创新成品。”

EMS 研究了云计算提供商市场,特别关注物联网 (IoT) 技术提供商。通过 IoT,EMS 将能够收集所有传感器数据并将其发送到 Fuelsuite 接口。2015 年,当 EMS 第一次开始关注云提供商及其 IoT 服务时,Dupuy 发现 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 遥遥领先于 Microsoft Azure。Dupuy 说:“从我了解到的来看,我对 AWS IoT 规划更有信心。我们在这个项目上投资了数百万美元,所以我必须确定我们要合作的提供商。”

EMS 随后与 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 高级咨询合作伙伴 DiUS 进行了合作,后者与主要利益相关者组织了为期两天的研讨会,就 Fuelsuite 的共同愿景达成一致。Dupuy 说:“DiUS 在 AWS 和 IoT 方面的专业知识给了我们很大的信心。同样重要的是,DiUS 同意了以下计划:在 12 个月内为一个主要的 EMS 客户零售网络设计、支持产品化和推出基于 IoT 的 Fuelsuite 解决方案。DiUS 表示满足我们的时间进度是有可能的,首先推出平台中的 AWS IoT 功能足够客户使用即可,以后再扩展这些功能。”

DiUS 和 EMS 设计了新版本的 Fuelsuite,传感器数据可以通过一个名为 Fuelscan® 的定制物理设备进行汇总,该设备位于加油站内。随后,Fuelscan 将数据无线传输到 AWS 云,在 AWS 云中处理这些数据并通过基于 Web 的 Fuelsuite 接口进行交付。为了使 EMS 能够为不同的客户提供定制功能,DiUS 将该解决方案设计为利用 AWS IoT Device Management 来安全地登记、组织、监控和远程管理 Fuelscan 设备。此外,还使用 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 将来自 AWS 云的消息排队传输到 Fuelscan 设备,并依赖 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 处理出入设备的消息。另外,传感器数据存储在 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 实例的设备中,并使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 保存所有 Fuelscan 数据的历史记录。最后,在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶中存档收集的数据。

目前,澳大利亚有 1,000 多家加油站受益于基于 IoT 的 Fuelsuite 解决方案。加油站经营者可获得有关加油站性能的近实时数据,包括有多少汽油在出售,有多少在地下储油罐中。此外,还包括连接汽油泵和汽车的软管内的压力数据,以及地下油罐内的温度和汽油液位数据。Dupuy 说:“利用我们基于 AWS IoT 的 Fuelsuite 解决方案,客户可以主动而不是被动管理加油站,从而全面了解加油站的性能,大幅提高效率,并尽早发现燃油泄漏,以最大限度地减轻对环境的影响。”

相比被动管理,主动管理带来的潜在节省是巨大的。同样地,经营者可以使用燃油销售的性能数据优化使用最频繁的汽油泵的分配。Dupuy 说:“我们预计,客户使用基于 AWS IoT 的 Fuelsuite 解决方案的年成本将获得 500% 的回报。此外,EMS 预计投资回报率将逐渐上升。AWS IoT Core 平台可以扩展,因此我们可以整合更多的加油站数据。”

Dupuy 说:“如果没有 AWS 和 DiUS,EMS 发现利用 IoT 将极具挑战性。DiUS 的专业知识和 AWS 基础设施的整体可靠性意味着,我们可以在 12 个月内开发并推出我们基于 IoT 的 Fuelsuite,并确保能够满足客户的需求。”

EMS 与 DiUS 合作,正在进一步开发 Fuelsuite,为燃料行业增加新服务。他还将在全球推出该产品。Dupuy 说:“AWS 的一个优点是机器学习、深度学习和其他新的人工智能服务可以很容易地应用于客户通过 Fuelsuite 解决方案收集的汇总数据。”

了解有关物联网 (IoT) 的更多信息。

With our AWS IoT–enabled Fuelsuite solution, customers manage their petrol stations proactively rather than reactively… to dramatically improve efficiencies and detect fuel leaks early to minimize environmental impacts.
Russell Dupuy Founder and Managing Director, EMS

Environmental Monitoring Solutions (EMS) is based in Victoria, Australia. Launched 25 years ago, the company specializes in solutions that help petrol retailers gather and analyze data on the performance of their petrol stations. Its solutions provide remote monitoring and 24/7 support services—helping customers boost sales, reduce maintenance expense, and decrease the risk of accidents. Today, EMS operates with a team of 30 personnel.

EMS customers such as Viva Energy (Shell), PUMA Energy, BP, and 7-Eleven typically own and operate hundreds of petrol stations across Australia. The stations need to operate highly efficiently because profit margins are small. Yet, at the same time, they have to offer great customer experiences, ensure employee safety, and minimize their environmental impact. Sometimes accidents do occur, and a typical EMS customer is likely to incur annual costs of AU$15 million (US$12.13 million) for cleaning up underground petrol tank leaks or vehicle fuel tank contamination. To help customers maximize efficiencies while addressing the need for service excellence, safety, and environmental protection, EMS developed Fuelsuite, which enables customers to switch from legacy technologies that are largely manual and unify station management—significantly reducing costs. With Fuelsuite, customers can monitor inventories, deliveries, and prices. The solution also raises alarms in event of possible environmental incidents, such as underground tank overfills. After the successful launch of Fuelsuite, EMS focused on product development. It looked to connect sensors in the stations’ underground tanks and pumps and, regardless of the configurations of those sensors, collect all their data at 30-second intervals. The data would then be aggregated on a cloud-computing infrastructure and displayed via a web-enabled interface in Fuelsuite in near-real time. Russell Dupuy, founder and managing director of EMS, says, “Our job was to find an IT partner and cloud-computing provider that could help us re-engineer our Fuelsuite technology and deliver an innovative off-the-shelf product that was user-friendly and easily customizable.”

EMS researched the market for cloud-computing providers, focusing specifically on providers of Internet of Things (IoT) technology. Through IoT, EMS would be able to collect all the sensor data and deliver it to the Fuelsuite interface. In 2015, when EMS first started looking at cloud providers and their IoT services, Dupuy found that Amazon Web Services (AWS) was way ahead of Microsoft Azure. “From what I’d read, I was more confident in the AWS IoT roadmap,” says Dupuy. “We were investing millions of dollars in this project, so I had to be sure of the provider we were going to work with.”

EMS then engaged with AWS Partner Network (APN) Advanced Consulting Partner DiUS, which organized a two-day workshop with key stakeholders to agree on a shared vision for Fuelsuite. “The expertise that DiUS has in AWS and IoT gave us a lot of confidence,” says Dupuy. Just as importantly, DiUS agreed to the plan of designing, supporting productization, and launching the IoT-enabled Fuelsuite solution for a major EMS customer retail network within 12 months. “DiUS showed that it was possible to meet our schedule by rolling out the platform at first with just enough AWS IoT capabilities for customers, and then extending those capabilities down the line.”

DiUS and EMS designed the new version of Fuelsuite so that data from the sensors is aggregated by a custom-built physical device, called Fuelscan®, which is situated inside the petrol stations. Fuelscan then wirelessly transmits the data to the AWS Cloud, where it gets processed and delivered via the Fuelsuite web-based interface. So that EMS is able to offer customized functionality for different customers, DiUS designed the solution to take advantage of AWS IoT Device Management to securely onboard, organize, monitor, and remotely manage the Fuelscan devices. It also uses Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) to queue messages from the AWS Cloud to Fuelscan devices and relies on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) to process the messages to and from the devices. In addition, the sensor data is stored from the devices in an Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) instance, and Amazon Elasticsearch Service is used to keep a historical record of all Fuelscan data. Finally, the collected data is archived in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets.

At present, more than 1,000 petrol stations in Australia are benefiting from the IoT-enabled Fuelsuite solution. Station operators get near-real-time data on the performance of their stations, including how much petrol is being sold and how much is in the underground storage tanks. It also includes data on the pressure inside the hoses connecting the petrol pumps to the automobiles, and on the temperature and petrol level inside the underground tanks. “With our AWS IoT–enabled Fuelsuite solution, customers manage their petrol stations proactively rather than reactively—gaining a complete picture of petrol station performance to dramatically improve efficiencies and detect fuel leaks early to minimize environmental impacts,” says Dupuy.

The potential savings from proactive rather than reactive management are significant. Likewise, operators can use the performance data on fuel sales to optimize the distribution of the most heavily used petrol pumps. “We expect that customers gain a 500 percent return on their annual costs of the AWS IoT–enabled Fuelsuite solution,” says Dupuy. Furthermore, EMS expects the return on investment to increase over time. “The AWS IoT Core platform is extensible so that we can incorporate more data from the petrol stations.”

Dupuy says that without AWS and DiUS, EMS would have found it challenging to take advantage of IoT. “The expertise of DiUS and the total reliability of the AWS infrastructure meant we could develop and roll out our IoT-enabled Fuelsuite in 12 months and be sure it would meet the needs of our customers.”

EMS, in partnership with DiUS, is now developing Fuelsuite further, adding new services for the fuel industry. It will also be launching the product internationally. Dupuy says, “An advantage of AWS is that machine learning, deep learning, and other new artificial intelligence services can easily be applied to a customer’s aggregated data that is collected through the Fuelsuite solution.”

Learn more about the Internet of Things (IoT).