欧洲航天局 (ESA) 是一个拥有 20 个成员国的国际组织,其使命是促进欧洲空间能力的发展,确保在空间方面的投资继续为欧洲和世界公民带来好处。

数据用户要素 (DUE) 是 ESA 的一项计划,在位于意大利弗拉斯卡蒂的欧洲航天局地球观测中心进行,旨在向全球最终用户展示地球观测产品和服务的有效性。DUE 使用卫星收集有关地球当前状态的有价值数据。

DUE 可向全球的科学家、政府机构以及私有组织提供此类数据。此类数据有多种用途,包括用于监控环境、改善天气预报的准确性以及为灾难救援机构提供帮助。

尽管 DUE 的大部分工作都由卫星完成,但该计划的部分数据存储和计算基础设施则构建在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上。DUE 使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来存储和检索图像和其他最终用户产品。为了管理 Amazon S3 中的文件,该计划使用基于 s3fs (FUSE 文件系统) 的第三方工具。

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 运行一个统计体系,用于检测该计划的服务使用量。DUE 使用第三方工具 AWStat 进行日志分析。今后,该计划希望扩展其对 Amazon EC2 的使用范围,以包含其他遥感应用程序。

DUE 之所以选择 AWS,是因为其经济实惠的按需付费体系以及快速启动的优势。地球观测计算机系统工程师 Jose Ramos 说:“我们的整个分布和统计体系的实施和部署阶段都异常迅速且简单。通常情况下,在采购和安装新的专用硬件时预计会出现延迟,但 AWS 消除了我们对这方面的担忧,并让我们在紧张的日程中顺利开展工作。”

此外,使用 AWS 还可以轻松地扩展和自定义各项功能,这项优势使 DUE 获益良多。凭借这种易用性,该计划无需雇佣外部实体来管理其基础设施。Jose Ramos 解释道:“借助 AWS,我们拥有灵活的基础设施存储系统来存储数据,且该系统能够根据我们的需要进行扩展。此外,AWS 提供的解决方案易于使用,因此我们可以自行管理它们。”

该计划的报告显示,在使用高峰期,AWS 可帮助 DUE 向全球 5 万多位用户提供图像和其他产品。这种使用量相当于一次传输 30TB 信息。

DUE 计划继续与 AWS 合作,同时专注于践行其收集地球相关数据的使命。Ramos 再次表达了他对 AWS 的喜爱:“能够在破纪录的时间内实施一切任务且无需担心会出现性能问题是一件幸事。我们非常喜欢 AWS 的易用性和可扩展性。”

要了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足数据收集和存储需求,请访问我们的大数据详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/

The European Space Agency (ESA) is an international organisation with 20 member states. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

Data User Elements (DUE), conducted at the ESA Centre for Earth Observation in Frascati, Italy, is an ESA program intended to demonstrate the usefulness of Earth Observation products and services to end users worldwide. DUE uses satellites to collect valuable data about the current state of the planet.

DUE provides this data to scientists, governmental agencies, and private organizations around the world. The data is used for a myriad of purposes, including monitoring the environment, improving the accuracy of weather reporting, and assisting disaster relief agencies.

Although much of DUE’s work is done by satellites, some of the program’s data storage and computing infrastructure is built on Amazon Web Services (AWS). DUE uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to house and retrieve its images and other end-user products. To manage its files within Amazon S3, the program utilizes a third-party tool based in s3fs, a FUSE filesystem.

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) runs a statistical system that examines the program’s service usages. DUE uses AWStat, a third-party tool, for log analysis. In the future, the program hopes to expand its use of Amazon EC2 to include other remote sensing applications.

DUE chose AWS because of its economical pay-as-you-go system, as well as its quick start-up. Jose Ramos, an Earth Observation computer systems engineer, says, “The implementation and deployment stages of our complete distribution and statistics system were unexpectedly quick and easy. It's typical to expect delays when procuring and installing new dedicated hardware, but AWS freed us from that worry and worked within our tight schedule.”

DUE also benefits from the easy manner in which features can be scaled and customized with AWS. This ease-of-use prevents the program from having to hire an external entity to manage its infrastructure. Jose Ramos explains, “With AWS, we have a flexible infrastructure storage system for our data that can scale up to as much as we need. In addition, the solutions offered by AWS are simple to use, so we can manage them ourselves.”

The program reports that during peak usage, AWS helps DUE provide images and other products to over 50 thousand users around the world. This usage can equal 30 terabytes of information at one time.

DUE plans to continue its partnership with AWS while it focuses on conducting its important mission to gather data about Earth. Ramos reiterates his enthusiasm for AWS, “Being able to implement everything in record time and forget about performance issues is a blessing. We love the ease of use and scalability of AWS."

To find out how AWS can help your data collection and storage needs, visit our Big Data details page: http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/.