Fileforce 通过迁移到 AWS 加快进入市场时间并将成本降低 30%

2020 年

Fileforce 总部位于日本,为 300 多家日本国内外企业客户提供云文件存储和文档管理服务。客户利用 Fileforce 基于云的应用程序,使用与本地部署文件存储解决方案相同的文件夹结构,安全地存储和管理业务内容。Fileforce 还让系统管理员能够进行详细的权限管理和灵活的访问控制,并提供对云中文件的串流访问。Fileforce 首席执行官 Aram Sargsyan 表示:“我们的应用程序可帮助客户随时随地轻松查看、编辑和共享文件,同时遵守相关法规。”

为了满足不断增长的客户需求,Fileforce 希望更快地发布软件更新和功能。然而,这很困难,因为该公司在本地部署环境中运行其大部分基于 Microsoft .NET 和 SQL Server 的应用程序。Sargsyan 说:“我们通常需要长达三个月的时间才能推出新功能,因为我们需要花时间采购和预置服务器,而且我们没有实现开发自动化。”

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

经常有客户要求我们提供新功能,而得益于在 AWS 上运行的敏捷性,我们能够将交付功能的时间从数月缩短至数周。”

Aram Sargsyan
Fileforce 首席执行官

将 Windows 应用程序环境迁移到 AWS

为了克服挑战,Fileforce 决定迁移到云。“我们需要专注于成为一家软件公司,而不是将所有时间都花在管理基础设施上,”Sargsyan 说。在仔细评估了几家云提供商之后,Fileforce 选择了 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“AWS 拥有最好的服务产品,并且在 Windows 实例上表现出更高的稳定性。此外,AWS 在高层级托管式服务和低层级服务之间提供了深思熟虑的平衡,使我们能够控制应用程序的各个方面。”

Fileforce 重新构建了其应用程序以利用 AWS,并将其应用程序环境从 SQL Server 迁移到 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL。然后,该公司开始使用 .NET Core 进行开发,支持其 DevOps 开发模型并在 AWS 之上实现持续集成和开发。 “.NET Core 将使我们的软件可移植到 Linux 等其他开源平台,”Sargsyan 说。“迁移到 Linux 将是我们现代化工作的一部分。为了能够不断满足每个客户对新功能的需求,我们正在对我们的平台进行现代化改造,以实现更详细的应用程序模块化和容器化,这将使我们能够更高效地为每个客户部署可自定义的服务。” Fileforce 开发人员使用 Microsoft Visual Studio 集成开发环境 (IDE) 作为他们的主要开发工具。

在初始迁移之后,Fileforce 开始在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行其应用程序,并将 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶用于数据存储。该公司还依靠 Elastic Load Balancing 在 Amazon EC2 实例之间自动分发传入的应用程序流量。

部署新功能只需数周而非数月

利用 AWS 的敏捷性并借助 .NET Core,Fileforce 实现了 90% 的代码部署自动化,并且其将代码推送到生产中的频率从每月一次提高到了每周一次。“经常有客户要求我们提供新功能,得益于在 AWS 上运行的敏捷性,我们能够将交付功能的时间从数月缩短至数周,”Sargsyan 说。“我们可以通过更快地部署软件更新和功能来让自己脱颖而出。”

例如,Fileforce 最近为其软件开发并部署了一项新的全文搜索功能,该功能使客户能够搜索文件的完整内容,而不只是文件名。“要创建这样的新功能,我们以前至少要花几个月的时间来预置计算容量、创建环境以及分析和提取文本,”Sargsyan 说。“使用 AWS 非常简单,我们只花了几周时间。我们所要做的就是启动必要的 Amazon EC2 实例并从 Amazon S3 检索文件以重新索引内容。”

降低 30% 许可成本

Fileforce 在 AWS 上运行,无需为本地部署 Windows 许可付费,从而降低了许可和维护成本。该公司将节省的成本重新投入到其开发团队。“我们会继续将源代码转移到 .NET Core,很快我们将从 Windows 转移到 Linux,这将使我们能够节省 30% 的许可成本,”Sargsyan 说。“这意味着我们可以以相同的资源多服务 30% 的客户。”

此外,Fileforce 正在帮助其客户满足其合规性要求。“存储、管理和共享文件和文档,尤其是当它们包含敏感信息时,不仅需要持续遵守个别行业规定,还需要遵守针对我们每个企业客户的大量内部规则和法规,”Sargsyan 说。

Fileforce 计划在继续优化其完整开发环境的过程中实施更多 AWS 服务。“如果没有 AWS,就没有我们公司的今天,”Sargsyan 说。“使用 AWS 为我们提供了在控制成本的同时发展业务所需的敏捷性和可扩展性。”

要了解详情,请访问 aws.amazon.com/products/databases/migrations


关于 Fileforce

Fileforce 向全球 300 多家企业客户提供基于云的文件存储和文档管理服务。Fileforce 总部位于日本,提供基于云的平台,客户可以利用该平台使用与本地部署文件存储解决方案相同的文件夹结构,安全地存储和管理其业务内容。

AWS 带来的效益

  • 实现 90% 的代码部署自动化
  • 将代码推送到生产中的频率从每月一次提高到每周一次
  • 提供新的软件功能不再需要长达 3 个月而只需数周
  • 降低 30% 许可成本

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

安全并且可以调整大小的云计算容量。在需要时启动应用程序,无需预先承诺。

了解详情 »

Amazon RDS for MySQL

MySQL 是世界上最热门的开源关系数据库,而 Amazon RDS 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展 MySQL 部署。借助 Amazon RDS,您可以在几分钟内部署可扩展的 MySQL 服务器,不仅经济实惠,而且可以调整硬件容量的大小。

了解详情 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。这意味着各种规模和行业的客户,都可以使用 Amazon S3 来存储和保护各种用例(如网站、移动应用程序、备份和还原、存档、企业应用程序、IoT 设备和大数据分析)的数据,容量不受限。

了解详情 »

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing 在多个目标(如 Amazon EC2 实例、容器、IP 地址和 Lambda 函数)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。它可以在单个可用区内处理不断变化的应用程序流量负载,也可以跨多个可用区处理此类负载。

了解详情 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Fileforce_Logo@2x

Fileforce Speeds Time-to-Market, Cuts Costs by 30% by Migrating to AWS

2020

Based in Japan, Fileforce provides more than 300 domestic and global corporate customers with cloud file storage and document management services. Customers use the Fileforce cloud-based application to securely store and manage their business content in the same folder structure as their on-premises file storage solutions. Fileforce also offers detailed permission management and flexible access control by system administrators, as well as streaming access to files in the cloud. “Our application helps customers easily view, edit, and share files from wherever they are located, while staying compliant with relevant regulations” says Aram Sargsyan, chief executive officer of Fileforce.

To meet growing customer demand, Fileforce wanted to release software updates and features faster. That was difficult, however, because the company ran most of its Microsoft .NET and SQL Server–based application in an on-premises environment. Sargsyan says, “It would typically take us up to three months to get new features out, because we had to spend time procuring and provisioning servers and we didn’t have development automation in place.”

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

We often have customers asking us for new features, and we can deliver those features in weeks instead of months because of the agility we get by running on AWS."

Aram Sargsyan
Chief Executive Officer, Fileforce

Migrating a Windows Application Environment to AWS

To overcome its challenges, Fileforce decided to move to the cloud. “We needed to focus on being a software company instead of spending all our time managing infrastructure,” says Sargsyan. After closely evaluating several cloud providers, Fileforce selected Amazon Web Services (AWS). “AWS had the best service offerings, and it demonstrated much more stability for Windows instances. Also, AWS offered a well-thought-out balance between higher-level managed services and low-level services, giving us control over every aspect of our application.”

Fileforce re-architected its application to take advantage of AWS and migrated its application environment from SQL Server to Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL. The company then started developing with .NET Core, supporting its DevOps development model and enabling continuous integration and development on top of AWS. “.NET Core will make our software portable to other open source platforms such as Linux,” says Sargsyan. “Moving to Linux will be part of our modernization efforts. To be able to continuously meet each customer’s demand for new features, we are modernizing our platform toward more-detailed application modularization and containerization, which will enable us to be more efficient in deploying customizable services for each customer.” Fileforce developers use the Microsoft Visual Studio integrated development environment (IDE) as their primary developer tool.

Following the initial migration, Fileforce began running its application on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and using Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets for data storage. The company also relies on Elastic Load Balancing to automatically distribute incoming application traffic across Amazon EC2 instances.

Deploying New Features in Weeks Instead of Months

Taking advantage of the agility of AWS and using .NET Core, Fileforce has automated 90 percent of its code deployment and it can push code to production every week instead of once a month. “We often have customers asking us for new features, and we can deliver those features in weeks instead of months because of the agility we get by running on AWS,” says Sargsyan. “We can differentiate ourselves by deploying software updates and features much faster.”

As an example, Fileforce recently developed and deployed a new full-text search feature for its software, which enables customers to search the complete content of files in addition to file names. “To create a new feature like this, we previously would have spent at least a few months provisioning the compute capacity, creating the environment, and analyzing and extracting the text,” Sargsyan says. “Using AWS, it was very simple and took a few weeks. All we had to do was spin up the necessary Amazon EC2 instances and retrieve the files from Amazon S3 for re-indexing the content.”

Cutting Licensing Costs by 30%

Fileforce is reducing licensing and maintenance costs by running on AWS and not paying for on-premises Windows licensing. The company is putting this cost savings back into its development team. “We continue to move our source code to .NET Core, and soon we will move away from Windows to Linux, which will enable us to save 30 percent on licensing costs,” says Sargsyan. “That means we can serve 30 percent more customers while using the same resources.”

Additionally, Fileforce is helping its customers meet their compliance requirements. “Storing, managing, and sharing files and documents, especially if they contain sensitive information, requires continuous compliance not only with individual industry regulations, but also with a plethora of internal rules and regulations for each of our corporate clients,” says Sargsyan.

Fileforce plans to implement more AWS services as it continues optimizing its full development environment. “We couldn’t exist as the company we are today without AWS,” says Sargsyan. “Using AWS gives us the agility and scalability we need to grow our business while controlling costs.”

To learn more, visit aws.amazon.com/products/databases/migrations.


About Fileforce

Fileforce provides cloud-based file storage and document management services used by more than 300 corporate customers worldwide. Based in Japan, Fileforce offers a cloud-based platform that customers can use to securely store and manage their business content in the same folder structure as their on-premises file storage solutions.

Benefits of AWS

  • Automates 90% of code deployment
  • Pushes code to production weekly instead of monthly
  • Delivers new software features in weeks instead of up to 3 months
  • Reduces licensing costs by 30%

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Secure and resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Launch applications when needed without upfront commitments.

Learn more »

Amazon RDS for MySQL

MySQL is the world's most popular open source relational database and Amazon RDS makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale MySQL deployments in the cloud. With Amazon RDS, you can deploy scalable MySQL servers in minutes with cost-efficient and resizable hardware capacity.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. This means customers of all sizes and industries can use it to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics.

Learn more »

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing automatically distributes incoming application traffic across multiple targets, such as Amazon EC2 instances, containers, IP addresses, and Lambda functions. It can handle the varying load of your application traffic in a single Availability Zone or across multiple Availability Zones.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.