Объединение школ округа Гибралтар – это объединенный кампус государственных школ в г. Фиш Крик (Висконсин). В состав объединения входит начальная школа округа Гибралтар (дошкольное образование и классы с первого по пятый) и средняя школа округа Гибралтар (классы с шестого по двенадцатый). Всего в этих школах работают около 35 педагогов, под руководством которых обучается 681 школьник. Еще 40 сотрудников школ осуществляют администрирование, техническое обслуживание и поддержку учебного процесса.

Школьному объединению нужно было обновить восемь локальных серверов кампуса, на которых работала вся инфраструктура – от баз данных учащихся до системы управления библиотечным фондом. По оценке директора по ИТ Стива Минтена, на новое оборудование и его обслуживание в течение 4 лет потребовалось бы 44 000 долларов США. Это довольно серьезная сумма для учреждения с ограниченными финансовыми возможностями.

Поскольку количество учащихся в школах этого небольшого округа постепенно снижается, сокращается и их государственное финансирование. В результате объединению постоянно приходится обращаться к избирателям с целью привлечения необходимых средств на поддержание учебного процесса и обслуживающей инфраструктуры. Чтобы избежать расходов, связанных с заменой оборудования, организация решила перейти в облачную вычислительную среду.

«Так как цикличный процесс на наших серверах должен быть эластичным с учетом снижающейся численности учащихся, – говорит Минтен, – мы хотели получить гибкость при увеличении и снижении рабочей нагрузки. Количество зачисляемых учащихся может колебаться, поэтому мы больше не хотим использовать фиксированную физическую инфраструктуру».

«Мы обратились к платформе Amazon Web Services (AWS), чтобы узнать, какие преимущества можно получить в условиях почасовой оплаты оборудования, – рассказывает Минтен. – AWS предлагает нам больше актуальных возможностей, чем конкурирующие платформы. Никто не может похвастаться такой же широтой охвата. Поэтому мы выбрали AWS».

Приняв решение о переходе в облако AWS, объединение школ округа Гибралтар в течение трех месяцев создавало виртуальное частное сетевое подключение между сервисом Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2) и компьютерами школ с помощью сервиса Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). Благодаря этому безопасному подключению сеть учебных заведений смогла перенести в облако свою систему управления библиотечным фондом, отвечающую за выдачу книг читателям. Затем последовало развертывание в облаке PHP-приложения службы поддержки DeskPRO с помощью образа Amazon Machine Image (AMI). Так как образ AMI был предварительно сконфигурирован для PHP, этот этап перехода занял всего лишь 6 часов.

В настоящее время объединение школ округа Гибралтар планирует сэкономить 25 % средств в предстоящий 5-летний срок, типичный период службы локальной инфраструктуры. Организация сразу же ощутила эффект энергосбережения за счет отключения нескольких старых серверов. Кроме того, удалось сократить срок реализации проекта и сервисные издержки благодаря использованию поддержки Amazon Premium Support вместо услуг сторонних подрядных организаций. При традиционном подходе с использованием локального оборудования процедура обновления заняла бы 3–4 дня. Вместо этого объединение школ смогло запустить рабочую среду на AWS за 20 минут и получить полностью настроенную и работающую инфраструктуру уже через 6 часов.

«Насколько нам известно, мы первое государственное образовательное учреждение в Висконсине, которое отказалось от покупки физических серверов и разместило данные в облаке, – делится Минтен. Мы планируем сэкономить 25 % средств в течение следующих 5 лет, что окажет большое влияние на бюджет нашей организации».

По итогам успешного переноса двух систем организация теперь определяет дополнительные рабочие нагрузки для переноса на AWS, в том числе сервер электронной почты, службу обновлений Windows, фильтрацию интернет-трафика, сервер печати, системы резервного копирования доменов, файловые хранилища, системы безопасности и управление сетью Wi-Fi.

Планируется также перенос на AWS системы управления данными учащихся Skyward. Так как большая часть государственных образовательных учреждений Висконсина использует систему Skyward, Минтен хочет показать другим школьным объединениям, что переход в облако несет в себе технические и финансовые преимущества.

Дополнительную информацию о платформе AWS и образовательных учреждениях см. на странице http://aws.amazon.com/education/.

gibraltar-area-schools_Customer-Reference_Logo

Gibraltar Area Schools Case Study

2014

Gibraltar Area Schools is a public school district in Fish Creek, Wisconsin. The district includes the Gibraltar Elementary School for pre-kindergarten through fifth grade and the Gibraltar Secondary School for sixth through twelfth grade. The district has a total of 681 students taught by approximately 35 teachers. An additional 40 staff members provide administrative, maintenance and support services.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

We’re saving 25 percent over the next 5 years—it’s had a huge impact on our district’s budget.”

Steve Minten
IT Director, Gibraltar Area Schools

The Challenge

Gibraltar needed to upgrade eight on-campus servers that ran everything from student databases to the library management system. Gibraltar’s IT Director, Steve Minten, estimates that new equipment and 4 years of upkeep would have cost $44,000—a steep sum for a cash-strapped institution.

As a small public school district with declining enrollment, the district’s state funding is decreasing. As a result, the district finds itself continually turning to the voters to raise the revenue necessary to maintain its faculty and facilities. They opted to move to cloud computing to avoid the expense of replacing hardware.

“Because the cycle on the servers needs to be elastic with the declining enrollment,” Minten says, “we want to have the flexibility of moving on and off workloads. Our enrollment can flex up or down, so we didn’t want to commit to a physical infrastructure.”

Why Amazon Web Services

“We looked into Amazon Web Services (AWS) to see what we could pack into an hourly rate,” Minten says. “AWS has more options to fit our needs than the competition. The others just didn’t have the same track record. So we chose AWS.”

Within 3 months of deciding to move to the AWS Cloud, Gibraltar created a virtual private network connection between Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2) and the school computers using Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). With this secure link in place, the district migrated its Destiny Library Manager, which handles the library check-out process. A DeskPRO help desk PHP application was then deployed using an Amazon Machine Image (AMI). Because the AMI was already preconfigured for PHP, this move was finalized in only 6 hours.

The Benefits

Gibraltar is currently on track to save 25 percent over the typical 5 year lifespan of an on-premises infrastructure. The district gained immediate energy savings by turning off several of the old servers. It is also reducing time to market and service costs by relying on Amazon Premium Support for assistance instead of contracting outside help. Taking a more traditional hardware-based approach would have taken three to four days. In contrast, the district had AWS running within 20 minutes, and fully configured and operational within six hours.

“To the best of our knowledge, we are the first public school in Wisconsin to make the switch from buying servers as hardware to hosting data in the cloud,” Minten says. “We’re saving 25 percent over the next 5 years—it’s had a huge impact on our district’s budget.”

With both of these systems in place, the district is now identifying additional workloads to transfer to AWS, including an email server, Windows Update Service, web filtering, print server, domain backup systems, file storage, security systems and Wi-Fi management.

The district is also planning to move its Skyward student management system to AWS. Because the majority of Wisconsin public school districts use Skyward, Minten wants to show other communities that cloud migration is both technically and financially viable.


About Gibraltar Area Schools

Gibraltar Area Schools is a public school district in Fish Creek, Wisconsin.

Benefits of AWS

  • Saves 25% compared to on-premises infrastructure
  • Reduces time to market
  • Configured new system in 20 minutes versus four days with traditional hardware

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more >>

Amazon VPC

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) lets you provision a logically isolated section of the AWS Cloud where you can launch AWS resources in a virtual network that you define.

Learn more >>

Amazon Linux AMI

The Amazon Linux AMI is a supported and maintained Linux image provided by Amazon Web Services for use on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2).

Learn more >>

Cloud Computing for Education

Whether it’s the first day in your cloud journey or you have a cloud-first strategy, AWS has a solution to facilitate teaching and learning, launch student analytics initiatives, and manage IT operations.

Learn more >>


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.