将人员和数据中心设施成本纳入考虑范围后,与使用物理服务器来支持由于学生数量剧增而引起的快速增长的流量相比,AWS 要便宜得多。 
Kalpesh Parikh 博士 IT 顾问

古吉拉特邦科技大学 (GTU) 成立于 2007 年,每年为来自全印度约 500 个地区的约 500000 名学生提供商务、工程、制药和软件开发课程。GTU 还为研究人员提供实验室和相关设施,以推动科学和技术进步。

2008 年,GTU 使用物理服务器、存储和联网设备为约 52000 名学生提供支持。然而,随着学生和教师数量的增加,服务器开始过载,关键应用程序和服务 (包括 GTU 网站和项目监控和管理系统) 开始无法访问。这些可用性问题每次都会持续三天,这对 GTU 而言是难以接受的,因为该机构严重依赖 Internet 为学生和研究人员提供服务以及完成管理任务。“一般情况下,我们的网站每天可以吸引大约 50000 次访问,这个数字在星期一会增加到 100000。”GTU 副总裁 Akshai Aggarwal 博士说,“我们面临着令人尴尬的问题,即必须购买足够的基础设施来支持需求高峰,但其中的一部分设施却会在本周的剩余时间内闲置。” 

GTU 确定:公共云服务可以提供所需的可用性、支持增长的可扩展性以及为管理需求高峰所需的弹性。由于 GTU 正在审核各种本地云服务,在美国 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 工作的前 GTU 学生联系了 Aggarwal 博士,称 AWS 非常适合该机构的需求。GTU 进行详细的评估后确认了这名学生的观点,并开始制定计划以构建 AWS 架构并向其进行迁移。GTU 在迁至 AWS 之前进行了初步工作,因为这一项目非常复杂且势头过猛。GTU 的 IT 顾问 Kalpesh Parikh 博士说:“在与我们合作确定满足我们要求的最佳架构和配置方面,AWS 很有帮助。我们还从 AWS 合作伙伴那里获得了故障排除方面的有力援助。”

GTU 现在通过运行 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例来提供运行应用程序和服务所需的计算资源,并使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来提供存储资源。对于 AWS 资源和 GTU 的应用程序和网站,Amazon Glacier 负责提供数据存档和长期备份,Amazon CloudWatch 则提供监控和警报。

AWS 及其合作伙伴帮助培训 GTU 的技术团队,以便优化 GTU 对 AWS 资源的使用,并帮助解决可能出现的任何问题。这包括监控网站和应用程序在午夜 12:00 和凌晨 5:00 之间的使用情况,以及缩减分配的资源以最大限度降低 GTU 的成本。“该团队还能够在 AWS 中配置安全组,以更好地保护我们的资源免受外部攻击,并最大限度地降低数据丢失和泄漏的风险。”Parikh 博士说。

下图说明了 GTU 在 AWS 中的项目指导和监控环境:

chart

GTU 通过使用 AWS 获取了一系列优势。该机构的网站、应用程序和服务已经实现了 99.999% 的可用性。这在最大限度上减少了中断,中断可能会推迟教学和课程计划,在以前还曾对成千上万学生的教育造成影响。“将人员和数据中心设施成本纳入考虑范围后,与使用物理服务器来支持由于学生数量剧增而引起的快速增长的流量相比,AWS 要便宜得多。”Parikh 博士说,“我们可以胸有成竹地将我们的网站从支持 3000 个并发用户扩展到 30000 个并发用户。”

说到使用 AWS 获得进一步提高效率和创新机会这一前景,Parikh 博士非常兴奋。他说:“我们希望与 AWS 进行非常紧密的集成并建立长期关系。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何为您的网站提供帮助,请访问我们的网站与网站托管详情页面

GujaratTechnologicalUniversity_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Gujarat Technological University Case Study

2016

Established in 2007, Gujarat Technological University (GTU) provides business, engineering, pharmacy, and software development courses to about 500,000 students per year from about 500 locations across India. GTU also provides laboratories and associated facilities for researchers to deliver advances in science and technology.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Once we factor in personnel and data-center costs, AWS is considerably cheaper than using physical servers to support the rapid increase in traffic fuelled by the sharp rise in the number of students."

Dr. Kalpesh Parikh
IT Advisor, Gujarat Technological University

The Challenge

In 2008, GTU used physical servers, storage, and networking equipment to support about 52,000 students. However, as the number of students and teachers increased, servers started to overload and critical applications and services—including the GTU website and a project-monitoring and management system—could not be accessed. These availability issues that persisted up to three days each time were unacceptable to GTU, as the institution relied heavily on the internet to deliver services to students and researchers, and to complete administrative tasks. “Our website would typically attract about 50,000 visits a day, except on Mondays when the number would increase to 100,000,” says Dr. Akshai Aggarwal, vice chancellor at GTU. “We faced the unenviable problem of having to invest in enough infrastructure to support demand peaks, much of which would be unutilized for the remainder of the week.”

Why Amazon Web Services

GTU determined that a public cloud service could deliver the availability needed, as well as the scalability to support growth and the elasticity to manage demand peaks. As GTU was reviewing various local cloud services, a former GTU student working at Amazon Web Services (AWS) in the United States contacted Dr. Aggarwal and pitched AWS as being a strong fit for the institution’s needs. GTU undertook a detailed assessment that confirmed the student’s perspective, and developed a plan to build and migrate to an AWS architecture. GTU undertook the preliminary work itself before turning to AWS as the project gained complexity and momentum. “AWS was extremely helpful in working with us to determine an optimum architecture and configuration to meet our requirements,” says Dr. Kalpesh Parikh, IT Advisor at GTU. “We also received strong assistance from an AWS partner for troubleshooting.”

GTU is now running Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances to provide the compute resources to run its applications and services, with Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) providing storage resources. Amazon Glacier provides data archiving and long-term backup, while Amazon CloudWatch provides monitoring and alerts for AWS resources and GTU’s applications and website.

AWS and its partner have helped to train GTU’s technology team to help optimize GTU’s use of AWS resources and address any problems that may occur. This included monitoring usage of the website and applications between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m., and scaling down the resources to minimize the cost to GTU. “The team was also able to configure security groups within AWS to better protect our resources from external attacks, and minimize the risk of data loss and leakage,” says Dr. Parikh.

The figure below illustrates GTU’s Project Mentoring and Monitoring environment in AWS:

The Benefits

GTU has achieved a range of benefits from using AWS. The institution has achieved 99.999 percent availability for its website, applications, and services. This minimizes outages that can set back teaching and lesson plans, and previously had threatened to compromise the education of tens of thousands of students. “Once we factor in personnel and datacenter facilities costs, AWS is considerably cheaper than using physical servers to support the rapid increase in traffic fuelled by the sharp rise in the number of students,” says Dr. Parikh. “We can confidently scale out from supporting 3,000 concurrent users of our website to 30,000 concurrent users.”

Dr. Parikh is excited about the prospect of gaining further efficiencies and opportunities to innovate by using AWS. “We would like to have very tight integration with AWS, and establish a very long relationship,” he says.

Subheadline about image or video

swf-nasa-mer-arch-whiteboard

About Gujarat Technological University

Established in 2007, Gujarat Technological University (GTU) provides business, engineering, pharmacy, and software development courses in India.


AWS Services Used

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. 

Learn more »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud.

Learn more >>

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) is an easy to use, high performance block storage service designed for use with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) for both throughput and transaction intensive workloads at any scale.

Learn more >>

Amazon S3 Glacier

Amazon S3 Glacier and S3 Glacier Deep Archive are a secure, durable, and extremely low-cost Amazon S3 cloud storage classes for data archiving and long-term backup.

Learn more >>


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.