InternationalRiceResearchInstitute_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

国际水稻研究所案例研究

2016 年

国际水稻研究所 (IRRI) 于 1960 年成立于菲律宾洛斯巴尼奥斯,负责开发可以抵御干旱、洪水、疾病和其他可能具有潜在破坏性事件的水稻品种。IRRI 是一家非营利性组织,在亚洲和非洲 17 个生长水稻的国家/地区拥有一千多名员工。此外,它还是国际农业研究磋商组织 (CGIAR) 的成员,CGIAR 联盟旨在消除发展中国家的饥饿和贫困。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

AWS 在性价比方面脱颖而出,因为它能够以更低的成本提供更好的服务。AWS 会提供特定工具来评估我们的现有环境,然后再确定最经济高效的解决方案。”

Marco van den Berg
国际水稻研究所首席信息官

挑战

截止 2012 年,IRRI 一直在使用本地配置的企业资源规划 (ERP) 系统来完成管理活动。但这些本地系统未进行集成,因此限制了 CGIAR 合作伙伴获得全球农业运营的整体视图。IRRI 和其他成员组织决定创建一个通用的 ERP 系统,以降低成本、使协作更紧密以及能够协调培训和软件开发活动。“如果我们的一位捐助者希望获得一份关于某个研究项目的特定类型的进度报告,并且某个成员组织开发了一个可以实现这一目标的模块,则应向其他成员提供此功能。”IRRI 的首席信息官 Marco van den Berg 说道。

需要向全球的合作伙伴和办事处提供统一的系统且可供其使用。“IRRI 在 18 个国家/地区设有办事处,其中在孟加拉国有 150 名工作人员,在印度有 120 名工作人员。我们的员工需要权限来更新财务,人力资源和项目管理系统,以便我们能够进行高效运营。”van den Berg 解释道。此外,系统还必须由灵活、敏捷的基础设施提供支持,以便能够快速开发新功能,并且需要能够轻松扩展到新的区域和组织。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

2012 年,CGIAR 合作伙伴考虑了一系列供应商来提供托管基础设施,以支持通用的 ERP 系统。团队在 2013 年初完成了评估,发现 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 在价格和性能方面均超越了竞争对手。“AWS 在性价比方面脱颖而出,因为它能够以更低的成本提供更好的服务。AWS 会提供特定工具来评估我们的现有环境,然后再确定最经济高效的解决方案。”van den Berg 说道。

针对 ERP 系统项目,IRRI 和其他合作伙伴在 AWS 上部署了一个新环境,用于测试新软件版本、新数据库版本或操作系统升级。合作伙伴设立和资助了一个由 AWS 架构师和专家组成的共享服务团队,并于 2013 年开始进行实施。

为了使项目更加易于管理,该团队和合作伙伴采用了分阶段式方法。WorldFish 是一家位于马来西亚槟城的国际组织,负责研究如何通过渔业和水产养殖来减少饥饿,它是第一家运行组合式 ERP 系统的组织,其次便是 IRRI 和位于秘鲁利马的国际马铃薯中心。团队使用“援建”方式发现了三个组织之间的共同点,从而实现了系统和流程的标准化,并借助制定补充解决方案来满足合作伙伴的个体要求。“转为使用组合式企业资源规划系统,要求 IRRI 替换其所有旧财务、人力资源、项目和材料管理模块,并迁移其所有历史数据。”van den Berg 说道,“到 2014 年年底,前三个合作伙伴仍在新系统上继续运行。”

该项目确实遇到了一些挑战。一些合作伙伴过度依赖于本地设备和基于资本支出的预算方法。他们必须升级其网络、带宽和预算流程才能支持基于云的运营支出模式。

ERP 系统在 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中运行,可在共享 AWS 基础设施上实现隔离和安全性。Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 提供运行 Web、应用程序和数据库服务器所需的计算资源,Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Elastic Block Storage (Amazon EBS) 可以对操作数据进行存储和短期存档。Amazon Glacier 支持组织长期存档数据。合作伙伴继续修改和优化其基础设施,以降低成本、改善性能和支持 ERP 系统的扩展。“通过使用 AWS Trusted Advisor 服务,我们已经能够将企业资源规划系统的基础设施成本降低几倍。”van den Berg 说道,“此外,我们正在考虑使用 Amazon Route 53 来提供域名服务,并考虑在 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 中运行我们的数据库,以提高可扩展性和性能。”

企业最近借助商业支持计划升级到了 AWS Support,该计划将企业与 AWS 技术团队成员联系起来,以帮助解决问题以及对团队提供培训。

优势

通过在 AWS 上运行其组合式 ERP 系统,IRRI 和其他合作伙伴已经从中享受到了诸多优势。如果合作伙伴需要测试新的软件版次或版本,他们可以在两个小时内快速运转专门的测试环境。“我可以在数分钟内为组织内的人员提供一个虚拟服务器和操作系统,而无需等待供应商在数周之后提供硬件。”van den Berg 说道。

到目前为止,通过在 AWS 上运行其组合式 ERP 系统,合作伙伴已经节省了高达 30% 的总体技术基础设施成本。对于 IRRI,通过在 AWS 上部署此系统(一个库系统)和其他应用程序,已经释放了许多资金,现在这些资金已经分配用于研究基因组分析等活动。

可访问性也有所提高。合作伙伴的职员可以在能够连接 Internet 的任何位置访问基于云的 ERP 系统。“通过在 AWS 上提供基于云的企业资源规划系统,我们现在可以为在全球旅行以及我们各个国家/地区办事处的员工提供更好的支持并可以更好地与他们进行接洽。无论菲律宾的电力供应发生何种波动,还是由于每年多次袭击该地区的台风导致基础设施损坏,该服务都还可访问且可用。”van den Berg 说道。

在 AWS 工具和技术的帮助下,CGIAR 合作伙伴实现了 ERP 系统 99.999% 的可用性,让员工相信可以在其需要时能够访问关键业务数据。

据 van den Berg 说,虽然一开始转为使用 AWS 对于 IRRI 和其他 CGIAR 合作伙伴来说是一种强行推销,但所获得的回报证明这是值得的。“我们的审计员要求查看服务器机房,但我不得不告诉他,我不知道它在哪里。当我们提供了来自 AWS 的相关认证和声明后,他们感到很满意。”van den Berg 说道。转为使用 AWS 还促使一些合作伙伴在带宽和连接上进行了更多投资,从而使他们能够更快速地增加研究项目。

对于 IRRI 和其他合作伙伴来说,ERP 项目还远远没有完成。IRRI 正在此项目中使用 AWS 工具和技术来绘制和发布三千种不同类型水稻的完整基因组序列,并用来处理卫星数据以确定亚洲水稻作物的状况。“迄今为止,AWS 的表现非常出色,我们期待使用此平台来进一步提高效率,并在以后推出新的项目。”van den Berg 说道。


关于国际水稻研究所

国际水稻研究所 (IRRI) 于 1960 年成立于菲律宾洛斯巴尼奥斯,负责开发可以抵御干旱、洪水、疾病和其他可能具有潜在破坏性事件的水稻品种。 


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon VPC

借助 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),您可以在 AWS 云中预置一个逻辑隔离的部分,从而在自己定义的虚拟网络中启动 AWS 资源。

了解更多 »

AWS Trusted Advisor

AWS Trusted Advisor 是一个在线工具,可为您提供实时指导以帮助您按照 AWS 最佳实践预置资源。

了解更多 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 »

AWS Support

Amazon 一直都秉承着“客户至上”的原则,而 AWS Support 将这一传统延续到了 B2B 技术领域。

了解更多 »

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 是一种易于使用的高性能数据块存储服务,旨在与 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 一起使用,适用于任何规模的吞吐量和事务密集型工作负载。

了解更多 »


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Price performance-wise, AWS stood out because it provides a better service at a lower cost. AWS offers specific tools that evaluate our existing environment before determining the best cost-efficient solution
Marco van den Berg Chief Information Officer

Founded in 1960 and located in Los Baños, the Philippines, the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) develops rice varieties that can withstand drought, flooding, disease, and other potentially damaging events. IRRI is a nonprofit organization with more than one thousand staff spread across 17 rice-growing countries in Asia and Africa. It is also a member of the Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), a consortium that aims to eradicate hunger and poverty in developing countries.

Until 2012, IRRI had used locally configured enterprise resource-planning (ERP) systems to complete administration activities. However, these on-premises systems were not integrated and therefore restricted CGIAR partners from gaining a single view of agriculture operations around the world. IRRI and other member organizations decided to create a common ERP system to reduce costs, collaborate more closely, and enable coordinated training and software-development activities. “If one of our donors wants a specific type of progress report on one of the research projects, and a member organization develops a module that can deliver this, that functionality should be made available to the other participating bodies,” says Marco van den Berg, chief information officer for IRRI.

The unified system needed to be available and accessible to partners and offices worldwide. “IRRI has offices in 18 countries, with 150 staff in Bangladesh and 120 in India. Our staff needed access to update financial, human resources, and project management systems to allow us to operate efficiently,” explains van den Berg. The system also had to be supported by a flexible, agile infrastructure to enable rapid development of new features, and needed to be easily expandable to new regions and organizations.

In 2012, CGIAR partners considered a range of vendors to provide a hosted infrastructure to deliver the common ERP system. The team completed its evaluation at the beginning of 2013 and found that Amazon Web Services (AWS) exceeded the competition when it came to price and performance. “Price-performance-wise, AWS stood out because it provides a better service at a lower cost. AWS offers specific tools that evaluate our existing environment before determining the best cost-efficient solution,” says van den Berg.

For the ERP system project, IRRI and the other partners deployed a new environment on AWS to test a new software release, a new database version, or an operating system upgrade. The partners set up and funded a shared services team made up of AWS architects and experts and started the implementation in 2013.

The team and partners adopted a phased approach to keep the project manageable. WorldFish, an international organization based in Penang, Malaysia that researches how fisheries and aquaculture can reduce hunger, was first to go live on the combined ERP system, followed by IRRI and the International Potato Center in Lima, Peru. The team used an “assisted build” approach that found common ground between the three organizations to standardize systems and processes, with complementary solutions developed to meet partners’ individual requirements. “Moving to the combined enterprise resource planning system required IRRI to replace all of its legacy finance, human resources, project, and materials-management modules, and migrate its historical data across,” says van den Berg. “The first three partners were live on the new system by the end of 2014.”

The project did experience some challenges. Some partners had relied heavily on on-premises equipment and a capital expenditure-based budgeting approach. They had to upgrade their networks, bandwidth, and budgeting processes to support a cloud-based, operating-expenditure model.

The ERP system runs in an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) to provide separation and security on the shared AWS infrastructure. Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) provides compute resources to run web, application, and database servers, while Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and Amazon Elastic Block Storage (Amazon EBS) provide storage and short-term archiving for operational data. Amazon Glacier enables the organizations to archive data for the longer term. The partners continue to modify and optimize their infrastructure to reduce costs, improve performance, and support expansion of the ERP system. “We’ve been able to reduce our infrastructure costs for the enterprise resource planning system several times by using the AWS Trusted Advisor service,” says van den Berg. “In addition, we are looking at Amazon Route 53 to provide domain name services, and are considering running our database in Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) to improve scalability and performance.”

The business has recently upgraded to AWS Support with the Business Support Plan, which connects the businesses with AWS technical team members to help solve problems and provide training to the teams. 

IRRI and other partners have enjoyed several benefits from running their combined ERP system on AWS. If the partners need to test a new software release or version, they can spin up a specialized test environment in two hours. “I can provide someone within the organization a virtual server and operating system within minutes rather than waiting several weeks for a vendor to supply hardware,” says van den Berg.

To date, the partners have saved up to 30 percent in overall technology infrastructure costs by running their combined ERP system on AWS. For IRRI, deploying this system, a library system, and other applications on AWS has freed up funds now allocated to research activities such as genomics analysis.

Accessibility has also improved. The cloud-based ERP system can be accessed by partner staff members from any location where Internet connectivity is available. “By offering a cloud-based enterprise resource planning system on AWS, we can now better support and engage people who are travelling throughout the world and in our country offices. The service is also accessible and available regardless of fluctuations in the availability of power in the Philippines, or infrastructure damage caused by the multiple typhoons that hit the region every year,” says van den Berg.

CGIAR partners achieve 99.999 percent availability for the ERP system with the help of AWS tools and technologies, giving staff confidence that critical business data will be accessible when they need it.

While moving to AWS was initially a hard sell for IRRI and other CGIAR partners, according to van den Berg, the rewards have been worthwhile. “Our auditor asked to visit the server room, and I had to tell him I did not know where it was. They were satisfied once we provided the relevant certifications and statements from AWS,” says van den Berg. Moving to AWS has also prompted some partners to invest more in bandwidth and connectivity, enabling them to ramp up research projects more quickly.

For IRRI and other partners, the ERP project is far from complete. IRRI is using AWS tools and technologies on a project to map and release the complete sequence of genomes for three thousand different types of rice, and to process satellite data to determine the status of rice crops in Asia. “AWS has performed extremely well for us to date, and we look forward to using the platform to drive further efficiencies and launch new projects in the future,” says van den Berg.

To learn more about how AWS can help with business applications, visit our Business Applications details page.