JustGiving_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

JustGiving 案例研究

2015 年

JustGiving 是世界上最大的慈善筹款在线社交平台之一。该组织的总部位于伦敦,拥有 2400 万注册用户,帮助超过 13000 个各种各样的慈善项目募捐了 35 亿 USD,其中包括阿尔茨海默氏病研究、海地地震救援以及阻止人口贩卖的行动。JustGiving 成立于 2001 年,它会从其平台上的捐款中抽取 5% 的交易费用,然后将所得收益重新投入到平台的开发和创新上。

开始 python 教程
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

使用 AWS 之后,我们实现了管道的自动化,借助新的分析平台,我们只需将钱花在相关工具和数据上,以便生成洞察信息、增加价值并实时支持针对所有访问 JustGiving 的用户的决策。”

Richard Atkinson
JustGiving 首席信息官

挑战

JustGiving 的发展得益于其与社交网络的集成、对移动捐款的支持、社交馈送以及宣传活动和众筹产品的推出,所有这些使 JustGiving 用户能够增强筹款举措、覆盖更多人群并为慈善事业筹集更多资金。同时,发展也给该组织的技术和运营团队带来了挑战,他们需要遵从公司的使命,跨所有平台提供富有吸引力的用户友好型体验,同时尽可能降低成本和开销。

“过去几年来,我们发现越来越多的人选择通过各种网络和渠道分享筹款活动。”JustGiving 的首席信息官 Richard Atkinson 说道,“大量社会现象像病毒一样从四处涌现出来,这导致我们的流量高峰进一步上涨。我们使用的是同位数据中心环境,要进行扩展则需要额外的成本,复杂性也会增加,因此这样的做法费用高昂且不切实际。”

数据的急剧增加也给组织的内部分析流程带来了巨大压力。”JustGiving 的解决方案架构师兼数据科学家 Richard Freeman 博士说道,“我们的分析团队和功能的发展速度非常快,这导致 Microsoft SQL Server 数据仓库无法处理数据科学家和分析师所需的新数据量、速度和查询复杂性。”Freeman 说道。

为了解决这些问题,该公司决定将其常规运营迁移到云中,并托管一个名为 RAVEN(报告、分析、虚拟化、试验、网络)的全新大数据分析平台。该平台可与现有数据仓库配合使用,旨在为 JustGiving 数据分析师提供相应工具,以便其针对点击流、日志、事务性和外部数据源运行试验。分析团队还希望运行更多传统报告并检查关键性能指标 (KPI),而无需不断重复不同的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 流程。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

JustGiving 之所以选择 Amazon Web Services,是因为该服务可以提供测试和生产环境,并且特别注重于增强分析能力。Atkinson 称,这个选择归结于信任:“我们是一个受 2400 万位用户信任的品牌,有 13000 个项目通过我们筹集资金。”他说道,“我们希望找到一种云服务解决方案,以便将其用于该信任网络。而 AWS 则是我们的不二之选。”

JustGiving 将其软件重新设计为微服务,此类服务可以通过自动化连续交付管道进行部署,从而使用多种 AWS 服务来使 JustGiving 员工无需支持和维护基础设施,并充分利用 AWS 平台的可扩展性和弹性。这些服务包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Auto ScalingElastic Load BalancingAmazon ElastiCacheAmazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)。

该组织还借助若干种 AWS 服务将 AWS 用于其 RAVEN 分析平台,这些服务包括 Amazon RedshiftAmazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR)、Amazon KinesisAWS LambdaAmazon DynamoDBAmazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 和 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)。

“许多供应商提议使用图形界面来实现大数据集成,但是我们发现,在实际情况下,使用临时触发的实际 SQL 代码加载和查询数据来进行数据科学试验或实现 KPI 控制面板和报告的自动化将更加有效。”Freeman 说道,“通过使用 AWS,我们构建了事件驱动型 ETL 管道,以及可通过稳健的基于 SNS 和 SQS 的托管消息收发流程进行通信的系统。我们还了解了现有的开源工作流框架,但这些框架均要求具有需要进行设置和为其提供支持的专用设备。对于我们的使用案例,要对这些框架进行自定义则太过复杂。”

JustGiving 在 AWS 云上创建新的大数据平台 (3:35)

JustGiving 基于 AWS 的 RAVEN(报告、分析、虚拟化、试验、网络)平台架构

JustGiving-AWS-diagram-overview-091815

优势

Freeman 对 AWS 平台支持的功能称赞不已。“AWS 提供了我们在自己的大数据分析平台上快速制作原型、进行数据科学试验、计算指标以及运行报告所需要的一切内容。”他说道。

对于 JustGiving 分析团队,Freeman 表示,Amazon Redshift 被证明是可进行数据探查和查询大型结构化数据集(包含位于不同集群上的数十亿个数据点)的有效产品。“我们构建了一整套用于运行事件驱动型 ETL 任务并集成内部和外部的 API 的工具。”他说道,“以前在 SQL Server 中需要 30 分钟才能运行完的查询现在只需数秒钟便可运行完。我们可以运行之前不可能实现的较为复杂的查询。我们甚至发现,与使用专用图形数据库相比,较为简单的图形类查询(如慈善机构和活动与用户的关系)的执行速度要更快。我们第一次能够为企业用户提供事务性和非事务性数据(如页面访问次数、募捐活动和共享管道)的综合视图。Redshift 是一款更快捷、更易于使用的产品,它为我们提供了更加有用的工具来支持我们的生产环境。”

JustGiving 使用 AWS EMR 来针对数 TB 数据运行大型自动化 ETL 和分析流程,而无需管理集群基础设施设置和维护。“在使用 Amazon EMR 之前,我们的数据科学家只能使用可在一台设备上运行的算法,并且这些算法不适用于示例数据集。计算任何较大规模的数据则需要数天的时间。”Freeman 说道,“现在,借助运行 Hadoop 或 Spark 集群的 Amazon EMR,他们可以轻松启动拥有数百个 Amazon EC2 实例的集群来计算可扩展的图形处理、自然语言处理、机器学习和流分析算法。举例来说,我们可以使用此项功能推荐众筹项目、了解用户网络、自动标记慈善机构以及提高用户参与度。”

分析团队可以结合使用 Amazon Kinesis、AWS Lambda 和 Amazon DynamoDB 来执行过去难以实施的复杂任务。例如,以近乎实时的方式将网站点击流事件写入 Amazon Kinesis。AWS Lambda 函数可以运行代码以响应事件,从而处理事件并将其写入 Amazon DynamoDB。此外,Lambda 可用于测试、事件监控和有效通知,而 DynamoDB 可用作 Kinesis 事件的持久数据存储和虚拟化监控工具。

Atkinson 指出,这个新的分析平台是 JustGiving 走向 IT 之路的新方法的一部分,对 JustGiving 大有裨益。“在使用 AWS 之前,JustGiving 基于单一高级数据源制定决策。”他说,“现在,借助新的 AWS 工具,我们可从基于数百万募捐活动和数十亿事件的多个来源提取更精细的数据,然后使用此类信息为我们的访客提供更好的平台。”

AWS 平台的可扩展性和经济效益,尤其是按需付费的业务模式,也是促进该组织不断发展的关键。“我们现在一直将成本投入在运营周期和价值创造上。”Atkinson 说道,“之前,我们将大量资金投入在硬件上,我们花钱所得的资产就固定在那里,其利用率通常不高。使用 AWS 之后,我们实现了管道的自动化,借助新的分析平台,我们只需将钱花在相关工具和数据上,以便生成洞察信息、增加价值并实时支持针对所有访问 JustGiving 的用户的决策。”


关于 JustGiving

JustGiving 是世界上最大的慈善筹款在线社交平台之一。


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »

Amazon ElastiCache

Amazon ElastiCache 提供完全托管 Redis 和 Memcached。无缝部署、操作和扩展热门开放源代码兼容的内存数据存储。

了解更多 »

Auto Scaling

AWS Auto Scaling 可以监控您的应用程序并自动调整容量,从而以尽可能低的成本来保持稳定、可预测的性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 »

Amazon Redshift

Redshift 可为财富 500 强公司、初创公司以及介于两者之间的任何公司在关键任务型分析工作负载方面提供技术支持。

了解更多 »

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing 在多个目标(如 Amazon EC2 实例、容器、IP 地址和 Lambda 函数)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。

了解更多 »

Amazon EMR

Amazon EMR 是业界领先的原生云大数据平台,允许团队快速处理海量数据,并且具有规模成本效益。

了解更多 »


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

JustGiving is one of the world’s largest online social platforms for charitable fundraising. The London-based organization’s 24 million registered users have helped raise $3.5 billion for more than 13,000 causes as diverse as Alzheimer’s research, Haiti earthquake relief, and initiatives to stop human trafficking. Launched in 2001, JustGiving charges a 5 percent transaction fee on donations, the profits of which are reinvested into the development and innovation of its platform.

JustGiving Creates New Big-Data Platform on the AWS Cloud (3:35)

thumb_justgiving

JustGiving’s growth has been fueled by its integration with social networks, support for mobile donations, social feeds, and the launch of campaigns and crowdfunding products—all of which have enabled JustGiving users to amplify their fundraising, reach more people, and raise more money for good causes. The growth has also challenged the organization’s technology and operations teams, which follow the company’s mission of delivering an engaging and user-friendly experience across all platforms while keeping costs and overhead as low as possible.

“What we’ve seen in the past few years is people increasingly sharing their fundraising activities through a variety of networks and channels,” says Richard Atkinson, JustGiving’s chief information officer. “There’s a lot of viral social phenomena coming from nowhere, and the result is that our spikes in traffic are getting even spikier. We had a collocated data center environment that made scaling difficult due to additional costs and complexity that would have been costly and impractical.”

The dramatic increases in data were also overwhelming the organization’s internal analytics processes, says Richard Freeman, Ph.D., solutions architect and data scientist at JustGiving. “We had been growing our analytics team and capabilities so rapidly that our Microsoft SQL Server data warehouse was unable to process the new data volume, velocity, and query complexity required by our data scientists and analysts,” Freeman says.

To address these issues, the company decided to move to the cloud for its general operations and to host a new big-data analytics platform called RAVEN (Reporting, Analytics, Visualization, Experimental, Networks), which would work alongside the existing data warehouse. The goal was to give JustGiving’s data analysts tools for running experiments on clickstream, log, transactional, and external data sources. The analytics team also wanted to run more traditional reporting and examine key performance indicators (KPIs) without the need to continually repeat different extract transform and load (ETL) processes.

JustGiving chose Amazon Web Services for its test and production environments, with a particular focus on enhancing analytics capabilities. Atkinson says the choice boiled down to trust: “We’re a trusted brand for 24 million users and 13,000 causes that are using us to raise funds,” he says. “We wanted to find a solution for cloud services that we could bring into that trust network. AWS was really the only player for that.”

JustGiving reengineered its software as microservices that are deployed through automated continuous delivery pipelines, using a variety of AWS services to reduce the need for JustGiving staff to support and maintain the infrastructure and to leverage the scalability and resiliency of the AWS platform. These services include Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Auto Scaling, Elastic Load Balancing, Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3).

The organization also uses AWS for its RAVEN analytics platform, relying on several AWS services, including Amazon Redshift, Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR), Amazon Kinesis, AWS Lambda, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), and Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS).

“Many vendors propose a graphical interface to big-data integration, but we found that in real life it was more efficient to load and query the data with actual SQL code triggered on an ad hoc basis for our data-science experiments or automated for KPI dashboards and reports,” says Freeman. “Using AWS, we have built an event-driven ETL pipeline with systems that communicate through a robust hosted SNS and SQS-based messaging process. We also looked at existing open-source workflow frameworks, but these require dedicated machines that need to be set up and supported. They were too complex to customize for our use cases.”

JustGiving-AWS-diagram-overview-091815

JustGiving's RAVEN (Reporting, Analytics, Visualization, Experimental, Networks) platform architecture on AWS.

Freeman lauds the functionality enabled by the AWS platform. “AWS offered exactly what we needed for rapid prototyping, data-science experiments, metrics calculations, and running reports on our big-data analytics platform,” he says.

For the JustGiving analytics team, Freeman says Amazon Redshift has proven to be an efficient product for data exploration and querying large structured datasets, which include billions of data points on different clusters. “We built a whole suite of tools for running event-driven ETL jobs and integrating with internal and external APIs,” he says. “Queries that took 30 minutes in SQL Server now take just seconds to run. We can run more complex queries that were not possible before, and we’ve even found that simpler graph-type queries, such as the relationship of charity and events to users, can be executed faster than using a dedicated graph database. And for the first time, we can provide our business users with a joined view of transactional and non-transactional data, such as page visits, donations, and sharing funnels. Redshift is faster, easier to use, and provides more useful tools than we had before to help support our production environment.”

JustGiving uses AWS EMR to run large automated ETL and analytics processes on terabytes of data without having to manage cluster infrastructure setup and maintenance. “Before Amazon EMR, our data scientists were limited to algorithms that can run on a single machine, and they could only work on sample data sets. Anything larger required days of computation,” Freeman says. “Now with Amazon EMR running Hadoop or Spark clusters, they can easily launch clusters with hundreds of Amazon EC2 instances to compute scalable graph processing, natural language processing, and machine learning and streaming analytics algorithms. For example, we use this in recommending crowdfunding projects, understanding user networks, automating charity tagging, and increasing user engagement.”

The analytics team uses Amazon Kinesis, AWS Lambda, and Amazon DynamoDB in tandem to perform tasks that were complex to implement in the past. For example, website clickstream events are written in near real time to Amazon Kinesis. An AWS Lambda function runs code in response to events, processing them and writing them to Amazon DynamoDB. Additionally, Lambda is used for testing, event monitoring, and active notification, while DynamoDB is used as a persistent data store for Kinesis events and as a visualization monitoring tool.

Atkinson notes that the new analytics platform is part of a new way of approaching IT that is benefitting JustGiving. “Before using AWS, JustGiving was basing decisions on a single high-level data source,” he says. “Now, using the new AWS tools, we can extract much more granular data from many sources based on millions of donations and billions of events, and then use that information to provide a better platform for our visitors.”

The scalability and cost-effectiveness of the AWS platform, particularly the pay-as-you-go business model, are also key to helping the organization continue on its growth path. “We’ve always mapped our costs to operational cycles and to the creation of value,” Atkinson says. “Previously, when we had a lot of money tied up in hardware, we’d spend money and that asset would sit there, often at low utilization rates. With AWS, we have automated our pipeline and, with our new analytics platform, we’re only spending money on tools and data that are producing insights, adding value, and supporting decisions in real time for all the users visiting JustGiving.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you process and analyze big data, visit our Big Data details page: http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/.