自 1920 以来,妇女选民联盟 (LWV) 这一无党派政治组织一直致力于通过教育和倡议来完善美国政府体制和影响公共政策。LWV 在全国各地拥有约 30 名全职员工和超过 750 家由志愿者领导的附属机构。LWV 教育基金 (LWVEF) 运营了网站 VOTE411.org,可以向公众提供无党派选举信息。该网站涵盖多个主题,包括投票地点、选举日期和注册截止日期、有关候选人和投票议案的信息、缺席者的投票过程和选举过程的其他方面。

作为一个专门用于选举的网站,在联邦选举年份,VOTE411.org 的访问量会在几天内激增。而在其余时间,VOTE411.org 的流量相对较少。

早期,该网站需要大量的基础设施投资和较高的成本才可以确保网站能够应对流量激增的情况。在计划 2012 年联邦选举时,LWVEF 希望迁移至一个经济高效、可靠、可扩展且灵活的托管解决方案,以应对流量波动。该托管解决方案需要能够在选举日为 50 万位唯一身份访客提供服务,并在投票结束后进行缩减。“选择迁移至云非常明智。”LWVEF 高级总监 Jeanette Senecal 说道,“如果在其他托管平台上构建这项服务,成本是采用云的三倍或四倍。”

从成本、支持选项、易于扩展性和可靠性方面对各个提案进行评估后,LWVEF 决定采用 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“AWS 就是我们所需要的,即一个可无缝扩展的托管解决方案。”

LWVEF 使用 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 构建了两个数据库。LWVEF 团队使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来存储 1200 份由当地联盟编写并通过 VOTE411.org 分享的选民指南和其他文献。使用 Amazon S3 来存储文件使该团队可以通过 Drupal 界面上传数据,同时确保文件对于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例仍然可用。New Mill Media 在适用于 PHP 的 AWS Elastic Beanstalk 上部署了 Web 应用程序,并使用 Amazon EC2 根据需求进行扩展。

Leage of Women Voters Architecture Diagram

图 1.AWS 上的 LWVEF 网站架构

New Mill Media 使用 Drupal 构建了 Web 应用程序,并将其部署在运行 Apache 和 PHP 的 Linux 服务器上。其数据库为在 Amazon RDS 上实施的 MySQL。LWVEF 使用 Amazon CloudWatch 来监控使用量。在使用量达到高峰时,LWVEF 团队使用 Apache JMeter 来跟踪可用性和加载时间。

2012 年 8 月,VOTE411.org 在 AWS 上重新启动。在 9 月和 10 月,该网站每天有 50000 个唯一身份访客。在选举前一天,访客数量增加到 300000 人。在选举当天,访客数量增加到 500000 人。数据最密集的页面会在 400ms 内加载完毕。其他页面会在 100ms 内加载完毕。在使用量达到高峰时,AWS 可将服务器实例的数量从 8 月份的 3 个扩展到选举当天的 60 个,从而确保网站的持续可用性。

“我们借助 AWS 创建了在传统环境中不可能实现的解决方案。”Senecal 说道,“我们可以根据需求创建实例来进行数据清理和导入。如果使用其他托管解决方案,我们不可能这么快速地创建解决方案。”

借助 AWS,LWVEF 可以快速启动并运行网站,从而无需在开始开发前调试一定数量的服务器。“由于我们可以根据需求进行扩展或缩减,因此我们的开发人员不必提前预测他们需要的服务器数量。”Senecal 说道,“如果使用其他环境,我们的开发时间会增加几个星期。”

AWS 对 LWVEF 的性能优化至关重要。“我们使用 Amazon EC2 实例来执行负载测试。”Senecal 说道,“这使我们可以很容易地测试网站、调整设置并再次进行测试。如果在网站启动后对网站做出更改,那么需要再次进行负载测试。在 AWS Elastic Beanstalk 中,我们可以轻松地创建与实时环境匹配的新环境。”

该团队正在探索如何使用 AWS 来托管其他 LWV 网站。

要了解有关使用 AWS 云进行 Web 托管的更多信息,请访问 http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/

Since 1920, the nonpartisan political organization League of Women Voters (LWV) has sought to improve US systems of government and impact public policies through education and advocacy. The LWV has approximately 30 full-time employees and more than 750 volunteer-led affiliates across the country. The LWV Education Fund (LWVEF) runs the website VOTE411.org, which provides nonpartisan election information to the public. The site covers topics including polling places, election dates and registration deadlines, information about candidates and ballot measures, the absentee ballot process, and other aspects of the election process.

As a website devoted to elections, VOTE411.org experiences surges in volume over several days during federal election years. The rest of the time, VOTE411.org has a relatively low volume of traffic.

Earlier incarnations of the site required significant investments in infrastructure, at high cost, that enabled the site to deal with the surges in traffic. When planning for the 2012 federal elections, LWVEF wanted to move to a hosting solution that would be cost-effective, reliable, and scalable, with the flexibility to support fluctuations in traffic. The hosting solution needed to be able to serve as many as half a million unique visitors on Election Day, and then scale down after the polls closed. “The choice to move to the cloud was clear,” says Jeanette Senecal, Senior Director, LWVEF. “If we’d had to build this service on another hosting platform, it would have cost us three or four times as much.”

After evaluating the proposals on cost, support options, ease of scalability, and reliability, LWVEF decided on Amazon Web Services (AWS). “AWS was exactly what we needed: a hosting solution that scaled seamlessly,” Senecal says.

LWVEF built two databases using Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS). The team uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store the 1200 voter guides and other literature produced by local Leagues and shared through VOTE411.org. Using Amazon S3 to store the files allowed the team to upload data through the Drupal interface while ensuring that the files are still available to new Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. New Mill Media deployed the web application on AWS Elastic Beanstalk for PHP and uses Amazon EC2 to scale with demand.

league-of-women-voters-arch-diagram

Figure 1. LWVEF Website Architecture on AWS

New Mill Media built the web application with Drupal, deploying it on Linux servers running Apache and PHP. Their database was MySQL, implemented on Amazon RDS. LWVEF uses Amazon CloudWatch to monitor usage. During periods of peak usage, the LWVEF team tracked availability and load time using Apache JMeter.

VOTE411.org was re-launched on AWS in August 2012. In September and October, the site saw 50,000 unique visitors per day, rising to 300,000 visitors the day before the election and 500,000 visitors the day of the election. The most data-intensive page loaded in under 400ms. Other pages loaded in under 100ms. AWS provided continual availability during peak usage, scaling from 3 server instances in August to 60 instances on Election Day.

“Using AWS helped us create solutions that would not have been possible in a traditional environment,” Senecal says. “We could create instances on demand to handle data clean-up and import. With a different host, we would not have been able to create solutions as quickly.”

LWVEF was able to get the site up and running quickly by using AWS, which freed the organization from commissioning a set number of servers before beginning development. “Since we could scale up or down as necessary, our developers didn’t have to predict the number of servers they required in advance,” Senecal says. “A different environment would have added several weeks to our development time.”

AWS is critical in LWVEF’s performance tuning. “We use Amazon EC2 instances to conduct our load tests,” Senecal says. “This made it very easy to test the site, adjust the settings, and test again. After the site launched, changes to the site warranted another load test. In AWS Elastic Beanstalk, it was easy to create a new environment that matched the live environment.”

The team is exploring the use of AWS for hosting other LWV websites.

For more information about using the AWS Cloud for web hosting, see http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.