Macmillan India 为印度教育市场提供出版服务已逾 120 年。该出版商的主要业务包括委托制作、编辑和印刷,以及向小学到高等院校的教育机构分配教科书和课程资料。该公司还提供基于课程的教学模块、视频剪辑和动画。Macmillan India 是私营企业 Holtzbrinck Group 的一部分,员工人数超过 500,总部位于印度北部的古尔冈。

在 2011 年,Macmillan India 组建了新的高级管理团队、改变了其业务策略,并重组了在印度以一个市场的形式开展的运营工作,而非四个独立的地理区域。此次重组提醒 Macmillan India 更新其 SAP Business Suite 企业资源规划解决方案,该公司利用此解决方案管理整个印度的教科书销售和分配。

“有效分配是我们成功的关键,”Macmillan India 金融和运营总监 Rajesh Pasari 说道,“在学生三月开学之前,我们要按时将教科书推向市场并可供预订。我们 SAP 解决方案出现任何故障都会导致任务中断,比如订单处理、运输和包裹追踪。这意味着,在上课的时候,学生可能会没有教科书。”

金奈本地数据中心的基础设施面临诸多影响系统可用性的问题:

• 服务器已经使用五年,即将达到使用寿命,而且经常发生故障。

• 存储和联网设备已达容量极限,影响了应用程序的性能。

• 虚拟私有网络定期中断,限制了对其 SAP 解决方案的远程访问。

• 实用工具不足意味着,在夏季高峰期,电力一天仅可供应九个小时。

• 道路和建筑频繁施工损坏了连接数据中心和 Macmillan India 其他办公室的专线,从而导致系统中断,影响生产率。

这些问题意味着,SAP 解决方案运行时,系统可用性只有 90% 或更低,而公司需要的是 99% 或更高的可用性。Macmillan India 认识到这种状况是不可持续下去的,并开始寻找替代的基础设施选项。

在分析了各种各样的解决方案后,MacMillan India 发现,将其基础设施迁移到外部云服务,具体而言就是 Amazon Web Services (AWS),该公司能够实现自己的目标并省去雇用内部 IT 管理员的费用和管理工作。

“我们的分析显示,通过迁移到 AWS 云,我们能够几乎消除资本成本并缩减约 30% 的运营成本,”Macmillan India 的 IT 基础设施主管 Navnit Pandita 说道,“此外,相较我们考虑的其他云提供商,AWS 提供了卓越的存储管理和快照功能。”

然后,Macmillan India 开始将其核心应用程序 (SAP 模块、Drupal 在线学习系统和客户关系管理 (CRM) 系统) 从金奈数据中心迁移到 AWS。该公司与 Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC) 合作设计出使用 AWS 的 SAP 解决方案,该解决方案不仅满足技术和成本要求,而且符合印度政府法规。

Macmillan India 和 PwC 最初将多个 SAP 模块 (包括 SAP 商业智能 (BI)、SAP 销售和分配、SAP 资料管理、SAP 财务会计和控制以及 SAP 人力资源) 迁移到 AWS 并通过一系列情景测试 SAP 性能。PwC 对相应的结果感到很满意,并在随后完成了迁移,新系统在 2013 年 5 月正式投入使用。“整个项目仅花费六个月左右的时间,甚至在临近印度学生开始上课的日期就已投入使用了,”Navnit 说道。

Macmillan India 使用 Microsoft Windows Server 2008 和 SQL Server 2008 在两个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) m2.2xlarge 实例上正式运行其 SAP 解决方案。其中一个实例运行该公司的 SAP Business Suite 企业资源规划解决方案,另一个实例则运行 SAP BI 模块。Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 为 SQL Server 数据库的文件系统和预配置 IOPS 提供块级存储。系统会为 EBS 卷拍摄每日快照并将其可靠地存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中。为了能在发生灾难后恢复信息,该公司利用多个可用区并从映像和快照启动环境。

Macmillan India 通过预置 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 私有子网来同时运行 Business Suite 和 BI 实例,从而保护其 SAP 应用程序。客户 (通常是 Macmillan 员工) 可以借助私有 IP 地址使用点到点 IPsec 来访问 SAP。还可借助公有子网中的 Amazon VPC NAT 实例,通过 FTP 和 SMTP 进行有条件的公开访问 (通常适用于外部 IT 支持人员等承包商)。图 1 展示的是使用 AWS 的 SAP 解决方案。

macmillanindia-arch-diagram

图 1。使用 AWS 的 Macmillan India 架构

Macmillan India 从 AWS 的按需付费模型受益良多,借助此模型,该公司只需按需使用为支持高峰和低谷所需的资源即可。“在 AWS 云上部署 SAP Business Suite 确实节省了我们原来估计的费用,”Navnit 说道,“我们几乎将资本支出降低了 100%。此外,我们预计,因无需购买本地设备或无需雇用内部基础设施管理员,我们的年同期运营成本有望降低 30%。

该公司预置新环境所需的时间已从 6 周减少到 30 分钟,工程师只需单击鼠标就可进行扩展和缩减。此外,Macmillan India 可以使其备份实现自动化,还可以满足恢复时间目标。“我们的硬件不稳定,电力供应不稳定,导致我们难以就数据和系统恢复制定实际可行的服务级别协议,”Navnit 解释道,“现在,感谢 AWS,如果出现问题,我们可以承诺在四小时内使系统恢复正常运转。”

此外,Macmillan India 已经能够利用稳健的安全性和数据保护控制来保护其环境。“借助 Amazon VPC,我们能够控制对我们环境的访问,”Navnit 说道,“公开访问我们的实例是不可能的,我们对传输中和静止状态的数据进行了加密。”

对于用户来说,现在使用虚拟私有网络远程连接到 SAP 应用程序既快速又可靠,这提高了他们对该服务的信心。“自从迁移到 AWS 后,我们 SAP 应用程序的可用性已经从 90% 提升到将近 100%,”Navnit 估计道。

总体而言,Macmillan India 对 AWS 基础设施的灵活性、经济性和性能非常满意。“适时性和赶上最后日期是我们业务的重要方面,”Pasari 说道,“使用 AWS,我们不仅能够在学期开始之前将教科书交到学生的手中,还能稳步开展通过 Internet 提供更多学习资源的计划。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助实现您的 SAP 解决方案及满足其他业务应用程序需求,请访问 http://aws.amazon.com/business-applications/

Macmillan India has provided publishing services to the education market in India for more than 120 years. The publisher’s primary business involves commissioning, editing and printing, and distributing textbooks and course materials to education providers from primary school to tertiary institutions. The company also offers curriculum-based instructional modules, video clips and animations. Macmillan India is part of the privately owned Holtzbrinck Group, has more than 500 employees and is headquartered in Gurgaon in northern India.

In 2011, Macmillan India installed a new senior management team, changed its business strategy and restructured operations in India as a single market instead of four separate geographic regions. The reorganization prompted Macmillan India to update its SAP Business Suite enterprise resource planning solution, which the company uses to manage the sale and distribution of textbooks across India.

“Efficient distribution is the key to our success,” says Rajesh Pasari, Finance & Operations Director for Macmillan India. “We need to have textbooks available in time to market and order before students start school in March. “Any outage of our SAP solution disrupts tasks such as order processing, couriering, and parcel tracking. This means students won’t have textbooks by the time classes start.”

The infrastructure in the on-premises data center in Chennai had several problems that affected system availability:

• The servers were five years old, nearing end of life, and breaking down frequently.

• Storage and networking equipment had reached capacity, compromising application performance.

• The virtual private network experienced regular outages, limiting remote access to its SAP solution.

• Utility shortfalls meant that electricity was only available for nine hours a day during peak periods in summer.

• Construction work on roads and buildings frequently damaged the leased line that connected the data center with Macmillan India’s other offices, causing system outages and affecting productivity.

These issues meant that the SAP solution operated with 90 percent or less system availability, when the company needed 99 percent or more availability. Macmillan India realized this situation was unsustainable and started looking for alternative infrastructure options.

After analyzing various solutions, MacMillan India found that migrating its infrastructure to an external cloud service, and specifically to Amazon Web Services (AWS), would enable the company to achieve its objectives and avoid the expense and management load of employing in-house IT administrators.

“Our analysis revealed we could almost eliminate our capital costs and cut our operating costs about 30 percent by moving to the AWS Cloud,” says Navnit Pandita, IT Infrastructure Head for Macmillan India. “Also, compared to the other cloud providers we reviewed, AWS offered superior storage management and snapshotting capabilities.”

Macmillan India then set about moving its core applications—the SAP modules, a Drupal online learning system, and a customer relationship management (CRM) system—from the Chennai data center to AWS. The company engaged Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC) to design an SAP solution on AWS that would meet technical and cost requirements and comply with Indian government regulations.

Macmillan India and PwC initially moved several SAP modules—including SAP Business Intelligence (BI), SAP Sales and Distribution, SAP Materials Management, SAP Financial Accounting and Controlling and SAP Human Resources—to AWS and tested SAP performance under a range of scenarios. Once satisfied with the outcome, PwC completed the migration and the new system went live in production on May 2013. “Overall the project only took about six months, even working around the start dates of courses in India,” says Navnit.

Macmillan India runs its SAP solution in production using Microsoft Windows Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 on two Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) m2.2xlarge instances. One instance runs the company’s SAP Business Suite enterprise resource planning solution while the other instance operates the SAP BI module. Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) provides block-level storage for file systems and provisioned IOPS for the SQL Server database. Daily snapshots are taken for the EBS volumes and stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) reliably. To recover information in the event of a disaster, the company leverages multiple Availability Zones and launches environments from images and snapshots.

Macmillan India secures its SAP applications by provisioning an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) private subnet to run both Business Suite and BI instances. Clients, typically Macmillan employees, can use site-to-site IPsec to access SAP using private IP addresses. Conditional public access through FTP and SMTP, (generally available to contractors such as external IT support staff), is provided over an Amazon VPC NAT instance in a public subnet. Figure 1 demonstrates the SAP solution on AWS.

macmillanindia-arch-diagram

Figure 1. Macmillan India Architecture on AWS

Macmillan India benefits from the AWS pay-as-you-go model, which allows the company to consume only the resources needed to support peaks and declines in demand. “Deploying SAP Business Suite on the AWS Cloud, confirmed our original estimate of savings,” says Navnit. “We have lowered our capital expenditure by nearly 100 percent. Furthermore, we expect to realize reductions in operating costs of about 30 percent year over year by not having to purchase on-premises equipment or employ in-house infrastructure administrators.”

The company has reduced the time needed to provision a new environment from six weeks to 30 minutes, which engineers can scale up and down at the click of a mouse. Furthermore, Macmillan India can automate its backups and meet recovery time objectives. “Our unstable hardware and unreliable electricity supplies made it difficult for us to set realistic service level agreements around data and system recovery,” explains Navnit. “Now, thanks to AWS, we can commit to bringing systems back online within four hours if there is a problem.”

Additionally, Macmillan India has been able to take advantage of robust security and data protection controls to protect its environment. “Amazon VPC gives us control over access to our environment,” says Navnit. “There is no public access to our instances and we have encrypted our data in transit and at rest.”

For users, connecting remotely to SAP applications using the virtual private network is now fast and reliable, improving their confidence in the service. “Availability for our SAP applications has improved from 90 percent to almost 100 percent since moving to AWS,” estimates Navnit

Overall, Macmillan India is extremely pleased with the flexibility, cost-effectiveness, and performance of the AWS infrastructure. “Timeliness and meeting deadlines is an essential element of our business,” says Pasari. “Using AWS has enabled us to get our textbooks into the hands of students before the start of term and allowed us to work on our plans for delivering more learning resources over the internet.”

To learn more about how AWS can help with your SAP solutions and other business application needs, visit http://aws.amazon.com/business-applications/.