Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_Top
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_top
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_top
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_Top

MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM) 希望通过一种新的方式使用数据收集和分析工具来捕获和分析每场比赛。它的平台必须能够从北美各个棒球场快速提取数据,为实时分析提供充足的计算能力,数秒内生成结果,同时可以在 休赛期关闭。  它借助 AWS 支持其革命性的球员跟踪系统,该系统通过揭示全新的有关比赛的细微差异和运动员能力的详细信息––可以让球迷、广播员和球队更激动的信息,从而转变了比赛现状。

mlbam-innovation-thumb

对于棒球球迷来说,棒球是一项传奇性运动,拥有 150 年的历史。2014 年世界大赛的最后一场比赛中,第三局获胜者将赢得比赛,此时旧金山巨人队和堪萨斯城皇家队二比二平。皇家队的 Eric Hosmer 大力击球,使球飞向中外场。如果球离开内场,则此击打应该可以一举制胜。

然而巨人队二垒手 Joe Panik 一个精彩的飞扑守住了这个球,从而导致两人出局,包括 Hosmer,他在尝试飞扑击打 Panik 扔出的球后在一垒出局。皇家队一次可能的反击失败了,巨人队通过一垒安打赢得了世界大赛。

Panik 的比赛在社交媒体、酒吧及播音室里引发了许多讨论。但是,有关该比赛更详细的信息则位于云中托管的一个系统里,即全新的名为球员跟踪系统的大数据解决方案,该解决方案是 MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM) 使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 创建的。

该解决方案捕获和分析比赛中每个动作的细微复杂性,其显示 Hosmer 本可以通过跑到垒上安全地进入一垒,而不是飞扑。在 2015 赛季的开赛日,开始在所有的 30 个 MLB 棒球场全面部署球员跟踪系统,该系统正在引发新的观赛热情,在动作完成后的几秒内传输数据,包括以品牌名称“Statcast”发送到广播公司的信息。

MLBAM 执行副总裁兼首席技术官 Joe Inzerillo 表示,AWS 是让 Statcast 成为现实的关键。他说:

“消费者的行为正在发生改变,它即将上线,可以在移动设备上使用,这种技术对于比赛的发展至关重要。”“我们所从事的最令人兴奋的事情之一是由 AWS 为 Statcast 提供支持。有史以来,我们第一次测量了我们之前无法测量的东西。”

  • 使用的 AWS 服务

  • AWS 的优势

    • AWS 可以处理不断变动的全国赛程表的数据流
    • 按赛季提取、分析和存储 17+ PB 的数据
    • MLBAM 可以在休息日和 休赛期进行缩减
    • 为球迷、广播员和俱乐部提供分析比赛和球员的新方式
    • 数据可用于广播、MLB 应用



  • 关于 MLBAM

    MLBAM 是美国职棒大联盟旗下的数字服务公司。该公司通过 MLB.com 运营大联盟的官方网站,以及 30 个美国职棒大联盟俱乐部网站,为订阅者提供新闻、积分榜、统计信息和赛程表,以及实时音频和视频广播。MLBAM 也拥有和运营 MLB Radio 和 BaseballChannel.TV,经营或拥有大量的其他网站,如美国职棒小联盟、YES Network、SportsNet New York 和 World Championship Sports Network。


Statcast 数据叠加在 Panik-Hosmer 比赛的视频上

球员跟踪系统 (Statcast) 叠加在 Panik-Hosmer 比赛的 视频 上右侧的红色部分显示 Hosmer 如果保持他的速度,而不是飞扑接球,他本可以是安全的,只差大约一英尺的距离。

数据在棒球中扮演了重要角色,通过丰富的统计信息将各个赛季的比赛进行分类。但是,该信息属于历史信息,并且是静态的。MLBAM 想通过实时采集和分析数据以显示比赛的更多细节来改变其统计方法。

MLBAM 考虑采用本地 IT 解决方案, 但最终被否决了。“我们期望在所有体育场运用 计算 能力,”MLBAM 的多媒体技术开发副总裁 Dirk Van Dall 这样说到。“但是,从如此多的位置有效分发数据需要许多时间,同时需要投资昂贵的 IT 资源,而这些资源有大半年的时间是处于闲置状态的。”

AWS 云提供了理想的替代方案,可以为一天内进行的 15 场比赛提供支持,有些天只有一场或两场比赛。

Van Dall 表示,“AWS 可以覆盖全国,在比赛场地和云之间发送数据的往返时间也非常合理,同时提供我们用于构建“Statcast”的多个服务。“它提供了很好的扩展性,使我们在最需要它的时候有大量的资源,一天就可以完成一个、两个或更多的比赛,然后在休赛期关闭 资源。”

此工作流从体育场的两个数据采集系统开始,以提供协调信息。本垒板后面的多普勒雷达系统每秒对棒球位置进行 2,000 次取样。两个立体成像设备通常位于三垒线上方,每秒对球员在赛场上的位置进行 30 次取样。通过比赛结束后工作人员在现场输入的每场比赛的简要书面说明增加这些系统的数据。

比赛结束后的 10 到 15 秒,在体育场通过私有网络传输数据,进行汇总,然后使用 AWS Direct Connect 发送到 AWS 云,其提供专用的网络连接以进行快速的数据传输。MLBAM 使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2),解决方案背后的计算能力。每场比赛的协调数据存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中,其将扩展以容纳通过解决方案生成的海量信息。MLBAM 预计平均每场比赛将生成 7 TB 的数据。一个赛季有 2,430 场比赛,每个赛季大约有 17 PB 的数据。”

MLBAM 使用 Amazon ElastiCache 在内存缓存中临时存储比赛信息,而不是在硬盘上进行存储,从而可以更快的检索数据以执行分析任务。Amazon DynamoDB 为查询提供支持,同时支持所需的快速数据检索,而 Amazon CloudFront 则交付可扩展的解决方案以提供 API。

AWS Lambda 是一项无服务器计算服务,通过运行代码响应事件,支持在解决方案的指标引擎中对数据源进行分析。“Lambda 确实十分智能。Van Dall 表示,我们通过它提取原始数据,进行一些清理和错误检测,然后创建可以更好地洞察比赛的指标––扔球、球员的加速率、最高的跑步速度。”“我们正在访问真正的 大数据, 且还没有触及问题的表面。”

收到数据后,此分析只需几毫秒即可完成,这是广播员在比赛结束后 12 秒内收到原始指标和视频的关键。

MLBAM_arch-diagram
MLBAM_arch-diagram

AWS 提供支持的 Statcast 架构。单击图像可放大。

速度、可扩展性以及通过不同方式捕获、分析和提供大量数据的能力是 MLBAM 努力创新的核心,旨在让热爱比赛的每个人都受益,特别是那些现在具有可靠指标,可以就赛事进行讨论的球迷,例如,谁的跑垒效率最高或谁接平直球反应最快。

Inzerillo 表示“我们正在为球迷提供实实在在的信息,支持他们针对比赛进行讨论,这是比赛的重要部分”。

广播员也拥有新的信息用于直播分析,进一步增强观看者互动,而俱乐部则拥有新的数据和工具来分析和指导球员。

Van Dall 表示,“我们相信由 AWS 提供支持的球员跟踪系统可为应用和设备提供更令人激动的新信息,将吸引更年轻的球迷,此类球迷习惯于通过视频观看比赛,对观看体验有着诸多期待”。“它让棒球运动更加激动人心。”

big-data-image

如需了解有关 AWS 如何帮助您捕获和分析大数据,请访问我们的大数据详细信息页面

mlbam-big-data-thumb

Joe Inzerillo 介绍 AWS 如何支持 MLBAM 进行创新。

mblam-statcast-thumb

Joe Inzerillo 介绍 AWS 如何帮助 MLBAM 让产品快速上市。


Facebook-Social-Sharing-Button_v5
Twitter-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
GooglePlus-Social-Sharing-Button_v4
LinkedIn-Social-Sharing-Button_v4

mlb_Customer-Reference_Logo

MLB Advanced Media Case Study

2015

MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM) wanted a new way to capture and analyze every play using data-collection and analysis tools. It needed a platform that could quickly ingest data from ballparks across North America, provide enough compute power for real-time analytics, produce results in seconds, and then be shut down during the off season.  It turned to AWS to power its revolutionary Player Tracking System, which is transforming the sport by revealing new, richly detailed information about the nuances and athleticism of the game—information that’s generating new levels of excitement among fans, broadcasters, and teams.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

We believe the Player Tracking System powered by AWS will deliver new and more exciting information to apps and devices, and that will appeal to a younger generation of fans, who are used to video games and who have a lot of expectations about the viewing experience. It delivers a new level of excitement to baseball.

Van Dall
Vice President, MLBAM

It was a legend-making play for fans of baseball—a sport built on legends going back 150 years. In the third inning of the winner-takes-all Game Seven of the 2014 World Series, the San Francisco Giants and Kansas City Royals were tied at two. The Royals’ Eric Hosmer hit the ball hard, driving it toward centerfield. If the ball cleared the infield, the hit could have sparked a rally.

But Giants second baseman Joe Panik made an amazing dive to snatch the ball, resulting in two outs—including Hosmer, who was thrown out at first base after a diving attempt to beat Panik’s throw. A possible Royals rally fizzled, and the Giants went on to win the game—and the World Series—by a single run.

Panik’s play fueled plenty of talk on social media and in bars and broadcast booths. But more details about the play emerged from a system hosted in the cloud—a new big-data solution called the Player Tracking System, which MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM) created using Amazon Web Services (AWS).

The solution, which revealed Hosmer could have made it safely to first base by running through the base instead of diving, captures and analyzes the subtle complexities of every play in games. Launched into full production at all 30 MLB ballparks for Opening Day of the 2015 season, the Player Tracking System is generating new excitement with data delivered within seconds after the action occurs, including information sent to broadcast companies under the brand name “Statcast.”

Joe Inzerillo, executive vice president and chief technology officer of MLBAM, says AWS was key to making Statcast a reality.

“Consumer behavior is changing. It’s going online, it’s going mobile, and this kind of technology is crucial for the game to evolve,” he says. “One of the most exciting things we’ve worked on is Statcast powered by AWS. For the first time, we can measure things we’ve never been able to measure before.”

Revealing Greater Subtleties of the Sport

Data plays a huge role in baseball, with fat volumes of statistics cataloging the game’s arc over the seasons. This information, however, is historical and static. MLBAM wanted to change its approach to statistics by capturing and analyzing data in real time to reveal greater subtleties about the sport.

MLBAM considered an on-premises IT solution, but ultimately ruled it out. “We looked at using compute capabilities in all the stadiums,” says Dirk Van Dall, MLBAM’s vice president for multimedia technology development. “But distributing the data efficiently and from so many locations would have involved a lot of time and investment in expensive IT resources that would sit idle for about half the year.”

The AWS cloud offered an ideal alternative that could support as many as 15 games on a single day—and some days with just one or two.

“AWS provides nationwide coverage for reasonable round-trip times for sending data between the game sites and the cloud, and multiple services that we used for building Statcast,” Van Dall says. “It provides great scalability, so we can burst when we need it the most, manage just one, two, or many games on a single day, and then shut down the resources during the off season.”

The workflow begins with two data-acquisition systems at the stadiums that provide coordinate information. A Doppler radar system sits behind home plate, sampling the ball position 2,000 times a second. Two stereoscopic imaging devices, usually positioned above the third-base line, sample the positions of players on the field 30 times a second. Data from these systems is augmented by brief written descriptions of each play entered by personnel on the field after the action is over.

Ten to 15 seconds after a play is completed, the data is transmitted over private networks at the stadiums, aggregated, and then sent to the AWS cloud using AWS Direct Connect, which provides a dedicated network connection for rapid data delivery. MLBAM uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) for the compute power behind the solution. The coordinate data from each play is stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), which will expand to hold the vast amount of information generated through the solution. MLBAM anticipates that an average of 7 TB of data will be generated per game. With 2,430 games in a season, that’s about 17 petabytes of data each season.”

MLBAM uses Amazon ElastiCache to temporarily store game information in memory caches instead of on hard drives, which enables fast retrieval of the data for analysis tasks. Amazon DynamoDB powers queries and supports the fast data retrieval required, while Amazon CloudFront delivers a scalable solution to serve up the APIs.

AWS Lambda, a serverless computing service that runs code in response to events, supports analysis of data feeds in the solution’s metrics engine. “Lambda is really clever. It’s where we take the raw data, do some cleaning up and error detection, then create the metrics that bring more insights into plays—the throws, the player’s acceleration rate, the top running speeds,” Van Dall says. “We’re accessing a truly big data mine, and have yet to scratch the surface."

The analysis happens within milliseconds after the data is received, a key for broadcasters to take delivery of the raw metrics and video within 12 seconds after a play is complete.

MLBAM Builds New Player Tracking System on AWS Using Power of Big Data Analytics

The Statcast Architecture Powered by AWS

MLBAM_arch-diagram

Delivering a New Level of Excitement

Speed, scalability, and the ability to capture, analyze, and deliver large quantities of data in different ways are central to MLBAM’s efforts to innovate for the benefit of everyone who loves the game, especially fans who now have reliable metrics for those arguments about who, for example, runs the bases most efficiently or has the fastest reaction times to fielding line drives.

“We’re giving fans empirical information to power that conversation, which is a huge part of what sports is all about,” says Inzerillo.

Broadcasters also have new information to use for on-air analysis, further enhancing viewer engagement, while clubs have new data and tools to analyze and coach players.

“We believe the Player Tracking System powered by AWS will deliver new and more exciting information to apps and devices, and that will appeal to a younger generation of fans, who are used to video games and who have a lot of expectations about the viewing experience,” Van Dall says. “It delivers a new level of excitement to baseball.”


About MLB Advanced Media

MLBAM is the digital services division of Major League Baseball. The company operates the official website for the league and the 30 Major League Baseball club websites via MLB.com, which offers news, standings, statistics, and schedules, as well as live audio and video broadcasts for subscribers. MLBAM also owns and operates MLB Radio and BaseballChannel.TV, and either runs or owns numerous other websites such as Minor League Baseball, YES Network, SportsNet New York, and the World Championship Sports Network.

Benefits of AWS

  • AWS can handle data streams from fluctuating game schedules across the country
  • Can ingest, analyze and store 17+ petabytes of data per season
  • MLBAM can scale down during off days and in the off season
  • Delivers new ways fans, broadcasters, and clubs can analyze plays and players
  • Data can be used for broadcasts, MLB apps

AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront is a fast content delivery network (CDN) service that securely delivers data, videos, applications, and APIs to customers globally with low latency, high transfer speeds, all within a developer-friendly environment.

Learn more »

AWS Direct Connect

AWS Direct Connect is a cloud service solution that makes it easy to establish a dedicated network connection from your premises to AWS.

Learn more »

Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB is a key-value and document database that delivers single-digit millisecond performance at any scale.

Learn more »

AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda lets you run code without provisioning or managing servers. You pay only for the compute time you consume - there is no charge when your code is not running.

Learn more »

Amazon ElastiCache

Amazon ElastiCache offers fully managed Redis and Memcached. Seamlessly deploy, run, and scale popular open source compatible in-memory data stores.

Learn more »

Amazon Kinesis

Amazon Kinesis makes it easy to collect, process, and analyze real-time, streaming data so you can get timely insights and react quickly to new information.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.