根据我们的计算,在 AWS 上运行我们的 SSV 数据仓库的总体拥有成本是使用传统技术托管和授权数据仓库的总体拥有成本的三分之一。
Glen Yarwood IT 运营总监

国民托管组织是英国最大的会员制组织,其会员人数超过 400 万,每年去往其景点的游客超过 2000 万人。其核心宗旨是“永远为大家保护历史遗迹和自然环境”,自 1895 年成立以来,该组织的确在践行这一宗旨,它一直专注于保护古宅、景观和花园。该托管协会依靠其约 67000 名志愿者和多达 15000 名员工 (具体取决于年份) 组成的关系网,来确保其广泛运营能够顺利运行,并为其会员和游客提供绝佳的英国游玩体验。

国民托管组织希望创建数据仓库 (又称为单一支持者视图 [SSV]),以保存来自多个运营系统的数据,包括 CRM、事件预订和在线商店的数据。其目的是什么?该组织旨在获得其会员和其他支持者的全方位视图,包括他们与该组织的不同分支互动的时间和地点。在市场潜力方面,此类有关支持者与国民托管组织的互动情况的洞察信息具有革命性意义,这最终将帮助这家英国最知名的慈善机构之一继续致力于保护国家遗产。

“我们希望更好地了解我们的会员和游客,比如他们的居住地、参观模式和使用国民托管组织的方式。”国民托管组织 IT 运营总监 Glen Yarwood 说道,“我们已拥有所有这些信息,但是这些信息分散在不同的系统中。如果我们可以访问所有这些数据,就能够更有效地定位促销活动和增强营销活动的影响。”

国民托管组织面临着两个挑战。首先,它需要找到正确的 IT 解决方案以启动并运行 SSV。其次,它必须确保该技术将随着组织的更大战略性举措的实施而发展,并能够以经济高效的方式来实现这一点,同时不会使业务发生中断。

“很显然,创建 SSV 的最佳方式是将国民托管组织的 IT 运营迁移到云中。”托管服务提供商 Sirocco Systems 的主管 Martin Brambley 说道。国民托管组织在其几个主要的 IT 项目上与该提供商有过合作。“我熟悉 AWS 技术且了解国民托管组织的需求。具体来说,Amazon Redshift 似乎是最合适的产品,因为它能够提供国民托管组织中所有客户渠道的全方位视图。”

Yarwood 继续说道:“在我们启动该项目时,Amazon Redshift 才刚刚发布。很显然,它是一种颠覆性技术,我们正需要使用这种技术来帮助我们实现 SSV 愿景。”

除使用 Amazon Redshift 充当数据仓库外,Sirocco Systems 使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 和 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 构建了一个环境。Brambley 说:“我们托管了多个 EC2 Linux 服务器,并在其上运行了 Oracle 数据集成器 (ODI)。这是提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 流程的主要工具,而且我们使用的任何系统都将与其无缝交互操作,这一点至关重要。”

国民托管组织会将来自其不同源系统的数据迁移到 Amazon EC2 中并进行加密,然后再加载到 Amazon S3 中,并从中将数据迁移至 Amazon Redshift,之后便会通过 ODI 触发相关流程,以将数据合并到一个视图中。

要处理大量的会员和支持者数据意味着,安全性是国民托管组织的一项重要要求。“我们的数据托管在欧洲,从安全性角度来讲,这对我们至关重要。借助 AWS,我们完全控制了数据的存储位置和存储方式及其访问者。这一控制以及广泛的加密意味着我们会感到安全。我们知道国民托管组织的数据已受到保护。”Brambley 说道。

下图展示了国民托管组织的数据仓库和分析架构:

national-trust-data-arch-diag

SSV 是一款集中化工具,能够帮助国民托管组织更好地了解其支持者的动态。“我们一直希望能够作为一家组织发展并扩展我们的活动,但是随着我们大多数举措的实施,我们必须密切关注成本。”Yarwood 说道,“在项目开始时,我们与 Sirocco Systems 进行了探讨,根据我们的计算,在 AWS 上运行我们的 SSV 数据仓库的总体拥有成本是使用传统技术托管和授权数据仓库的总体拥有成本的三分之一。本质上,正是该解决方案的经济实惠性,尤其是 Amazon Redshift,帮助我们实现了 SSV 愿景。”

Brambley 继续道:“如果使用传统的设置,国民托管组织需要为该项目的启动支付巨额资本支出。但借助 AWS,该组织不仅降低了总体拥有成本 (TCO),而且不需要巨额的前期投资。”

此外,借助该系统可扩展的巨大容量,国民托管组织知道其当前的 3TB 数据可轻松增加一倍或两倍,而成本并不会相应地增加。“在 AWS 上构建该系统的优势是,如果国民托管组织决定要引入两倍的数据量,则价格仅会提高 20%。但是,如果我们使用传统技术构建该系统,我们将需要更新整个硬件,且价格可能至少增加一倍。”Brambley 说道,

“我们只是刚开始使用更大的 SSV,但借助 AWS,我们可以真正地了解支持者,而且有史以来第一次可以了解到哪些会员也向我们预订了假期或在使用我们的在线商店。这对我们来说是一种变革。随着我们开始真正且更好地了解支持者,我们可以更加有效地预测他们的需求。”Yarwood 说道,“借助 Redshift 提供的功能,我们可以针对各个景点细化分析,以便他们可以使用视图推动本地营销活动,从而增加游客数量。AWS 技术不仅改变了我们在团队级别所做的事项,并且在整体上给我们一种真正的启示。”

在接下来的其中一个项目中,国民托管组织希望将 SSV 链接到核心营销工具。Yarwood 说道:“借助完善的数据一致性和可见性,我们将能够推动具有高度针对性的市场营销活动,并为支持者提供更加丰富的体验,以激发忠诚度和扩展国民托管组织的工作。”

sirocco-systems-logo

AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 的标准合作伙伴。Sirocco Systems 的总部位于英国,可以设计、构建和管理企业信息系统。

要详细了解 Sirocco Systems 如何帮助贵公司在 AWS 云上运行,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 Sirocco Systems 清单

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足数据仓库需求,请访问 Amazon Redshift 详细信息页面

We calculated that running our SSV data warehouse on AWS would be about a third of the TCO of hosting and licensing the data warehouse on traditional technologies.
Glen Yarwood IT Operations Director

With more than 4 million members and more than 20 million visitors to its properties each year, the National Trust is the largest membership organization in the United Kingdom. Its core purpose is to “protect historic places and spaces—forever, for everyone,” and since its establishment in 1895, it has done just that, focusing on the preservation of historic houses, landscapes, and gardens. The Trust relies on its network of about 67,000 volunteers and up to 15,000 employees, depending on the time of year, to keep its extensive operations running smoothly and to give its members and visitors excellent experiences across the UK.

The National Trust was looking to create a data warehouse—referred to as the single supporter view (SSV)—that would hold data from multiple operational systems, including those for CRM, events booking, and the online shop. The aim? A 360-degree view of members and other supporters, including when and where they interact with the different arms of the organization. This insight into supporter interaction with the Trust would be revolutionary in terms of its marketing potential, ultimately helping one of the UK’s best-known charities to continue its work protecting the country’s heritage.

“We wanted to know our members and visitors better—where they’re based, what their visiting patterns are, how they use the Trust,” says Glen Yarwood, IT operations director at the National Trust. “We had all this information, but it was scattered across different systems. If we could make all this data accessible, we’d be able to target promotions more effectively and increase the impact of our marketing campaigns.”

The challenge for the Trust was twofold. First, it needed to find the right IT solution to get the SSV up and running. And second, it had to ensure that the technology would evolve along with the organization’s larger strategic initiatives, and do so cost-effectively and without disruption to the business.

“It was clear that the best way to achieve the SSV was to take the Trust’s IT operations to the cloud,” says Martin Brambley, director of managed service provider Sirocco Systems, which has been working with the Trust on several of its key IT programs. “I was familiar with AWS technologies as well as what the National Trust needed. Specifically, Amazon Redshift looked to be the right product to enable this 360-degree view of all customer channels across the Trust.”

Yarwood continues, “When we started the project, Amazon Redshift had only recently been released. It was clear that it was a disruptive technology, which is exactly what we wanted to help us realize our SSV vision.”

In addition to Amazon Redshift, which acts as the data warehouse, Sirocco Systems built an environment using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). Brambley says, “We host several EC2 Linux servers on which we run Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). This is a key tool for extract, transform, and load (ETL) processes, and it was vital that any system we used would interoperate with it seamlessly.”

The data from the Trust’s disparate source systems is brought into Amazon EC2, encrypted, and then loaded in Amazon S3, from where it moves into Amazon Redshift. After this, processes are triggered from ODI that merge the data into a single view.

Dealing with vast amounts of membership and supporter data meant that security was an important requirement for the Trust. “Our data is hosted in Europe, which is crucial for us from a security perspective. With AWS, we have complete control over where and how data is stored, and who has access to it. This control, along with the extensive encryption, means we feel safe. We know the Trust’s data is protected,” says Brambley.

The following figure illustrates the National Trust data warehouse and analytics architecture:

national-trust-data-arch-diag

The SSV is a central tool in helping the Trust get a better understanding of what its supporters are doing. “We’re always looking to grow as an organization and expand our activities, but as with most of our initiatives, we have to keep a close eye on costs,” says Yarwood. “When we sat down with Sirocco Systems at the start of the project, we calculated that running our SSV data warehouse on AWS would be about a third of the TCO of hosting and licensing the data warehouse on traditional technologies. Essentially, it was the affordability of the solution, especially Amazon Redshift, which has enabled our SSV vision.”

Brambley continues, “With a traditional setup, the Trust would have been looking at huge capex just to get the project going. But with AWS, not only was overall total cost of ownership (TCO) reduced, but there was also no huge upfront investment.”

And, with the system’s big capacity to scale, the Trust knows its current 3TB of data can easily be doubled or tripled without a corresponding increase in costs. “The benefit of building this system on AWS is that if the Trust decides it wants to bring in twice the amount of data, there will only be a 20 percent increase in price. However, if we built it using traditional technologies, we’d be looking at a whole hardware refresh, potentially doubling the price, if not more,” says Brambley.

"We’re only at the start of the larger SSV journey, but with AWS we’re getting real insight into our supporters and for the first time can see which of our members also book holidays with us or use our online shop. This is transformational for us. As we start to truly understand our supporters better, we can more effectively anticipate their needs,” says Yarwood. “With the functionality that Redshift has given us, we can break down our analysis to individual properties, so they can drive local marketing campaigns with a view to increasing visitor numbers. AWS technology isn’t just changing what we do at a group level—it has been a real revelation for us across the board.”

One of the next projects that the National Trust is looking at is linking the SSV to core marketing tools. Yarwood says, “With complete consistency and visibility of data, we’ll be able to drive highly tailored marketing and give supporters even richer experiences, inspiring loyalty and extending the work of the Trust.”

sirocco-systems-logo

A Standard Partner of the AWS Partner Network (APN). UK-based Sirocco Systems designs, builds, and manages enterprise information systems.

For more information about how Sirocco Systems can help your company run on the AWS Cloud, see Sirocco Systems' listing in the AWS Partner Directory.

To learn more about how AWS can help with your data warehouse needs, visit our Amazon Redshift details page.