它不仅仅是一种按小时计费的基础设施,还是一种真正适合我们新的持续交付方法的全新工作方式。 
Erik van Eekelen 首席信息官

澳大利亚公开大学 (OUA) 为澳大利亚和其他国家/地区的学生提供远程教育和在线课程。OUA 成立于 1993 年,由七所澳大利亚大学组建和运营,拥有 300 名员工,分布在墨尔本和阿德莱德的各个办事处。在 2012 年年底,OUA 决定开发 Open2Study,一个用于在线学习的大型开放式在线课程网站。Open2Study 目前可支持全球 500000 名学生通过 Web 从一系列免费大学课程中完成为期四周的模块。自 2013 年起,OUA 已从大学服务聚合商发展成为学生和商业人士直接提供教育服务的提供商,其中包括面向公司的合规性培训。

OUA 最初在一个托管数据中心内运行其网站和后端系统,用于处理会计事务和学生管理等任务。为运行这些系统,该大学在专用服务器、存储、网络设备和相关基础设施上投入了大量资金。但是,在 2012 年,OUA 发现其基础设施的扩展能力不足,无法在不大量增加投资的情况下支持其业务的计划内增长和多样化发展。IT 团队成员把大量时间花在了日常维护任务上,而没有花在可给大学带来价值的项目上。

此外,基础设施还缺乏弹性,无法支持澳大利亚高等教育机构在四个入学注册期结束时出现的需求峰值。在传统的复杂环境中创建测试和开发环境可能需要长达三个月的时间。最后,也是最重要的,基础设施无法充分支持 OUA 首席信息官 Erik van Eekelen 打算引入的“持续交付”软件发布方法。“我们在许多业务线上同时开展了不同的项目。由于我负责业务转型、战略性项目和 IT 事务,我开始改变软件发布方法,将三个月的软件发布周期改为持续交付,通过此方法,我们可以按天交付变更。我的团队还希望整合开发人员将变更部署到生产时所采用的多种方法,因为这限制了我们的能力,导致我们无法保证更新和应用程序的一致性、质量和上市速度。”van Eekelen 说。 

OUA 于 2012 年年底首次针对其 Open2Study Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) 平台评估了 Amazon Web Services (AWS),并迅速确定由 AWS 担任其云服务提供商。OUA 的 IT 团队曾在之前的职务中使用过 AWS,具备相关经验,而且这家教育服务提供商无需签订任何最短期合约或长期合同即可在 AWS 中运行 Open2Study。此外,AWS 增设了亚太地区 (悉尼) 区域,如此一来,OUA 可以在本地保留澳大利亚学生信息,还可根据需要访问本地 AWS 支持资源。OUA 还审查了 AWS 采取的安全性措施,相信学生信息会得到充分的保护。这家教育服务提供商于 2013 年 3 月在 AWS 中发布了 Open2Study MOOC 网站。借助 AWS 基础设施的敏捷性和灵活性,OUA 仅在 22 周内便完成了 Open2Study 的构建,且于几个月后即可支持 110000 名学生。(阅读 2013 年的 AWS 案例研究)

此次经历坚定了 OUA 将其网站和后端系统迁移到 AWS 的决定。“我们可以借鉴 Open2Study 的积极成果,而且我们发现 AWS 可以提供我们日后所需的扩展能力。AWS 还提供了 AWS CloudFormation 等自动化工具,让我们能够将新环境的创建定义为可重复使用的版本受控模板。此外,在 AWS,有许多人致力于为我们即将实施的持续交付方法提供支持。这就是我们一直喜爱 AWS 的原因。它不仅仅是一种按小时计费的基础设施,还是一种全新工作方式,真正满足了我们的需求。”van Eekelen 说。

OUA 于 2014 年 11 月底开始将其后端系统和网站迁移到 AWS 基础设施,于 2015 年 5 月底完成了此项目,包括关闭其在托管数据中心的所有基础设施。“这个项目的复杂性主要体现在如何将 32 位 PeopleSoft Campus 系统等传统应用程序迁移到 AWS 并确保它们顺利运行,同时保证 OUA 享受到 AWS 的可扩展性和自动化所带来的好处。”van Eekelen 说。

借助 AWS 的支持,OUA 按时完成了这个项目,而且没有超出预算。“这个项目之所以取得成功,AWS 架构师和技术客户经理发挥了非常重要的作用。AWS 熟悉教育、电子商务和其他行业的安全性和架构最佳实践,当他们认为我们走错了方向时,他们就会质疑我们的架构决策。实际上,我们的系统迁移到 AWS 后,我们之前发现的一些安全性策略和概念问题都得到了解决,而且我们还可以采用一些 AWS 最佳实践。”van Eekelen 说。

“OUA 的系统包含多种不同的产品,既包括 PeopleSoft Campus 和 IBM DataStage 等商业解决方案,也包括内部开发的 Web 应用程序,如由 Java/Spring 提供支持的 OUA 网站。在执行 AWS 迁移期间,我们尽可能按照‘云优先’的方法重新部署所有这些系统。”开发运营和 Web 开发经理 Steve Mactaggart 说。通过使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Elastic Load BalancingAWS Storage GatewayAmazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),OUA 中的所有关键系统都能用于提供受控的安全方法,重点关注高可用性。将 Oracle 数据库迁移到 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS),极大地简化了 OUA 的数据库管理要求。此外,通过集成 Amazon ElastiCacheAmazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)、Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)、Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES)、Amazon ElasticSearch Service 等更高级的 AWS 服务,整体架构也得到了简化,且需要管理的服务器也减少了。

向 OUA 交付的一项重要结果是对开发和测试环境一致性的关注,以确保所有层都尽可能保持一致。通过利用 AWS CloudFormation 和 Chef (一个开源解决方案,支持开发运营工程师将基础设施变更写成代码),所有环境变化都是可控的,并会默认记录下来,因此,OUA 能够更轻松地引入一致的变更管理方法。

目前,OUA 能够使用经济高效的可扩展基础设施交付应用程序和网站,且基础设施具有弹性,支持需求变动,具有自动化工具,支持持续交付。“AWS 为我们提供了各种工具,让我们能够采用比在托管数据中心更加灵活、更加自动化的方式发布变更。我们能够查看将新应用程序和变更发布到环境所需的步骤,而且可以通过持续交付方法减少这些步骤。现在,我们几乎每天都会发布新版本,而且还大大缩短了向内外部客户提供价值所需的时间。”van Eekelen 说。

OUA 现在能以受控方式更改应用程序堆栈中的各个部分,且变更在几分钟内便可完成,从而让技术团队能够将创建新环境所需的时间从三个月缩短到两个小时以内。此外,将持续交付方法正式确定下来,van Eekelen 便能够为开发人员提供一个单一流程,用于将变更部署到生产。他说:“我们现在可以保证一致性、质量和上市速度,还能以更快速度找到解决任何生产问题所需的信息。”

此外,借助 AWS,OUA 能够制定相应计划,以期在未来两年内将基础设施成本降低 30% 之多。与在托管数据中心运行 OUA 物理基础设施相比,这相当于节省了多达 100 万澳元 (726850 USD) 的成本。为实现上述成本节约,OUA 计划仅在注册期内以峰值容量运行 OUA 生产系统,并在周末和夜间关闭测试和开发环境。此外,由于 AWS 通过 Amazon RDS 为数据库提供支持,OUA 能够降低数据库许可证的成本。van Eekelen 说:“我的团队能够更清楚地了解成本,迅速深入调查并找出哪些方面的开销超出了预算。”

虽然 OUA IT 团队的成员数量没有改变,但由于新环境的设置已实现自动化,他们能够将更多时间投入到更有价值的工作,同时最大程度地减少可能导致项目延迟的基础设施瓶颈。

OUA 目前在峰值期间可支持多达 1800 次的高等教育网页访问,每小时可支持 200 个金融交易,且无需担心性能。“与我们的物理数据中心相比,我们的网站在 AWS 上运行后,其性能提高了 20% 之多。从开始到现在,在与 AWS 合作的过程中,我发现他们为我们提供的服务会让我们想从他们那里获取更多的服务。”van Eekelen 说。

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您运行业务应用程序,请访问我们的业务应用程序详情页面

It is not just about infrastructure by the hour. It is about a whole new way of working that really fits in with our new continuous-delivery approach. 
Erik van Eekelen Chief Information Officer

Open Universities Australia (OUA) provides distance education and online courses to students in Australia and other countries. Founded in 1993, OUA is owned and operated by seven Australian universities and has 300 employees across offices in Melbourne and Adelaide. In late 2012, OUA decided to develop Open2Study, a massive open online course site for online learning. Open2Study now enables 500,000 students worldwide to complete four-week modules from a range of free university courses over the web. Since 2013, OUA has expanded from an aggregator of university services to a provider of direct education to students and businesspeople, including compliance training for companies.

OUA started running its websites and back-end systems for tasks like accounting and student management in a collocated data center. The business had invested in dedicated servers, storage, networking equipment, and associated infrastructure to run these systems. However, in 2012, OUA realized its infrastructure was not scalable enough to support planned growth and diversification without considerable additional investment. And IT team members were spending time on routine maintenance tasks rather than on projects that could add value to the business.

The infrastructure also lacked the elasticity to support demand spikes that occurred toward the end of each of the four enrolment periods for tertiary education institutions in Australia. Creating test and development environments in legacy and complex environments could take up to three months. Finally—and most importantly—the infrastructure could not adequately support the “continuous delivery” approach to software releases that OUA chief information officer, Erik van Eekelen, planned to introduce. “We had different projects happening at the same time in many of our business lines. As my responsibilities include business transformation and strategic projects as well as IT, I started to change our approach from a three-month cycle for software releases to a continuous delivery approach where we can deliver changes on a daily basis. My team also wanted to consolidate the multiple ways our developers were deploying changes into production as this was limiting our ability to guarantee consistency, quality, and speed to market for our updates and applications,” says van Eekelen.  

OUA initially evaluated Amazon Web Services (AWS) for its Open2Study Massive Open Online Couse (MOOC) platform in late 2012 and quickly settled on the cloud services provider. OUA’s IT team had past experience with AWS from previous roles, and the education-services provider could run Open2Study in AWS without any minimum commitments or long-term contracts. In addition, the launch of the AWS Asia-Pacific (Sydney) Region enabled OUA to retain Australian student information onshore and access local AWS support resources as required. OUA also reviewed security measures by AWS and was confident that student information would be adequately protected. The education services provider launched its Open2Study MOOC site in AWS in March 2013. The agility and flexibility of the AWS infrastructure enabled the business to build Open2Study in only 22 weeks and support 110,000 students a few months later. (Read the AWS case study from 2013).

This experience convinced OUA to migrate its websites and back-end systems to AWS. “We had the positive outcomes of Open2Study to draw on, and saw that AWS had the scale that we would require over time. AWS also had automation tools such as AWS CloudFormation which allowed us to define the creation of new environments as repeatable, version controlled, templates, and there was a great community of people around AWS that worked to support the continuous delivery practices that we were implementing. That’s what we have always liked about AWS—it is not just about infrastructure by the hour. It is about a whole new way of working that really fits in with how we wanted to work,” says van Eekelen.

OUA started migrating its back-end systems and websites to the AWS infrastructure in late November 2014 and completed the project—including switching off all its infrastructure in the collocated data center—in late May 2015. “Most of the complexity of the project involved bringing legacy applications such as a 32-bit PeopleSoft Campus system into AWS and ensuring they operated smoothly, while allowing OUA to benefit from the scalability and automation that AWS provides,” says van Eekelen.

OUA received support from AWS in completing the project on time and within budget. “The AWS architects and technical account manager were very important to the success of this project. AWS was familiar with security and architecture best practices in education, e-commerce, and other industries, and challenged us on architecture decisions if they thought we were going in the wrong direction. In fact the transition of our systems to AWS enabled us to address some issues regarding our security policies and concepts that we had on our radar for a while, and enabled us to adopt some AWS best practices,” says van Eekelen.

“OUA’s systems comprise a number of different products, from commercial solutions like PeopleSoft Campus and IBM DataStage, to internally developed web applications like the Java/Spring powered OUA website. During the AWS migrations, all of these system were redeployed in as much of a ‘Cloud First’ approach as possible,” says Steve Mactaggart, manager of DevOps and Web Development. Through the use of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Elastic Load Balancing, AWS Storage Gateway and Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), all key systems in OUA have been designed to deliver a controlled secure approach with a focus on high availability. Moving Oracle databases onto Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) has dramatically simplified OUA's database management requirements, and by integrating higher-level AWS services such as Amazon ElastiCache, Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES), Amazon ElasticSearch Service, the overall architecture has been simplified and allowed less servers to be managed.

One of the business's key deliverable was a focus on the consistency of development and test environments, ensuring that all layers are as consistent as possible. By leveraging AWS CloudFormation in conjunction with Chef—an open source solution that allows DevOps engineers to write infrastructure changes as code—all changes to the environments are controlled, documented by default, and it is easier for OUA to introduce a consistent change management practice.

OUA is now delivering its applications and websites from a cost-effective, scalable infrastructure with the elasticity to support demand fluctuations and the automation to support continuous delivery. “AWS has given us the tools to release changes in a more flexible and automated way than in our collocated data center. We have been able to look at the steps required to deliver new applications and changes into the environment, and reduce them by applying continuous delivery practices. We now deliver new releases almost every day and greatly shorten the time needed to provide value to our internal and external customers,” says van Eekelen.

OUA now has the ability to change everything in the application stack in a controlled way, and changes can be made in a matter of minutes, allowing the technology team to decrease the time to create a new environment from three months to less than two hours. Formalizing continuous delivery has also enabled van Eekelen to provide a single process for developers to deploy changes to production. “We can now guarantee consistency, quality, and speed to market, and find the information we need to resolve any problems with production at a faster rate,” he says.

AWS has also enabled OUA to establish plans to reduce infrastructure costs by up to 30 percent over the next two years. This equates to up to AU$1 million (US$726,850) in savings relative to the cost of running OUA’s physical infrastructure in the collocated data center. The savings are expected to come from only running OUA’s production systems at peak capacity during enrolment periods, and turning off test and development environments over the weekend and at night. Further, OUA has been able to reduce the cost of database licenses due to the way AWS supports databases through Amazon RDS. “My team has a lot more visibility into costs and can quickly drill down and find out where we might be spending more than budgeted,” says van Eekelen.

While OUA has retained the same number of IT team members, automating the setup of new environments has enabled them to spend more time on higher value work while minimizing infrastructure bottlenecks that could delay projects.

The business is now supporting up to 1,800 views of its higher education web pages and 200 financial transactions per hour during peak periods without performance concerns. “The performance of our websites has improved up to 20 percent in AWS relative to our physical data center. What I’ve found working with AWS—from the start until now—is that they have provided us with a service that makes us want to go back for more,” says van Eekelen.

To learn more about how AWS can help your run business applications, visit our business applications details page.