奇虎 360 科技有限公司是中国领先的移动和互联网领域安全产品提供商之一。奇虎 360 致力于提供高质量的安全服务,以减少互联网用户在上网时可能遇到的各种问题。根据其 PC 和移动设备上的安全产品的用户数,奇虎 360 是中国国内最大的互联网安全公司之一,而且其浏览器在本地产品中也处于领先地位。该公司已在纽约证券交易所上市,股票代码为 QIHU。

奇虎 360 使用 AWS 降低成本并缩短投入市场的时间 (3:23)

qihoo-thumb

在中国国内市场取得成功后,奇虎 360 开始在国际上扩展其业务。作为一家互联网公司,奇虎 360 知道向国外扩张需要构建新的基础设施以支持公司海外业务的发展。Web 业务是典型的基础设施密集型产业,需要许多容量以满足用户需求的不断改变,同时不能影响安全性、稳定性、高效性和成本竞争力。为了海外扩张,奇虎 360 曾面临各种抉择,包括应该构建其自己的基础设施还是改用第三方平台。哪个第三方平台可能满足奇虎 360 不断发展的业务需求?此平台是否能提供可满足公司要求的可用性和成本结构?

考虑到海外市场竞争的细微差别,奇虎 360 的内部技术团队评估了采用云战略所带来的优势。在 2012 年下半年,奇虎 360 的技术运营副总裁谭晓生先生参加了 Amazon Web Services (AWS) re:Invent 大会。听取广大 AWS 客户分享他们各种各样的技术经验对奇虎 360 产生了深刻的影响,使该公司进一步考虑迁移到 AWS 云。奇虎 360 开始从技术和经济角度对 AWS 进行了深入的分析。

奇虎 360 首先对 AWS 进行了技术评估,包括 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 的输入/输出 (IO) 性能分析、可在 Amazon EC2 实例上同时运行的用户最大数、Amazon CloudFront 性能以及 AWS 云的弹性和可扩展性。其次,公司还对 AWS 进行了仔细的总体拥有成本分析 (TCO)。在进行测试和成本分析之后,奇虎 360 决定将 AWS 用于奇虎 360 的国际扩张工作。

当前,奇虎 360 的整个国际平台均基于 AWS 构建。在构建该平台时,使用了 Amazon CloudFront 作为其内容交付网络 (CDN),使用了 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 满足公司的处理需求,并使用了 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 进行数据存储。

借助 AWS,奇虎 360 可以大幅降低在全球范围内投入市场的时间。以 Amazon EC2 为例,该公司可在短短几天内完成从测试到生产的过程。据谭先生所说:“购买传统的数据中心和服务器时,需要花费数月进行部署,尤其是在考虑国际扩张的情况时。现在借助 AWS,我们能够在几天内在全球进行部署并进入生产阶段!”

“AWS 云的弹性和在几分钟内预配置服务器的能力使奇虎 360 可以显著提高对海外市场的变化作出反应的速度。”谭先生评论道。通过使用 Amazon CloudFront,奇虎 360 不仅改进了其海外客户的用户体验,同时降低了 30% 的 CDN 成本。

“由于 AWS 的基础设施遍布全球,因此对于奇虎 360 这样想要探索海外市场的客户来说,它真的是扩展全球业务的绝佳且简单的方式。”谭先生说。展望未来,除了使用更多的 AWS 区域来服务客户,奇虎 360 还打算在 AWS 上运行更多的应用程序。

若要了解关于 AWS 如何帮助满足 Web 应用程序需求的更多信息,请访问我们的 Web 应用程序详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/cn/web-mobile-social

Qihoo 360 Technology Co. Ltd is one of China’s leading providers of security products serving the mobile and Internet space. Qihoo 360 is committed to providing high-quality security services to mitigate the various issues Internet users might face while on the web. Based on the number of users for its security products on PCs and mobile devices, Qihoo 360 is one of the largest Internet security companies in China, and its browser is in a leading position among local products. The company is publicly listed on the New York Stock Exchange as QIHU.

After succeeding in the Chinese domestic market, Qihoo 360 began to expand its business internationally. As an Internet company, Qihoo 360 knew that foreign expansion would require building new infrastructure to support the development of the company’s business abroad. Web businesses are characteristically infrastructure intensive, requiring a lot of capacity to meet variable changes in user demand and all without sacrificing security, stability, efficiency, and cost competitiveness. For its overseas expansion, Qihoo 360 faced a variety of decisions including whether it should build its own infrastructure or use a third party platform instead. Which third party platform might be able to meet the needs of Qihoo 360’s developing business? Would this platform be able to provide the availability and cost structure to meet the company’s requirements?

With the nuances of competing in overseas markets in mind, Qihoo 360’s internal technical team evaluated the benefits that would come with adopting a cloud strategy. In the second half of 2012, Qihoo 360’s Mr. Xiaosheng Tan, VP of Technical Operations, attended the Amazon Web Services (AWS) re:Invent conference. Hearing a wide selection of AWS customers share their various technical experiences had a profound impact on Qihoo 360 that made the company further consider moving to the AWS Cloud. Qihoo 360 began a deep analysis of AWS from both technological and economic perspectives.

Qihoo 360 first conducted its technical assessment of AWS that included an analysis of the input/output (IO) performance of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), the number of maximum concurrent users that could run on Amazon EC2 instances, Amazon CloudFront performance, as well as the elasticity and scalability of the AWS Cloud. Secondly, the company also carried out a careful total cost of ownership analysis (TCO) of AWS. After its testing and cost analysis, Qihoo 360 decided to use AWS in connection with the Qihoo 360’s international expansion efforts.

Currently, Qihoo 360’s entire international platform is built on AWS. The platform was built leveraging Amazon CloudFront as its content delivery network (CDN), Amazon EC2, and Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS), which serves the company’s processing needs, as well as Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for its data store.

By tapping into AWS, Qihoo 360 was able to dramatically lower its time to market globally. In the case of Amazon EC2, the company was able to go from testing to production in a matter of a few days. According to Mr. Tan, “Traditional datacenters and server purchases would have taken months to deploy, especially considering international expansion. Today with AWS we are able to deploy globally and be in production in a few days!”

“The elasticity of the AWS Cloud and provisioning servers in minutes lets Qihoo 360 react to overseas market changes much more quickly,” commented Mr. Tan. By leveraging Amazon CloudFront, Qihoo 360 has improved the user experience of its oversea customers while lowering its CDN cost by 30% at the same time.

“Since AWS has a global infrastructure footprint, it’s really an excellent and easy way to expand global business for customers like Qihoo 360 who want to explore overseas markets,” Mr. Tan said. Looking into future, Qihoo 360 is looking at more applications to run on AWS in addition to leveraging more AWS regions to serve its customers.”

To learn more about how AWS can help your web application needs, visit our Web Applications details page: http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.