西门子使用 AWS 将发电厂警报减少 90%

Siemens resize

对于发电厂而言,监控其设备和操作已经不是难事,但是,能够轻松部署数千个传感器所带来的却是大量的传感器数据,而这非常具有挑战性。这也是具有 170 年历史的全球技术领导者西门子需要着手解决的难题。西门子天然气和电力在 AWS 上构建的解决方案将其发电厂客户的警报数量降低了 90%。

“现代发电厂控制系统每天会收到约 5000 个部件故障或超差流程条件,但是监控团队每天只能分析 500 个警报”,西门子天然气和电力的项目经理 Stefan Lichtenberger 说。“由于某些警报并不那么重要,而某些警报可能会导致故障或者需要采取监管措施,因此,这些团队在减少警报数量和对警报进行优先级排序方面需要帮助。”

减少警报数量的项目需要两个全职员工工作六个月,而且由于警报数量不可避免地会再次上升,因此,每两到三年就得重复执行一次。

“借助无服务器 AWS 平台,我们将客户控制系统警报数量降低了 90%,并且将基础设施成本降低了 85%。”

-Stefan Lichtenberger,西门子天然气和电力项目经理

  • 关于西门子
  • AWS 的优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

无服务器方法消除噪音

为了帮助西门子客户以经济高效的方式解决此问题,Lichtenberger 团队希望提供自动化警报监控、分析和可指导行动的警报数量减少建议。该团队与 AWS 专业服务顾问携手合作制定了一个解决方案,我们称之为 Siemens I&C Monitors and Advisors。

“在与 AWS 顾问首次会面之后一个月,我们为此解决方案制定了无服务器平台”,Lichtenberger 说。“在短短三个月内,我们制作完成了该应用程序。”

I&C Monitors and Advisors 使用 AWS Lambda 分析发电厂的流程控制数据。

该无服务器解决方案还使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 进行对象存储,使用 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 进行完全托管消息排队,并使用 Amazon DynamoDB 保存针对 Amazon S3 中的数据运行的分析流程结果。

“借助无服务器 AWS 平台,我们将客户控制系统警报数量降低了 90%,并且将基础设施成本降低了 85%”,Lichtenberger 说。“在转为使用无服务器平台之后 18 个月内,我们没有出现过一分钟的非计划停机。”

 


了解更多

了解有关 AWS 无服务器计算的更多信息。

Siemens Uses AWS to Reduce Power Plant Alerts by 90%

Siemens resize

It's never been easier for power plants to monitor their equipment and operations, but the ease of deploying thousands of sensors results in a challenging volume of sensor data. That’s a challenge Siemens, the 170-year-old global technology leader, set out to answer. The solution Siemens Gas and Power built on AWS has decreased the volume of alerts for its power plant customers by 90 percent.

"A modern power plant control system receives about 5,000 alerts about component failures or out-of-tolerance process conditions a day, but monitoring teams can analyze only 500 a day," says Stefan Lichtenberger, a program manager at Siemens Gas and Power. "Because some alerts are less important, while some warn of possible breakdowns or regulatory actions, these teams need help reducing and prioritizing alerts.”

Projects to reduce the volume of alerts can require two full-time employees for six months, and—because the volume of alerts inevitably rises again—must be repeated every two to three years.

"With the serverless AWS platform, we decreased customer control system alerts 90 percent and reduced infrastructure costs 85 percent."

-Stefan Lichtenberger, Program Manager, Siemens Gas and Power

  • About Siemens
  • Benefits of AWS
  • AWS Services Used

A Serverless Approach Cuts Through the Noise

To help Siemens customers address this problem cost-effectively, Lichtenberger's team wanted to provide automated alert monitoring, analysis, and actionable alert-reduction recommendations. The team worked with AWS Professional Services consultants on a solution that would be called the Siemens I&C Monitors and Advisors.

"Just one month after our first meeting with the AWS consultants, we had a prototype of a serverless platform for this solution," says Lichtenberger. "Within three months, we had a prototype of the application.”

I&C Monitors and Advisors uses AWS Lambda for analyzing power plant process-control data.

The serverless solution also uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for object storage, Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) for fully managed message queueing, and Amazon DynamoDB to hold the results of analytics processes run against data held in Amazon S3.

"With the serverless AWS platform, we decreased customer control system alerts 90 percent and reduced infrastructure costs 85 percent," says Lichtenberger. "In the 18 months since we've been serverless, we haven't had one minute of unplanned downtime."

 


Learn More

Learn more about AWS serverless computing.