St Luke's Anglican School 接收澳大利亚昆士兰州班德堡附近 820 名从幼儿园到高三各个年级的学生。St Luke’s 创建于 1994 年,占地 32 公顷,约有 80 名教师以及 40 名支持和管理人员。

St Luke’s 过去在本地数据中心的虚拟化基础设施上运行其核心业务应用程序,包括适用于生产力和电子邮件的应用程序以及 TASS.web,其中 TASS.web 是一项基于 Web 的学校管理系统,用于管理薪资、账户和学生。

该虚拟化基础设施还负责运行学校网站 (www.stlukes.qld.edu.au) 的一些文件组件,为希望入读的学生、学生家长以及其他有意向者提供学校的相关信息。然而,低带宽 Internet 连接导致从网站下载本地文件 (如费用结构和使命陈述) 的速度非常慢。该网站的其余部分运行在一家澳大利亚 Internet 提供商提供的基础设施上,但是该校发现它不够灵活或经济实惠,无法满足学校的需求。此外,St Luke’s 偶尔会遭遇电力中断,导致教师和管理人员不得不临时采取纸上办公流程。电力中断还可能导致数据丢失以及工作效率降低,令教师和管理员感到沮丧。

此外,St Luke’s 在班德堡的位置使其易受本地洪涝等自然灾害的侵袭。该校认为校园火灾也是一项风险。因此,St Luke’s 的技术团队认为,继续在现场托管应用程序是不切实际的。该校 IT 主管 Mitch Miller 说:“2011 年年中,我们选择使用日本的一家云托管提供商来托管整个网站,并在这一年晚些时候将业务生产力软件迁移到了一套在线应用程序上。然而,在日本托管的网站环境成本高昂,而且页面加载时间慢得让人无法接受。”

2013 年班德堡发生了重大洪灾,导致道路中断,停电 36 小时,学校停课一周;当时 TASS.web 系统仍在本地运行。St Luke’s 在那时便决定将 TASS.web 迁移到发生自然灾害时仍能继续运行的环境中。“这样我们就能在疏散点,利用这个系统的功能在智能手机或 iPad 上以电子方式对照学生名册点名,而不是在发生紧急情况时每天都打印副本。”Miller 说道。St Luke’s 还想通过 TASS.web 向学生家长发送有关紧急状况的大量更新,并在学校建筑修复期间创建虚拟校园,确保教学不中断。

此外,技术团队不得不指派两个团队成员每三年进行一次为期两个月的本地基础设施重新配置,因此,他们执行软件升级、常规维护、终端节点部署和其他任务的能力都受到了限制。该校开始寻求一种经济、可降低基础设施开销的可扩展云解决方案。

St Luke’s 评估了本地云提供商,确定 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云最能满足他们的要求,原因如下:

  • 在更靠近用户的亚太地区 (悉尼) 区域托管学校网站,可以缩短页面加载时间,高效管理成本,还可在相同时区内访问支持资源。
  • AWS 平台的可用性能够支持 TASS.web 的各项功能,如电子点名以及运行虚拟校园。
  • 该校经评估发现,AWS 云资源比其他云提供商提供的资源更具可扩展性。而且,借助 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),St Luke’s 可以在 AWS 云上预置一个逻辑上隔离的部分,以便管理员严密控制应用程序、服务和基础设施的访问权限。

AWS 可以提供被 Miller 描述为“似乎无限”的选项,用于通过 Web 交付基于云的计算能力。“这些选项有多种,从可用于运行网站的较小 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例到可用于管理系统工作负载的较大实例,应有尽有。”Miller 说,“这还意味着,我们可以轻松找到能在不同的迁移点为我们的需求提供支持的实例。”

St Luke’s 于 2013 年年初将网站迁移到了 AWS,于 2014 年 7 月将 TASS.web 迁移到了 AWS 云。该网站运行在一个 t2.small Amazon EC2 实例上,并将 Amazon Route 53 用于域名服务。该校还使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储了高达 5GB 的静态 Web 内容。

TASS.web 系统 (使用 Adobe ColdFusion 编写,可访问 SQL Server 数据库) 运行在一个 r3.large Amazon EC2 实例上,其中有三个域控制器运行在 Amazon EC2 实例上,适用于提供身份验证服务的不同子域。

对于灾难恢复和备份,TASS.web 系统每天都会被复制并备份到 Amazon S3 存储桶中。St Luke’s 在一个 Amazon VPC 中运行其网站和 TASS.web 云环境,并使用虚拟专用网络 (VPN) 将 AWS 环境与其局域网连接起来。此外,作为业务连续性计划的一个自动化流程,该校还在每晚将其文件服务器 (继续在本地基础设施上运行) 中多达 60GB 的数据备份到 Amazon S3 中。St Luke’s 使用 AWS Identity & Access Management 为 IT 团队提供基于角色的访问权限,以便他们访问 Amazon VPC 中运行的开发、测试和生产环境。下方图 1 描述了 AWS 云上的 St Luke’s 环境。

st-luke-arch-diagram

图 1.AWS 上的 St Luke’s 架构

下一步,St Luke’s 将对重要的 Amazon EC2 机器拍摄快照,并使用 AWS Storage Gateway 将所有文件存储复制到 Amazon S3 中。在未来 12 个月内,IT 团队计划将文件服务器、Windows 支持基础设施、维护和 IT 票证系统从本地基础设施迁移到 AWS 云中。最后,学校将审查学校现场剩余的技术资产,并将不再需要的所有资产移除。

通过将网站和 TASS.web 系统迁移到 AWS 云,St Luke’s 的这两个系统实现了近乎 100% 的基础设施可用性,这意味着,教师们能以电子方式完成学生点名,且无需担心发生紧急状况时会丢失名单数据。Miller 还相信,教职员工和学生们可以在发生自然灾害时将 TASS.web 用作虚拟校园。

该学校期望在 18 个月后全部迁移到 AWS 云,同时实现可观的成本节省。Miller 说:“据预计,迁移到 AWS 后,我们的资本成本可以降低 75%,数据中心运营成本约降低 40%。”

该项目已经转变了该校技术团队的角色。“大家不再认为我们只是在被动响应,或是仅仅在解决问题。”他说,“现在,我们可以主动执行项目,提高整个学校的技术性能。我们之所以能做到这一点,是因为迁移到 AWS 实际上意味着,我们在重新配置学校的内部基础设施时,无需再暂停软件升级或终端节点部署等活动。”

此外,通过在悉尼区域托管网络,St Luke’s 的网站延迟从先前环境中的 160 毫秒降至仅 20 毫秒,显著改善了用户体验。

AWS 云的可扩展性还意味着,St Luke’s 无需投入巨额资金即可增设班级并增添新课程。“我们不时会讨论增设更多班级或部署新的软件。”Miller 说,“如果我们决定这样做,基础设施成本将不再是一个重要的考虑因素。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足 Web 应用程序需求,请访问我们的 Web 和移动应用程序详情页面:http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/

St Luke's Anglican School caters for 820 students from kindergarten to Year 12 near Bundaberg in the Australian state of Queensland. Established in 1994 and situated on a 32-hectare campus, St Luke’s has about 80 teachers and 40 support and administration staff.

St Luke’s traditionally ran its core business applications on a virtualized infrastructure on its on-premises data center. These included applications for productivity and e-mail, as well as TASS.web, a web-based school administration system to manage payroll, accounts and students.

The virtualized infrastructure also ran some file components of the school website, www.stlukes.qld.edu.au, which provides information about the school to prospective students, parents and other interested parties. However, low bandwidth Internet connections made downloading local files, (for example, fee structures and mission statements) from the website slow. The remainder of the website ran on an infrastructure provided by an Australian Internet provider, and the school found this was not flexible or cost-effective enough to meet its needs. St Luke’s also experienced occasional power outages that forced teachers and administration staff to temporarily adopt paper-driven processes. The outages also led to lost data, frustrating teachers and administrators and reducing productivity.

Furthermore, St Luke’s location in Bundaberg made it vulnerable to natural disasters, including local flooding. The school identified an on-campus fire as another risk. St Luke’s technology team realized that continuing to host its applications on-site was impractical. “In mid-2011, we moved our full website to a cloud hosting provider in Japan, and later that year migrated our business productivity software to an online suite of applications,” says Mitch Miller, the School’s IT Manager. "However, the hosted website environment in Japan was expensive and delivering unacceptably slow page loading times."

The TASS.web system was still running on-premises when a flood in 2013 effectively cut one side of Bundaberg off from the other, stopped power for 36 hours and shut the school down for a week. At that point, St Luke’s decided to move TASS.web into an environment where it could continue to operate in case of natural disaster. “This would allow us to use the system’s capabilities to mark off student rolls electronically on smartphones or iPads from evacuation points, rather than continuing to print copies daily in case of emergency,” says Miller. St Luke’s also wanted to take advantage of TASS.web’s ability to send mass updates to parents about emergencies and use TASS.web to create a virtual campus while its buildings were being repaired, ensuring students’ education was not disrupted.

Additionally, the technology team’s ability to perform software upgrades, general maintenance, endpoint deployments and other tasks was constrained because they had to dedicate two team members to reconfigure its on-premises infrastructure for two-month periods every three years. The school began to look for an affordable, scalable cloud solution that would offload infrastructure overhead.

St Luke’s evaluated local cloud providers and decided that the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud best met its requirements for the following reasons:

  • Hosting the school’s website in the Asia Pacific (Sydney) Region closer to its users would reduce page-loading times, manage costs effectively, and provide access to support resources in the same time zone.
  • The availability of the AWS platform would support TASS.web functions such as electronic roll call and the operation of a virtual campus.
  • The school’s evaluation found that AWS Cloud resources were more scalable than those of other cloud provider, and the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) would allow St Luke’s to provision a logically isolated section of the AWS Cloud where administrators could closely control access to applications, services and infrastructure.

AWS provided what Miller describes as “seemingly endless” options for delivering cloud-based compute capacity over the web. “These ranged from smaller Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances that we could use to run our website to larger instances that we could use for administration system workloads,” he says. “It also meant that we could easily find instances that could support our needs at different points in our migration.”

St Luke’s migrated its website to AWS in early 2013 and TASS.web to the AWS Cloud in July 2014. The website runs on one t2.small Amazon EC2 instance, using Amazon Route 53 for domain name services. Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) stores up to 5GB of static web content.

The TASS.web system—written in Adobe ColdFusion and which accesses a SQL Server database—operates on one r3.large Amazon EC2 instance, with three domain controllers running on Amazon EC2 instances for different sub-domains providing authentication services.

For disaster recovery and backup, the TASS.web system is copied daily and backed up to an Amazon S3 bucket. St Luke’s operates both the website and TASS.web cloud environment in an Amazon VPC. A virtual private network (VPN) links the AWS environment to St Luke’s local area network. The school also backs up 60GB of data from its file servers — that continue to run in its on-premises infrastructure — to Amazon S3 nightly as an automated component of its business continuity planning. St Luke’s uses AWS Identity & Access Management to provide its IT team with role-based access to the development, test and production environments running in the Amazon VPC. Figure 1 below describes St Luke’s environment on the AWS Cloud.

st-luke-arch-diagram

Figure 1. St Luke’s Architecture on AWS

As a next step, St Luke’s will snapshot its important Amazon EC2 machines and use AWS Storage Gateway to replicate all file stores to Amazon S3. Over the next 12 months, the IT team plans to migrate its file servers, Windows support infrastructure, maintenance and IT ticketing systems from its on-premises infrastructure to the AWS Cloud. The school’s final activity will be to review the technology assets left on-site at the school and tear down any that are no longer needed.

By migrating its website and TASS.web system to the AWS Cloud, St Luke’s has achieved near 100 percent infrastructure availability for both systems, meaning teachers can complete student roll calls electronically without being concerned about losing roll data during emergencies. Miller is also confident that staff and students will be able to use TASS.web as a virtual campus in case of natural disaster.

The school expects to achieve considerable savings when the transition to the AWS Cloud is fully complete in 18 months. “We estimate reducing capital costs by 75 percent and data center operating costs by about 40 percent once we complete the move to AWS,” says Miller.

The project has already transformed the role of the school’s technology team. “We’re no longer seen as reactive, or being there just to fix problems,” he says. “We can now proactively work on projects to improve performance across the school. Helping this is the fact the migration to AWS means that we no longer have to suspend activities such as software upgrades or endpoint deployments while reconfiguring the school’s in-house infrastructure.”

St Luke’s has also seen its website latency fall to just 20 milliseconds by hosting it in the Sydney Region — down from 160 milliseconds from its previous environment and considerably improving the user experience.

The scalability of the AWS Cloud also means St Luke’s can increase its class numbers and add new courses without making a huge capital invest,” he says. “We talk occasionally about running more classes or deploying new software,” says Miller. If we do decide to do so, the infrastructure cost will not be a huge factor.”

To learn more about how AWS can help your web application needs, visit our Web & Mobile Apps details page: http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.