Thorn 使用 AWS 帮助执法部门更快地确定贩卖儿童案件的受害者

Thorn Edit

轻松且大规模地进行沟通、用完即可丢弃的“一次性”手机以及简单的照片编辑工具……这些只是数字互联世界中有助于贩卖者匿名行事且逃脱法律制裁的其中一些手段,尤其是那些贩卖儿童以便在线开展性交易的贩卖者。

Spotlight 这款产品正是为此而开发的。

Thorn 的总部位于加利福尼亚,它开发出了 Spotlight。该组织的市场营销与通讯主管 Sarah Potts 说:“施虐者了解如何使用先进技术为他们剥削儿童的恶行提供便利。”Thorn 由 Ashton Kutcher 和 Demi Moore 在 2012 年创立,致力于打击网络虐童行为。Potts 补充道:“我们构建了 Spotlight,因为我们希望利用先进的技术帮助执法部门扭转局势并更快地找到这些孩子。”

Spotlight 具有各种先进的机器学习功能,能够自动标记可能会给儿童带来风险的广告,并让执法人员不用在海量在线数据中查找,从而为劳累过度、资源不足的调查人员节省了时间。该应用程序在无服务器的 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 架构上实现这些功能,该架构包括 Amazon Rekognition(一项基于深度学习的图像和视频分析服务)以及 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) C5 实例。Amazon EC2 C5 实例采用 3.0GHz Intel Xeon Scalable 处理器,它提供的内存与 vCPU 比率非常适合要求苛刻的推理应用程序。

“与旧的纸笔方法相比,Spotlight 可以帮助警官更快地确定涉嫌儿童性交易的广告。”

Thorn 战略与运营总监 Brooke Istook


  • 关于 Thorn
  • 优点
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Thorn
  • Thorn 成立于 2012 年,致力于开发有助于保护儿童免受性虐待的技术。该组织与执法机构、科技公司和非营利性组织合作。Thorn 是一个位于美国的虚拟团队,拥有 25 名员工。

  • 优点
    • 发现了 21000 起人口贩卖案件
    • 更快地结束人口贩卖案件的调查
    • 确定了 18000 个受害者,其中包括 6000 名儿童
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
Thorn 利用 AWS 帮助执法部门更快地确定儿童性交易的受害者

使用 AWS 应对挑战

2012 年,Thorn 对儿童性交易幸存者的调查发现,75% 的受害者都是通过网络销售的,其中大部分是通过陪护网站销售的。执法人员抓获贩卖者和营救儿童的一种方法是识别和调查看起来以吸引未成年人为目标的陪护广告,但他们面临着很多困难。

最大的困难之一是这类广告的数量巨大。当 Thorn 开始研究可以帮助调查人员确定受剥削儿童的工具时,美国每天都有超过 150000 个新的陪护广告在网上发布。像这样的规模问题需要通过自动化流程加以解决,但另一个重大困难是陪护广告数据并不一致这一事实:贩卖者会使用暗号、俚语和重用内容,这使机器检测变得更加复杂。

为了帮助调查人员克服这些困难和其他障碍,Thorn 与 AWS 和 Digital Reasoning(一家专注于认知计算解决方案的公司)合作,共同打造了 Spotlight。Spotlight 的机器学习模型可以实时分析新的陪护广告,并使用智能图像分析和自然语言处理 (NLP) 来标记那些与执法机构合作开发的风险预测匹配的陪护广告。警官可以设置自定义提醒并在 Spotlight 不断增加的广告数据库中搜索,以帮助他们进行调查。

加快确定受害者的速度

Spotlight 的分析渠道以第三方解决方案为开头,该解决方案每天提取超过 100000 个新的在线陪护广告,并将文本和图像数据作为对象存储在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶中。AWS Lambda 函数可以编排 Amazon Simple Queuing Service (Amazon SQS) 将新广告组成队列,以便由应用程序的分析引擎 Digital Reasoning Synthesys 处理。该解决方案使用 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 向执法人员发送提醒。

Spotlight 的机器学习模型经过训练,可在 Amazon EC2 C5 实例上运行。Amazon EC2 C5 实例采用 3.0GHz Intel Xeon Scalable 处理器,它提供的内存与 vCPU 比率非常适合要求苛刻的推理应用程序。Spotlight 是免费提供给执法机构和相关组织的,它使用 Amazon Cognito 提供可扩展到数百万用户的安全用户目录。

Amazon Rekognition 是 Spotlight 最重要的一项功能的核心,它使用深度学习来准确识别存储在 Amazon S3 中的图像和视频内的对象、人物、活动和事件。Amazon Rekognition 的面孔分析功能可以帮助调查人员找到同一个人的经过编辑的照片,贩卖者企图用这些照片绕开不太智能的图像搜索引擎的检测。

“我们测试了多种面孔识别服务,发现 Amazon Rekognition 的准确度非常高,”Thorn 产品管理总监 Kristin Boorse 说。“鉴于 AWS 已经提供了像 Amazon Rekognition 这样的最佳解决方案,我们再去构建自己的面孔识别服务便没有意义。Amazon Rekognition 团队在帮助我们解决遇到的任何挑战方面做出了非常积极的响应。”


更快地找到受害者

仅自 2016 年以来,Spotlight 已经帮助美国和加拿大的警官发现了超过 21000 起贩卖案件,并确定了约 18000 名受害者,其中包括 6000 多名儿童。

“我们的执法合作伙伴表示,Spotlight 帮助警官识别儿童性交易广告的速度比旧的纸笔方法快得多,”Thorn 战略与运营总监 Brooke Istook 说。“利用 AWS 的灵活性和易于集成性,我们可以对像 Spotlight 这样的新产品进行试验和构建原型,否则这些产品的开发成本会很高昂。在 AWS 上,我们还可以在几周或几天内响应警官的功能请求,速度要比公共部门机构过去经常看到的响应程度快得多。”

根据 Istook 的说法,打击网上儿童性交易是团队努力实现的目标。“ 我们所有的技术合作伙伴都为这场斗争做出了重要贡献。如果没有 AWS 的大量投资和支持,或者 Intel 开发的基础技术,Spotlight 永远不会如此成功。”


了解更多

了解有关 Amazon EC2 C5 实例的更多信息。

Thorn Uses AWS to Help Law Enforcement Identify Child-Trafficking Victims Faster

Thorn Edit

Easy communication at scale, disposable "burner" phones, and simple photo-editing tools— these are just some of the ways the digital, connected world was helping traffickers operate anonymously, one step ahead of the law—especially those who traffic children for sex online.

Then came a product called Spotlight.

"Abusers had figured out how to use advanced technology to facilitate their exploitation of children," says Sarah Potts, the head of marketing and communications for Thorn, the California-based nonprofit that created Spotlight. Thorn was founded in 2012 by Ashton Kutcher and Demi Moore to combat online child abuse. Potts adds, "We built Spotlight because we wanted to use advanced technology to help law enforcement turn the tables and find these children faster."

Spotlight's sophisticated machine-learning capabilities save time for overworked, under-resourced investigators by automatically flagging ads likely to represent at-risk children and keeping law enforcement agents from getting lost in a sea of online data. The app does this on a serverless Amazon Web Services (AWS) architecture that includes Amazon Rekognition, a deep learning–based image and video analysis service, and Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) C5 instances. Powered by 3.0 GHz Intel Xeon Scalable processors, Amazon EC2 C5 instances offer a memory-to-vCPU ratio that is ideal for demanding inference applications.

“Spotlight helps officers identify child sex-trafficking ads much faster than the old paper-and-pencil methods.”

Brooke Istook, Director of Strategy and Operations, Thorn


  • About Thorn
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Thorn
  • Thorn was founded in 2012 to build technology to defend children from sexual abuse. The organization collaborates with law enforcement agencies, tech companies, and nonprofits. A virtual team based in the U.S., Thorn employs 25 people.

  • Benefits
    • Opened 21,000 trafficking cases
    • Closes trafficking investigations faster
    • Identified 18,000 victims, including over 6,000 children
  • AWS Services Used
Thorn Helps Law Enforcement Identify Child Sex-Trafficking Victims Faster on AWS

Answering the Challenge Using AWS

A 2012 Thorn survey of child sex-trafficking survivors found that 75 percent had been sold online, most of them through escort websites. One way for law enforcement agents to catch traffickers and rescue kids would be to identify and investigate escort ads that seem to feature minors, but there are many obstacles to doing this.

One of the most significant obstacles is the massive volume of these ads. As Thorn started work on a tool that could help investigators identify children being exploited, more than 150,000 new escort ads were being posted online every day in the United States. Problems of scale like this cry out for automated processes, but another big obstacle is the fact that escort ad data is anything but consistent: traffickers use code words, slang, and reused content to complicate detection by machines.

To help investigators overcome these and other hurdles, Thorn collaborated with AWS and Digital Reasoning, a company specializing in cognitive-computing solutions, to build Spotlight. Spotlight's machine-learning models analyze new escort ads in real time and use intelligent image analysis and natural-language processing (NLP) to flag those that match risk profiles developed in cooperation with law enforcement agencies. Officers can set customized alerts and search Spotlight’s constantly growing database of ads to aid in their investigations.

Accelerating Victim Identification

Spotlight’s analytics pipeline begins with a third-party solution that ingests more than 100,000 new online escort ads each day, storing text and image data as objects in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets. AWS Lambda functions orchestrate Amazon Simple Queueing Service (Amazon SQS) to queue new ads for processing by the app's analytics engine, Digital Reasoning Synthesys. The solution uses Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) to send alerts to law enforcement agents.

Spotlight's machine-learning models are trained and run on Amazon EC2 C5 instances. Powered by 3.0 GHz Intel Xeon Scalable processors, Amazon EC2 C5 instances offer a memory-to-vCPU ratio that is ideal for demanding inference applications. Spotlight, which is offered free of charge to law enforcement and allied organizations, uses Amazon Cognito to provide a secure user directory that can scale to millions of users.

Amazon Rekognition, which uses deep learning to accurately identify objects, people, activities, and events in images and videos stored in Amazon S3, is at the heart of one of Spotlight’s most crucial capabilities. Facial analysis in Amazon Rekognition helps investigators find photos of the same person that have been edited to defeat less intelligent image-search engines.

"We tested multiple facial-recognition services and found Amazon Rekognition was extremely accurate," says Kristin Boorse, the director of product management for Thorn. "It didn't make sense to build our own facial-recognition service when AWS already offers a best-in-breed solution like Amazon Rekognition. The Amazon Rekognition team has been very responsive in helping us address any challenges we encounter."


Finding Victims Faster

Since 2016 alone, Spotlight has helped officers in the United States and Canada open more than 21,000 trafficking cases and identify about 18,000 victims, including more than 6,000 children.

"Our law enforcement partners say Spotlight helps officers identify child sex-trafficking ads much faster than the old paper-and-pencil methods," says Brooke Istook, director of strategy and operations at Thorn. "With the flexibility and easy integration of AWS, we can experiment and prototype new products like Spotlight that would otherwise be cost-prohibitive to develop. On AWS, we can also respond to feature requests from officers in weeks or days—not a level of responsiveness public-sector agencies are used to seeing."

Combating online child sex trafficking is a team effort, according to Istook. " All of our technology partners are making crucial contributions to this fight. Spotlight could never have been so successful without substantial investment and support from AWS, or the underlying technologies that Intel has created.”


Learn More

Learn more about Amazon EC2 C5 Instances.