Unilever entstand 1930 durch die Fusion des niederländischen Margarineherstellers Margarine Unie und des britischen Suppenherstellers Lever Brothers. Heute verkauft der Konsumgüterhersteller Nahrungsmittel, Pflegemittel, Erfrischungsgetränke und Hygieneartikel in über 190 Ländern. Unilever verfügt über Hauptsitze in London und Rotterdam sowie über Tochterunternehmen in über 90 Ländern. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt mehr als 170.000 Mitarbeiter. 2012 wies Unilever über 51 Milliarden USD Umsatz aus.

Unilever North America in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, musste eine Infrastruktur zur Unterstützung von Unilevers digitaler Marketingstrategie neu gestalten. Unilever hostete seine Web-Komponenten bisher mit Rechenzentren vor Ort, die alle mit verschiedenen Technologien und Prozessen arbeiteten. „Wir mussten unsere Umgebung standardisieren, um eine schnellere Marktumsetzung zu unterstützen“, sagt Sreenivas Yalamanchili, Digital Marketing Services (DMS) Global Technical Manager. Unilever optimiert sein Geschäftsmodell durch den Test einer Marketingkampagne in einem Pilotland. Falls die Kampagne erfolgreich verläuft, setzt das Unternehmen sie in anderen Ländern und Regionen um. Die IT-Organisation wollte die Cloud für die Implementierung eines einheitlichen Prozesses nutzen.

Nach einem umfassenden Ausschreibungs- und Prüfprozess in über 16 Ländern entschied sich Unilever für Amazon Web Services (AWS). Unilevers Prioritäten bei der Auswahl einer digitalen Plattform umfassten Flexibilität, eine globale Infrastruktur, Technologie sowie ein breites Ökosystem an Mitgliedern. „Mit AWS können wir mit ein- und demselben Anbieter für alle Regionen arbeiten, das heißt, wir müssen für verschiedene Regionen keine individuellen Hosting-Lösungen anpassen und zurechtbiegen“, so Yalamanchili. „Unilever konzentriert sich darauf, großartige Marken für seine Konsumenten zu liefern, wir sind kein IT-Unternehmen. Wir können durch die Zusammenarbeit mit AWS und den Mitgliedern des AWS Partner Network weniger Geld ausgeben und mehr Innovationen erhalten.“

Das IT-Team von Unilever nannte für die AWS-Migration zwei Ziele: die Bereitstellung einer gemeinsamen Technologieplattform für Websites mit regionaler Architektur zur Bereitstellung von Inhalten und die Migration vorhandener Webkomponenten in die Cloud.

Für die Plattformentwicklung nahm Unilever an einem AWS-Workshop zur Gestaltung der Architektur teil. Anschließend entwickelte das DMS-Team eine Pilotplattform (eine Site für die Notfallwiederherstellung für Drittanbieter-Hosting in Miami) zur Präsentation bei den Stakeholdern. Nach dem Erhalt der Genehmigung entschied sich Unilever für CSS Corporation, ein Advanced Consulting Partner-Mitglied des Amazon Partner Network (APN), für die Systemintegration und die Anwendungsbereitstellung. Das DMS-Team arbeitete mit CSS an der Entwicklung eines globalen CMS (Content Management System). Mit der CMS-Plattform können Agenturen globale Marken-Websites erstellten und diese in verschiedenen AWS-Regionen veröffentlichen. Unilever nutzt HAProxy-Load Balancer zur Steigerung der Leistung seiner Websites und führt seine Datenbanken auf Microsoft SQL Server und MySQL aus.

Für die Notfallwiederherstellung speichert Unilever Backup-Daten, Snapshots, Produkt- und Rezept-Mediendateien in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), und nutzt EBS Snapshot Copy zum Kopieren von Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)-Snapshots aus der USA Ost (Nord-Virginia)-Region in die USA West (Nordkalifornien)-Region. „Wir haben eine Notfallwiederherstellungslösung entwickelt, um unser CMS (Content Management System), unsere Architektur zur Inhaltsbereitstellung und viele GOLD-klassifizierte Webkomponenten zu schützen und dem Unternehmen Vertrauen in die AWS Cloud zu geben“, sagt Yalamanchili. Abbildung 1 zeigt die Unilever-Architektur in AWS.

unilever-arch-diag

Abbildung 1. Unilever-Architektur in AWS

Unilever und CSS entwickelten Amazon Machine Images (AMIs), auf denen Windows und Linux ausgeführt sind, für den Einsatz auf circa 400 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)-Instances. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) bietet Flexibilität für Bereitstellungen und Zugriff auf das Internet. Nick Morgan, Enterprise Architect for Digital Marketing, sagt dazu Folgendes: „Das Schöne an AWS ist, dass wir die Instances basierend auf der Beliebtheit einer Kampagne so einfach skalieren können. Wir haben Auto Scaling sowie die manuelle Skalierung für Sites wie Recipedia.com und Axeapollo.com verwendet. Wir können Instances in verschiedenen AWS-Regionen und Availability Zones bereitstellen und mit Amazon EBS-Snapshots Services zurückholen.“

Zur Migration seiner Webkomponenten in die Cloud entwickelte Unilever für verschiedene bereits vorhandene Websites Produktionsvorbereitungs- und Produktionsumgebungen in AWS. Nach der Zertifizierung der Website in der Produktionsvorbereitungsumgebung durch die Kreativ- und Produktionsagenturen von Unilever wechselte Unilever zur DNS-Adresse für die Produktionsumgebung, um in AWS live zu gehen.

Nach einem erfolgreichen Pilotprojekt migrierte Unilever in weniger als fünf Monaten über 500 Webkomponenten aus seinen Rechenzentren in AWS. Seitdem betreibt weltweit Unilever über 1.700 Webkomponenten in AWS. „In unserem Geschäft bemühen wir uns global um wiederholbare Modelle, und mit AWS können wir unsere Hosting-Umgebung einfach standardisieren“, so Yalamanchili. „Ist eine Marketing-Kampagne, die wir in der US East (Northern Virginia)-Region lancieren, erfolgreich, können wir diese problemlos für die APAC-Länder in der Asien-Pazifik-Region (Singapur) replizieren.“

CSS lieferte Unilever Machine Images verschiedener Betriebssysteme, APIs und Tools zur Automatisierung des Prozesses für die Markteinführung eines neuen Projekts. „Die Vorgehensweise von CSS bei der automatisierten Einführung von Instances verkürzte die Produkteinführungszeiten um bis zu 75 Prozent“, so Morgan. „Wofür wir früher vier Tage benötigten, brauchen wir heute nur noch einen. Wir erstellen Web- und Datenbankserver nicht jedes Mal vollständig neu. Wir können einfach klonen und Images wiederverwenden.“

Für Unilever verbesserten sich mit dem Umzug in die AWS Cloud die geschäftliche Flexibilität und die betriebliche Effizienz. „Vorher war die Anforderung einer Website für eine Marketing-Kampagne ein langwieriger Prozess“, sagt Yalamanchili. „Unilever verkürzte die Zeit bis zum Start einer digitalen Marketing-Kampagne von zwei Wochen auf durchschnittlich zwei Tage. Das ist über siebenmal schneller als in unserer bisherigen Umgebung. Hat ein Markenmanager eine Idee, kann diese umgesetzt werden, bevor die Konkurrenz es tut.“

„Mit der Nutzung von AWS sparen wir Zeit“, fährt er fort. „Ich kann einfach die AWS-Website aufrufen und Zahlen zur Kostenkalkulation eingeben. Dadurch kann ich einfach ein Standardabrechnungsmodell für Websites erstellen. Unser Partner CSS benötigt weniger als 12 Stunden für die Berechnung der Kosten für eine Kampagnen-Website. Ich kann meinen Marketing-Mitarbeitern guten Gewissens sagen, dass wir die Kapazität für all das haben, was wir gerne tun möchten. Wir können uns auf Innovation anstatt auf Infrastruktur konzentrieren.“

„Der andere Vorteil ist die Reaktionsstärke der AWS Cloud“, so Yalamanchili. „Mit der Nutzung von AWS konnte einer der Marken-Manager eine Kampagne innerhalb von 24 Stunden ändern, was mit der physischen Infrastruktur niemals passiert wäre.“

„AWS hört uns zu und unterstützt uns bei der Entwicklung von Ideen, wie wir Dinge anders machen können, die uns helfen“, so Morgan. „Mir gefällt besonders der kurze Innovationstakt von AWS.“ Yalamanchili fügt hinzu: „Mit AWS gibt der Kunde den Ton an, und zwar immer. AWS hat uns bewiesen, dass es der Kunde ist, auf den es ankommt, indem uns zugehört wurde und innovative Produkte und Service entstanden.“

Weitere Informationen darüber, wie AWS Ihnen beim Betrieb von Websites helfen kann, finden Sie auf unserer Marketing-Websites-Seite: http://aws.amazon.com/de/websites/.

Weitere Informationen, wie CSS Corporation Ihnen beim Betrieb Ihres Unternehmens in der AWS-Cloud helfen kann, finden Sie im Eintrag von CSS Corporation im AWS-Partnerverzeichnis.

Unilever_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Unilever Case Study

2014

Unilever was formed in 1930 by the merger of Dutch margarine producer, Margarine Unie and British soap maker, Lever Brothers. Today, the consumer goods giant sells food, home care, refreshments, and personal care products in over 190 countries. Unilever has headquarters in London, United Kingdom and Rotterdam, the Netherlands, and subsidiaries in over 90 countries. The company employs more than 170,000 people. In 2012, Unilever reported more than €51 billion in revenue. 

Customer-References-industry-CPG-Grocery.jpg
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

“AWS listens to us and helps come up with ideas to do things differently that are beneficial."

Nick Morgan
Enterprise Architect for Digital Marketing

The Challenge

Unilever North America in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey needed to re-design its infrastructure to support Unilever’s digital marketing approach. Unilever previously used on-premises data centers to host its web properties, all of which had different technologies and processes. “We needed to standardize our environment to support a faster time-to-market," says Sreenivas Yalamanchili, Digital Marketing Services (DMS) Global Technical Manager. Unilever optimizes its business model by testing a marketing campaign in a pilot country. If the campaign is successful, the company deploys it to other countries and regions. The IT organization wanted to use the cloud to implement the same process. 

Why Amazon Web Services

After a comprehensive RFP and review process involving more than 16 companies, Unilever chose Amazon Web Services (AWS). Unilever’s priorities in choosing a digital marketing platform included flexibility, a global infrastructure, technology, as well as a rich ecosystem of members. “With AWS, we have the same hosting provider for all regions, which means we don’t have to customize and tweak hosting solutions per region,” says Yalamanchili. “Unilever is focused on delivering great brands to consumers; it’s not an IT shop. We’re able to spend less and get more innovation by working with AWS and members of the AWS Partner Network.”

The Unilever IT team had two goals for the AWS migration: deliver a common technology platform for websites with regional content delivery architecture, and migrate existing web properties to the cloud.

To develop the platform, Unilever attended an AWS workshop to design the architecture. Then the DMS team built a pilot platform (a disaster recovery site for third-party hosting in Miami) for stakeholder review. After obtaining business approval, Unilever chose CSS Corporation, an Advanced Consulting Partner member of the Amazon Partner Network (APN), for system integration and application development. The DMS team worked with CSS to develop a global content management system (CMS) . The CMS platform lets agencies build brand web sites globally and publish them across several AWS regions. Unilever uses a HAProxy load balancer to improve performance of its web sites and runs its databases on Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL.

For disaster recovery, Unilever stores backup data, snapshots, product and recipe media files in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and uses EBS Snapshot Copy to copy Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) snapshots from the US East (Northern Virginia) Region to the US West (Northern California) Region. “We designed a disaster recovery solution to protect our content management system, content deployment architecture, and many GOLD-classified web properties—and to give the business confidence in the AWS Cloud,” says Yalamanchili. Figure 1 demonstrates Unilever’s architecture on AWS.

Unilever and CSS created Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) running Windows and Linux for use on approximately 400 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) provides flexibility for deployments and access to the Internet. Nick Morgan, Enterprise Architect for Digital Marketing comments, “What’s nice about using AWS is how easily we're able to scale the instances based on the nature of a campaign’s popularity. We used Auto Scaling as well as manual scaling for sites such as Recipedia.com and Axeapollo.com. We can deploy instances across different AWS Regions and Availability Zones and use Amazon EBS snapshots to bring services back.”

To migrate its web properties to the cloud, Unilever built pre-production and production environments on AWS for several existing websites. Once Unilever’s creative and production agencies certified the website in the pre-production environment, Unilever switched the DNS address for production environment to go live on AWS.

After a successful pilot launch, Unilever migrated more than 500 web properties from its data centers to AWS in less than five months. Since then, Unilever has more than 1,700 web properties running on AWS worldwide. “Throughout our business globally, we strive to create repeatable models and it’s easy to standardize our hosting environment with AWS,” says Yalamanchili. “If a marketing campaign that we deploy in the US East (Northern Virginia) Region is successful, we can easily replicate it to Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region for the APAC countries.”

CSS supplied Unilever with machine images of different operating systems, APIs and tools to automate the process of launching a new project. “The way CSS automated launching instances reduced the time to launch a project by about 75 percent,” says Morgan. “What used to take four days now only takes one day. We’re not rebuilding web and database servers from the ground up all the time. We can just clone and re-use images.”

The Benefits

For Unilever, moving to the AWS Cloud improved business agility and operational efficiency. “Previously, requesting a website for a marketing campaign was a lengthy process,” says Yalamanchili. “By using AWS, we improved time to launch for a digital marketing campaign from two weeks to an average of two days. That’s more than seven times faster than our traditional environment. If a brand manager has an idea, he or she can implement it before the competition,”

“Using AWS saves us time,” he continues. “I can simply go to the AWS website and plug in numbers to calculate costs. That makes it easy for me to set up a standard billing model for websites. It takes our partner, CSS, less than 12 hours to calculate pricing for a campaign website. I can comfortably say to my marketing folks that we have the capacity for anything we want to do. We can focus on innovation rather than infrastructure.”

“The other advantage is the responsiveness of the AWS Cloud,” says Yalamanchili. “By using AWS, one of the brand managers was able to completely alter a campaign within 24 hours, which wouldn’t happen with the physical infrastructure.”

“AWS listens to us and helps come up with ideas to do things differently that are beneficial,” says Morgan. “I really enjoy the rapid rate of innovation from AWS.” Yalamanchili adds, “With AWS, it’s the customer's way, always. AWS has proved to us that it's the customer that matters by listening to us and innovating products and services."


About Unilever

Unilever was formed in 1930 by the merger of Dutch margarine producer, Margarine Unie and British soap maker, Lever Brothers. Today, the consumer goods giant sells food, home care, refreshments, and personal care products in over 190 countries.

Benefits of AWS

  • Improved business agility and operational efficiency.
  • Responsiveness of the AWS Cloud
  • Improved time to launch digital marketing campaigns
  • Rapid rate of innovation

AWS Services Used

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. This means customers of all sizes and industries can use it to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics.

Learn more »

EBS Snapshot Copy

EBS Snapshot Copy enables you to copy your EBS snapshots across AWS regions, thus making it easier for you to leverage multiple AWS regions and accelerate your geographical expansion, data center migration and disaster recovery.

Learn more »

Amazon Elastic Block Store

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) is an easy to use, high performance block storage service designed for use with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) for both throughput and transaction intensive workloads at any scale.

Learn more »

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) lets you provision a logically isolated section of the AWS Cloud where you can launch AWS resources in a virtual network that you define.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.