深圳晶泰科技有限公司(以下简称“晶泰科技”)创立于麻省理工学院的校园,以量子物理学家和医药界资深专家为核心成员,是全球领先的以计算驱动创新的药物固相研发公司。通过计算物理、量子化学与云端强大的智能算法,实现高度精确的药物固相筛选与设计,大幅度缩短药物设计、固相筛选与药物制剂开发的时间,对药企的专利申报与保护起到关键作用。晶泰科技的主要产品是基于AWS高性能集群的研发平台,通过大规模调用AWS计算性能型的竞价实例,达到最佳的计算效费比。目前晶泰科技已与若干家世界顶级药企建立合作关系。

晶泰科技的“药物固相筛选与设计平台”借助高性能计算资源和自己独有的计算模型帮助制药企业和新药研发团队快速地完成对药物固相的研发,既能大幅度缩短药物发展的时间,又能避免遗漏某些重要的药物固相,从而提高研发成功率, 降低研发成本与专利风险。“我们最初是在超算中心进行开发和测试的,但当我们要将整个系统投入商用时,挑战随之出现。”晶泰科技CTO刘阳说。

与云计算相比,采用超算平台存在的主要问题包括以下方面:首先是难以进行定制和部署对外服务;其二是计算资源的申请流程较为繁琐;其三是用户体验方面,超算中心通常都有大量任务排队,等候时间较长。晶泰科技的智能算法有很高的并行度,这意味着时间和计算资源成反比,并且计算一般是按需和突发式的,不需要一直维持大量的计算节点。有些测试任务需要在几天内得到结果,这就需要同时调用数千个计算核心。“我们不可能购置这么大型的集群,也无法随时申请到如此多的超算资源,只有云计算可以满足我们的业务对资源和成本的要求。”刘阳说。

晶泰科技在选择云平台时首先考虑的是云主机的性能,其次是价格。药物晶体结构预测是计算密集型应用,计算量很大,对单节点机器的性能要求较高,很多计算需要24个核心以上的主机。

通过仔细地调研,晶泰科技发现目前只有Amazon EC2中的c3和c4型主机可以满足要求,更令晶泰科技惊喜的是AWS竞价实例的价格便宜。此外,AWS完善的服务、高稳定性和高安全性都是晶泰科技非常认可的。于是从2015年11月起,晶泰科技逐步将药物固相预测平台迁移到AWS云平台上。

晶泰科技的技术团队首先对Amazon EC2的C4.8xlarge(采用Intel 至强E5-2680V2处理器)进行了性能测试,以保证能够高效地运行计算化学软件。“我们从2015年12月开始进行较大规模的测试,在测试的过程中发现之前使用的MongoDB的GridFS成为瓶颈,这主要体现在两方面:其一是吞吐量,其二是无法动态扩容。于是我们采用了Amazon S3作为数据存储,立刻解决了这两方面的问题。”刘阳说。目前晶泰科技的“药物固相筛选与设计平台”已经全部构建在AWS云平台之上,所使用的AWS云服务包括Amazon EC2、Amazon DynamoDB、Amazon S3、Amazon VPC等。图1是药物固相筛选与设计平台的架构图。

在这一架构中,Amazon EC2的计算优化实例作为主要计算资源,完成药物固相预测的相关计算任务;Amazon S3存储计算中间数据,按照使用量付费,无需关心容量;Amazon DynamoDB则用于存储业务数据;Amazon VPC用于分割不同的区域,保证整个系统的安全性。“我们的计算节点都是外围的,特别是竞价实例,因此我们利用VPC来分割不同的集群区域,确保我们核心的管理平台不受其他集群的影响。”刘阳说。

xtalpi-arch-diag

图1:药物固相筛选与设计平台架构图

使用AWS云平台给晶泰科技带来的效益主要体现在三个方面:节省成本、安全可靠以及海量的资源和灵活的扩展性。

药物固相筛选与设计是计算密集型应用,峰值计算需求可能会用到成千上万个计算核心,如果依靠自建集群来满足峰值时刻的计算需求,则需要花费数千万元。AWS海量的弹性资源和竞价实例,使晶泰科技大幅降低了计算成本。通过使用AWS竞价实例,在计算费用上的成本节省了50%~60%。另一方面,AWS云平台提供了丰富的SDK,使得晶泰科技可以方便、快速地管理和控制计算集群,加速研发速度,并且通过使用Amazon S3等服务,降低运维成本。“粗略估计,我们每年可以节省80万~100万人民币的运营成本。”刘阳说。

AWS云平台的安全性和可靠性是深受客户认可的,晶泰科技的服务作为药物研发中的重要环节,对数据安全非常重视。AWS云平台提供了丰富的服务来保证数据的安全性,这也使得晶泰科技的“药物固相筛选与设计平台”更容易获得客户的认可。“AWS不仅使我们能够在云平台上搭建起灵活、可扩展的高性能计算集群,而且还可以通过使用竞价实例,达到极佳的计算效费比。”刘阳说。

了解 AWS 如何帮助满足您 Web 应用程序需求的更多信息,请访问我们的 Web、移动和社交应用程序详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/

Thanks to AWS and Spot Instances, we were able to build a flexible and scalable high-performance-computing cluster in the cloud, and reach an ideal cost efficiency.
Yang Lui Chief IT Architect

XtalPi, Inc. (XtalPi) is a pharmaceutical technology company that provides next-generation solutions to drug solid-state research during drug development. Founded by a group of quantum physicists and biopharmaceutical professionals at MIT, Xtalpi provides cloud-based computational drug solid-state screening and designing technologies that can significantly boost drug development efficiency for biopharmaceutical companies, and cast a substantial impact on drug-development risk management, patent strategy, and lifecycle management. Through naturally paralleled algorithms, the company's cloud high-performance-computing platform conducts extensive computation with groundbreaking speed and accuracy through AWS Spot Instances. XtalPi’s current clients are top global pharmaceutical companies.

XtalPi’s drug solid-state screening and designing platform employs high-performance-computation resources and uses a unique computational model to help pharmaceutical companies and scientists quickly obtain a clear landscape of a drug’s solid states. This technology provides a highly cost-efficient way to conduct drug solid-state development, which holds the promise of greatly shortening the drug research and development cycle, significantly improving the efficiency and success rate of drug development while ensuring better drug quality. The company, though, had challenges as it prepared to formally launch the platform. “Our prediction platform was developed and tested at a supercomputing center. But as we prepared for commercial use, we ran into challenges,” says Yang Liu, chief technology officer at XtalPi.

Supercomputing centers have a few disadvantages: First, it is difficult to customize and deploy services for external parties; second, it takes a long time to apply for computing resources; and third, supercomputing centers usually have a large number of jobs in queue, which can lead to long wait times and compromise the user experience. Additionally, XtalPi’s algorithms are highly parallel, which means computing time is inversely proportional to the amount of computing resources deployed. The computing is often on demand and elastic, and does not require a constantly large number of computation nodes. But for predictions that demand result in a few days, thousands of computation cores are needed simultaneously. “It’s unrealistic for us to purchase and maintain computation clusters at such a large scale, or to gain approval for using so many resources at a supercomputing center. Cloud computing is the only option that meets both our computing resource needs and our budget requirements,” says Liu.

In choosing a cloud platform, XtalPi’s first consideration was performance: drug-crystal-structure prediction is a compute-intensive application that requires a massive amount of computation and poses a performance challenge for single nodes. Much of the calculation requires a host with more than 24 cores.

After meticulous research of the cloud-services market, XtalPi found that only the c3 and c4 hosts in Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) could meet its demands for performance, with the added benefit of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances’ low cost. XtalPi also recognized the superior customer service, stability, and security of AWS. As a result, the company started to move its drug-crystal-structure-prediction platform onto the AWS Cloud in November 2015.

The XtalPi IT team started by conducting performance tests on Amazon EC2’s C4.8xlarge instances (utilizing Intel’s Xeon E5-2680V2 CPU) to ensure its computational chemistry software could run efficiently. “In December, 2015, we started to run tests on larger scales,” says Liu. “During that process, we found that the GridFS of Mongo DB—the storage system we were using before—was creating a bottleneck effect, limiting our throughput and making it impossible to scale dynamically. By switching to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for data storage, we quickly solved the problem,” says Liu. Today, the XtalPi drug-crystal-structure-prediction platform runs solely on an AWS Cloud-based infrastructure, leveraging services including Amazon EC2, Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon S3, and Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC).

Diagram 1 shows the architecture of XtalPi’s prediction platform. In this chart, Amazon EC2 instances are used as the main source of computational capacity for the predictions; Amazon S3 provides intermediate data storage, with infinite scalability to handle large amounts of data; Amazon DynamoDB is used to store business data; Amazon VPC is used for defining isolated sections in the cluster, therefore guaranteeing the system’s security. “We mainly rely on elastic computing resources, such as the Amazon EC2 Spot Instances,” says Liu. “We use Amazon VPC to provision isolated sections in the cluster, and to make sure that our core management platform remains impervious to other clusters.”

arch diagram-XtalPi

For XtalPi, the benefits of moving to AWS are threefold: reduced costs, reliable security, and infinite resources with flexible scalability.

Drug-crystal-structure prediction is a compute-intensive application that could require tens of thousands of cores during peak computing times, and building private computing clusters of such capacity would cost millions of dollars. However, utilizing the elastic compute resources and AWS Spot Instances, XtalPi was able to lower its compute costs by 50 to 60 percent. In addition, AWS provides a variety of SDKs that allow XtalPi to quickly and easily manage and control its clusters, accelerate the platform’s development, and use services such as Amazon S3 to lower operation and maintenance costs. “We are saving roughly 800,000 RMB to 1,000,000 RMB in operational costs using AWS,” says Liu.

XtalPi provides crucial services in the various stages of drug development, and places great importance on its platform’s security and reliability. AWS has proven itself to be a trusted partner in ensuring XtalPi’s platform, and offers an extensive array of services for optimal data security. “Thanks to AWS and Spot Instances, we were able to build a flexible and scalable high-performance-computing cluster in the cloud, and reach an ideal cost efficiency,” says Liu.

To learn more about how AWS can help with your high-performance-computing needs, visit our high-performance-computing details page.