什么是 Apache Hive?

对 PB 级数据执行类似于 SQL 的查询

什么是 Hive?

Apache Hive 是可实现大规模分析的分布式容错数据仓库系统。该数据仓库集中存储信息,您可以轻松对此类信息进行分析,从而做出明智的数据驱动决策。Hive 让用户可以利用 SQL 读取、写入和管理 PB 级数据。

Hive 建立在 Apache Hadoop 基础之上,后者是一种开源框架,可被用于高效存储与处理大型数据集。因此,Hive 与 Hadoop 紧密集成,其设计可快速对 PB 级数据进行操作。Hive 的与众不同之处在于它可以利用 Apache Tez 或 MapReduce 通过类似于 SQL 的界面查询大型数据集。

Apache Hive Logo

Hive 如何运作?

Hive 旨在让非程序员熟悉 SQL,并使用名为 HiveQL 的类似于 SQL 的界面对 PB 级数据进行操作。传统关系数据库被用于对中小型数据集进行交互式查询,它在处理大型数据集时的表现并不理想。但 Hive 使用批处理,因此它可以快速操作非常大型的分布式数据库。Hive 会将 HiveQL 查询转换成在 Apache Hadoop 的分布式作业计划框架,亦即 Yet Another Resource Negotiator (YARN) 上运行的 MapReduce 或 Tez 作业。它会查询存储在分布式存储解决方案,如 Hadoop 分布式文件系统 (HDFS) 或 Amazon S3 当中的数据。Hive 将其数据库和表元数据存储在元数据仓中,而元数据仓是一种可实现轻松数据提取和发现的基于数据库或文件的存储。

Hive 包含 HCatalog,它是从 Hive 元数据仓读取数据的表和存储管理层,可帮助 Hive、Apache Pig 和 MapReduce 之间的无缝集成。通过元数据仓,HCatalog 允许 Pig 和 MapReduce 使用与 Hive 相同的数据结构,从而无需为每个引擎重新定义元数据仓。自定义应用程序或第三方集成可以使用 WebHCat,而 WebHcat 是 HCatalog 用来访问和重复使用 Hive 元数据仓的 RESTful API。

Hive 的优点

快速

Hive 所采用的数据可通过批处理快速处理 PB 级数据。

 

熟悉

Hive 提供非程序员可以使用的熟悉的类似于 SQL 的界面。

 

可扩展

Hive 可根据您的需求被轻松分发与扩展。

 

Apache Hive vs Apache HBase

Apache HBase 是一种 NoSQL 分布式数据库,可实现对 PB 级数据的随机、严格一致的实时访问。Apache Hive 则是一种分布式数据仓库系统,具有类似于 SQL 的查询功能。

特性

Apache Hive

Apache HBase

功能

类似于 SQL 的查询引擎专为大容量数据存储而设计。支持多种文件格式。

通过自定义查询功能提供低延迟分布式键-值存储。数据采用列式存储格式。

处理类型

采用 Apache Tez 或 MapReduce 计算框架的批处理。

实时处理。

延迟

中到高,取决于计算引擎的响应能力。对于相同数据卷,分布式执行模型提供比整体式查询系统(如 RDBMS)更出色的性能。

低,但可能不一致。HBase 架构的结构限制可能在密集写入负载期间导致延迟激增。

Hadoop 集成

在 Hadoop 顶部运行,与 Apache Tez 或 MapReduce 一起使用可进行处理,与 HDFS 或 Amazon S3 一起可进行存储。

在 HDFS 或 Amazon S3 顶部运行。

SQL 支持

通过 HiveQL 提供类似于 SQL 的查询功能。

自身不提供 SQL 支持。您可以为 SQL 功能使用 Apache Phoenix。

Schema

适用于全部表的定义 Schema。

无 Schema。

数据类型

支持结构化和非结构化数据。为常见的 SQL 数据类型提供原生支持,如 INT、FLOAT 和 VARCHAR。

仅支持非结构化数据。由用户定义数据字段到 Java 支持的数据类型的映射。

Hive 使用案例

Airbnb 在世界范围内为人们提供住宿和活动匹配,注册的房东超过 290 万名,可提供 80 万间民宿供有需要者在夜间住宿。Airbnb 使用 Amazon EMR 在 S3 湖内数仓上运行 Apache Hive。在 EMR 集群上运行 Hive 让 Airbnb 分析师可对存储于 S3 湖内数仓中的数据执行临时 SQL 查询。通过迁移到 S3 湖内数仓,Airbnb 降低了自身开支,并且现在可以进行成本归属分析,使 Apache Spark 作业的速度比原来增加了三倍。

Guardian 通过其保险和财富管理产品及服务为 2700 万名会员提供他们值得拥有的安全保护。Guardian 使用 Amazon EMR 在 S3 湖内数仓上运行 Apache Hive。Apache Hive 被用于批处理。S3 湖内数仓为 Guardian Direct 提供支持,该数字平台让消费者可以研究与购买 Guardian 产品和保险产业的第三方产品。

FINRA(美国金融业监管局)是美国最大的独立安全监管机构,负责监控和管制金融交易行为。FINRA 使用 Amazon EMR 在 S3 湖内数仓上运行 Apache Hive。在 EMR 集群上运行 Hive 让 FINRA 可以利用 SQL 处理与分析多达 900 亿个事件的交易数据。相较于 FINRA 的本地解决方案,云湖内数仓能够实现高达 2000 万 USD 的成本节约,并大幅缩短恢复与升级所需的时间。

Vanguard 是一家在美国注册的投资顾问,它也是最大的共同基金提供商和第二大交易型开放式指数基金提供商。Vanguard 使用 Amazon EMR 在 S3 湖内数仓上运行 Apache Hive。数据被存储在 S3 中,而 EMR 会在此类数据基础上构建一个 Hive 元数据仓。Hive 元数据仓包含与 EMR 集群中的数据和表有关的全部元数据,从而实现轻松分析数据。Hive 还让分析师可对存储于 S3 湖内数仓中的数据执行临时 SQL 查询。通过 Amazon EMR 迁移到 S3 湖内数仓帮助超过 150 名数据分析师成功提高运维效率,并将 EC2 和 EMR 的成本降低了 60 万 USD。

AWS 上的 Hive 和 Hadoop

Amazon EMR 提供最简单、最快速而且最具成本效益的托管 Hadoop 框架,让客户可以跨动态可扩展 EC2 实例处理大量数据。客户还可以在 EMR 中运行其他受欢迎的分布式框架,例如,Apache Hive、Spark、HBase、Presto 和 Flink 等。了解有关 Amazon EMR 的更多信息

 

开始使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hive

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
注册 AWS 账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
了解与 Amazon EMR 上的 Hive 有关的更多信息

这里阅读更多与 EMR 上的 Hive 有关的内容。

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
开始使用 EMR 上的 Hive

在 Amazon S3 上上传您的数据,并在这里开始使用 Amazon EMR。

拥有 POC 并且想与某人交谈? 联系我们

在 AWS 上开始使用 Amazon EMR 上的 Hive

立即试用 EMR
还有更多问题?
联系我们

What is Apache Hive?

Perform SQL-like queries on petabytes of data

What is Hive?

Apache Hive is a distributed, fault-tolerant data warehouse system that enables analytics at a massive scale. A data warehouse provides a central store of information that can easily be analyzed to make informed, data driven decisions. Hive allows users to read, write, and manage petabytes of data using SQL.

Hive is built on top of Apache Hadoop, which is an open-source framework used to efficiently store and process large datasets. As a result, Hive is closely integrated with Hadoop, and is designed to work quickly on petabytes of data. What makes Hive unique is the ability to query large datasets, leveraging Apache Tez or MapReduce, with a SQL-like interface.

Apache Hive Logo

How does Hive work?

Hive was created to allow non-programmers familiar with SQL to work with petabytes of data, using a SQL-like interface called HiveQL. Traditional relational databases are designed for interactive queries on small to medium datasets and do not process huge datasets well. Hive instead uses batch processing so that it works quickly across a very large distributed database. Hive transforms HiveQL queries into MapReduce or Tez jobs that run on Apache Hadoop’s distributed job scheduling framework, Yet Another Resource Negotiator (YARN). It queries data stored in a distributed storage solution, like the Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS) or Amazon S3. Hive stores its database and table metadata in a metastore, which is a database or file backed store that enables easy data abstraction and discovery.

Hive includes HCatalog, which is a table and storage management layer that reads data from the Hive metastore to facilitate seamless integration between Hive, Apache Pig, and MapReduce. By using the metastore, HCatalog allows Pig and MapReduce to use the same data structures as Hive, so that the metadata doesn’t have to be redefined for each engine. Custom applications or third party integrations can use WebHCat, which is a RESTful API for HCatalog to access and reuse Hive metadata.

Benefits of Hive

Fast

Hive is designed to quickly handle petabytes of data using batch processing.

 

Familiar

Hive provides a familiar, SQL-like interface that is accessible to non-programmers.

 

Scalable

Hive is easy to distribute and scale based on your needs.

 

Apache Hive vs Apache HBase

Apache HBase is a NoSQL distributed database that enables random, strictly consistent, real-time access to petabytes of data. Apache Hive is a distributed data warehouse system that provides SQL-like querying capabilities.

Characteristics

Apache Hive

Apache HBase

Function

SQL-like query engine designed for high volume data stores. Multiple file-formats are supported.

Low-latency distributed key-value store with custom query capabilities. Data is stored in a column-oriented format.

Processing Type

Batch processing using Apache Tez or MapReduce compute frameworks.

Real-time processing.

Latency

Medium to high, depending on the responsiveness of the compute engine. The distributed execution model provides superior performance compared to monolithic query systems, like RDBMS, for the same data volumes.

Low, but it can be inconsistent. Structural limitations of the HBase architecture can result in latency spikes under intense write loads.

Hadoop Integration

Runs on top of Hadoop, with Apache Tez or MapReduce for processing and HDFS or Amazon S3 for storage.

Runs on top of HDFS or Amazon S3.

SQL Support

Provides SQL-like querying capabilities with HiveQL.

No SQL support on its own. You can use Apache Phoenix for SQL capabilities.

Schema

Defined schema for all tables.

Schema-free.

Data Types

Supports structured and unstructured data. Provides native support for common SQL data types, like INT, FLOAT, and VARCHAR.

Supports unstructured data only. The user defines mappings of data fields to Java-supported data types.

Hive Use Cases

Airbnb connects people with places to stay and things to do around the world with 2.9 million hosts listed, supporting 800k nightly stays. Airbnb uses Amazon EMR to run Apache Hive on a S3 data lake. Running Hive on the EMR clusters enables Airbnb analysts to perform ad hoc SQL queries on data stored in the S3 data lake. By migrating to a S3 data lake, Airbnb reduced expenses, can now do cost attribution, and increased the speed of Apache Spark jobs by three times their original speed.

Guardian gives 27 million members the security they deserve through insurance and wealth management products and services. Guardian uses Amazon EMR to run Apache Hive on a S3 data lake. Apache Hive is used for batch processing. The S3 data lake fuels Guardian Direct, a digital platform that allows consumers to research and purchase both Guardian products and third party products in the insurance sector.

FINRA – the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority – is the largest independent securities regulator in the United States, and monitors and regulates financial trading practices. FINRA uses Amazon EMR to run Apache Hive on a S3 data lake. Running Hive on the EMR clusters enables FINRA to process and analyze trade data of up to 90 billion events using SQL. The cloud data lake resulted in cost savings of up to $20 million compared to FINRA’s on-premises solution, and drastically reduced the time needed for recovery and upgrades.

Vanguard, an American registered investment advisor, is the largest provider of mutual funds and the second largest provider of exchange traded funds. Vanguard uses Amazon EMR to run Apache Hive on a S3 data lake. Data is stored in S3 and EMR builds a Hive metastore on top of that data. The Hive metastore contains all the metadata about the data and tables in the EMR cluster, which allows for easy data analysis. Hive also enables analysts to perform ad hoc SQL queries on data stored in the S3 data lake. Migrating to a S3 data lake with Amazon EMR has enabled 150+ data analysts to realize operational efficiency and has reduced EC2 and EMR costs by $600k.

Hive and Hadoop on AWS

Amazon EMR provides the easiest, fastest, and most cost-effective managed Hadoop framework, enabling customers to process vast amounts of data across dynamically scalable EC2 instances. Customers can also run other popular distributed frameworks such as Apache Hive, Spark, HBase, Presto, and Flink in EMR. Learn more about Amazon EMR.

 

Get started with Hive on Amazon EMR

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_02_Sign-Up_SqInk
Sign up for an AWS account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_01_Product-Features_SqInk
Learn more about Hive on Amazon EMR

Read more about Hive on EMR here.

Product-Page_Standard-Icons_03_Start-Building_SqInk
Get started with Hive on EMR

Upload your data on Amazon S3 and get started with Amazon EMR here.

Have a POC and want to talk to someone? Contact us.

Get Started with Hive on Amazon EMR on AWS

Try EMR Today
Have more questions?
Contact us