越来越多的企业开始使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例以经济高效的方式运行和扩展其基础设施。以下是客户如何使用 EC2 Spot 实例实现业务敏捷性、成本节约和扩展的一些实例。

免费启动 Amazon EC2 实例

免费试用 Amazon EC2

AWS 免费套餐包括为期一年、每月 750 小时 Linux 和 Windows t2.micro 实例的使用时间。要一直享受免费套餐,您只能使用 EC2 微型实例。

查看 AWS 免费套餐详细信息 »

Guttman 实验室(在加州理工)

加州理工学院(加州理工)的 Guttman 实验室选择了 EC2 Spot 实例,因为他们需要一个经济高效、灵活且具有弹性的基础设施解决方案,以便实验室研究人员实时访问大型 HPC 群集。由于他们可以按需启动和撤消数千个节点,实验室研究人员可以同时轻松地运行多个项目,还能将完成基因组测序所需的时间从数周缩短为几天。了解更多 >>

TLG Aerospace

位于西雅图的航空航天工程公司 TLG Aerospace 在 STAR-CCM+ 计算流体动力学 (CFD) 模拟方面实现了 75% 的节约。使用 EC2 Spot 实例,TLG 能够以更低的成本获得更多内存和核心,从而可以扩展越发严格的模拟数量和大小。了解更多 >>

ironSource

ironSource 拥有超过 8 亿用户,利用 Spot 迅速扩展其生产环境,同时节省了高达 80% 的成本。IronSource 使用 EC2 Spot 支持其大数据解决方案 ironsource Atom,使他们能够可靠地处理任何规模的数据,同时将成本降低数万美元。详细了解他们是如何做到的 >>

Fugro Roames

通过使用 AWS 和 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,Fugro Roames 使 Ergon Energy 的年度植被管理成本从 1 亿澳元降到了 6000 万澳元。了解更多 >>

美国国家仪器公司

借助 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例,美国国家仪器公司可以轻松地节省 85-90% 的成本,使其能够快速扩展以满足当前需求,同时避免与扩展本地基础设施相关的额外员工人数和采购滞后。

Inneractive

Inneractive 是一家总部位于特拉维夫的移动广告交易平台,提供用于购买和销售移动广告空间的技术。通过与 Spotinst 合作并使用 Spot 实例,Inneractive 在保持其平台性能的同时使其 AWS 帐单总额节省了 20-30%。 

Lyft

Lyft 是一家总部位于旧金山的拼车公司,以 55 亿美元的估值名列“财富”杂志的“独角兽”热门初创公司名单。通过使用 AWS Spot 实例,Lyft 只需更改四行代码一个月即可节省高达 90% 的成本。 

Gett

Gett 是一家总部位于以色列的初创公司,它将人们与出租车司机关联起来,在数百个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行网站和移动应用。Gett 选择通过利用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例来减少部分成本。该公司在 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例上运行 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (EMR) 服务来帮助他们处理大量数据。了解更多 >>

Krux

Krux 帮助世界各地的公司提供更有价值和个性化的营销、媒体和商务体验。Krux 实施了使用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例的 Amazon EMR 基础设施,以更低的成本获取计算功能,使用内部框架确定 Spot 竞价。

TellApart

TellApart 的大数据平台使零售商能够发挥客户数据的作用。他们使用 Amazon Elastic MapReduce 启动 Hadoop 群集来批量处理日志数据,并通过使用 Spot 实例将成本降低了 75%。单击此处以了解更多。

AdRoll

AdRoll 是广告重定向领域的全球领导者,提供跨大型展示广告资源来源和工具的跨平台覆盖范围,以实现个性化的广告活动。由于低延迟、有保证的吞吐量以及快速扩展的能力,AdRoll 选择使用 Amazon EC2、S3 和 DynamoDB 运营其业务。此外,他们还使用 Spot 来实现可变容量,从而使他们能够以更低的成本更快、更高效地运行工作负载。阅读案例研究以了解更多信息。

NetSeer

NetSeer 提供基于概念的广告解决方案,将搜索查询和网页内容与广告客户和出版商的相关广告相匹配。  Netseer 使用 Amazon EC2 Spot Fleet 通过一个请求启动和管理 Spot 实例的集合。阅读案例研究以了解更多信息。

BloomReach

BloomReach 构建了一个个性化发现平台,其中包含用来执行搜索、内容营销和推销的应用程序。每天,他们启动多达 2,000 个 Amazon EMR 群集,运行 6,000 个 Hadoop 作业。借助 Spot 和 Amazon EMR,他们在提高效率的同时还降低了成本。在 AWS 博客上详细了解他们是如何做到这点的。

Fin Design + Effects

Fin Design + Effects 是一家精品设计及视觉效果 (VFX) 公司,它需要一个经济高效且灵活的解决方案来实时获取额外容量。Fin 艺术家经常在最后一刻需要额外的计算资源,以便使用渲染软件执行复杂任务。他们“想要节省资金,在如何增加计算资源方面获得更多的灵活性,而 AWS 看起来可以让我们很容易地完成这两件事情。”Fin Design 使用 Amazon EC2 和 EC2 Spot 实例实现了混合云环境,以低成本按需获取容量。

Ooyala

在用于所有连接设备范围内的发布、分析和货币化的在线视频技术领域,Ooyala 是市场领导者。其综合视频技术可为内容所有者提供深度见解,帮助促进观看者参与度的上升以及从视频中获得的收入。借助 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)(包括竞价型实例、预留实例和按需实例)和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),该公司得以缩短产品上市时间,并几乎消除了用户的等待时间。

Fermilab

Fermilab 正在参与 CERN 项目,这是世界上最大的数据密集型项目。在证明希格斯玻色子(“上帝粒子”,让人类获得其质量)的存在之后,CERN 能够以更快的速度分析更多的数据,更进一步证明黑暗物质的存在。他们成功地将计算能力经济高效地提高了 4 倍,共达到 58K 的内核。在近 10 天内使用 290 万个作业完全模拟超过 5 亿个事件,如果没有 AWS 帮助,Fermilab 通常会需要六周的时间才能完成这项任务。

DNAnexus

DNAnexus 为 DNA 测序中心和研究人员提供数据管理和序列分析的统一系统。DNAnexus 利用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 竞价型实例来执行其所有 DNA 分析,而利用 Amazon EC2 按需实例来处理公司的交互服务,例如客户端前端门户与视觉化工具。此外,DNAnexus 还依赖于 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来满足公司广泛的存储需求,数据将从数 TB 增长到数 PB。

Novartis
Novartis 建立了一个癌症研究平台,估计会花费 4,000 万美元。借助 Spot 实例,他们花费 4,232 美元在 9 个小时内完成了 39 年的计算化学作业,还发现了 3 种有助于抗癌的化合物。向 Novartis 的全球科学计算主管学习是如何做到这点的。

Flux7

Flux7 是一家 IT 咨询公司,帮助企业创建或优化为应用程序和工作流提供弹性支持的云基础设施,从而帮助客户控制成本,同时轻松地进行扩展以满足需求。他们是 APN 医疗保健合作伙伴,证明了自己在为医疗保健付款人和提供商构建解决方案方面获得成功。

Spotinst

通过优秀、可靠的处理 Spot 实例的方式,Spotinst 帮助客户充分利用云的超额容量。Elastigroup 自动缩放引擎自动创建和维护主要由 EC2 Spot、按需和预留实例组成的混合群集。为了优化群集,Elastigroup 在三种价格模型之间自动进行权衡,并作为其中一部分维护和管理 Spot 实例采购操作和中断。这包括设置竞价以及选择实例和可用区。

More and more businesses are using Amazon EC2 Spot instances to run and scale their infrastructure cost-effectively. Here are some examples of how customers have achieved business agility, cost savings, and scale with EC2 Spot instances.

Launch an Amazon EC2 Instance for Free

Try Amazon EC2 for Free

AWS Free Tier includes 750 hours of Linux and Windows t2.micro instances each month for one year. To stay within the Free Tier, use only EC2 Micro instances.

View AWS Free Tier Details »

Guttman Labs (at CalTech)

The Guttman Lab at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) chose EC2 Spot instances beacuse they needed a cost-effective, flexible, and elastic infrastructure solution for lab researchers to access large HPC clusters on the fly. Since they could launch and de-commission 1,000's of nodes on-demand, lab researchers could easily run multiple projects simultaneously, while reducing the time required to complete genomic sequencing from weeks to days. Learn more >>

TLG Aerospace

Seattle-based aerospace engineering company, TLG Aerospace, saves 75% on STAR-CCM+ computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulations. EC2 Spot instances have enabled TLG to access more memory and cores at a lower cost, allowing them to scale the number and size of increasingly demanding simulations. Learn more >>

Lotame

“Analytics is at the core of Lotame platform which helps our customers to maximize the value of data. We use Spot instances to run large-scale Big Data Analytics workloads. The new EC2 Spot Instances pricing model makes it even easier for us to acquire Spot capacity at predictable prices, giving us more confidence in the savings and stability we can get by moving additional workloads to Spot Instances.”

ironSource

With over 800 million users, ironSource leverages Spot to scale their production environment quickly while saving up to 80%. ironSource powers their big data solution, ironsource Atom, with EC2 Spot so they can reliably handle any amount of data while reducing costs by tens of thousands of dollars. Learn more about how they did this >>

Fugro Roames

By using AWS and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, Fugro Roames has enabled Ergon Energy to reduce the annual cost of vegetation management from AU$100 million to AU$60 million. Learn more >>

National Instruments

With Amazon EC2 Spot Instances, National Instruments easily saves 85–90% in costs and allowed them to quickly scale to meet current demands while avoiding additional headcount and procurement lag associated with expanding on-premises infrastructure.

Inneractive

Based in Tel Aviv, Inneractive is a mobile ad exchange that provides technologies for the buying and selling of mobile advertising space. By partnering with Spotinst and using Spot instances, Inneractive has saved 20-30% on their total AWS bill while maintaining performance of its platform. 

Lyft

Lyft is a San Francisco-based ridesharing company that is on Fortune magazine’s “Unicorn” list of hot startups, with a valuation of $5.5 billion. By using AWS Spot instances, Lyft saves up to 90% percent a month simply by changing four lines of code. 

Gett

Gett is an Israeli-based startup that connects people with taxi drivers and runs its website and mobile app on several hundred Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Gett chose to reduce some of its costs by taking advantage of Amazon EC2 Spot Instances. The company runs the Amazon Elastic MapReduce (EMR) service on Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to help them process huge amounts of data. Learn more >>

TellApart

TellApart’s big data platform enables retailers to unlock the power of their customer data. They use Amazon Elastic MapReduce to bring up Hadoop clusters to batch process log data, and have reduced costs by 75% by using Spot Instances. Click here to learn more.

AdRoll

AdRoll is a global leader in ad retargeting, providing cross-platform reach across large display inventory sources and tools to enable personalized ad campaigns. AdRoll chose to run their business with Amazon EC2, S3, and DynamoDB, because of low latency, guaranteed throughput, and the ability to scale quickly. Additionally, they use Spot for variable capacity, allowing them to run workloads more quickly and efficiently at a lower cost. Read the case study to learn more.

NetSeer

NetSeer provides concept-based advertising solutions that match search queries and webpage content to relevant ads for advertisers and publishers.  Netseer uses Amazon EC2 Spot Fleet to launch and manage a collection of Spot Instances with one request. Read the case study to learn more.

BloomReach

BloomReach built a personalized discovery platform with applications for search, content marketing, and merchandizing. They launch up to 2,000 Amazon EMR clusters and run 6,000 Hadoop jobs every day. With Spot and Amazon EMR, they have increased efficiency while reducing costs. Learn more about how they did this on the AWS blog.

CoreLogic

CoreLogic is the largest provider of property information, analytics and property-related risk management services in Australia and New Zealand. CoreLogic replaced their EC2 fleet with spot instances and use a worker pattern to reduce their compute costs by 90% Learn more.

Revcontent

“We use Spot instances to run our Jenkins code deployments and production web server workloads. The new EC2 Spot Instances pricing model makes it even easier for us to acquire Spot capacity at predictable prices, giving us more confidence in the savings and stability we can get by moving additional workloads to Spot Instances.”

FuseFX logo

FuseFX

FuseFX is an award-winning visual effects (VFX) studio that specializes in content creation for television, film, commercials, games, and special venues. FuseFX uses Thinkbox Deadline and Amazon EC2 Spot Instances to render its scenes, enabling it to meet project deadlines. Thinkbox Deadline is a render management solution that integrates with the AWS Portal, enabling VFX studios to take advantage of the reduced rendering cost available via Amazon EC2 Spot Instances. “Using Spot Instances gives us limitless capacity. We would not be able to make our delivery schedules without Deadline and Spot, and we no longer need to worry about having enough physical capacity for rendering. We can react on a moment’s notice to our daily rendering needs. This allows us to be agile and efficient.” –Jason Fotter, CTO, FuseFX

Fin Design + Effects

Fin Design + Effects is a boutique design and visual effects (VFX) company, who needed a cost-effective, agile solution to access additional capacity on the fly. Fin artists often required additional compute resources last minute to perform complex tasks using rendering software. They "wanted to save money and gain more agility in how we added compute resources, and AWS looked like it could enable us to do both of those things quite easily." Fin Design implemented a hybrid cloud environment with Amazon EC2 and EC2 Spot instances to access capacity on-demand and at a low cost.

Ooyala

Ooyala is a leader in online video technology for publishing, analytics, and monetization across all connected devices. Its comprehensive video technology gives content owners deep insights that help drive increased viewer engagement and revenue from video. Its use of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), including Spot, Reserved, and On-Demand Instances and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) has enabled the company to decrease time to market and virtually eliminate wait time for users.

Caltech

“We use EC2 Spot instances to perform high-intensity genomic sequencing that requires analyzing large data sets to discover millions of unique patterns to detect early-stage cancer. As our research needs vary week over week, we have spiky computing needs and Spot’s new pricing model gives us the reliability of savings to scale our research with low and predictable prices.”

GRAIL

“We use EC2 Spot instances to perform high-intensity genomic sequencing that requires analyzing large data sets to discover millions of unique patterns to detect early-stage cancer. As our research needs vary week over week, we have spiky computing needs and Spot’s new pricing model gives us the reliability of savings to scale our research with low and predictable prices.”

illumina

“We use EC2 Spot instances to perform high-intensity genomic sequencing enabling our customers to read and understand genetic variations. We are excited to move our additional genetic pipelines that run for more than 12 hours to Spot Instances as Spot’s new pricing model makes it even easier for us to acquire Spot capacity and gives us the reliability of savings at low and predictable prices”

Fermilab

Fermilab is participating in the CERN project, the largest data-intensive project in the world. After proving the existence of the Higgs Boson (“God particle” which gives humans their mass), CERN can analyze even more data at a higher velocity and get closer to proving the existence of dark matter. They successfully increased computing capacity cost-effectively by a factor of 4, to a total of 58K cores. More than 500 Million events were fully simulated in nearly 10 days using 2.9 million jobs that normally would have taken Fermilab six weeks to complete without the help from AWS.

DNAnexus

DNAnexus provides a unified system of data management and sequence analysis for DNA sequencing centers and researchers. DNAnexus uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Spot Instances to conduct all of its DNA analysis, while Amazon EC2 On-Demand Instances handle the company’s interactive services, such as its client front end portal and visualization tools. DNAnexus also relies on Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to meet the company’s extensive storage demand, which will grow from terabytes into petabytes of data.

Novartis
Novartis built a platform for cancer research, estimating that it would take $40 million dollars. With Spot Instances, they conducted 39 years of computational chemistry in 9 hours for $4,232 and discovered 3 compounds to help fight cancer. Learn how from Novartis' Global Head of Scientific Computing.

Flux7

Flux7, an IT consultancy, helps businesses create or optimize cloud infrastructure that provides elastic support for applications and workflows, helping customers to control costs while easily scaling to meet demands. They are an APN Healthcare Partner, with demonstrated success in building solutions for healthcare payers and providers.

Spotinst

Spotinst helps clients fully leverage the cloud’s excess capacity power with an elegant and reliable approach to handle Spot instances. The Elastigroup autoscaling engine automatically creates and maintains blended clusters composed from primarily EC2 Spot, On-demand and Reserved instances. In order to optimize the clusters, Elastigroup automatically balances between the three price models, and as part of that, maintains and manages the Spot instance purchasing operations and interruptions. This includes setting the bid and selecting the instance and Availability Zone.