利用全新数字体验吸引客户

首席财务官领导转型

与 ANZ Bank 技术首席财务官 (CFO) Louise Higgins 对话

首席财务官领导转型

作为 ANZ Bank 的技术首席财务官,Louise Higgins 的任务是与技术部门合作,为 ANZ 带来最佳的商业和战略成果。其中包括帮助企业制定其数字化转型计划,确保其支持业务战略。AWS 亚太地区及日本区域商业主管 Tania Brown 与 Louise 探讨首席财务官在转型中的关键作用。

收听完整的 AWS 领导者访谈播客

通过创新保持领先地位

通往首席财务官的另一条道路

Tania Brown:您是怎样获得当前这个职位的?

Louise Higgins:我的职业生涯是多样化的,最恰如其分的说法是,我不断追求自己感兴趣的事物。我曾短暂地从事过法律工作,然后在伦敦的英国广播公司 (BBC) 工作了七年,当时他们正从模拟模式转向数字模式,我在那里积累了制作、运营、财务和业务管理方面的丰富经验。之后我到投资银行工作了几年,然后又在 Nova & Smooth 担任了六年的首席运营官并负责广播电台业务,当时 Nova 正在通过新的数字相邻公司补充他们的传统广播业务。在一家数字初创公司工作了一小段时间之后,我接受了澳大利亚广播公司的一项重大挑战,负责监督另一项技术转型的设计。

对于我的下一个职位,我希望在一家正在进行技术转型的企业获得执行所有权。ANZ 的这个角色职位给了我这样的机会。

 

借助云加快行动速度

知道方向,引领道路

Tania Brown:对您来说,为什么以首席财务官的身份参与领导大规模的业务转型如此重要?

image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

首席财务官要扮演两个重要角色;向业务部门解释变革的好处,以及成为变革和 IT 之间的翻译者。”

Louise Higgins:这些转型非常复杂。转型需要承担很大的风险,除非所有人都相信转型的必要性并看到技术将带来的价值,否则就不会起到应有的作用。从董事长到董事会,从领导层到尽可能多的更低级别的员工,每个高级管理者都必须热情投入。

因此,作为首席财务官,我要扮演两个关键角色。

数字化转型与企业所习惯的 IT 项目类型大不相同。例如,您正在从资本支出转向运营支出,而在您从以前的硬件世界成本中得到任何缓解之前,运营支出早就已经影响到了损益表。所以,您是在要求企业、损益表负责人、董事会,通常还有利益相关者去放手一搏,并接受我们将颠覆我们的损益表以及我们对财务和融资的思考方式,相信几年后会带来经济价值。因此,我的首要任务是让所有这些重要的利益相关者参与其中。

第二个角色是担任业务翻译者。技术专家,正如他们应该做的那样,专注于技术成果,而他们所做的事情的业务性质并不总是会出现在他们的脑海中。我把我们渴望用技术做的事情转化为业务利益相关者要做的事情,这样他们就可以确信其能支持业务战略。

 

用跨行业数据连接点

首席财务官 2.0

Tania Brown:今天的首席财务官角色不同于五到十年前的首席财务官角色。您看到了哪些变化?

Louise Higgins:回顾过去几年,我认为吸引人们担任财务和首席财务官角色的很大一部分原因是一致性。会计和财务是基于规则的,并且对已经发生的事情进行了大量的记录和分析。财务的技术要素对于报告和合规性等仍然至关重要,尤其是在大型上市公司中。

但是,每家企业都在以某种方式、形态或形式进行数字化变革,通常是以他们向客户分销产品的方式,例如广播的按需化或银行的在线化。即使对于分销方式没有改变的公司来说,其价值链、供应链或生产也发生了变化。因此,技术日益成为每家公司的核心业务,即使他们并不是技术型企业。

在财务领域,需要一种新的技能来应对未知的事物,并使每个人都能适应它。这使得对高级财务专业人士的需求发生了巨大变化。正因如此,我们看到拥有丰富经验的人员(从生产线管理人员或运营人员),开始担任首席财务官职位。

 

与 AWS 合作解决棘手的客户问题

最大的障碍是心态

Tania Brown:要使业务利益相关者参与数字化转型,最困难的部分是什么?

Louise Higgins:不愿意放手一搏。在数字化转型之前,即使是投资回收期较长的资本项目,也需要构建看得见、摸得着、能折旧的有形资产。现在,我们通常不会去构建有形资产而是让其他方运行,您不仅需要投入资本支出,还需要投入很多运营支出,但您却根本看不到它。投资回报率通常在五到八年内不会变为正数。因此,人们需要跨越一个心理障碍。

image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

在数字化转型中,您要让企业、损益表负责人、董事会,通常还有利益相关者去放手一搏。”

我发现,通常迫使人们采取行动的原因是无路可退。“如果我们不这样做,对我们来说会是什么样?” 这可能意味着继续维持对昂贵的旧资产的生命支持。由于您的内部流程或分销失去竞争力,这可能会导致失去市场份额。

公司都喜欢稳扎稳打。您在转型中做事的方式会让人感觉很不舒服。首席财务官被认为是客观的,可以自信地向内部和外部利益相关者传达为何这很重要以及为何要不断叠加,特别是在对大多数企业都很陌生的领域。

 

与 AWS 合作解决棘手的客户问题

女性职业支持系统

Tania Brown:我们稍微换一下话题,首席财务官这个职位很少由女性担任;在 ASX(澳大利亚证券交易所)的 200 家公司中,女性首席财务官仅占 16%。您对有志成为首席财务官的女性有何建议?

Louise Higgins:在大多数职业中,阶梯上开始的前几级往往会有性别平衡,但职位越高,性别平衡就会越弱。我认为我们不能通过让公司做得更多或让女性更加努力来解决这个问题;实际情况比这更加复杂。对于女性而言,有时候更容易牺牲自己的事业,因为孩子、人际关系、兴趣、友谊和更广泛的家庭对她们来说更重要。

对于女性而言,要缓解职业与其他一切之间的紧张关系,一种方法是长期投资于支持系统。在职业生涯的早期,您可能觉得聘请保姆很贵。但是,保姆、托儿所、课后辅导和清洁服务等服务可以长期维持女性的职业生涯。

Louise 成为今天的首席财务官的关键成功因素

  1. 获得多样化的体验:通过志愿参与项目或从工作之外入手来从事各种管理岗位。
  2. 了解技术:这不会是别人担心的事情。
  3. 看得远一点:询问是否制定了计划。

Tania Brown:这是个很好的建议。最后,Louise,您能否与我们分享一下您领导大规模业务转型的最大收获是什么?

Louise Higgins:我最大的收获是,如果我以持续的速度工作 – 而不是努力工作之后休息一段时间,然后准备好再次努力工作 – 我就能完成更多的工作。家庭中和工作中的支持系统使这种一致性更容易实现。

 


关于我们的来宾

Louise Higgins,ANZ Bank 技术首席财务官 (CFO)

Louise Higgins
ANZ Bank 技术首席财务官 (CFO)

Louise 于 2019 年被任命为 ANZ Bank 技术首席财务官。在此职位上,她负责监督财务和商业战略,涉及总价值超过 20 亿澳元的支出。Louise 的职业生涯始于伦敦的 Freshfield’s Brushaus Deringer 律师事务所,随后在 BBC 工作了 7 年。2017 年,Louise 担任澳大利亚广播公司 (ABC) 的首席财务和战略官。她还拥有多种非执行职业经历,包括在澳大利亚商业电台、Visit Victoria、Qudos Bank 和 Canteen Australia 担任董事会职位。

Tania Brown,AWS 亚太地区和日本区域商业主管

Tania Brown
AWS 亚太地区和日本区域战略追求团队商业主管

加入 Amazon 之前,Tania 是 CBRE 房地产会计服务和数字解决方案总监。在此职位上,她在整个亚洲的房地产会计事务(从物业级别到基金级别)中担任领导职务,并领导了数字解决方案销售团队。Tania 还在亚洲创立过一家初创公司 Jacq Leigh,这是一家提供女性手提电脑包的电子商务公司。她在财务领导职位上度过了 10 多年,并且还是 ACCA 认证会计师。

面向领导者的云转型指南
电子书
面向领导者的云转型指南
两位领先企业的云从业者的领导提示与技巧
阅读更多 
您遵循怎样的云转型原则?
电子书
您遵循怎样的云转型原则?
现在花点时间可为您以后节省不可估量的时间
阅读更多 
领导转型
电子书
领导转型
高级管理人员分享领导转型的战略
阅读更多 

AWS Executive Insights 新闻通讯

从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管关于技术、转型以及云新闻和趋势的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱。

Attracting Customers with New Digital Experiences

CFOs Leading Transformation

A conversation with Louise Higgins, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) for Technology at ANZ Bank

CFOs Leading Transformation

As the CFO for Technology at ANZ Bank, Louise Higgins' mission is to partner with the technology division to drive the best commercial and strategic outcomes for ANZ. This involves helping the business with its digital transformation initiatives, and ensuring that it supports the business strategy. Tania Brown, commercial lead for AWS Asia Pacific & Japan region, spoke with Louise about the critical role of the CFO during transformation.

Listen to the entire inteview on the AWS Conversations with Leaders podcast

Innovate to stay ahead

A Different Path to CFO

Tania Brown: What was the journey you took to get to your current position?

Louise Higgins: My career has been diverse and best defined by pursuing the things in which I’m interested. I did a brief stint in law, then seven years with the BBC in London as they were pivoting from analog to digital, with an enriching experience across production, operations, finance, and business administration. I then went to investment banking for a few years before running radio stations for six years as COO for Nova & Smooth when Nova was supplementing their traditional radio business with new digital adjacent companies. After a brief stint at a digital startup, I took on a big challenge with the Australian Broadcast Corporation to oversee the design of another technology transformation.

For my next position, I wanted executive ownership of working with a business going through a technology transformation. This role at ANZ gives me that.

 

Moving faster with the cloud

Know the Way, Show the Way

Tania Brown: Why is it important for you as CFO to be involved in leading large-scale business transformations?

image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

The CFO has two important roles to play; to explain to the business the benefits of the change and to be a translator between it and IT.”

Louise Higgins: These transformations are very complex. They’re high stakes, and they don’t work unless everyone believes in the need to transform and sees the value that technology will bring. Everyone senior has to be passionately committed, from the chairman down through the board and the leadership ranks to as many levels below as possible.

So as CFO, I have two crucial roles to play.

A digital transformation is very different from the kinds of IT projects enterprises are used to. For instance, you are pivoting from a capex to an opex world, and that opex is hitting the P&L long before you get any relief from the costs of the previous hardware world. So, you’re asking a business, a P&L, a board, and often shareholders too, to take a leap of faith and to accept that we’re going to disrupt our P&L and the way we’ve thought about finance and funding, in the belief that there is economic value several years down the road. So, my first role is to bring all those important stakeholders along on the journey.

The second role is as business translator. Technologists, as they should be, are focused on the technology outcome, and the commercial nature of what they’re doing isn’t always front of mind. I take what we aspire to do with the technology and translate that for the business stakeholders, so they can be confident it’s supporting the business strategy.

 

Connecting the dots with cross-industry data

CFO 2.0

Tania Brown: The role of the CFO today is different than it was five to ten years ago. What changes do you see?

Louise Higgins: Going back a few years, I think a large part of what drew people to finance and the CFO role was consistency. Accounting and finance were rule-based, and there was a lot of recording and analyzing of things that had already happened. The technical element of finance still is essential, particularly in large, listed companies, for reporting and compliance and so on.

But every business is becoming digitized in some way, shape, or form, often in the way they distribute their products to customers, such as broadcasting going on-demand or banking going online. And even for companies whose mode of distribution hasn’t changed, then their value chain, or supply chain, or production has. So, technology is increasingly at the core of what every company does, even if they’re not a technology business.

In finance, a new skill set is required for dealing with the unknown and getting everyone comfortable with it. And that’s driven a huge change in what’s required of senior finance professionals. That’s why we are seeing people with a much greater diversity of experience, from line management or operations, moving into CFO roles.

 

Teaming up with AWS to solve tough customer problems

The Biggest Barrier Is Mindset

Tania Brown: What’s the hardest part of getting the business stakeholders on board with a digital transformation?

Louise Higgins: The reluctance to take the leap of faith. Before digital transformation, even capital projects with long payback periods involved building tangible assets that you could see, feel and depreciate. Now we’re often not building it, it’s run by someone else, you can’t see it, and you need to put not just capex, but a lot of opex, into it too. And the ROI typically does not turn positive for somewhere between five and eight years. So, there is a psychological barrier to get people through.

image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

In a digital transformation, you’re asking a business, a P&L, a board, and often shareholders too, to take a leap of faith.”

I have found that what often compels people is the do-nothing case. “If we don’t do this, what will it look like for us?” It may mean continuing to maintain expensive legacy assets on life support. It may lead to lost market share, as your internal processes or distribution become uncompetitive.

Companies like to play it safe. The way that you have to do things in a transformation can make people quite uncomfortable. The CFO is trusted to be objective and can convey with confidence, particularly in an area that’s new to most businesses, why it is important and why it stacks up, for internal and external stakeholders.

 

Teaming up with AWS to solve tough customer problems

A Career Support System for Women

Tania Brown: Switching gears slightly, few CFO positions are held by women; only 16% among ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) 200 companies. What advice would you give to women who aspire to be CFOs?

Louise Higgins: In most professions, the first few rungs on the ladder tend to have a gender balance, but it falls away the more senior you get. I don’t think we’ll fix this just by companies doing more or women trying harder; it’s more structural than that. For women, sometimes it’s easier to sacrifice pushing hard in their careers because the broader ecosystem of children, relationships, interests, friendships, and wider family, matters more to them.

One way that women can reduce the tension between their career and everything else is to invest in a support system for the long term. At an early point in your working life, it can feel expensive to have a nanny. But services like nannies, daycares, after-school programs, and cleaning services can help sustain a woman’s career for the long term.

Louise’s Key Success Factors for Today’s CFO

  1. Get a diverse experience: In a variety of management positions, by volunteering for projects, or from outside of work.
  2. Understand the technology: It can't be something for someone else to worry about.
  3. Take a broad perspective: Ask whether initiatives are set.

Tania Brown: That’s excellent advice. To close out Louise, could you share with us your biggest takeaway from leading a large-scale business transformation?

Louise Higgins: The biggest is that I get far more done if I operate at a sustained pace, as opposed to going hard, taking a break, then gearing myself up to go hard again. And support systems at home and work make that consistency easier to achieve.

 


About our guests

Louise Higgins, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) for Technology, ANZ Bank

Louise Higgins
Chief Financial Officer (CFO) for Technology, ANZ Bank

Louise was appointed Chief Financial Officer for the Technology Division of the ANZ Bank in 2019. In this role she oversees the financial and commercial strategy for over A$2bn worth of expenditure. Louise began her career in London with the law firm Freshfield’s Brushaus Deringer, before moving to the BBC for seven years. In 2017, Louise became Chief Financial & Strategy Officer for the Australian Broadcast Corporation (ABC). She also has a diverse non-executive career, including board positions with Commercial Radio Australia, Visit Victoria, Qudos Bank, and Canteen Australia.

Tania Brown, Commercial Lead for Asia Pacific and Japan region, AWS

Tania Brown
Commercial Lead, Strategic Pursuits Team, Asia Pacific and Japan, AWS

Before joining Amazon, Tania was the Director for Real Estate Accounting Services & Digital Solutions at CBRE. In this role, she provided leadership across Asia on all real estate accounting matters from the property level up to fund and led the digital solutions sales teams. Tania also founded a startup while living in Asia, Jacq Leigh, an ecommerce business providing laptop bags for women. She has spent 10+ years in finance leadership roles and is also an ACCA qualified accountant.

A Leader's Guide to Cloud Transformation
ebook
A Leader's Guide to Cloud Transformation
Leadership tips and tricks from two leading enterprise cloud practitioners
Read more 
What Are Your Cloud Transformation Principles?
ebook
What Are Your Cloud Transformation Principles?
Taking time now will save you incalculable time later
Read more 
Leading Transformation
ebook
Leading Transformation
C-suite leaders share strategies for leading change
Read more 

AWS Executive Insights newsletter

Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS on technology, transformation, and cloud news and trends delivered to your inbox.