GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

打造以患者为中心的医疗保健创新

与 Greenway Health 首席产品和技术官 David Cohen (FACHE) 对话


作为 Greenway Health 的首席产品和技术官,David Cohen 的任务是帮助该企业成为面向门诊医疗市场中医生和其他医疗保健专业人员的领先软件提供商。这意味着要改变整个公司对创建适用于从虚拟护理到后台运营等各个方面的解决方案的看法。AWS 与 David 探讨 Greenway 的新产品开发方法,以及这种方法如何帮助他们以极快的速度交付一系列成功的新产品。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

秉持客户至上的初心

Greenway 的产品开发方式有何变化?

David Cohen:与许多公司一样,我们正在从单一的打包软件公司转变为以更现代的迭代方式交付软件。在我们最近的三个项目中,我们是从逆向工作开始的。使用 AWS 数字创新计划方法,我们创建了新闻稿和常见问题解答文档,并将客户拉入到流程中,以就成功的定义达成共识。我们意识到的一件事情是,许多现成的产品并不能满足客户的需求。这使我们走上了与客户合作设计新产品的道路。我们组建了一个参与新产品设计中每个步骤的客户咨询委员会。


quote-marks-150-150

人们认为创新是在实验室里发生的事情。我们在与客户合作的背景下考虑创新,以加速交付会立即影响他们的业务需求和挑战的新产品和功能。”


GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

学习。迭代。扩展。

在新冠肺炎 (COVID-19) 期间,这种方式如何帮助您满足客户需求?

David Cohen:新冠肺炎 (COVID) 带来了人们对远程医疗和虚拟护理需求的爆炸式增长。在疫情之前,我们预计 2020 年会有 2500 万例医疗响应,但最终我们的响应量达到了近 10 亿之多。我们的客户需要远程医疗功能,而且他们需要这种功能很快实现。我们首先定义了什么是成功,以及我们在较短的开发周期中可以交付什么。我们的目标是 12 周内完成交付,并期望在此基础上继续发展。我们实际上也是这样做的。我们构建了产品,并迅速将其推向市场,现在我们专注于在此基础上提供每月迭代和增量功能。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

加快创新步伐

您从这么快的工作中学到了什么?

David Cohen:对我们来说,这是一种新的方法,我们知道我们可能不会一开始就把它做得非常完美,但至关重要的是,我们要将产品送到客户手中,了解他们如何使用它,他们重视哪些方面,以及我们如何在此基础上进行构建。并非所有患者都精通技术,所以该解决方案必须吸引广泛的人群,从老年人到无法轻松获得医疗保健或技术的人群,皆包含于此。我们自问:“如何使产品完美满足客户的需求?” 患者希望能与他们的护理提供商建立直接的个人联系。技术必须退居其次,以便提供商可以专注于管理患者的健康并营造亲密感。随着我们不断创新,我们将着眼于技术如何进一步促进患者-提供商护理体验,而不是阻碍这种体验。对于这个问题,业界还没有人弄清楚。

数字创新的五个步骤

  1. 秉持客户至上的初心;什么是成功?
  2. 落实到纸面上;阐明未来的产品或服务及其服务于客户的方式
  3. 让客户参与到流程中;组建客户咨询委员会,在整个流程中提供相关意见
  4. 快速将最简可行产品 (MVP) 送到客户手中,并立即获取反馈;它有作用吗? 是否符合他们的业务目标和目的
  5. 不断迭代,直到客户数据确认您已达到目标。
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

逆向工作意味着协作

逆向工作体验如何改变您的创新方法?

David Cohen:在很多时候,人们认为创新是实验室里发生的事情。我们在与客户合作的背景下考虑创新,以加快交付会立即影响他们的业务需求和挑战的新产品和功能。这对我们来说是一个根本性的转变。通过采取这种方法,我认为我们将获得更高的成功率。

 

那么,创新领域的下一步是什么呢?

David Cohen:如果留意其他已经实现数字化的行业,您会看到巨大的创新浪潮。医疗保健行业正处于创新的风口浪尖。因此,我们正在考虑如何转型为一家数据和医疗保健智能公司。例如,很多医疗保健都是由提供商文档要求驱动的。我们正在考虑如何重新构思这种体验,以减轻提供商的文档负担。还有管理患者数据广度的认知负担。对于供应商来说,这就像大海捞针一样。我们需要帮助您了解医疗保健方面的真知灼见,以指导他们治疗患者。他们应该在他们面前的患者身上寻找什么样的护理差距? 对于他们所管理的患者小组呢? 这些就是我们致力于转变的提供商和患者体验类型。

 

关于我们的来宾

David Cohen (FACHE),Greenway Health 首席产品和技术官

David Cohen (FACHE)
Greenway Health 首席产品和技术官

David Cohen 是 Greenway 的首席产品和技术官,拥有 20 多年的信息技术领导经验,最近 15 年则专注于医疗保健。在加入 Greenway 之前,David 在 Cerner 负责人工智能和机器学习计划。在此之前,他在 ThoughtWorks 担任高级顾问,并开发定制软件解决方案。David 是国际商业荣誉学会 Beta Gamma Sigma 的会员,也是美国医疗保健管理学院的研究员。


相关阅读材料

AWS 创新
文章
Amazon 的创新
了解我们如何一直代表我们的客户不断创新,提供新的产品、服务和价值,以满足客户的需求
 Amazon 的积极创新技术
GARTNER 创新案例研究
Amazon 的积极创新技术
面向首席信息官和创新领导者的探索创新最佳实践系列
Amazon 第 1 天文化的核心要素
文章
Amazon 第 1 天文化的核心要素
把“第一天”付诸实践,需要长期保持关注、对客户执着,以及大胆的创新

AWS Executive Insights 新闻通讯

从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管关于技术、转型以及云新闻和趋势的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Putting the Patient at the Center of Healthcare Innovation

A conversation with David Cohen, FACHE, Chief Product and Technology Officer at Greenway Health


As Greenway Health’s Chief Product and Technology Officer, David Cohen’s mission is to help the organization become the leading software provider for doctors and other healthcare professionals in the ambulatory care market. That means changing how the entire company thinks about creating solutions for everything from virtual care to back-office operations. AWS spoke to David about Greenway’s new product development approach and how it helped them deliver a series of successful new products at breakneck speed.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Start with the customer in mind

How has Greenway’s approach to product development changed?

David Cohen: Like many companies, we’re making the shift from being a monolithic, packaged software company to delivering software in a more modern and iterative way. In our last three projects, we started by working backwards. Using the AWS Digital Innovation Program approach, we created a press release and FAQ document and pulled customers into the process to have an aligned definition of success. One thing we realized is that a lot of the off-the-shelf products don’t address our customers’ needs. That led us down the path of working with customers to design something new. We established a customer advisory board that was involved in every step of the way.


quote-marks-150-150

People think of innovation as something that happens in a lab. We think about innovation in the context of working with our customers to accelerate the delivery of new products and capabilities that will immediately impact their business needs and challenges.”


GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Learn. Iterate. Scale.

How did this help you meet your customer needs during COVID-19?

David Cohen: COVID created an explosion in demand for telehealth and virtual care. Before the pandemic, the projections were for 25 million healthcare responses in 2020, but we ended up with close to a billion. Our customers needed telehealth capability, and they needed it quickly. We started by defining what success would look like and what we could deliver in a short development cycle. We set our sights on a 12-week delivery with the expectation that we would build on it. And that’s exactly what we did. We built the product, got it to market quickly, and now we’re focused on delivering monthly iterations and incremental capabilities on top of that.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Accelerating the pace of innovation

What did you learn from working so quickly?

David Cohen: It was a new approach for us to know we might not get it perfect out of the gate, but it was essential to get the product into our customers’ hands to learn how they’d use it, what’s important to them, and how we could build on that. Not all patients are technically savvy, so the solution had to appeal to a wide range of people, from the elderly to those who don’t have easy access to healthcare or technology. We asked, “How can we make it seamless for them?” Patients want a direct, personal connection with their care provider. Technology has to take a backseat so providers can focus on managing their patients’ health and create a sense of intimacy. As we continue to innovate, we will look at how technology can further enable the patient-provider care experience instead of hinder it. It’s something that no one in the industry has figured out yet.

Five Steps for Digital Innovation

  1. Start with the customer in mind; What would success look like?
  2. Put it down on paper; articulate the future product or service and how this serves customers
  3. Involve customers in the process; create a customer advisory board that provides input throughout the process
  4. Get the minimum viable product (MVP) into the hands of customers quickly and get immediate feedback; Is it working? Does it meet their business goals and objective
  5. Iterate until customer data confirms you’ve hit the mark.
GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Working backwards means collaboration

How have the working backwards experiences changed your approach to innovation?

David Cohen: A lot of times, people think of innovation as something that happens in a lab. We think about innovation in the context of working with our customers to accelerate the delivery of new products and capabilities that will immediately impact their business needs and challenges. That’s a fundamental shift for us. By taking this approach, I think we’ll achieve a higher success rate.

 

So, what’s next on the innovation horizon?

David Cohen: If you look at other industries that have digitalized, you see massive waves of innovation. Health care is on the cusp of that. So we’re looking at how we can transform into a data and healthcare intelligence company. For example, much of healthcare has been driven by provider documentation requirements. We’re looking at how we can reenvision that experience, so there’s a lower documentation burden on the provider. There’s also the cognitive load of managing the breadth of patient data. It’s like trying to find a needle in a haystack for providers to sift through it. We need to help surface healthcare insights to guide them in treating patients. What gaps in care should they be looking for in the patient who’s in front of them? And for the panel of patients they’re managing? Those are the types of provider and patient experiences we’re focused on transforming.

 

About our guest

David Cohen, FACHE, Chief Product and Technology Officer, Greenway Health

David Cohen, FACHE
Chief Product and Technology Officer, Greenway Health

As Greenway’s Chief Product and Technology Officer, David Cohen brings more than 20 years of information technology leadership experience to the role, with the most recent 15 years focused on healthcare. Before joining Greenway, David was responsible for artificial intelligence and machine learning initiatives at Cerner. Before that, he developed custom software solutions as a senior consultant at ThoughtWorks. David is a member of Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society for business, and a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives.


Related reading

AWS Innovation
ARTICLE
Innovation at Amazon
Learn how we continually invent on behalf of our customers to deliver new products, services, and value to meet customers’ needs
 Amazons Go-To Innovation Techniques
GARTNER INNOVATION CASE STUDY
Amazon’s Go-To Innovation Techniques
A series for CIOs and Innovation Leaders to explore innovation best practices
Core Elements of Amazons Day 1 Culture
ARTICLE
Core Elements of Amazon’s Day 1 Culture
Putting "Day 1" into practice relies on maintaining a long-term focus, obsessing over customers, and bold innovation

AWS Executive Insights newsletter

Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS on technology, transformation, and cloud news and trends delivered to your inbox.