开始阅读实施指南

15 个步骤 | 约 1 周

Project-Move-Large-Scale-Data-to-the-Cloud-with-Snowball
architectural-diagram
aws-projects_arch_petabyte-scale-data

如果您计划在应用程序迁移或数据中心关闭期间将数据迁移到云中,则会遇到数据传输的硬限制。如果您的 Internet 速度不足以支持数据迁移计划,您应该考虑使用 AWS Snowball。借助 Snowball 设备,您能够以比 Internet 速度更快的速度将档案、数据湖以及您拥有的任何数据迁移到 Amazon S3 存储桶中。数据可以从 Amazon S3 归档到 Glacier,而其他服务 (如 AWS Redshift 或 EMR) 也可以对这些数据进行分析。本实施指南可以帮助您开始使用 Snowball 的快速、简单且安全的流程,从而将大量数据迁移到 AWS。

要实现的目标:

使用 AWS 控制台创建一个数据导入任务。然后,AWS 会准备 Snowball 设备并将其寄送到您指定的地址。

使用客户端将数据传输到 Snowball。然后将 Snowball 寄回到 AWS。Snowball 上集成式电子墨水标签可以自动更新寄回地址,可使您更加轻松。您无需对 Snowball 进行包装,因为 Snowball 自带包装箱。

您可以看到您的数据已安全地导入云并存储在 Amazon S3 中。收到您寄回的 Snowball 之后,我们会将您的数据导入 Amazon S3 存储桶。数据导入完毕后,我们将遵循 NIST 介质清理准则对 Snowball 设备进行数据擦除,以保护您的数据。

开始之前的准备事项:

大量数据:Snowball 经过专门设计,适用于进行大规模数据传输。为了实现成本效益,如果您想将至少 12TB 的数据迁移到云中,建议您使用 Snowball。

AWS 账户:您需要一个 AWS 账户才能开始预置 Amazon S3 存储桶,以便存储数据并申请 Snowball 设备。注册 AWS

AWS IAM 用户:设置一个 AWS Identity and Access Mangement (IAM) 用户以访问 Snowball。有关更多信息,请参阅创建 IAM 用户

IT 技能:您需要对存储和联网技术有大致的了解,并熟悉适用于 Linux、Mac 或 Windows 的命令行界面。

AWS 使用经验:无需具备 AWS 使用经验即可使用本指南。

估算月度费用

将数据迁移到 AWS 中的总成本会有所不同,具体取决于要迁移的数据量。设备的服务费为 250 USD,如果您使用设备的时间超过 10 天,则每超出一天需要支付 15 USD 的超期罚金。将数据传输到 Amazon S3 是免费的。运费取决于您所在的位置和使用的承运人。

要查看使用的服务及其相关费用的详细信息,请参阅使用的服务与费用

开始阅读实施指南

借助行业领先的工具,并让专家帮助您以比 Internet 更快的速度将大量数据传输到 Amazon S3 存储桶。

需要更多资源才能开始使用 AWS?请访问“入门资源中心”,了解更多信息。

Get Started with the Implementation Guide

15 Steps  |  About 1 week

Project-Move-Large-Scale-Data-to-the-Cloud-with-Snowball
architectural-diagram
aws-projects_arch_petabyte-scale-data

When planning on getting your data into the cloud as a part of an application migration or a data center shutdown, you will run into the hard limits of data transport. When your Internet speeds are not enough to keep up with your data migration plan, it’s time to consider AWS Snowball. The Snowball appliance allows you to move archives, data lakes, and whatever data you have at faster-than Internet speeds right into Amazon S3 buckets. From Amazon S3, data can be archived into Glacier or analyzed by other services such as AWS Redshift or EMR. This implementation guide will get you started with AWS Snowball's quick, simple, and secure process for migrating large amounts of data into AWS.

What you'll accomplish:

Create a data import job using the AWS Console. Afterwards, AWS will prepare and ship a Snowball appliance to the address you specified.

Transfer your data onto the Snowball using the client. Then ship the Snowball back to AWS. The integrated E-Ink label on the Snowball makes this easy for you by automatically updating with the return address. There is no packaging necessary, as the Snowball is its own shipping container.

See your data securely imported into the cloud and stored in Amazon S3. When we receive the Snowball from you, we will import your data into Amazon S3 buckets. After the import is completed, the appliance is erased for your protection in accordance with NIST media sanitation standards.

What you'll need before starting:

Lots of data: Snowball is designed for large-scale data transfers. To keep things cost-efficient, we recommend using Snowball if you have at least 12 TB of data you would like to move to the cloud.

An AWS Account: You will need an AWS account to begin provisioning Amazon S3 buckets to store your data and to request a Snowball appliance. Sign up for AWS.

An AWS IAM User: Set up an AWS Identity and Access Mangement (IAM) User to access Snowball. See Create an IAM User for more information. 

IT Skill level: You will need a basic understanding of storage and networking technologies and familiarity with the command line interface for Linux, Mac, or Windows.

AWS Experience: No previous experience with AWS is needed to follow this guide.

Estimating Monthly Costs:

The total cost of moving your data into AWS will vary depending on the amount. There is a service charge of $250 for the appliance and an overage penalty of $15/day if you keep it for more than 10 days. Data transfers into Amazon S3 are free. Shipping charges are based on your location and your carrier.

To see a breakdown of the services used and their associated costs, see Services Used and Costs.

Get Started with the Implementation Guide

Work with industry-leading tools and experts who can help you transfer large amounts of data into Amazon S3 buckets at faster-than Internet speeds.

Need more resources to get started with AWS? Visit the Getting Started Resources Center to learn more.