AWS 通过提供科学加速发展所需的经济有效、可扩展和安全的计算、存储和数据库功能,帮助研究人员处理复杂的工作负载。借助 AWS,科学家可以快速分析海量数据管道,存储 PB 级数据,并与世界各地的协作者共享他们的成果,可专注于科学而不是服务器。

s1

加快科学发展

在几分钟内创建一个 AWS 账户和您的第一台计算机器 (群集)。AWS 允许您运行实验,而不是服务器。


s2

降低成本
有了按需定价,你只需按实际用量付费,而且无需购买和维护 IT 硬件或排队等待。

s3

灵活

AWS 提供各种各样的云服务,因此您可以为您的作业匹配合适的 IT 资源 – 100 个计算实例运行 1 小时的费用与一个计算实例运行 100 个小时的费用相同。

 

s4

具有弹性且可扩展

借助 AWS,您可以根据需要自动调整服务。 

s5

共享和协作

与您在世界各地的同事进行协作。您可以在几秒钟内共享数据、机器映像或工作流。

s6

安全

部署 AWS 云工具,旨在维护您数据的安全性和隐私性。AWS 还满足对敏感数据的监管要求,在 AWS GovCloud (美国) 提供了美国国际武器贸易条例 (ITAR) 合规性和其他合规性机制。

AWS 研究云计划

加入 AWS 研究云计划,有助于您专注科学,而不是服务器 – 所有操作都轻而易举而且可让您确信您的数据和预算在 AWS 云中是安全的。政府和教育研究人员有资格获得该计划优势。研究人员申请加入该计划,才能获取其构建的 AWS 研究云手册以及其他云资源。

AWS 研究计划

AWS 研究计划 (ARI) 将 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 和美国国家科学基金会 (NSF) 紧密联合在一起,其中 AWS 会通过预置 AWS 促销积分来提供 AWS 云服务,获得美国国家科学基金会资助的申请人可以利用此类 AWS 云服务来使用关键性技巧、技术和方法,推进大数据科学和工程 (BIGDATA) 的基础和应用发展。随着技巧和技术的进步,如基于云的人工智能、机器学习、大数据分析和高性能计算 (HPC),这些馈赠将帮助研究人员最大限度地提高其美国国家科学基金会津贴的价值,以加快创新步伐。合格的工程师、科学家均可在此处了解详细信息。

借助 AWS Snowball Edge 加快研究步伐

俄勒冈州立大学哈特菲尔德海洋科学中心的研究人员使用 AWS Snowball Edge 设备捕获和分析实时的浮游生物图像数据,取代了磁带媒体硬件,这些硬件通常都是手工搬运到学校的中央计算中心。借助 AWS Snowball Edge,数据传输不再需要几周或几个月的时间,数据收集的速率也不会超过下行数据分析速率。通过将原始研究数据直接推送到 AWS 云中,研究人员可以立即按需使用基于云的计算资源,更快地获得科学发现且费用较低。

通过分析基因组数据加速药物发现

Sequence Bio 使用 AWS 托管其用于分析大量基因数据的数据平台。Sequence Bio 是一家加拿大公司,与加拿大政府在研究与健康项目上有着紧密的合作。他们使用 AWS 来计算基因数据,以识别药物发现过程中使用的疾病和基因组的模式。这一案例突出了 AWS 所提供的安全性和合规性,此外,借助 AWS,他们还可以集中精力以最安全、最保险的方法构建世界一流的数据驱动型药物发现平台,从而缩短了用于科学研究的时间。

高性能计算

借助 High Performance Computing (HPC) on AWS,科学家和工程师可以运行复杂的应用程序,这些应用程序需要高带宽、增强型联网,以及非常高的计算能力。借助 AWS,您可以访问用于密耦式 IO 密集型工作负载的高带宽等分网络,这样您就可以扩展到数千个核心,并执行依赖吞吐量的应用程序。阅读 AWS HPC 白皮书NASA JPL HPC C案例研究

Claritas Genomics 视频

机器学习

借助 Amazon Machine Learning,研究人员每天可以生成数十亿条预测结果,并以高吞吐量将这些预测结果实时送出。开发人员拥有创建机器学习 (ML) 模型所需的可视化工具和向导,这些模型用于获取对应用程序的预测,而无需依赖自定义代码或额外的 IT 基础设施。 

加州大学伯克利分校的算法、机器、人员 (AMP) 实验室利用 AWS 对算法进行分析,提高了基因组数据的扩展和处理速度且更加经济有效。

Alces Flight:按需式无忧 HPC

在几分钟内构建您的自助式超级计算机 (HPC 群集) 并访问 AWS Marketplace 中数以百计的科学技术和 HPC 应用程序。Alces Flight 是一种软件即服务 (SaaS) 产品组合,科学家们可利用它启动随编译器、库和 700 多个科学应用程序一起预先安装的多个节点,这些应用程序涵盖了从工程、化学和基因组学到统计和远程传感的几乎所有领域。AWS Marketplace 入门

 

教程

下载 AWS 电子书:“个性化医学和基因组研究:关于支持云的科学发现的简介”

世界各地的研究人员正在根据患者独特的基因组成使用个性化治疗方案来改变药物。本电子书重点介绍了处于医疗革命前沿的组织,并展示在 AWS 云中进行研究时,可能会取得的成果。注册和下载电子书

AWS 电子书

HPC 工具

CfnCluster 这种工具用于在 AWS 云中构建和管理高性能计算 (HPC) 群集 (超级计算机)。构建一个群集只需不到 10 分钟的时间,并且一旦创建,您就可以通过主节点登录到群集,在那里您可以使用标准的 HPC 工具,如调度程序、共享存储和 MPI 环境。参阅教程

下载 AWS Jupyter 指南,了解如何为 Jupyter Notebook 创建 AMI,以及创建 AWS Cloud Formationn 模板,以使用 Jupyter 启动 AWS EC2 实例。Jupyter 为研究人员提供了一个基于 Web 的“笔记本界面”来运行他们的代码,它适用于 40 多种不同的编程语言,包括 Python。

教程

科学即服务

AWS 提供了一个综合工具包,用于存储、共享和分析任意规模的数据,以及创建有影响力的科学应用来推进科学社区的发展。

芝加哥大学和阿贡国家实验室的计算研究所成立了 Globus,通过提供科学家专注于科学而非 IT 维护所需的工具,来帮助研究人员管理数据和计算协作。

通过与全球研究网络协作,AWS 为研究人员提供了通向 AWS 云的稳健网络连接。借助这些网络连接,可以在您的原属院校、分布式数据收集站点和 AWS 之间进行可靠的数据移动。

esa
I2
aarnet

通过为符合条件的研究人员和学术客户免除 AWS 云中的数据导出费用,AWS 可以让云预算更容易预测。这些是与“将数据从 AWS 传输到 Internet”相关的费用。了解更多

当组织在 AWS 上公开数据时,科学家可以访问和分析这些数据,进而针对重大挑战提供创新性解决方案。AWS 为研究人员和公众提供了多种公共数据集,包括:

Landsat 8:每天可提供 2015 年及以后的所有 Landsat 8 场景,这些场景通常可在几个小时内生产。

NASA NEX:NASA 维护的地球科学数据集合,包括气候变化预测和地球表面的卫星图像。

NEXRAD on AWS:来自下一代气象雷达 (NEXRAD) 网络的实时和存档数据。

千人基因组计划:这个数据集包含了 1700 人的完整基因组序列。

癌症基因组图谱 (TCGA):癌症基因组图谱 (TCGA) 提供的原始基因组、处理过的基因组、转录组和表观基因组数据,符合条件的研究人员可通过癌症基因组云进行访问。

国际癌症基因组联盟 (ICGC):通过国际癌症基因组联盟 (ICGC) 获得的完整基因组序列数据可供符合条件的研究人员访问。

请参阅 AWS 云提供的公共数据集完整列表。

加入 AWS 云研究积分计划,研究人员可以尝试构建云托管的公共可用科学即服务应用程序和工具,在云中执行概念验证测试,或培训社区如何在研究工作负载中使用云。了解更多

AWS helps researchers process complex workloads by providing the cost-effective, scalable and secure compute, storage and database capabilities needed to accelerate time-to-science. With AWS, scientists can quickly analyze massive data pipelines, store petabytes of data and share their results with collaborators around the world, focusing on science not servers.

s1

Accelerated Time to Science

Create an AWS account and your first computing machine - or cluster - in minutes. AWS allows to you run experiments, not servers.


s2

Lower Costs
With on-demand pricing, you only pay for what you use and there is no need to procure and maintain IT hardware or wait in a queue.

s3

Flexible

AWS offers a wide variety of cloud services, so you can match the right IT resources to your job--100 compute instances running for 1 hour costs the same as 1 compute instance running for 100 hours.

 

s4

Elastic and Scalable

With AWS you can automatically adjust services – as much or as little as you need, when you need it. 

s5

Share and Collaborate

Collaborate with your colleagues around the corner or around the globe.You can share data, machine images, or workflows in seconds.

s6

Secure

Deploy AWS cloud tools designed to maintain the security and privacy of your data. AWS also addresses regulatory requirements for sensitive data, offering US International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) compliance and other compliance mechanisms in AWS GovCloud (US).

AWS Research Cloud Program

The AWS Research Cloud Program helps you focus on science, not servers---all with minimal effort and confidence that your data and budget are safe in the AWS Cloud. Government and education-based researchers are eligible to receive program benefits. Apply to join the program, in order to access the AWS Research Cloud Handbook and other cloud resources built for researchers, by researchers.

AWS Research Initiative

The AWS Research Initiative (ARI) brings Amazon Web Services (AWS) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) together, with AWS providing AWS Cloud Services through provision of AWS Promotional Credits, awarded to NSF grant applicants to leverage Critical Techniques, Technologies and Methodologies for Advancing Foundations and Applications of Big Data Sciences and Engineering (BIGDATA). With the advancements of techniques and technologies such as cloud-based Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Big Data analytics and High-Performance Computing (HPC), these grants will help researchers maximize the value of their NSF grants to accelerate the pace of innovation. Qualified engineers, scientists can learn more here.

High Performance Computing

High Performance Computing (HPC) on AWS allows scientists and engineers to run complex applications which require high bandwidth, enhanced networking, and very high compute capabilities. With AWS, you have access to a full-bisection, high bandwidth network for tightly-coupled, IO-intensive workloads, so you can scale out across thousands of cores and execute throughput-dependent applications. Read the AWS HPC whitepaper and the NASA JPL HPC Case Study.

Claritas Genomics Video

Machine Learning

With Amazon Machine Learning, researchers can generate billions of predictions daily, and serve those predictions in real-time and at high throughput. Developers have the visualization tools and wizards needed to create machine learning (ML) models used to obtain predictions for applications, without dependence on custom code or additional IT infrastructure.  

The University of California, Berkeley Algorithms, Machines, and People (AMP) Lab leverages AWS and analyzes algorithms to scale and process genome data faster and more cost effectively.

Alces Flight: Effortless HPC on Demand.

Build your self-service supercomputer (HPC clusters) in minutes and access hundreds of science and HPC applications in the AWS Marketplace. Alces Flight is a portfolio of Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) offerings, letting scientists spin up multiple nodes that come pre-installed with compilers, libraries, and a suite of over 700 science applications covering nearly every domain from engineering, chemistry and genomics, to statistics and remote sensing. Get Started in AWS Marketplace.

 

Tutorial

Download the AWS eBook: “Personalized Medicine and Genomic Research: Profiles in Cloud-Enabled Scientific Discovery"

Researchers around the world are transforming medicine with personalized treatment plans based on a patient’s unique genetic makeup. This eBook highlights organizations at the forefront of this medical revolution and demonstrates what’s possible when research is performed in the AWS Cloud. Register and download the eBook.

AWS eBook

HPC Tools

CfnCluster is a tool used to build and manage High Performance Computing (HPC) clusters---or supercomputers---in the AWS Cloud. It takes less than 10 minutes to build a cluster, and once created, you can log into your cluster via the master node where you will have access to standard HPC tools such as schedulers, shared storage, and an MPI environment. See the Tutorial.

Download the AWS Jupyter Guide, to learn how to create an AMI for Jupyter notebooks as well as an AWS Cloud Formation template for spinning up AWS EC2 instances with Jupyter. Jupyter gives researchers a web-based “notebook interface” to run their code and it is available in 40+ different programming languages, including Python.

Tutorial

Science-as-a-Service

AWS provides a comprehensive tool kit for storing, sharing, and analyzing data at any scale and creating impactful science applications to advance the science community.

The University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory’s Computation Institute built Globus to help researchers manage data and compute for collaborations by providing the tools needed for scientists to focus on science, not IT maintenance.

By peering with Global Research Networks, AWS gives researchers robust network connections to the AWS cloud. These network connections allow for reliable movement of data between your home institution, distributed data collection sites, and AWS.

esa
I2
aarnet

AWS makes cloud budgeting more predictable by waiving data egress fees in the AWS Cloud, for qualified researchers and academic customers. These are fees associated with “data transfer out from AWS to the Internet." Learn more

When organizations make data open on AWS, scientists can access and analyze it, delivering innovative solutions to big challenges. AWS makes a variety of Public Data Sets available to researchers and the public, including:

Landsat 8: All Landsat 8 scenes from 2015 and onward are made available each day, often within hours of production.

NASA NEX: A collection of Earth science data sets maintained by NASA, including climate change projections and satellite images of the Earth's surface.

NEXRAD on AWS: Real-time and archival data from the Next Generation Weather Radar (NEXRAD) network.

1000 Genomes Project: This dataset contains the full genomic sequence of 1,700 individuals.

The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA): Raw and processed genomic, transcriptomic, and epigenomic data from The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) available to qualified researchers via the Cancer Genomics Cloud.

The International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC): Whole genome sequence data available to qualified researchers via The International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC).

See a complete list of Public Datasets available in the AWS Cloud.

The AWS Cloud Credits for Research Program supports researchers who seek to build cloud-hosted publicly available science-as-a-service applications and tools, perform proof of concept tests in the cloud, or train communities on the usage of the cloud for research workloads. Learn more.