通过使用 AWS,我们可以节省高达 60% 的 SAP 基础设施成本。
Levent Yildirmak 数据中心和云技术经理

Coca-Cola İçecek (CCI) 以 Coca-Cola 品牌生产、分销、销售起泡饮料和不充气饮料。除土耳其本土市场外,它还在阿塞拜疆、伊拉克、约旦、哈萨克斯坦、吉尔吉斯斯坦、巴基斯坦、叙利亚、塔吉克斯坦和土库曼斯坦开展业务。按销量计算,它是世界第五大可口可乐产品瓶装商,为超过 3.8 亿客户提供服务。该公司成立于 1964 年,总部位于伊斯坦布尔,拥有 10000 名员工,经营着 25 家工厂。 2015 年,其年收入为 67 亿先令(29.2 亿 USD)。

Coca-Cola İçecek 的 SAP ERP 中心组件 (ECC) 被九个国家/地区的近 5000 名 CCI 员工用于关键业务功能,如财务报告、供应链管理和人力资源。该公司一直在伊斯坦布尔的一家提供商运营的数据中心上托管其 SAP ECC 平台。但随着业务的增长,其基础设施正在达到容量的极限,这会影响 SAP 应用程序的性能。这阻碍了生产、延迟了报告速度,还减缓了向高级管理人员传递关键信息的速度。

CCI 的数据中心和云技术经理 Levent Yildirmak 表示:“我们不仅希望为成千上万的用户提高 SAP 应用程序的性能,还希望更高效地开展运营并查看与 SAP 相关的成本。“

任何迁移都必须最大限度地降低对用户造成的中断,而且不能影响报告周期,以保持业务连续性。CCI 还必须确保新环境能够与其业务中的 400 多个系统无缝集成,其中包括内部数据仓库和事务系统。

通过评估各种本地和云选项,在与 AWS 高级咨询合作伙伴 Lemongrass Consulting 合作后,CCI 决定将其关键任务型 SAP 平台迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云。 “我们的目标是提高 SAP 性能,构建更强大的灾难恢复,并降低存储成本。我们选择了 Lemongrass 来帮助我们实现这些目标。”数据中心和云技术服务经理 Levent Yildirmak 表示。

Lemongrass Consulting 主管 Eamonn O'Neill 谈到了为 CCI 选择的方法:“我们首先制定了一个成本模型,并确定了可以节省成本的领域。存储成本是运行 SAP 的最大成本,因此我们展示了如何大幅降低存储容量。我们也知道迁移的速度至关重要,通过详细的路线图,我们能够消除 CCI 的任何担忧。”

该项目的成果是,CCI 在 2015 年底进行了概念验证,到 2016 年 1 月已经在 9 个国家/地区完成了迁移。

CCI 的 SAP ECC 环境混合运行在按需和预留 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上。它使用了 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 以提供高度可扩展的存储,并根据工作负载使用了 SSD 和磁性 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷。它还在 AWS 欧洲(法兰克福)区域使用了多个可用区。

生产和非生产工作负载分别在不同的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 环境中单独运行。借助 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM),它可以控制用户对 AWS 资源的访问。它还可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控基础设施,使用 AWS CloudTrail 记录服务之间的变更。

O’Neill 说:“通过精心规划,特别是测试所有必要的集成点,我们在短短三个月内就从最初的概念发展到完全部署。对于 SAP 项目来说,这个速度快得不可思议。”

“我们在迁移期间或之后没有出现任何问题。”Yildirmak 补充道。

CCI 迅速迁移其关键任务型 SAP 环境,为 IT 和业务部门带来了显著的直接好处。“通过使用 AWS,我们可以节省 50-60% 的 SAP 基础设施成本。”Yildirmak 说。“借助新的 AWS 环境,我们可以持续优化架构、查看正在运行的工作负载,并且仅在需要时调度容量。”

例如,当月末报告临近时,AWS 上运行的自动化可以确保存在额外资源以提供更多容量。这些资源会在不被需要时缩减。同样,开发和测试环境也不需要在晚上或周末运行,因此在这些时间内它们会被关闭。

Yildirmak 继续说道:“基础设施的设计符合我们的工作方式,而不是相反。所以,我们看到了非常显着的节省。” 在 AWS 中运行 SAP 的另一个与成本相关的优势是,能够针对每个 CCI 区域使用的确切资源收费。“我们之前的基础设施无法做到这一点,”Yildirmak 说。

整个公司的最终用户体验也得到了改善。员工使用 SAP 进行财务报告,以生成高级经理用于制定业务决策的信息。Yildirmak 谈到他到目前为止收到的反馈:“我们的财务团队正在以比以往快四倍的速度生成报告。我们的本地环境过去要一个小时才能生成报告,而现在只需 15 分钟。” 除了加快向业务负责人提供信息外,这还意味着其他部门也可以提高工作效率。例如,现在人力资源团队处理工资单的速度比以前快三倍。

使用新系统,CCI 还能降低其存储需求。“例如,通过更好的内务管理和 Amazon EBS 中快照的使用,CCI 的存储效率现在提高了50%,这进一步节省了成本。”O’Neill 说。“在迁移到 AWS 后不久,我们发现通过 Amazon CloudWatch 新发现的数据库负载有一些异常增长,”Yildirmak 说。后来发现是因为用户错误导致 CPU 负载从 20% 跳到 60%。他继续说道:“现在,用户已经接受了再培训,我们没有再遇到这个问题。使用 AWS,我们可以更灵活地运营。如果我们发现效率低下的流程,可以通过几次点击来改变它。”

此外,在 AWS 上运行的系统提供了更快的恢复点目标 (RPO) 和恢复时间目标 (RTO)。Yildirmak 说:“以前,我们的 RPO 长达一天,而 RTO 最长可达三天。现在,我们的 RPO 只需 15 分钟,RTO 只需 3 小时。“

600x400_Lemongrass-Consulting_Logo

AWS 高级咨询合作伙伴 Lemongrass Consulting 通过基于移动和云的实施,帮助以 SAP 为中心的组织改变了工作场所。要详细了解 Lemongrass Consulting 如何帮助您的公司构建和管理 AWS 环境,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 Lemongrass Consulting 清单

By using AWS, we’re saving up to 60% on our SAP infrastructure costs.
Levent Yildirmak Technology Manager, Data Center and Cloud

Coca-Cola İçecek (CCI) produces, distributes, and sells sparkling and still beverages under the Coca-Cola brand. In addition to its home market of Turkey, it has operations in Azerbaijan, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Syria, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan. It is the world’s fifth-largest bottler of Coca-Cola products by sales volume, serving more than 380 million customers. Established in 1964 and headquartered in Istanbul, the firm employs 10,000 people and operates 25 plants. Its annual revenue in 2015 is TL 6.7 billion (US $2.92 billion).

Coca-Cola İçecek’s SAP ERP Central Component (ECC) is used by close to 5,000 CCI staff across nine countries for key business functions such as financial reporting, supply chain management, and human resources. The company had been hosting its SAP ECC platform on data centers run by a provider in Istanbul. But as the business grew, the infrastructure was reaching the limits of its capacity, which was compromising performance of the SAP applications. This hindered productivity, delayed reporting, and slowed delivery of key information to senior managers.

Levent Yildirmak, technology manager, data center and cloud at CCI, says, “Not only did we want to boost the performance of our SAP applications for our thousands of users, but we also wanted to run operations more efficiently and look at our costs related to SAP.”

Any migration would have to create minimal disruptions for users, and reporting cycles would need to remain unaffected to maintain business continuity. CCI also had to ensure that a new environment would integrate seamlessly with its 400-plus systems across the business—including an in-house data warehouse and transactional systems.

Evaluating various on-premises and cloud options, CCI decided to move its mission-critical SAP platform to the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud after engaging with AWS Advanced Consulting Partner Lemongrass Consulting. “We were aiming to improve SAP performance, build in more robust disaster recovery, and reduce our storage costs. We selected Lemongrass to help us achieve those goals,” said Levent Yildirmak, technology services manager, datacenter and cloud.

Eamonn O’Neill, director of Lemongrass Consulting, talks about the approach selected for CCI: “We started by drawing up a cost model and identifying areas where savings could be made. Storage is the single biggest cost in running SAP, so we showed how we could significantly decrease storage size. We also knew that speed of migration was vital, and with a detailed roadmap we were able to allay any concerns CCI had.”

As a result of the project, CCI went from proof of concept at the end of 2015 to complete migration across nine countries in January 2016.

CCI’s SAP ECC environment runs on a mixture of on-demand and reserved Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Highly scalable storage is provided by Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and both SSD and magnetic Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes are used, depending on workload. It uses multiple Availability Zones across the AWS EU (Frankfurt) region.

Separate production and non-production workloads run in different Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) environments. AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) allows control of user access to AWS resources. The infrastructure is monitored through Amazon CloudWatch, and AWS CloudTrail records changes across services.

O’Neill says, “Through careful planning—especially testing all the necessary integration points—we progressed from initial concept to full deployment in just three months. That’s incredibly fast for an SAP project.”

“We had zero issues during or after the migration,” adds Yildirmak.

CCI rapidly migrated its mission-critical SAP environment with immediate and significant benefits for IT and the business. “By using AWS, we’re saving 50-60 percent on our SAP infrastructure costs,” says Yildirmak. “With the new AWS environment we’re constantly optimizing our architecture, looking at the workloads we’re running, and scheduling capacity only when it’s required.”

For example, when month-end reporting approaches, the automation running on AWS ensures that there are extra resources available to provide more capacity. These resources are then scaled down when they’re no longer required. Similarly, development and test environments don’t need to run in the evenings or on weekends, so they’re switched off during these times.

Yildirmak continues, “The infrastructure is designed to fit the way we work rather than the other way around. As a result, we’re seeing significant savings.” Another cost-related advantage of running SAP in AWS is being able to accurately charge each CCI region for the exact resources it uses. “This wasn’t possible with our previous infrastructure,” says Yildirmak.

End-user experience has also improved across the business. Staff use SAP for financial reporting to generate information that senior managers use to make decisions about the business. Yildirmak talks about the feedback he’s received so far: “Our finance team is generating reports four times faster than before. Whereas with our on-premises environment it used to take one hour to produce a report, it now takes just 15 minutes.” In addition to speeding up the delivery of information to business leaders, it also means other departments can be more productive. HR teams, for example, can now process payroll three times faster.

With the new system, CCI has also been able to reduce its storage requirement. “Through better housekeeping and using snapshots in Amazon EBS, for example, CCI’s storage is now 50 percent more effective, which is creating further savings,” says O’Neill. “Not long after we migrated to AWS, we observed some unusual increases in database load that were newly visible through Amazon CloudWatch,” says Yildirmak. It turned out to be user error that was causing a jump in CPU load from 20 percent to 60 percent. He continues, “Now, the users have been retrained, and we no longer have this issue. With AWS, we can be more agile in our operations—if we identify an inefficient process, we can change it in a couple of clicks.”

Additionally, the system running on AWS provides faster recovery point objective (RPO) and recovery time objective (RTO). “Previously,” says Yildirmak, “our RPO was up to one day and our RTO was anything up to three days. Now, we’re looking at 15 minutes for RPO and just three hours for RTO.”

600x400_Lemongrass-Consulting_Logo

AWS Advanced Consulting Partner Lemongrass Consulting helps SAP-centric organizations transform the workplace through mobile- and cloud-based implementations. For more information about how Lemongrass Consulting can help your company build and manage your AWS environment, see the Lemongrass Consulting listing in the AWS Partner Directory.
 

Learn more about running mission-critical SAP environments on AWS.