客户案例/旅游与酒店行业

2021 年
Expedia Group 徽标

Expedia Group 将供应商付款交易时间从 1 天缩短到几秒

Expedia Global Payments 将遗留系统从 Microsoft SQL Server 迁移到 Aurora PostgreSQL,实现了经济高效的扩展,从而满足流量需求并向其用户和内部团队提供近乎实时的数据。

在数秒内提供数据

将提供数据所需的时间从 1 天以上缩短至数秒

削减成本

削减数据库成本

打破

供应商锁定

80%

从其遗留系统转移 80% 的业务量

可扩展

以应对突发的、不可预见的流量峰值

概述

其遗留系统的一部分迁移到了 Amazon Aurora,这是一个为云构建的兼容 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL 的关系数据库,它具有开源数据库的简单性和成本效益,且性能媲美商用数据库。使用 Aurora 和来自 AWS 的 20 多种其他服务,Expedia 降低了成本,并实现了手动流程的自动化,使员工能够专注于核心业务。Expedia 现在还向其用户和内部团队提供近乎实时的数据,从而简化支付流程并提高供应合作伙伴的可见性和洞察力。 

一位携带手提箱的女人在使用智能手机

机会 | 在与传统商用数据库供应商合作过程中遭遇扩缩痛点

Expedia Group 拥有 Expedia、Vrbo、Hotels.com 和 Orbitz 等 20 多个预订网站,来自 70 多个国家/地区的旅客通过这些网站以 80 多种货币预订住宿、航班等。作为全球平台企业,其团队需要同时满足消费者和合作伙伴的支付需求。对于合作伙伴付款,Expedia 与供应商(例如酒店、邮轮公司和航空公司)进行互动,这些供应商的预订通过其平台分销。在其 Expedia Collect 模式中,Expedia 从消费者那里收款,然后将款项汇给供应商。2019 年,Expedia 处理了 76 亿 USD 的批发预订,比上一年增加了 25%。

但 Expedia 的增长开始对其应付账款对账 (APRecon) 部门产生影响。随着业务量的增加,任务需要更长的时间来执行,这造成了延迟的级联效应,并最终影响用户的体验。SQL Server 上的 APRecon 还需要大量人工干预,这影响了其运营人员。一些基于 .NET(一个开源开发者平台)的服务导致供应商锁定,限制了服务部署。

Expedia 决定迁移到云中的 Java 微服务驱动架构。Expedia Group 软件开发高级总监 Nirupama Jagarlamudi 解释说:“我们特意在面向微服务的架构中设计新系统,以便轻松使用 AWS 提供的功能进行扩展。”在对 SQL Server 和云产品进行分析和成本比较,以及对 SQL 和 PostgreSQL 进行后续分析后,该公司选择了 Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL

kr_quotemark

使用 Aurora PostgreSQL 时,我们只需为我们的使用量付费,并且它会随着数据增长而自动调整。” 

Nirupama Jagarlamudi
Expedia Group 软件开发高级总监

解决方案 | 摆脱本地部署和旧式数据库的束缚

Expedia 选择分阶段迁移到 Aurora PostgreSQL,并计划从 SQL Server 完全迁移到 AWS。在初始阶段,其首先将住宿业务从 APRecon 系统迁移走,该系统负责处理来自 Expedia 住宿合作伙伴的交易,这部分交易占 SQL Server 总业务量的 80%。数据库开发人员使用名为 Flyway 的新架构迁移工具,将架构从 SQL Server 重构为 Aurora PostgreSQL。“目的是将我们的业务逻辑保留在服务中,这样如果我们需要转移到不同的提供商或服务,我们就可以不受束缚,轻松完成,”Jagarlamudi 解释道。只用大约 2 周的时间便完成数据库迁移(包括架构更新)的开发和测试。重构架构后,该团队开始将构建在 .NET 软件框架上的组件迁移到 Linux 和基于 Java 的开源框架 Spring Boot。现在,Expedia 有 20 个基于 Spring Boot 堆栈构建的微服务。

AWS 上的新系统称为匹配和对帐系统 (MARS),于 2020 年 5 月上线。它使用 AWS 开源服务,不仅统一了 Expedia 支付技术堆栈,而且打破了供应商锁定。Expedia 使用 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)(一种完全托管式消息队列服务)来解耦和扩展微服务。“Amazon SQS 是我们通过持久重试功能在流程中构建弹性的一种简单方法,”Jagarlamudi 说。例如,Amazon SQS 与 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 搭配使用处理供应商请求。后者是一种对象存储服务,可提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。这为 Expedia 提供了事件驱动处理能力:Amazon SQS 会就新的供应商请求文件通知该组织,这样其团队就不必从 Amazon S3 中提取它们。

现在,Expedia 可以向其用户、供应商、业务情报部门和运营团队提供近乎实时的数据。所有 Expedia 支付用户,包括 Expedia 门户上的运营用户和外部供应商,都使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service (Amazon ES),它使用户能够有效地搜索、分析和可视化未结预订费用。当有新的预订,事件驱动处理流程可以在不到 1 秒的时间内将数据交付给运营团队或供应商,前 99% 的性能为 2.6 秒,而之前的服务器通过批处理需要一天多的时间。然后,MARS 会将结果传送给其用户和 Expedia 的业务情报组织。用户从搜索集群中获取数据,Expedia 使用 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams(一种可大规模扩展且持久的串流服务)来收集、处理和分析来自每个预订的实时串流数据,包括预订日期、停留时间、旅客信息、酒店信息、余额、结算历史和连锁预订。这些关键数据属性使 Expedia 运营团队能够调查问题并支持供应商查询。“我们与业务情报的集成更加灵活,这种模式让其他 Expedia Group 团队能够利用这些数据来履行其业务职能,”Jagarlamudi 说。

得益于微服务驱动架构,MARS 可以扩展以处理突发的、不可预见的流量突增,并在流量下降时缩减规模。例如,Expedia 能够纵向扩展其采购订单服务,以适应 15 个月历史预订的回填,在 2 周内每秒维持 200 笔交易。然后在活动结束时缩减服务规模,以符合正常的流量模式。虽然 Expedia 为 SQL Server 的预置、存储和许可支付固定成本(继续用于尚未迁移的旧式堆栈),但 Aurora 消除了许可费用并提供灵活的成本和基础架构。Expedia 不再需要为其数据中心未使用的容量花钱。“使用 Aurora PostgreSQL 时,我们只需为我们的使用量付费,并且它会随着数据增长而自动调整,”Jagarlamudi 说。这使 Expedia 能够在 COVID-19 疫情期间进行调整。完全托管式 AWS 系统还意味着 Expedia 在维护上花费的时间为零,并且不需要内部数据库管理员。

结果 | 使用实时数据推动更快的业务洞察

通过将其遗留系统迁移到 Aurora 并使用其他 AWS 服务,Expedia 降低了数据库成本,打破了供应商锁定,并能够进行扩展以应对流量峰值,同时不必再由内部团队执行手动流程和数据库管理。其还构建了一个系统,可近乎实时地处理预订,为其用户提供快速的性能并实现快速的业务洞察,例如更快地为供应商更新支付活动信息。

关于 Expedia Group

Expedia Group 利用跨广泛企业和品牌组合的平台和技术能力,为全球各地的每个人推动全球旅行。 

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon SageMaker

Amazon SageMaker 建立在 Amazon 二十年来开发现实世界 ML 应用程序的经验之上,这些应用程序包括产品推荐、个性化、智能购物、机器人技术和语音辅助设备。

了解更多 »

Amazon SageMaker Studio

Amazon SageMaker Studio 提供一个基于网络的可视化界面,您可以在该界面中执行所有的机器学习开发步骤,将数据科学团队的生产率提高 10 倍。

了解更多 »

Amazon SageMaker Pipelines

Amazon SageMaker Pipelines 是首个专为机器学习(ML)构建的易用的持续集成和持续交付(CI/CD)服务。 

了解更多 »

探索 Expedia 利用 AWS 开启的创新之旅

更多 Expedia 案例

未找到任何项目 

1

开始使用

不同行业和规模的企业都在使用 AWS 对其业务进行转型,以实现自身愿景。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 之旅。

image004

Expedia Group Speeds Up Vendor Payment Transactions from 1 Day to Seconds

2021

As Expedia Group (Expedia) continues to grow as a leading online travel platform, so does its innovation in global payments. That’s why Expedia decided to migrate to a flexible microservices-driven architecture supported by the Amazon Web Services (AWS) infrastructure that could scale to meet the high traffic and high availability requirements of the system. These improvements enabled Expedia to streamline and simplify its technology stack, resulting in a reduced manual touch rate for processing partner payments from 17 percent to 0.06 percent.

Part of its legacy system migrated to Amazon Aurora, a MySQL- and PostgreSQL-compatible relational database built for the cloud, which has the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open-source databases and the performance of a commercial database. Using Aurora and more than 20 other services from AWS, Expedia cut costs and enabled staff to focus on core business by automating manual processes. Expedia also now delivers near real-time data to its users and internal teams, resulting in a streamlined payment process and improved visibility and insights for its supply partners. 

Customer-References-industry-Travel-Booking
kr_quotemark

On Aurora PostgreSQL, we pay only for what we use, and it automatically adjusts as our data grows.” 

Nirupama Jagarlamudi
Senior Director, Software Development, Expedia Group

Reaching a Scaling Pain Point with Traditional Commercial Database Vendor

Expedia Group owns more than 20 booking sites such as Expedia, Vrbo, Hotels.com, and Orbitz, through which travelers from more than 70 countries book lodging, flights, and more in over 80 currencies. As a global platform business, the teams need to cater to both consumer and partner payments. For partner payments, Expedia interacts with providers—such as hotels, cruise lines, and airlines—whose bookings are distributed on its platform. In its Expedia Collect model, Expedia collects money from consumers then remits payment to providers. In 2019, Expedia processed $7.6 billion in merchant bookings, 25 percent more than the year prior. 

But Expedia’s growth began to take a toll on its accounts payable reconciliation (APRecon) segment. As volume increased, jobs took longer to run, which created a cascading effect of delays all the way down to users. The APRecon on SQL Server also required a significant amount of manual intervention that impacted the company’s operations staff. And some services built on .NET, an open-source developer platform, led to vendor lock-in, limiting service deployment.  

Expedia decided to migrate to a Java microservices-driven architecture in the cloud. “We deliberately designed the new system in a microservices-oriented architecture so that we could easily scale with the functionality that AWS provides,” explains Nirupama Jagarlamudi, senior director, software development at Expedia Group. After performing analyses and cost comparisons of SQL Server and cloud offerings, as well as subsequent analyses of SQL and PostgreSQL, the company chose Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL.

Breaking Free of On-Premises and Legacy Databases

Expedia opted to perform a phased migration to Aurora PostgreSQL and plans to migrate completely from SQL Server to AWS. In the initial phase, it first migrated its lodging business from the APRecon system, which reconciles transactions from Expedia’s lodging partners, accounting for 80 percent of all volume from SQL Server. The database developers refactored the schema from SQL Server to Aurora PostgreSQL using a new schema-migration tool called Flyway. “The intent is to keep our business logic within the services so that if we have to switch to a different provider or service, we can easily switch without being tied,” explains Jagarlamudi. Database migration, including the schema update, only took about 2 weeks to develop and test. After refactoring the schema, the team started migrating components built on the .NET software framework to Linux and Spring Boot, the open-source Java-based framework. Now Expedia has 20 microservices built on the Spring Boot stack.

The new system on AWS, called the Matching and Reconciliation System (MARS), went live in May 2020. It uses AWS open-source services that not only unify the Expedia payment technology stack but also eliminate vendor lock-in. Expedia uses Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), a fully managed message queuing service, to decouple and scale microservices. “Amazon SQS is a simple way for us to build resiliency into our process with a durable retry capability,” says Jagarlamudi. For example, Amazon SQS works alongside Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)—an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance—to handle vendor requests. This provides Expedia with event-driven processing: Amazon SQS notifies the organization of new vendor request files so that the team doesn’t have to pull them from Amazon S3. 

Now Expedia can provide near-real-time data to its users, vendors, business intelligence department, and operations team. All Expedia payment users, including operational users and external vendors on the Expedia portal, use Amazon Elasticsearch Service (Amazon ES), which enables users to search, analyze, and visualize outstanding booking costs effectively. As bookings come in, the event-driven processing can deliver the data to the operations team or vendors in less than 1 second, with top-99th percentile performance of 2.6 seconds, compared to more than a day through batch processing in the previous server. MARS then carries the results to its users and Expedia’s business intelligence organization. Users get their data from the search cluster, and Expedia uses Amazon Kinesis Data Streams, a massively scalable and durable streaming service, to collect, process, and analyze real-time streaming data from each booking including booking date, time of stay, traveler information, hotel information, balance, settlement history, and chained booking. These critical data attributes enable the Expedia operations team to investigate issues and to support vendor inquiries. “Our integration with business intelligence is a lot more flexible, and this pattern can potentially enable other Expedia Group teams to tap into this data to serve their business functions,” says Jagarlamudi. 

On a microservices-driven architecture, MARS can scale up to handle sudden, unforeseen bursts in traffic and scale down when traffic subsides. For example, Expedia was able to scale up its purchase order service to accommodate backfilling of 15 months of historical bookings, sustaining 200 transactions per second, over a 2-week period. It then scaled the service down at the end of the activity to be in line with normal traffic patterns. And whereas Expedia pays fixed costs for provisioning, storage, and licensing with SQL Server—which it continues to use for the legacy stack that has not been migrated—Aurora eliminates licensing fees and provides flexible costs and infrastructure. Expedia no longer has to spend money on unused capacity in its data centers. “On Aurora PostgreSQL, we pay only for what we use, and it automatically adjusts as our data grows,” Jagarlamudi says. That enabled Expedia to adapt during the COVID-19 pandemic. The fully managed AWS system also means that Expedia spends zero time on maintenance and doesn’t need an in-house database administrator. 

Using Real-Time Data to Drive Faster Business Insights

By migrating its legacy system to Aurora and using other AWS services, Expedia has cut database costs, eliminated vendor lock-in, and scaled to meet spikes in traffic—all while removing responsibility for manual processes and database management from its team. It has also built a system that processes bookings in near real time, delivering fast performance to its users and enabling quick business insights, such as faster payment activity updates for vendors.


About Expedia Group

Expedia Group leverages platform and technology capabilities across an extensive portfolio of businesses and brands to power global travel for everyone, everywhere. 

Benefits of AWS

  • Makes data available in seconds compared to more than 1 day   
  • Cut database costs
  • Eliminated vendor lock-in
  • Scales to meet sudden, unforeseen spikes in traffic
  • Drives actionable business insights
  • Reallocated 80% of volume from its legacy system

AWS Services Used

Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora is a MySQL and PostgreSQL-compatible relational database built for the cloud, that combines the performance and availability of traditional enterprise databases with the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open source databases.

Learn more »

Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS)

Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) is a fully managed message queuing service that enables you to decouple and scale microservices, distributed systems, and serverless applications. 

Learn more »

Amazon Simple Storage System (S3)

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams (KDS) is a massively scalable and durable real-time data streaming service.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.