IE 是一所位于西班牙马德里的研究生院校。IE 致力于打造以放眼全球、企业家精神和人性化教育为核心价值的课程,培养企业的领导者。IE 拥有由 600 名教师组成的国际教师队伍,面向来自 90 多个国家/地区的学生授课。目前,有超过 45000 名校友在全球 100 多个国家/地区担任管理职位。IE 注重提供高品质的研究项目和多学科、综合性的教育项目。这所学校的创新型学习由在线学习和现场学习两种模式组成,使 IE 成为一家领先的国际教育机构。在《金融时报》和《商业周刊》的商学院排名中,IE 商学院位列欧洲第一。

IE 使用 Blackboard 和 Adobe Connect 为学生提供在线课堂环境。在 IE 商学院,约有一半的学生都有全职工作,他们的学习时间有限,因而需要随时可以学习在线课程。学校过去使用现场数据中心,但在组织通信和协调不同电信服务提供商方面面临着诸多挑战。硬件基础设施的更新需要花费很长时间,系统维护所需的资源也非常多。

此外,由于有 2000 名学生在校园内使用 WiFi,在线学生参加课程需要更多的网络资源,因此,学校还遇到了带宽方面的问题。全球各地的师生在导航、连接和性能方面都遇到了问题。IE 需要确保所有用户都可以快速、可靠地访问在线课程,不论他们位于何地。学习技术主管 Luis Moliner 说:“我们努力确保我们的平台全天都处于高性能运行状态。学生并没有无限的时间能够用在我们的系统上,他们每天可能只有一个小时可以投入到学习中。”为了应对远程教育学生日益增多带来的挑战,IE 开始研究不同的解决方案。

IE 希望找到一种可以帮助其轻松创建平台、提供值得信赖的服务、支持自定义且适合全球客户的服务。Amazon Web Services (AWS) 即符合所有这些条件。IE 在 2012 年 11 月开始使用 AWS,并在一个月内实施了 Adobe Connect 解决方案;由于提供商的限制和基础设施的复杂性,IE 在大约 5 个月内实施了 Blackboard 解决方案。IE 在两个数据库服务器之间镜像信息,确保当一个服务器处于工作状态时,团队可以在另一个服务器上安装软件更新或服务包。

IE 的 AWS 解决方案采用了八个服务器,包括以镜像模式运行的两个 SQL 数据库、一个 Quorum、三个 Web 服务器、一个文件服务器以及一个用于从 CRM 加载信息的服务器。除此之外,该解决方案还额外使用两个服务器来运行实时视频会议并处理学术和商业活动。

IE 还使用 AWS 为其部分网站的提供支持。本地服务均已连接到 AWS,如应用程序、数据库之间的通信、计算机数据库和本地 CRM 数据库。IE 使用的 AWS 服务包括用于共享线路域名的 Amazon Route 53、RDA 数据库、Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)、Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)、Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)、Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 和 Elastic Load Balancing;使用的其他技术包括支持 HP 和实验室服务的 MySQL 和 Apache。有关 IE 架构的说明,请参见下方图 1。

ie-busines-school-arch-diagram

图 1. IE 架构

使用 AWS,IE 可以确保师生更轻松地获取在线服务。学习技术主管 Luis Moliner 说:“在我们开始使用 AWS 之前,实施新的基础设施需要一个月的时间,但现在只需要几天。”升级软件花费的时间也减少了,以前需要六个月,而现在只需要两个月。

IE 还可以更准确地评估需要多少资源。运营团队经理 Carlos González 解释说:“很难预测有多少用户将会连接到某项服务,所以,我们最终可能会购买太多的硬件。使用 AWS 可以解决这个问题。”

系统管理员 Angel Ripa 补充说:“现在,我们有更多的时间来测试新软件和新配置,因为我们不需要管理所有的服务器了。”

目前,IE 实现了 99.9% 的可用性,而使用以前的架构仅可达到 99.5% 的可用性,这是一项改进。此外,延迟降低了约 60%;访问时间减少了 30% 之多,相应地,用户投诉几乎为零。学习技术经理 Raúl Castillo 说:“我们没有带宽方面的问题。使用 AWS,我们可以快速地响应业务需求,而使用以前的架构却做不到这一点。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您管理 Web 应用程序,请参阅 Web 应用程序详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/

IE is an international graduate school in Madrid, Spain. The school is dedicated to educating business leaders based on a global focus, entrepreneurial spirit, and humanistic approach. IE includes an international faculty of 600 instructors and students representing more than 90 nationalities. Over 45,000 alumni hold management positions in 100 countries. IE stresses high-quality research and multidisciplinary, integrative education programs. The school’s innovative learning processes blends online and onsite formats, making it a pioneer in international education. IE has been ranked the number one business school in Europe by both the Financial Times and BusinessWeek.

IE uses Blackboard and Adobe Connect to provide its students with an online classroom environment. About half the school’s students have full-time jobs and require always-on availability, since they have a limited amount of time to spend on schoolwork. The school, which used an onsite data center, faced challenges with organizing communication and coordinating between different telecom providers. The hardware infrastructure took a long time to update, and required too many resources to maintain the system.

The school also ran into problems with bandwidth, as 2,000 students used wi-fi on campus, while online students attending their classes required additional network resources. Students and faculty, in various locations worldwide, experienced problems with navigation, connectivity, and performance. IE needed fast, reliable access for all users, no matter their location. Luis Moliner, Director of Learning Technologies, says, “We try to ensure that the platform is up and running at high performance the whole day. Our students don’t have unlimited time to spend on our system—they may only have one hour a day that they can devote to their schoolwork.” To meet the challenges of a growing remote student base, IE started investigating its options.

IE looked for a service that would enable easy creation of platforms, provide trustworthy service, facilitate customization, and work across its international customer base. Amazon Web Services (AWS) met all these criteria. The school started using AWS in November 2012, implementing the Adobe Connect solution in a month and Blackboard in about five months, due to provider restrictions and its complex infrastructure. IE mirrored the information between two database servers so that while one server was working, the team could install software updates or service packs on the other.

IE’s AWS solution includes eight servers, including two SQL databases running in mirror mode, one Quorum, three web servers, one file server, and another server to load information from the CRM. Two more servers run real-time video conferences and handle academic and commercial activities.

IE also uses AWS for part of its website. On-premises services are connected with AWS, such as application, communication between databases, computer databases, and on-premises CRM databases. AWS services used include Amazon Route 53 to share wire domain names, RDA databases, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS), Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), and Elastic Load Balancing. Additional technologies include MySQL and Apache with the HP and lab service. See Figure 1 below for an illustration of IE’s architecture.

ie-busines-school-arch-diagram

Figure 1. IE Architecture

By using AWS, IE has made its online services more accessible for students and faculty. Luis Moliner, Director of Learning Technologies, says, “Before we began using AWS, implementing new infrastructure took us a month—but now it just takes a couple of days.” Upgrading software has also become less time consuming; the process used to take six months, and now takes two.

The school has also become more accurate in assessing how much it needs. Carlos González, Operation Team Manager, explains, “It’s very difficult to predict how many users will connect to a certain service—and as a result, we’ll likely end up buying too much hardware. Using AWS frees us from that issue.”

Angel Ripa, System Administrator, adds, “We now have more time to test new software and new configurations, because we don't have to take care of all the servers.”

IE is now experiencing availability of 99.9 percent—an improvement over the previous architecture’s 99.5 percent availability. In addition, latency has decreased by about 60 percent. Access time has decreased by as much as 30 percent, and as a result, user complaints have decreased to almost zero. Raúl Castillo, Learning Technology Manager, says, “We’ve had no problems with bandwidth. By using AWS, we can respond quickly to business needs. This wasn’t possible using our previous architecture.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you with your web applications, see the Web Applications details page: http://aws.amazon.com/web-mobile-social/.