在 Super Mario Run 发布当天,世界各地的用户对于体验这款新产品有着非常高的需求。AWS 的基础设施完全满足了这种高需求。访问需求高的游戏不出现严重问题的情况非常罕见,但到 2017 年 3 月为止,这款游戏的下载量已经超过 8000 万次,而 AWS 没有报告任何问题。
Kenichi Takemoto 先生 Nintendo Co.,LTD. 业务开发部智能设备部门业务系统开发组负责人

Nintendo Co. Ltd. 的使命是“让每一位 Nintendo 用户的脸上都绽放笑容。” 该公司致力于为全球用户提供独一无二、富有趣味并且令人惊喜的家庭娱乐体验。Nintendo 以前专攻家用游戏机市场。

而现在,Nintendo 正在通过自己开发的智能设备游戏来吸引游戏机用户以外的客户,这些客户大多来自工业化国家。该公司希望增加 Nintendo IP 的用户数量,并受益于这一举措与游戏机市场的协同效应,从而实现业务增长。Nintendo 与 DeNA Co., Ltd 建立了合作关系。DeNA 在移动游戏领域具有丰富的经验,自 2016 年 3 月以来,两家公司开始共同推出移动应用程序。

通过此次合作,一款名为 Super Mario Run 的智能设备游戏于 2016 年 12 月 15 日在 iOS 平台上发布,该游戏采用了游戏“Mario”中的标志性人物。Super Mario Run 是一款“单手就能玩的 Mario 游戏”,在全球 151 个国家和地区的苹果应用商店发布,在发布后四天内的下载量达到 4000 万次。

nintendo-supermariorun_image3

Nintendo 业务系统开发组负责人 Kenichi Takemoto 表示:“在 150 多个国家和地区发布一款手机游戏对我们来说是一项很大的挑战。”“我们知道,全世界的忠实粉丝都会提前注册并期待游戏发布。所以,为了让游戏尽快与玩家见面,我们决定在发布服务的同时向全球客户发布游戏,而不是在单个国家或地区进行增量发布。”Nintendo 项目系统开发组经理 Kotaro Fukawa 说道。

为了应对这一挑战,他们需要在短时间内建立一个稳固的系统基础设施。尽管他们已经决定在全球范围内推出服务,并且项目已经在进行,但他们最初并没有确定游戏服务器的基础设施规格。“对于 Super Mario Run 项目,我们在游戏发布前两个月才确定了服务使用的基础设施规格。”DeNA 系统管理部 IT 平台部门 2 组的经理 Shunichi Kaneko 表示。

另一个重要问题是保证安全性。因为全世界的客户都会使用这款应用程序,所以该公司必须严格遵守各个国家/地区在个人信息保护方面的法律法规。

要在全球范围内发布 Super Mario Run,基于云的基础设施至关重要。在选择正确基础设施时,他们考虑了两项重要因素:基础设施是否能够保证有足够资源来应对发布时产生的巨大流量;基础设施的运行是否符合各个国家/地区的法律法规。Nintendo 和 DeNA 选择了 AWS 作为满足上述要求的游戏服务器基础设施。“我们已经清楚 AWS 的运行效果,所以我们认为 AWS 服务可以保证我们当前项目所需的巨大资源。AWS 基础设施的灵活性和可扩展性让我们在使用时没有任何顾虑。”Takemoto 表示。

游戏的数据负载会产生巨大的波动,如果在本地运行,就需要大量的资源。Kaneko 表示:“我们认为,如果使用云的话,即使在高峰时间,我们也可以灵活地处理负载,这也有利于优化成本。”

因为 Super Mario Run 在发布后预计会出现一个短暂的服务器负载高峰,所以该公司评估了是否一开始就应该迁移到云。“对于 Super Mario Run,使用本地资源处理这种负载量的费用会非常高。”

另外,如果购买大规模本地服务器,我们就需要在安装现场配备运营资源以及电源和冷却系统。而且海外扩张意味着必须在海外站点安装服务器,这会加重运营工作量。Fukawa 说:“AWS 对全球游戏行业的发展具有极大的推动作用,这种作用不仅体现在延迟、可扩展性和成本方面,还体现在 AWS 能够大幅减少运营工作量和资源需求上。”

Nintendo 选择 AWS 的另一个原因在于,他们能够将本地运行效果非常好的 DeNA 架构直接迁移到云。DeNA 具有丰富的经验,能够在本地环境中为智能设备服务构建大规模基础设施。DeNA 还构建了本地管理系统来确保这些基础设施的稳定高效运行。Kaneko 表示:“对于智能设备的服务基础设施,DeNA 有能力创建一个易于扩展的高可用性系统。”“这一次,我们必须在短时间内架设起基础设施,而且我们考虑直接在云中运行。AWS 没有为实现这一目标设置任何障碍。”

AWS 拥有国际公认的各种安全认证,所以该公司对使用 AWS 的服务充满信心。“我们想知道哪种配置可以完全保证安全性。而与 AWS 合作,我们可以了解相关设计。这也是我们选择 AWS 的主要原因之一。”Kaneko 表示。

en_diagram_nintendo-dena

Super Mario Run 的服务基础设施在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 上运行,并且在 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中设置了一个隔离的安全环境。使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来存储各种类型的数据。使用 Elastic Load Balancing 对玩家访问请求进行适当的负载分配。另外,通过将这种配置集中在美国区域而不是分布在全球不同区域,该公司得以提高运行效率,并为全球客户创造令人愉快的游戏环境。

“在 Super Mario Run 发布当天,世界各地的用户对于体验这款新产品有着非常高的需求。AWS 的基础设施完全满足了这种高需求。吸引了高访问量的游戏不出现严重问题的情况非常罕见,但到 2017 年 3 月为止,这款游戏的下载量已经达到 8000 万次,而 AWS 没有报告任何问题。”Takemoto 表示。

Android 版 Super Mario Run 于 2017 年 3 月 23 日发布,面向 165 个国家和地区。Nintendo 预计 iOS 和 Android 版本的总下载量将会达到 1.5 亿。

尽管用户数量从游戏发布以来就不断上升,但在基础设施方面,该公司还未发现任何问题。Takemoto 说:“Amazon EC2 让我们能够在世界范围内根据需要使用资源,是我们能够创建这种稳固的基础设施的主要原因。” 

虽然基础设施在短时间内建成,但是 Nintendo 在发布期间进行了大量负载测试和性能调整,确保能够提供稳定的服务。在游戏发布前两个月左右,该公司确定了配置并开始在 AWS 上构建。基本配置在一个月内完成,之后该公司针对预期流量进行了全面的负载测试。在一个月的负载测试期间,Nintendo 不断解决出现的问题并迭代这一过程,逐步提高了性能。Kaneko 说:“如果我们在本地运行服务,那么仅仅是采购基础设施这一项工作,包括配置数据中心、电源和空调,就至少需要两到三个月的时间。”“如果把安全性提升到与 AWS 一样的级别,那么就至少需要四到五个月。但是通过迁移到 AWS,我们只用了两个月就完成了整个过程。所以我们在采购基础设施方面花费的精力更少,能够专心进行构建和测试工作。此外,如果使用本地环境,我们就必须协调各种人员,例如供应商和数据中心操作人员。但是有了 AWS,所有通信都在一个位置进行,大大降低了基础设施的采购成本。” 

AWS 企业支持工程师还在基础设施设计、用于保证性能的负载测试和解决问题方面提供了帮助。“在 AWS 企业支持的帮助下,我们能够运行足够的负载测试,并应对一开始就出现的服务器负载高峰。借助 AWS,我们能够构建稳固的基础设施,在启动后也保持正常运行。”Kaneko 表示。

Nintendo 使用 Amazon CloudWatch 进行网络监控,能够快速了解 AWS 基础设施的状态。这样一来,Nintendo 和 DeNA 都可以监控同样的运行状态。另外,AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 支持方便的访问,有助于确保两家公司实现之间适当的系统使用和信息共享。“AWS 出色的管理功能让我们没有面临任何操作问题。尤其是 IAM 具有的严格访问控制,这是其他云没有提供的一项特殊功能。”Takemoto 表示。

随着 Super Mario Run 的顺利发布,Nintendo 和 DeNA 现在计划开发全球用户都可以享受的新娱乐产品。“我们希望从现在开始,实时数据处理技术会比流式传输技术发展得更好,这也就意味着我们能够提供适用于智能设备的大型游戏。希望到那个时候,AWS 可以继续为我们提供服务,满足游戏行业的需求。”Fukawa 表示。

nintendo-dena_photo

从左到右:DeNA Co., Ltd. 系统管理部 IT 平台部门 2 组经理 Shunichi Kaneko;Nintendo Co., Ltd. 业务系统开发组协调员 Kenichi Takemoto;Nintendo Co., Ltd. 业务系统开发组经理 Kotaro Fukawa。

要详细了解 AWS 云如何为媒体和娱乐公司提供帮助,请访问 AWS 云中的数字媒体详细信息页面。

On the release date of Super Mario Run, there was high demand from users all over the world who were excited to experience the new product. The AWS infrastructure responded fully to the high demand. It is extremely rare for game releases with high access demand to take place without any significant problems, but by March 2017 the game had exceeded 80 million downloads without any issues reported by AWS.
Mr. Kenichi Takemoto Team Lead, Business System Development Group, Smart Devices Department, Business Development Division, Nintendo Co., Ltd.

Nintendo Co. Ltd.'s mission is to "put a smile on the faces of Nintendo users." The company focuses on providing one-of-a-kind, fun, interesting, and amazing experiences to users worldwide in the field of home entertainment. Nintendo has historically specialized primarily in game consoles for the home-entertainment business.

Through its games designed for smart devices, Nintendo is currently seeking to reach customers beyond console users, who are mostly located in industrialized countries. The company hopes to grow its business by increasing the number of users connected to the Nintendo IP as well as benefiting from the synergies this creates with the game-console market. Nintendo has been collaborating with DeNA Co., Ltd. (DeNA), a company with extensive experience in the field of mobile games, and since March, 2016 the companies have also begun to offer mobile apps together.

Through this collaboration, the smart-device game "Super Mario Run," featuring iconic Nintendo characters from "Mario," was released for iOS on December 15, 2016. Super Mario Run, "the Mario game you can play with one hand," was released on Apple's App Store in 151 countries and regions around the world, reaching 40 million downloads in the four days following its release.


"Releasing a mobile game in 150 countries and regions was quite a big challenge," says Kenichi Takemoto, Team Lead of the Business System Development Group at Nintendo. "We were aware that our devoted fans worldwide would be pre-registering and waiting in anticipation. To deliver the game to them as fast as possible, we decided to release it to customers globally combined with the service launch, instead of incremental releases in individual countries," says Kotaro Fukawa, Group Manager for the Project System Development Group at Nintendo.

To face this challenge, they needed to build a solid system infrastructure in a short period of time. Even though they had already decided on a global service launch and the project was underway, at this initial stage they had not yet determined the game server's infrastructure specifications. "With the Super Mario Run project, we had only decided on the infrastructure specifications to offer the service about two months prior to the game's release,” says Shunichi Kaneko, Group Manager of the Gr. 2 IT Platform Department, System Management Unit, at DeNA.

Another important issue was guaranteeing security. Because customers all over the world would be using the application, strict compliance with the personal-information-protection laws and regulations in each country was a necessity.

A cloud-based infrastructure was essential for the worldwide release of Super Mario Run. When choosing the right infrastructure, two important factors were considered: whether it could guarantee sufficient resources to cope with the enormous traffic volumes at the time of release, and whether it could operate in compliance with each country's laws and regulations. Nintendo and DeNA chose AWS as the game server infrastructure that could meet these requirements. “We were already aware of AWS's operational achievements, so we saw it as the service that could guarantee the enormous resources we needed for our current project. We knew the flexibility and extensibility of the AWS infrastructure would allow us to use it without any concerns,” says Takemoto.

Games involve great fluctuations in data loads, requiring large-scale resources if running on premises. "We thought that if we used the cloud we would have the flexibility to handle loads even at peak times, which would also be beneficial for optimizing costs,” says Kaneko.

Because Super Mario Run was expected to have a temporary large spike in server load immediately after launch, the company evaluated whether it should migrate to the cloud from the start. “With Super Mario Run, it would have been very expensive to try to handle that volume using on-premises resources.”

Also, purchasing a large-scale on-premises server would have necessitated operational resources as well as a power supply and cooling system at the installation site. Furthermore, overseas expansion would mean the server had to be at an overseas site as well, increasing operational workload. "AWS is greatly beneficial for the global game industry, not only in terms of latency, scalability, and cost, but also in its ability to significantly reduce operational workload and resource needs,” says Fukawa.

Another reason Nintendo chose AWS was the possiblity of migrating DeNA's architecture, which has a great on-premises track record, directly to the cloud. DeNA has extensive experience in building large-scale infrastructures for smart-device services in on-premises environments. It has also built on-premises management systems for stable and efficient operation of these infrastructures. "When it comes to service infrastructure for smart devices, DeNA has the know-how to create a high-availability system that can be scaled easily," says Kaneko. "This time, we had to set up our infrastructure in a very short time, and we thought about running it directly in the cloud. AWS didn't present any obstacles to accomplishing this."

AWS has internationally recognized security certifications, so the company was confident about using the service. "We were wondering what kind of configuration would fully guarantee security. With AWS, we could see the design. This was also one of the principal reasons for choosing AWS,” says Kaneko.


The Super Mario Run service infrastructure runs on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) and consists of a secure, isolated environment in Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC). Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is used to store all types of data. Elastic Load Balancing is used for appropriate load distribution of player access requests. Furthermore, by centralizing this configuration in the US region instead of distributing it across different global regions, the company was able to improve processing efficiency and provide a pleasant gaming environment for customers worldwide.

"On the release date of Super Mario Run, there was high demand from users all over the world who were excited to experience the new product. The AWS infrastructure responded fully to the high demand. It is extremely rare for game releases that attract high access volumes to go off without any significant problem, but as of March 2017, the game had reached 80 million downloads without any issue reported by AWS,” says Takemoto.

Super Mario Run was released for Android on March 23, 2017 and is available in 165 countries and regions. Nintendo expects the total number of downloads for iOS and Android to reach 150 million.

The company has not had any problems with the infrastructure, despite an increasing number of users since the game's release. "With its capability to use resources worldwide as needed, Amazon EC2 was a major reason why we were able to create this stable infrastructure,” says Takemoto. 

Even though the infrastructure was built in a short time, Nintendo ran many load tests and performance adjustments during the launch period in order to guarantee a stable service release. About two months before the release, the company decided on its configuration and started building on AWS. The basic configuration was set up in a month, after which the company ran comprehensive load tests for the traffic it anticipated. During the one-month load-testing period, Nintendo gradually improved performance by resolving issues as they arose and iterating on this process. "If we had run the service on premises, procuring the infrastructure alone—including provisioning a data center, power supply, and air conditioning—would have taken at least two to three months," says Kaneko. "If the security level had been increased to that of AWS, it would have taken at least four to five months. By migrating to AWS, however, the entire process only took us two months in total. As a result, we were able to focus on building and testing, with less effort spent on infrastructure procurement. Furthermore, with an on-premises environment you have to coordinate between a lot of people, such as vendors and data-center operational staff. But with AWS, all the communication happens in one place, greatly reducing the costs of infrastructure procurement.” 

AWS Enterprise Support engineers also helped with infrastructure design, load testing to guarantee performance, and problem solving. “With the help of AWS Enterprise Support, we were able to run enough load tests and could handle server load spikes at launch. Thanks to them, we could build a stable infrastructure that kept functioning without any problems, even after launch,” says Kaneko.

Nintendo uses Amazon CloudWatch for network monitoring, which gives the company a quick overview of the AWS infrastructure. This way, both Nintendo and DeNA can monitor the same operational status. Furthermore, the easy access provided by AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) helps ensure appropriate system use and information sharing between the two companies. "AWS's excellent management features mean we haven't experienced any operational issues. In particular, IAM has very strong access control, which is one special feature that other clouds don't offer,” says Takemoto.

With the smooth release of Super Mario Run, Nintendo and DeNA are now planning new entertainment offerings that users around the world can enjoy. "We expect that from now on, real-time data processing technologies will be even better than streaming, which of course means that we will offer large-scale games even for smart devices. We hope that when that time comes, AWS will continue to offer us services that meet the demands of the game industry,” says Fukawa.


Left to right: Shunichi Kaneko, Group Manager, Gr. 2 IT Platform Department, System Management Unit, DeNA Co., Ltd.; Kenichi Takemoto, Coordinator, Business System Development Group, Nintendo Co., Ltd.; Kotaro Fukawa, Manager, Business System Development Group, Nintendo Co., Ltd.

To learn more about how the AWS Cloud can help media and entertainment companies, visit our Digital Media in the AWS Cloud detail page.