什么是预测?

预测是通过研究历史数据和过去的模式而进行的预估。企业使用软件工具和系统来分析在很长一段时间内收集的大量数据。然后,相应软件会预测未来需求和趋势,帮助公司做出更准确的财务、营销和运营决策。

使用机器学习提高预测准确性

预测为何如此重要?

预测可以用作规划工具,帮助企业准备好应对未来发生的不确定性。它也能帮助经理自信地响应变化、控制业务运营,并做出推动未来增长的战略决策。例如,企业可使用预测实现以下目标:

  • 更高效地使用资源
  • 可视化业务性能
  • 确定新产品或服务的推出时机
  • 估算经常性成本
  • 预测未来事件,例如销量和收入
  • 审核管理决策

预测方法有哪些类型?

预测方法可以是定性的,也可以是定量的:

定性方法

定性预测依靠营销专家来做出短期预测。如果没有足够的历史数据,您可以使用定性方法。例如下面两个使用案例:

  • 利用营销研究技术(如民意调查和调查等),可确定消费者需求。
  • 利用 Delphi 建模技术,可对特定领域的专家进行民意调查,从而收集他们对相关领域的意见和预测趋势。

定量方法

定量预测模型使用有意义的统计数据及历史数据,来预测长期趋势。下面我们给出了几个标准定量方法示例:

  • 利用计量经济建模,可分析财务数据集(如贷款和投资数据),从而预测重大的经济转变及其对公司的影响。
  • 利用指标方法,可比较数据点,从而确定看似不相关的数据之间的关系。例如,您可以利用 GDP 的变化,来预测失业率。
  • 在此情况下,GDP 数据称为领先指标,而失业率为滞后指标。
  • 利用时间序列预测,可分析在不同时间间隔所收集的数据,从而预测未来趋势。 

什么是时间序列数据?

截面数据可以反映同一时间段内个人和公司的观测值。另一方面,时间序列数据则反映在不同时间间隔收集信息的任意数据集。此数据有所区别,因为它按时间排列数据点。因此,相邻时间间隔的观测值可能具有相关性。

时间序列数据可在图形的 X 轴上以递增时间间隔(或时间线)绘出,在 Y 轴上反映样本数据观测值。此类时间序列图是有价值的工具,可用来可视化数据。数据科学家使用它们来确定预测数据特征。下面我们给出了几个时间序列数据特征示例:

对于趋势数据,Y 值随时间增加或减少,使图形呈现线性。例如,人口数据可随时间线性增加或减少。

季节性

如果时间序列数据在不到一年的时间间隔内呈现出有规律且可预测的模式,就会出现季节性模式。此数据模式可能会在其他线状图上显示为峰值或其他反常情况。例如,在 12 月和 4 月左右的假期期间,一家店铺的零售销量可能有所增加。

结构突变

有时,时间序列数据可能会在某个时间点发生突变。时间序列图可能也会突然向上或向下移动,从而形成结构突变或非线性变化。例如,在 2008 年全球金融危机爆发后,许多经济指标发生了急剧变化。

什么是时间序列预测?

时间序列预测是一种数据科学技术,利用机器学习和其他计算机技术来研究时间序列数据过去的观测值,并预测其未来值。我们来了解一下时间序列预测的示例:

  • 天文数据由几百年来行星的重复运动数据构成。您可以利用此数据,来准确地预测日食和彗星等天文活动。
  • 天气预报利用风向和气温模式来预测天气变化。
  • 科学家可以利用出生率和迁移数据来预测人口增长。

时间序列分析与时间序列预测

通过时间序列分析,可以探索任意时间序列数据背后的根本原因。此研究领域致力于理解时间序列数据集背后的“原因”。分析师必须经常作假设,从而分解或细分相关数据来提取有意义的统计数据和其他特征。

时间序列分析就是要理解数据集,而预测则是预测数据集。以下是预测建模的三个步骤:

  • 提出问题,并收集过去一段时间内的一组时间序列数据样本,来回答提出的问题。
  • 使用这些过去的值,来训练计算机软件或预测算法。
  • 使用预测算法,来反映未来观测值。

时间序列预测的工作原理是什么?

数据科学家利用时间序列预测模型,来做出更准确地预测。首先,他们会进行一些探索性数据分析,来选择最合适的预测算法,然后使用机器学习模型来做出预测。我们来看看下方的常用预测模型:

分解模型

分解模型会将时间序列数据分解或细分为以下三种组件:

  1. 趋势组件
  2. 季节性组件
  3. 噪声组件,不属于上述两组中的任何一组

分析时间序列数据的另一种方法是将其细分为两种组件:可预测的数据组件和不可预测的数据组件。

基于数据平滑的模型

数据平滑是一种统计技术,涉及去除与其他数据集明显不同的离群值或数据点。这些预测模型通过消除数据中的随机变化,使基础模式类别更加明显。

基于回归的模型

自回归模型是一种预测模型,它利用以前时间步长的观测值,来定义两个数据点之间的数学关系。然后,它利用此数学关系来估算未知的未来值。根据正在使用的回归模型,数学方程将考虑过去的预测误差和过去的季节性值,并随时间改善预测。

预测主要用在哪些使用场景中?

预测可以为企业同时提供现在和未来的相关可靠信息。我们在下面介绍几个预测技术使用案例示例:

运营 – More Retail Limited 如何使用自动化来预测产品销量?

More Retail Ltd.(MRL)是印度排名前四的食品和杂货零售商之一,收入达数十亿美元。他们拥有广泛的店铺网络以及复杂的经销商供应链。他们曾依靠店铺经理的人工判断来估算和订购库存,但这样做影响了客户体验,尤其是生鲜农产品类别。MRL 使用由 AWS 提供支持的预测服务,来构建自动化订购系统,从而减少了 30% 的生鲜食品浪费。

制造业 – 富士康如何使用预测来管理制造需求?

鸿海科技集团(富士康)是世界上最大的电子产品制造商解决方案提供商。在新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情期间,富士康的客户需求、供应量和生产能力出现了前所未有的波动。该公司与 Amazon Machine Learning Solutions Lab 合作,为他们在墨西哥的工厂预测准确的净订单情况。这些预测可以让公司每年节省超过 50 万美元。

客户支持 – Affordable Tours 如何使用销售预测来改善客户体验?

Affordable Tours.com 是美国最大的陪同旅游、巡游、河道巡游和活动度假的供应商之一。为了应对客户呼叫量,他们曾努力调配资源。有时他们的座席数量过多,有时又过少,这就会导致客户体验不一致、电话漏接率增加的问题。他们使用 Amazon Forecast,来更好地预测客户呼叫量,并将电话漏接率降低了约 20%。

什么是 Amazon Forecast?

Amazon Forecast 是一项基于机器学习的完全托管式时间序列预测服务,专为业务指标分析而构建。使用 Amazon Forecast 无需具备任何机器学习经验。您只需要提供历史数据,以及您认为可能会影响预测结果的任何其他数据。提供所有数据后,Amazon Forecast 会自动检查数据并确定有意义的数据。然后,Amazon Forecast 会生成一个预测模型,与只关注时间序列数据的模型相比,它可以将预测的准确性提高约 50%

立即开始免费创建 Amazon 账户,享受 AWS 免费套餐。对于使用 Amazon Forecast 的前两个月,AWS 新客户每月可收到高达 1 万次的时间序列预测生成;每月数据存储高达 10GB;每月训练高达 10 小时。

Amazon Forecast 概览

Amazon Forecast 后续步骤

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
查看其他与产品相关的资源
了解有关 Amazon Forecast 的更多信息 
Sign up for a free account
注册免费账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐。 

查看 AWS Machine Learning 免费套餐 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 管理控制台中,使用 AWS 开始构建。

登录

What is a forecast?

A forecast is a prediction made by studying historical data and past patterns. Businesses use software tools and systems to analyze large amounts of data collected over a long period. The software then predicts future demand and trends to help companies make more accurate financial, marketing, and operational decisions.

Improving Forecast Accuracy with Machine Learning

Why is forecasting important?

Forecasting acts as a planning tool to help enterprises prepare for the uncertainty that can occur in the future. It helps managers respond confidently to changes, control business operations, and make strategic decisions that drive future growth. For example, businesses use forecasting to do the following:

  • Use resources more efficiently
  • Visualize business performance
  • Time the launch of new products or services
  • Estimate recurring costs
  • Predict future events like sales volumes and earnings
  • Review management decisions

What are the types of forecasting methods?

Forecasting methods can be qualitative or quantitative:

Qualitative methods

Qualitative forecasting relies on marketing experts to make short-term predictions. You can use qualitative methods when there is insufficient historical data. For example, these are two use cases:

  • Market research techniques like polls and surveys identify consumer demand.
  • Delphi modeling techniques poll experts in a particular field to collect their opinions and predict trends in that field.

Quantitative methods

Quantitative forecasting models use meaningful statistics and historical data to predict long-term future trends. We give examples of standard quantitative methods below:

  • Econometric modeling analyzes financial data sets, like loan and investment data, to predict significant economic shifts and their impact on the company.
  • The indicator approach compares data points to identify relationships between seemingly unrelated data. For example, you can use changes in GDP to forecast unemployment rates.
  • In this scenario, GDP data is called the lead indicator, and the unemployment rate is the lagging indicator.
  • Time-series forecasting analyzes data collected over different intervals of time to predict future trends. 

What is time-series data?

Cross-sectional data observes individuals and companies in the same time period. On the other hand, time-series data is any data set that collects information at various time intervals. This data is distinct because it orders data points by time. As a result, there is potential for correlation between observations in adjacent intervals.

Time-series data is plottable on a graph with incremental intervals (or timelines) on the x-axis and observed sample data values on the y-axis. Such time-series graphs are valuable tools for visualizing the data. Data scientists use them to identify forecasting data characteristics. We give some examples of time-series data characteristics below:

In trending data, y-values increase or decrease with time, making the graph appear linear. For example, population data may increase or decrease linearly with time.

Seasonality

Seasonal patterns occur when time-series data shows regular and predictable patterns at time intervals of less than a year. This data pattern may appear as spikes or other anomalies on an otherwise linear graph. For example, a store’s retail sales might increase in the holiday periods around December and April.

Structural breaks

Sometimes time-series data suddenly changes behavior at a certain point in time. The time-series graph may suddenly shift up or down, creating a structural break or non-linearity. For instance, many economic indicators changed sharply in 2008 after the start of the global financial crisis.

What is time-series forecasting?

Time-series forecasting is a data science technique that uses machine learning and other computer technologies to study past observations and predict future values of time-series data. Let’s look at some examples of time-series forecasting:

  • Astronomical data consists of repetitive movements of the planets over centuries. You can use this data to predict astronomical events like eclipses and comets accurately.
  • Weather forecasting uses wind and temperature patterns to predict weather changes.
  • Scientists can use birth rates and migration data to predict population growth.

Time-series analysis vs. time-series forecasting

Time-series analysis explores the underlying causes in any time-series data. This field of study seeks to understand the “why” behind a time-series dataset. Analysts must often make assumptions and decompose or break down the data to extract meaningful statistics and other characteristics.

While time-series analysis is all about understanding the dataset, forecasting is all about predicting it. These are the three steps of predictive modeling:

  • Ask a question and collect a sample set of time-series data that answers this question for a past time period.
  • Train the computer software or forecasting algorithm using the past values.
  • Use the forecasting algorithm to make future observations.

How does time-series forecasting work?

Data scientists use time-series forecasting models to make more accurate predictions. They first do some exploratory data analysis to select the best forecasting algorithms, and then use machine learning models to make predictions. Let’s look at some common forecast models below:

Decomposition models

Decomposition models decompose or break down time-series data into three components:

  1. Trend component
  2. Seasonal component
  3. Noise component, which does not belong to either of the above two groups

Another method of analyzing time-series data is to break it down into two components: predictable and unpredictable data components.

Smoothing-based models

Data smoothing is a statistical technique that involves removing outliers or data points that differ significantly from the rest of the data set. These forecasting models make the underlying pattern category more visible by eliminating random variations in data.

Regression-based models

Autoregression is a forecasting model that uses observations from previous time steps to define a mathematical relationship between two data points. It then uses the mathematical relationship to estimate an unknown future value. Depending on the regression model being used, the mathematical equation considers past forecast errors and seasonal past values, improving the prediction over time.

What are key use cases for forecasting?

Forecasting gives businesses relevant and reliable information about both the present and the future. We describe some example use cases of forecasting technology below:

Operations – How More Retail Limited uses automation to forecast product sales?

More Retail Ltd. (MRL) is one of India’s top four grocery retailers, with several billion dollars in revenue. They have an extensive store network and a complex supply chain of distributors. They were relying on the manual judgment of store managers to estimate and order stock, but this affected customer experience, especially in the fresh produce category. MRL used forecasting services by AWS to build an automated ordering system that reduced fresh food wastage by 30%.

Manufacturing – How Foxconn uses forecasting to manage manufacturing demand?

Hon Hai Technology Group (Foxconn) is the world’s largest electronics manufacturer and solutions provider. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Foxconn faced unprecedented volatility in customer demand, supplies, and capacity. The company collaborated with the Amazon Machine Learning Solutions Lab to predict accurate net order forecasts for their factory in Mexico. These forecasts led to an annual savings of over $500,000.

Customer support – How Affordable Tours uses sales forecasting to improve customer experience?

Affordable Tours.com is one of the largest vendors of escorted tours, cruises, river cruises, and active vacations in the United States. They were struggling to allocate resources when handling customer call volumes. Some days they had too many agents, and other days they had too few, which created inconsistent customer experiences and increased missed call rates. They used Amazon Forecast to anticipate customer call volumes better and improved their missed call rate by 20%.

What is Amazon Forecast?

Amazon Forecast is a fully managed time-series forecasting service based on machine learning and built for business metrics analysis. It requires no machine learning experience to get started. You need only provide historical data, plus any additional data that you believe may affect your forecasts. Once you provide all the data, Amazon Forecast automatically examines it and identifies what is meaningful. Then, it produces a forecasting model that can make predictions up to 50% more accurate than those of models that look at time-series data alone.

Get started by creating a free Amazon Account Today for free with the AWS Free Tier. For the first two months of using Amazon Forecast, new AWS customers receive up to 10,000 time series forecast generations per month; up to 10 GB of data storage per month; and up to 10 hours of training per month.

Amazon Forecast Overview

Amazon Forecast next steps

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
Check out additional product-related resources
Learn more about Amazon forecast 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier. 

View AWS machine learning free tier 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
Start building in the console

Get started building with AWS in the AWS management console.

Sign in