什么是文本分析?

文本分析是指使用计算机系统阅读和理解人类编写的文本以便获得业务洞察的流程。文本分析软件可以独立地对文本中的信息进行分类、排序和提取,以确定模式、关系、观点和其他可指导行动的知识。您可以使用文本分析来像人类一样高效、准确地处理多个基于文本的源,例如电子邮件、文档、社交媒体内容和产品评论。

为什么文本分析很重要?

企业使用文本分析从众多非结构化数据源提取可指导行动的洞察。其根据来自源(例如电子邮件、社交媒体和客户调查回复)的反馈辅助决策。但是,如果没有文本分析软件,来自这些源的海量文本让人无从下手。

借助文本分析,您可以快速从这些源获得准确信息。该流程完全自动化并且具有一致性,其显示您可以采取行动的数据。例如,使用文本分析软件允许您即刻检测社交媒体文章中的不良情绪,以便您解决问题

情绪分析

情绪分析或观点挖掘使用文本分析方法理解一段文本中传达的观点。您可以对评论、博客、论坛和其他线上媒体使用情绪分析,以确定您的客户对其购物是否满意。情绪分析帮助您发现新的趋势、跟踪情绪变化以及解决 PR 问题。通过使用情绪分析和识别特定关键字,您可以跟踪客户观点的变化并识别问题的根本原因。 

记录管理

文本分析可实现文档的高效管理、分类和搜索。这包括自动化患者记录管理、监控品牌提及以及检测保险欺诈。例如,LexisNexis Legal & Professional 使用文本提取从 2 亿份文档中识别特定记录。

个性化客户体验

您可以使用文本分析软件处理电子邮件、评论、聊天和其他基于文本的通信。借助对客户喜好、购买习惯和总体品牌认知的洞察,您可以为不同的客户群体量身定制个性化的体验。 

如何进行文本分析?

文本分析的核心是训练计算机软件将字词与特定意义相关联以及理解非结构化数据的语义背景信息。这与人类通过将字词与物体、行动和情感相关联来学习新语言的过程类似。 

文本分析软件基于深度学习和自然语言处理的原则工作。

深度学习

人工智能属于数据科学的范畴,教授计算机像人类一样思考。机器学习是人工智能范畴内的一种技术,使用特定方法教授或训练计算机。深度学习是一种高度专业化的机器学习方法,采用模仿人类大脑的神经网络或软件结构。深度学习技术赋能文本分析软件,以便这些网络可以以与人类大脑相似的方式阅读文本。

自然语言处理

自然语言处理 (NLP) 是人工智能的一个分支领域,赋能计算机自动从人类创作的自然文本中获取意义。其使用语言模型和统计数据训练深度学习技术处理和分析文本数据,包括手写文本图像。 NLP 方法,例如光学字符识别 (OCR),通过查找和理解图像中的字词将文本图像转化为文本文档。

 

文本分析技术有哪些类型?

文本分析软件使用以下常见技术。

文本分类

在文本分类中,文本分析软件学习如何将特定关键字与特定主题、用户意图或情绪相关联。其使用以下方法实现此功能: 

  • 基于规则的分类根据预定义的语义成分或语法模式规则为文本分配标签。
  • 基于机器学习的系统通过示例训练文本分析软件并提高其标记文本的准确性。其使用语言模型(例如朴素贝叶斯、支持向量机和深度学习)处理结构化数据和分类字词,以及开发两者之间的语法理解。

例如,积极评价通常包含好、快太棒了等字词。 但是,消极评价可能包含不满意、慢等字词。数据科学家训练文本分析软件查找此类特定字词并将评价分类为积极或消极。这样,客户支持团队可以通过评论轻松监控客户情绪。

文本提取

文本提取扫描文本并提取关键信息。其可以识别一段文本中的关键字、产品属性、品牌名称、地点名称等。提取软件应用以下方法:

  • 正则表达式 (REGEX):指作为需提取内容前提条件的特定格式符号数组。
  • 条件随机场 (CRFs):指通过评估特定模式或短语提取文本的机器学习方法。其比 REGEX 更加精细和灵活。 

例如,您可以使用文本提取监控社交媒体上的品牌提及。手动跟踪社交媒体上的每次品牌提及是不可能的。文本提取将实时提示您品牌提及。 

主题建模

主题建模方法识别非结构化成本中出现的相关关键字并将它们分组为主题或话题。这些方法可以阅读多个文本文档并根据文档中多个字词的出现频率将这些文档按话题排列。主题建模方法为进一步分析文档提供背景信息。

例如,您可以使用主题建模方法通读扫描的文档归档并将文档分类为发票、法律文档和客户协议。然后,您可以将不同的分析方法用于发票以获得财务洞察,或者用于客户协议以获得客户洞察。

PII 修订

PII 修订会自动检测和删除文档中的个人身份信息(PII),例如姓名、地址或账号。PII 修订可帮助保护隐私和符合当地法律法规。

例如,您可以在索引搜索解决方案中的文档之前分析支持票证和知识文章来检测和修订 PII。在此之后,搜索解决方案将不包含文档中的 PII。

文本分析有哪些阶段?

要实施文本分析,您需要遵循包含 4 个阶段的系统性流程。

第 1 阶段 — 数据收集

在此阶段,您从内部或外部资源收集文本数据。

内部数据

内部数据是指企业内部的文本内容,随时可供使用,例如电子邮件、聊天、发票和员工调查。 

外部数据

您可以在社交媒体文章、线上评论、新闻文章和线上论坛等资源中查找外部数据。由于外部数据超出您的控制,所以很难获取这些数据。您可能需要使用网页抓取工具或与第三方解决方案集成以提取外部数据。

第 2 阶段 — 数据准备

数据准备是文本提取的重要组成部分。其涉及以分析时可接受的格式结构化原始文本数据。文本分析软件自动化该流程并涉及以下常见自然语言处理 (NLP) 方法。 

令牌化

令牌化将原始文本分隔为具有语义意义的多个部分。例如,短语文本分析有利于企业令牌化为字词文本分析有利于企业

词性标记

词性标记为令牌化的文本分配语法标签。例如,将此步骤应用于上述令牌化的结果后为文本:名词;分析:名词;有利于:动词;企业:名词

解析

解析通过英语语法在令牌化的字词之间建立有意义的联系。其帮助文本分析软件可视化字词之间的关系。 

词形还原

词形还原是指将字词简化为其在词典中的词形,或简化为词根形式的语言学流程。例如,visualizing 一词在词典中的词形为 visualize

停用词删除

停用词是指在句中提供很少或不提供语义背景信息的字词,例如以及。根据使用场景,软件可能从结构化文本中删除停用词。 

第 3 阶段 — 文本分析

文本分析是流程的核心组成部分,文本分析软件在该流程中使用不同的方法处理文本。 

文本分类

分类是指基于规则或基于机器学习系统为文本数据分配标签的流程。

文本提取

提取涉及识别文本中是否存在特定关键字,并将这些关键字与标签相关联。软件使用正则表达式和条件随机场 (CRFs) 等方法执行此操作。

第 4 阶段 — 可视化

可视化是指将文本分析结果转化为易于理解的格式。您将看到以图形、图表和表格显示的文本分析结果。可视化的结果帮助您识别模式和趋势并构建行动计划。例如,假设您遇到产品退货激增,但是您无法找到原因。借助可视化,您可在反馈中寻找缺陷尺寸错误不太适合等字词,并将它们制成图表。然后,您将知道需要优先考虑的主要问题。 

什么是文本分析?

文本分析是指您通过分析多个文本样本中的模式获得的定量数据。其以图表、表格或图形展示。 

文本分析(定性)对比文本分析(定量)

文本分析(定量)帮助您从成千上万条反馈的分析结果中确定是否存在特定的趋势或模式。同时,您可以使用文本分析(定性)确定客户的反馈是否积极或消极。

什么是文本挖掘?

文本挖掘是指通过分析非结构化文本获得定性洞察的流程。 

文本分析对比文本挖掘

文本分析和文本挖掘没有差别。两个术语都指从电子邮件、调查回复和社交媒体页面等源获得有价值洞察的相同流程。

Amazon Comprehend 如何为您提供帮助?

Amazon Comprehend 是一项自然语言处理服务,可使用机器学习发现文本中有价值的洞察和联系。您可以使用 Amazon Comprehend 通过自动分类和提取文档中的信息来简化文档处理工作流。例如,您可以使用 Amazon Comprehend 执行以下任务:

  • 对客户支持工单、产品评价、社交媒体等执行情绪分析。 
  • 通过 Amazon Lex 集成 Amazon Comprehend 以开发智能会话聊天机器人。
  • 通过 Amazon Comprehend Medical 提取文档中的医疗术语并识别这些术语之间的关系。

立即通过创建 AWS 账户开始使用。

文本分析后续步骤

What is text analysis?

Text analysis is the process of using computer systems to read and understand human-written text for business insights. Text analysis software can independently classify, sort, and extract information from text to identify patterns, relationships, sentiments, and other actionable knowledge. You can use text analysis to efficiently and accurately process multiple text-based sources such as emails, documents, social media content, and product reviews, like a human would.

Why is text analysis important?

Businesses use text analysis to extract actionable insights from various unstructured data sources. They depend on feedback from sources like emails, social media, and customer survey responses to aid decision making. However, the immense volume of text from such sources proves to be overwhelming without text analytics software.

With text analysis, you can get accurate information from the sources more quickly. The process is fully automated and consistent, and it displays data you can act on. For example, using text analysis software allows you to immediately detect negative sentiment on social media posts so you can work to solve the problem

Sentiment analysis

Sentiment analysis or opinion mining uses text analysis methods to understand the opinion conveyed in a piece of text. You can use sentiment analysis of reviews, blogs, forums, and other online media to determine if your customers are happy with their purchases. Sentiment analysis helps you spot new trends, track sentiment changes, and tackle PR issues. By using sentiment analysis and identifying specific keywords, you can track changes in customer opinion and identify the root cause of the problem. 

Record management

Text analysis leads to efficient management, categorization, and searches of documents. This includes automating patient record management, monitoring brand mentions, and detecting insurance fraud. For example, LexisNexis Legal & Professional uses text extraction to identify specific records among 200 million documents.

Personalizing customer experience

You can use text analysis software to process emails, reviews, chats, and other text-based correspondence. With insights about customers’ preferences, buying habits, and overall brand perception, you can tailor personalized experiences for different customer segments. 

How does text analysis work?

The core of text analysis is training computer software to associate words with specific meanings and to understand the semantic context of unstructured data. This is similar to how humans learn a new language by associating words with objects, actions, and emotions. 

Text analysis software works on the principles of deep learning and natural language processing.

Deep learning

Artificial intelligence is the field of data science that teaches computers to think like humans. Machine learning is a technique within artificial intelligence that uses specific methods to teach or train computers. Deep learning is a highly specialized machine learning method that uses neural networks or software structures that mimic the human brain. Deep learning technology powers text analysis software so these networks can read text in a similar way to the human brain.

Natural language processing

Natural language processing (NLP) is a branch of artificial intelligence that gives computers the ability to automatically derive meaning from natural, human-created text. It uses linguistic models and statistics to train the deep learning technology to process and analyze text data, including handwritten text images. NLP methods such as optical character recognition (OCR) convert text images into text documents by finding and understanding the words in the images.

What are the types of text analysis techniques?

The text analysis software uses these common techniques.

Text classification

In text classification, the text analysis software learns how to associate certain keywords with specific topics, users’ intentions, or sentiments. It does so by using the following methods: 

  • Rule-based classification assigns tags to the text based on predefined rules for semantic components or syntactic patterns.
  • Machine learning-based systems work by training the text analysis software with examples and increasing their accuracy in tagging the text. They use linguistic models like Naive Bayes, Support Vector Machines, and Deep Learning to process structured data, categorize words, and develop a semantic understanding between them.

For example, a favorable review often contains words like good, fast, and great. However, negative reviews might contain words like unhappy, slow, and bad. Data scientists train the text analysis software to look for such specific terms and categorize the reviews as positive or negative. This way, the customer support team can easily monitor customer sentiments from the reviews.

Text extraction

Text extraction scans the text and pulls out key information. It can identify keywords, product attributes, brand names, names of places, and more in a piece of text. The extraction software applies the following methods:

  • Regular expression (REGEX): This is a formatted array of symbols that serves as a precondition of what needs to be extracted.
  • Conditional random fields (CRFs): This is a machine learning method that extracts text by evaluating specific patterns or phrases. It is more refined and flexible than REGEX. 

For example, you can use text extraction to monitor brand mentions on social media. Manually tracking every occurrence of your brand on social media is impossible. Text extraction will alert you to mentions of your brand in real time. 

Topic modeling

Topic modeling methods identify and group related keywords that occur in an unstructured text into a topic or theme. These methods can read multiple text documents and sort them into themes based on the frequency of various words in the document. Topic modeling methods give context for further analysis of the documents.

For example, you can use topic modeling methods to read through your scanned document archive and classify documents into invoices, legal documents, and customer agreements. Then you can run different analysis methods on invoices to gain financial insights or on customer agreements to gain customer insights.

PII redaction

PII redaction automatically detects and removes personally identifiable information (PII) such as names, addresses, or account numbers from a document. PII redaction helps protect privacy and comply with local laws and regulations.

For example, you can analyze support tickets and knowledge articles to detect and redact PII before you index the documents in the search solution. After that, search solutions are free of PII in documents.

What are the stages in text analysis?

To implement text analysis, you need to follow a systematic process that goes through four stages.

Stage 1—Data gathering

In this stage, you gather text data from internal or external sources.

Internal data

Internal data is text content that is internal to your business and is readily available—for example, emails, chats, invoices, and employee surveys. 

External data

You can find external data in sources such as social media posts, online reviews, news articles, and online forums. It is harder to acquire external data because it is beyond your control. You might need to use web scraping tools or integrate with third-party solutions to extract external data.

Stage 2—Data preparation

Data preparation is an essential part of text analysis. It involves structuring raw text data in an acceptable format for analysis. The text analysis software automates the process and involves the following common natural language processing (NLP) methods. 

Tokenization 

Tokenization is segregating the raw text into multiple parts that make semantic sense. For example, the phrase text analytics benefits businesses tokenizes to the words textanalyticsbenefits, and businesses.

Part-of-speech tagging

Part-of-speech tagging assigns grammatical tags to the tokenized text. For example, applying this step to the previously mentioned tokens results in text: Noun; analytics: Noun; benefits: Verb; businesses: Noun.

Parsing

Parsing establishes meaningful connections between the tokenized words with English grammar. It helps the text analysis software visualize the relationship between words. 

Lemmatization 

Lemmatization is a linguistic process that simplifies words into their dictionary form, or lemma. For example, the dictionary form of visualizing is visualize.

Stop words removal

Stop words are words that offer little or no semantic context to a sentence, such as andor, and for. Depending on the use case, the software might remove them from the structured text. 

Stage 3—Text analysis

Text analysis is the core part of the process, in which text analysis software processes the text by using different methods. 

Text classification

Classification is the process of assigning tags to the text data that are based on rules or machine learning-based systems.

Text extraction

Extraction involves identifying the presence of specific keywords in the text and associating them with tags. The software uses methods such as regular expressions and conditional random fields (CRFs) to do this.

Stage 4—Visualization

Visualization is about turning the text analysis results into an easily understandable format. You will find text analytics results in graphs, charts, and tables. The visualized results help you identify patterns and trends and build action plans. For example, suppose you’re getting a spike in product returns, but you have trouble finding the causes. With visualization, you look for words such as defectswrong size, or not a good fit in the feedback and tabulate them into a chart. Then you’ll know which is the major issue that takes top priority. 

What is text analytics?

Text analytics is the quantitative data that you can obtain by analyzing patterns in multiple samples of text. It is presented in charts, tables, or graphs. 

Text analysis vs. text analytics

Text analytics helps you determine if there’s a particular trend or pattern from the results of analyzing thousands of pieces of feedback. Meanwhile, you can use text analysis to determine whether a customer’s feedback is positive or negative.

What is text mining?

Text mining is the process of obtaining qualitative insights by analyzing unstructured text. 

Text analysis vs. text mining

There is no difference between text analysis and text mining. Both terms refer to the same process of gaining valuable insights from sources such as email, survey responses, and social media feeds.

How can Amazon Comprehend help?

Amazon Comprehend is a natural language processing service that uses machine learning to uncover valuable insights and connections in text. You can use it to simplify document processing workflows by automatically classifying and extracting information from them. For example, you can use Amazon Comprehend to do the following tasks:

  • Perform sentiment analysis on customer support tickets, product reviews, social media feeds, and more. 
  • Integrate Amazon Comprehend with Amazon Lex to develop an intelligent, conversational chatbot.
  • Extract medical terms from documents and identify the relationship between them with Amazon Comprehend Medical.

Get started by creating an AWS account today.

Text analysis next steps