问:什么是 AWS Batch?

AWS Batch 是一系列批处理管理功能,能够让开发人员、科学家和工程师轻松高效地在 AWS 上运行成千上万个批处理计算任务。AWS Batch 可根据所提交的批处理任务的卷和特定资源要求动态预置最佳的计算资源数量和类型 (如 CPU 或内存优化型实例)。借助 AWS Batch,您无需安装和管理批处理计算软件或服务器群集,从而使您能够集中精力分析结果和解决问题。AWS Batch 可使用 Amazon EC2竞价型实例来规划、安排和执行批处理计算工作负载。

问:什么是批处理计算?
批处理计算是指在一台或多台计算机上无需人工干预而执行一系列程序 (“任务”) 的流程。输入参数可通过脚本、命令行参数、控制文件或任务控制语言进行预定义。给定的批处理任务可能会取决于先前任务的完成情况或特定输入的可用性,从而使多项任务的排序和排程变得至关重要,并且与交互式处理不兼容。

问:批处理计算有哪些优势?

  • 可将处理任务的时间转换到有更大或更加实惠的可用容量的时段。
  • 可避免计算资源闲置,而且无需频繁地进行人工干预和监管。
  • 可提高计算资源的使用率,从而提高效率。
  • 支持按优先级对任务排序,从而使资源分配与业务目标保持一致。

问:为何我应该使用 AWS Batch?
AWS Batch 可执行任务和管理计算资源,从而让您能够集中精力开发应用程序或分析结果,而不是设置和管理基础设施。如果您正在考虑运行批处理工作负载或将其迁移到 AWS,则应该考虑使用 AWS Batch。

问:AWS Batch 针对哪些使用案例进行了优化?
AWS Batch 针对能够通过并行执行多项任务来进行扩展的批处理计算和应用程序进行了优化。深度学习、基因组学分析、金融风险模型、蒙地卡罗模拟、动画渲染、媒体转码、图像处理和工程模拟都是批处理计算应用程序的出色示例。


问:AWS Batch 有哪些主要特性?
AWS Batch 可以管理计算环境和任务队列,从而使您能够使用 Amazon EC2 和 EC2 竞价型实例轻松运行数千项任意规模的任务。您只需定义批处理任务并将其提交到队列中即可。在作出响应时,AWS Batch 可选择在何处运行任务,从而在需要时启动其他 AWS 容量。AWS Batch 会严密监控您的任务进度。当不再需要容量时,AWS Batch 会将其删除。借助 AWS Batch,您还可以提交属于管道或工作流一部分的任务,从而使您能够在提交任务时说明各项任务之间存在的任何相互依赖关系。

问:AWS Batch 支持哪些类型的批处理任务?
AWS Batch 支持可作为 Docker 容器执行的任何任务。任务会指定其内存要求和 vCPU 数量。 

问:什么是计算资源?
AWS Batch 计算资源是一种 EC2 实例。

问:什么是计算环境?
AWS Batch 计算环境是一个计算资源集合,任务将在这些资源上执行。AWS Batch 支持两类计算环境:由 AWS 预置和管理的托管计算环境和由客户管理的非托管计算环境。非托管计算环境可提供一个便于利用专用资源 (如专用主机、更大的存储配置和 Amazon EFS) 的机制。

问:什么是任务定义?
任务定义描述了需要执行的任务、参数、环境变量、计算要求以及用于优化任务执行的其他信息。任务定义是在提交任务之前定义的,并且您可以与他人共享该定义。

问:什么是 Amazon ECS Agent?AWS Batch 如何使用它?
AWS Batch 使用 Amazon ECS 来执行容器化任务,因此要求您的 AWS Batch 计算环境中的计算资源上必须安装有 ECS Agent。托管计算环境中预安装了 ECS Agent。

问:AWS Batch 如何让您能够轻松使用 EC2 竞价型实例?
AWS Batch 计算环境由 EC2 竞价型实例组成。在创建托管计算环境时,只需指定您想使用 EC2 竞价型实例,并提供您愿意给出的按需定价百分比,AWS Batch 将负责其余工作。非托管计算环境还可以包含您启动的竞价型实例,其中包括 EC2 竞价型队列启动的实例。


问:AWS Batch 如何定价?
AWS Batch 不收取任何额外费用。您只需针对您为存储和运行批处理任务而创建的 AWS 资源 (如 EC2 实例) 付费。


问:如何开始使用?
请遵循我们文档中的入门指南开始使用。

问:需要预置哪些内容才能开始使用?
您无需手动启动自己的计算资源即可开始使用。AWS Batch Web 控制台将指导您完成首个计算环境和任务队列的创建流程,以便您可以提交第一项任务。计算环境中的资源将在其他任务可随时运行时进行扩展,并随着可运行任务数量的减少而缩减。

Q: What is AWS Batch?

AWS Batch is a set of batch management capabilities that enables developers, scientists, and engineers to easily and efficiently run hundreds of thousands of batch computing jobs on AWS. AWS Batch dynamically provisions the optimal quantity and type of compute resources (e.g., CPU or memory optimized instances) based on the volume and specific resource requirements of the batch jobs submitted. With AWS Batch, there is no need to install and manage batch computing software or server clusters, allowing you to instead focus on analyzing results and solving problems. AWS Batch plans, schedules, and executes your batch computing workloads using Amazon EC2 and Spot Instances.

Q: What is Batch Computing?
Batch computing is the execution of a series of programs ("jobs") on one or more computers without manual intervention. Input parameters are pre-defined through scripts, command-line arguments, control files, or job control language. A given batch job may depend on the completion of preceding jobs, or on the availability of certain inputs, making the sequencing and scheduling of multiple jobs important, and incompatible with interactive processing.

Q: What are the benefits of batch computing?

  • It can shift the time of job processing to periods when greater or less expensive capacity is available.
  • It avoids idling compute resources with frequent manual intervention and supervision.
  • It increases efficiency by driving higher utilization of compute resources.
  • It enables the prioritization of jobs, aligning resource allocation with business objectives.

Q: Why should I use AWS Batch?
AWS Batch handles job execution and compute resource management, allowing you to focus on developing applications or analyzing results instead of setting up and managing infrastructure. If you are considering running or moving batch workloads to AWS, you should consider using AWS Batch.

Q: What use cases is AWS Batch optimized for?
AWS Batch is optimized for batch computing and applications that scale through the execution of multiple jobs in parallel. Deep learning, genomics analysis, financial risk models, Monte Carlo simulations, animation rendering, media transcoding, image processing, and engineering simulations are all excellent examples of batch computing applications.


Q: What are the key features of AWS Batch?
AWS Batch manages compute environments and job queues, allowing you to easily run thousands of jobs of any scale using Amazon EC2 and EC2 Spot. You simply define and submit your batch jobs to a queue. In response, AWS Batch chooses where to run the jobs, launching additional AWS capacity if needed. AWS Batch carefully monitors the progress of your jobs. When capacity is no longer needed, AWS Batch will remove it. AWS Batch also provides the ability to submit jobs that are part of a pipeline or workflow, enabling you to express any interdependencies that exist between them as you submit jobs.

Q: What types of batch jobs does AWS Batch support?
AWS Batch supports any job that can executed as a Docker container. Jobs specify their memory requirements and number of vCPUs.  

Q: What is a Compute Resource?
An AWS Batch Compute Resource is an EC2 instance.

Q: What is a Compute Environment?
An AWS Batch Compute Environment is a collection of compute resources on which jobs are executed. AWS Batch supports two types of Compute Environments; Managed Compute Environments which are provisioned and managed by AWS and Unmanaged Compute Environments which are managed by customers. Unmanaged Compute Environments provide a mechanism to leverage specialized resources such as Dedicated Hosts, larger storage configurations, and Amazon EFS.

Q: What is a Job Definition?
A Job Definition describes the job to be executed, parameters, environmental variables, compute requirements, and other information that is used to optimize the execution of a job. Job Definitions are defined in advance of submitting a job and can be shared with others.

Q: What is the Amazon ECS Agent and how is it used by AWS Batch?
AWS Batch uses Amazon ECS to execute containerized jobs and therefore requires the ECS Agent to be installed on compute resources within your AWS Batch Compute Environments. The ECS Agent is pre-installed in Managed Compute Environments.

Q: How does AWS Batch make it easier to use EC2 Spot?
AWS Batch Compute Environments can be comprised of EC2 Spot instances. When creating a Managed Compute Environment, simplify specify that you would like to use EC2 Spot and provide a percentage of On Demand pricing that you would like to bid and AWS Batch will take care of the rest. Unmanaged Compute Environments can also include Spot instances that you launch, including those launched by EC2 Spot Fleet.


Q. What is the pricing for AWS Batch?
There is no additional charge for AWS Batch. You only pay for the AWS Resources (e.g. EC2 Instances) you create to store and run your batch jobs.


Q. How do I get started?
Follow the Getting Started Guide in our documentation to get started.

Q. What do I need to provision to get started?
There is no need to manually launch your own compute resources in order to get started. The AWS Batch web console will guide you through the process of creating your first Compute Environment and Job Queue so that you can submit your first job. Resources within your compute environment will scale up as additional jobs are ready to run and scale down as the number of runnable jobs decreases.