常见问题

AWS Elemental Server 是什么?

AWS Elemental Server 为本地基于文件的工作流提供快速可靠的视频处理。它对多个视频文件执行同步、比实时更快的转换,以创建夹层交付件、传统按需资产或自适应比特率输出,用于传送到电视、PC 和移动设备。AWS Elemental Server 是大规模广播和多屏视频应用的理想选择,易于安装、配置和集成到现有工作流中,并与本地存储系统和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) 无缝结合使用。

何时应选择 AWS Elemental Server 本地解决方案,而不是 AWS Elemental MediaConvert 服务?

一些视频工作流需要在本地解决方案中存储媒体内容,比如与网络连接存储解决方案或存储区域网络解决方案,并必须处理来自这些源位置的内容。对于这些类型的工作流,您应考虑将 AWS Elemental Server 用于基于文件的视频处理。对于云工作流和在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中存储的内容,AWS Elemental MediaConvert 是更好的选择。除了提供与 Amazon S3 和其他 AWS 服务(包括支持内容货币化的服务)的轻松集成之外,MediaConvert 还提供使用 AWS 云服务的灵活性、敏捷性、扩展性以及按使用量付费模式。

什么是基于文件的视频转码?

在视频处理工作流中,基于文件的转码解决方案可处理视频文件,从而创建原始内容的压缩版本,以缩小大小、更改格式或提高播放设备的兼容性。基于文件的转码解决方案可以转换任何视频输入源(从高质量工作室母带到移动设备上捕获的视频),并生成可随时分发给观看者的内容。基于文件的转码能够以底层基础设施允许的最快速度处理媒体,此速度可能快于或慢于实时速度,具体取决于输入类型、输出格式和转码设置。通过利用集成式数字权限管理 (DRM) 准备资产以按需交付至多种类型的设备,基于文件的转码解决方案还可以处理内容的打包和保护工作。

为何应选择 AWS Elemental Server,而不是其他基于文件的编码解决方案?

通过 AWS Elemental Server,您可以访问全面的广播级功能集。其他的视频处理解决方案通常不提供内容所有者和分销商所需的高级功能,比如静态图叠加、音频音量标准化、通过 SCTE-35 支持实现广告插入、清单装饰、DRM 集成、或广播和 OTT 隐藏式字幕。AWS Elemental Server 允许您利用这些功能来创建广播质量视频,利用 AWS Elemental 从零开始构建并由各类视频提供商使用的视频处理技术。它包含对以下内容的提取和输出支持:最高质量的编解码器(MPEG-2、AVC、HEVC,包含 10 位 4:2:2 色彩取样支持)、各种自适应比特率打包格式(CMAF、HLS、DASH 和 MSS),以及 HDR 内容的处理和转换(HDR 10 和 HLG BT.2020)。

AWS Elemental Server 支持哪些选项进行内容摄取?

AWS Elemental Server 支持使用软件对常见夹层、广播和编辑格式进行解码,其中软件可提供最佳组合的速度和灵活性。有关支持的格式,请参阅产品文档。

AWS Elemental Server 支持哪些选项进行内容输出?

AWS Elemental Server 使您能够同时创建多个解决方案、比特率和输出格式,允许您同时针对多个玩家和平台。以常用格式打包文件或将内容保留在基本容器中,以供将来进行下游打包。支持的输出格式包括 Apple ProRes、H.264、HEVC 和支持 HLS、ISMV 和 MPEG-TS(Cablelabs 合规性)格式的 MPEG-2。

AWS Elemental Server 支持哪些音频功能和格式?

AWS Elemental Server 支持使用广泛的音频编解码器功能(包括广泛的音频重新混合功能)构建多渠道、多语言资产。符合具有音量归一化等内置功能的政府广播规格。支持的音频格式包括 AAC-LC、AAC-HE、Dolby Digital、Dolby Digital Plus、Dolby ATMOS 直通式、和 MPEG-1 Layer2。

FAQs

What is AWS Elemental Server?

AWS Elemental Server provides fast and reliable video processing for on-premises, file-based workflows. It performs simultaneous, faster-than-real-time conversion of multiple video files to create mezzanine deliverables, traditional on-demand assets, or adaptive bitrate outputs for delivery to TVs, PCs, and mobile devices. Ideal for large-scale broadcast and multiscreen video applications, AWS Elemental Server is easy to install, configure, and integrate into existing workflows and operates seamlessly with on-premises storage systems and Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3).

When should I choose an AWS Elemental Server on-premises solution instead of the AWS Elemental MediaConvert service?

Some video workflows need to store media content in an on-premises solution, such as network-attached storage or storage area networks, and must process content from these source locations. For these types of workflows, you should consider AWS Elemental Server for file-based video processing. For cloud workflows and for content stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), AWS Elemental MediaConvert is the better option. In addition to providing easy integration with Amazon S3 and other AWS services, including those that support content monetization, MediaConvert offers the flexibility, agility, scale, and pay-as-you-go usability of AWS cloud services.

What is file-based video transcoding?

In a video processing workflow, a file-based transcoding solution processes video files, creating compressed versions of the original content to reduce its size, change its format, or increase playback device compatibility. A file-based transcoding solution can convert any video input source, ranging from high-quality studio masters to videos captured on mobile devices, and produce content ready for distribution to viewers. File-based transcoding processes media as fast as the underlying infrastructure allows, which may be faster or slower than real-time depending on the input type, output format(s), and transcoder settings. File-based transcoding solutions are also expected to handle packaging and protection of content by preparing assets for on-demand delivery to multiple device types with integrated digital rights management (DRM).

Why should I choose AWS Elemental Server over other file-based encoding solutions?

AWS Elemental Server gives you access to a full broadcast-grade feature set. Other video processing solutions often do not provide the premium capabilities that content owners and distributors require, such as static graphic overlays, audio loudness normalization, ad insertion via SCTE-35 support, manifest decoration, DRM integration, or broadcast and OTT closed captioning. AWS Elemental Server lets you take advantage of these features to create broadcast-quality video, leveraging video processing technology built from the ground up by AWS Elemental and used by video providers of all kinds. It includes ingest and output support for the highest quality codecs (MPEG-2, AVC, HEVC including support for 10-bit 4:2:2 color sampling), extensive adaptive bitrate packaging formats (CMAF, HLS, DASH, and MSS), and processing and conversion of HDR content (HDR 10 and HLG BT.2020).

What options does AWS Elemental Server support for content ingest?

AWS Elemental Server supports decode of common mezzanine, broadcast, and editing formats with software that provides the best combination of speed and flexibility. Refer to product documentation for supported formats.

What options does AWS Elemental Server support for content output?

AWS Elemental Server enables the creation of multiple resolution, bitrate, and output formats at the same time, allowing you to target a variety of players and platforms simultaneously. Package files in popular formats or retain content in a base container for downstream packaging in the future. Output formats supported include Apple ProRes, H.264, HEVC, and MPEG-2 with support for HLS, ISMV, and MPEG-TS (Cablelabs compliant) formats.

What audio features and formats are supported in AWS Elemental Server?

AWS Elemental Server supports building multi-channel, multi-language assets using broad audio codec capabilities including extensive audio re-mixing. Meet government broadcast specifications with built-in features such as audio normalization. Audio formats supported include AAC-LC, AAC-HE, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby ATMOS pass-through, and MPEG-1 Layer2.